Favorite Authors (Because I’m Horribly Unimaginative and Can’t Think of Anything Else)

Hi, guys! I’m super excited to start blogging―even though I am still very confused by WordPress. But I’ll get things figured out! 😛

I was struggling to come up with a topic for a second post, but eventually, it came back around to something I love to do―writing! I love to write and have been writing stories since second grade. I’ve never actually finished anything, but am trying really hard to finish my current project, which I’ll soon have up on the My Writing page. 🙂

But what I also love to do is read. I love to read other people’s writings, and so today, I’m here to give you some of my favorite authors, whose writing I think is 👌👌👌

(I know, you thought I was going to talk about MY writing. It’s alright, you’ll survive.)

Without further ado, I give you the list of my 9 favorite authors of all time!

(Only my top 9 favorite authors because I’m too lazy to think of a tenth.)

Rick Riordan

The reason this amazing guy is first is because he’s the author I first “fell in love” with. My third grade teacher first read The Lightning Thief and then over the summer, I took it to read the rest of the series, and all the other books he had written. Percy Jackson and the Olympians remain my favorite series of all time―and it’s my favorite series that Rick Riordan has written.


J.K. Rowling

Well, obviously. I read the Harry Potter series just two summers ago, actually, but I remember not wanting to read it at first because it was just something that everyone liked. But I did read it and I loved it! You gotta admit, though, Harry’s the ultimate Gary Stu. (But he’s a successful Gary Stu.)


Marie Lu

Yeeeeeeeeees. I call her the YA goddess, because frankly, that’s who she is. I loved her series Legend (THE END WAS SO HEARTBREAKING), and at first, I didn’t really like The Young Elites, because I thought that in the second book, Adelina got waaaay too dark (and that’s coming from a pretty dark person). But The Midnight Star… Oh. My. Gosh. So good. So, so good.

the-rock-clapping
So beautiful.

 

Leigh Bardugo

What would this list be without this fabulous grey-haired lady? (Although I am partly ashamed of the fact that I have not yet read the Grisha Trilogy.) I want to squeeze all of her six (*cough* FIVE *cough*) characters and feed them dried mangoes―because they totally deserve it??? Unfortunately, I’d probably get killed before I even got to touch them, but still.


 

Marissa Meyer

I very recently read and finished The Lunar Chronicles and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE. IT. Marissa Meyer is my hero??? (Among others.) ALL THE SHIPS ARE ADORABLE AND SO OBVIOUS AND YET SO SHIPPABLE LIKE OMG. Ahem. Regain composure, May. But this series was just so good, and while it was completely fluffy at parts―OH WHO CARES I LOVE FLUFF.

marshmallow-fluff-entert0406-de
What is this fluff??? GIVE ME MY FLUFF!

 

Maggie Stiefvater

Okay, so I also recently read and finished The Raven Cycle which was 👌👌👌 I mean, I haven’t really read all of her other books (and right now, I’m in this stage where I’m just HATING books in first person…) BUT SHE DESERVES A SPOT ON THIS LIST. (You’re welcome, Cait.) But oh my goodness BLUSEY AND PYNCH AND AAGGHH.


And here are the not-so favorite authors (but they’re still great and deserve dried mangoes)

(I didn’t say anything.)


 

Shannon Messenger

Okay, she’s actually pretty awesome (THIRD PERSON, HELLO), but I haven’t read her books in a long time, sooo. (I know, I know… LODESTAR!!!) Anyone else for Team Sophitz??? (AND WHY, KEEFE? WHY? Also, no spoilers because I haven’t read Lodestar yet. :P)

no_spoilers


 

Heather Vogel Frederick

She wrote one of the less popular series, The Mother-Daughter Book Club. As you can tell, I am a fantasy/sci-fi person―so this realistic fiction series being on this list is like WHAT? MAY! HOW COULD YOU BETRAY US??? Just kidding. But really, it’s a good series and I love all the ships in there (although they’re not exactly ships…). Even though it’s middle/high school drama and I hate middle/high school drama? (But what are you saying, person-who-stayed-up-late-to-read-a-middle-school-drama-book?)


 

Kiera Cass

Well, all I’ve read of her books is The Selection series, and pretty much the only reason she’s on here is because MAXERICA FOR LIFE. Also, did anyone else hate The Heir and The Crown as much as I did? Because I really didn’t like it very much at all?


AND THAT CONCLUDES MY FIRST REAL BLOG POST EVER.

giphy
By the way, I’m just pasting these from the internet with no idea what show they’re from or anything. Because I don’t watch a lot of TV shows. So if you make a reference to me, there is a 97.3% chance I will not get it.

 

shall we chat

Did you enjoy this post? Do you like the “number” graphics? (They took blood and tears, m’dears. No pressure.) Who do you disagree and agree with on this list? Who are some of your own favorite authors? Are our favorite authors similar? DO WE HAVE THE EXACT SAME TOP NINE FAVORITE AUTHORS LIST??? Chat with me!

sign off 2.0

101 thoughts on “Favorite Authors (Because I’m Horribly Unimaginative and Can’t Think of Anything Else)

  1. Great post! 🙂 Hey, let me know if you need WordPress help! It’s a tricky little monster. It’s like a cross between a vampire and kitten. It’s a kampire. A vitten.

    And yeah, everyone’s right! Your blog is sooo professional! I’m not that professional, and I’ve been blogging for over a year. So yeah. Your professionalism astounds me! You’ve got cute little graphics and everything’s all themey … I don’t even have one of those … things. *looks it up* Oh. So, apparently they’re called thumbnails. Mmkay …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂 Yeah, I think I’m slowly getting everything all figured out, but I’ll let you know if I ever need WordPress help. 🙂 And a kampire/vitten sounds very interesting… *gets story idea* 😛
      Aww, thanks! Well, I just see everyone and say, “Oh, I need graphics,” or “Oh, let’s add that.” Little tidbits of inspiration. 🙂 And… what are those? Thumbnails? *looks it up as well XD

      Liked by 1 person

          • *is overrun by plots and characters* *falls into an abyss of story ideas*
            Yeah, we’re so smart! We know everything about WordPress and blogging and stuff. We’ll probably make a fortune off of it. Y’know. Like you do … 😛

            Liked by 1 person

            • *tries to crawl out* *is tugged back in by hungry story ideas*
              Mmhmm, we are the best WordPress expert ever. You’ll all be running to us because we know absolutely EVERYTHING.
              (And you sweet gal. 😛 But you know it’s a lie, I’m quite broke. XD)

              Liked by 1 person

              • *screams* *writhes at the torture* *actually likes writing* *sometimes*
                Exactly! All the other bloggers who’ve been blogging all their lives will come to May and Kellyn. “May, Kell, advise us, won’t you? WE NEED YOU!” And of course we’ll oblige. We’re awesome like that. And smart. And sweet. And humble.
                (Shhh, we can’t let THEM know that!)

                Liked by 1 person

                • *shrieks* *also likes writing as well* *most of the time*
                  I know! We hold all the WordPress knowledge in the world, and because we’re so awesome and smart and sweet and humble, we’ll share everything we know. Most of it, at least. We can’t reveal all our secrets, can we?
                  (Oh, yes! You’re right! *smacks forehead*)
                  ((Also, you’re KellBell on the YWP, right? I’m shroudedmoonlight ;P )

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • *most of the time means whenever I’m not actually writing* *wait, that makes no sense*
                    Haha, no. That would be unwise! Then they’d all rise to our, um, humble awesomeness! We can’t let that happen! We wouldn’t be cool anymore.
                    (Just be more careful next time …)
                    ((Yeah, I am! How’d you guess? XD Not like I’m secretive about my name, my opinions, or my oddness …))

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • *no it doesn’t* *but we writers never make sense*
                      No, we can’t have THAT happening, can we? That would be the end of us. No one would need us anymore. We’d be USELESS. Then our lives would waste away, because we were just so awesome and smart and sweet and humble that the world couldn’t process it anymore.
                      (I most certainly will.)
                      ((Well, I saw your blog links to Reveries, and I was like OH, THAT’S KELLYN? XD ))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • *well, since we live in a fictional world, that makes sense* *or no sense … depending on how you look at it*
                      And with no purpose in life, we might as well just vanish, and with us vanished, WHAT WOULD THE WORLD DO!? No, it’s too great a sacrifice.
                      (Good.)
                      ((Well, I go by RubyBell on the new site … although everyone still calls me ‘Kell,’ of course, which I prefer anyway. Honestly, I’m not sure why I didn’t keep my old username … it was perfectly fine. But yeah. Ruby is one of my characters … and Bell … well, there’s no reason for Bell. Except that it goes with Kell. Without the Kell, there’s no reason for the Bell … XD Okay, this got weird fast …))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • *very true* *also very true*
                      The world couldn’t possibly SURVIVE without us! It just couldn’t go on! We are essential to the lives of all. No, no, we must keep our secrets. Just share, you know, tiny bits.
                      (Indeed.)
                      ((Ah, yes, I was trying to remember if it was Kell or Ruby. 😛 You can change your username back to Kell if you want. XD And it always gets weird fast, because we’re #WRITERS. (Also, KellBell is a very nice rhyme. P )))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Tiny, tiny bits! In fact, the more I’m thinking about, the more I realize we’d better keep all our secrets to ourselves.
                      ((Yeah, I can … but I feel like everyone’s just getting used to Ruby … and yeah. Don’t want to pull another switcheroo on them. 😉 Really, though, I’m not on Nano as much as I used to be … life … happened. 😉 Yep. Writers are notoriously weird … and NaNo is notoriously weirder … (And yeah, my mom calls me KellBell sometimes … ergo, the username. XD )))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Yes, why would we want to give our secret knowledge away? It’s ours. Did they have to suffer through blood and tears to get it? No. So why should they get it so easily when we worked so hard for it. *nods* You’re right, best keep it to ourselves.
                      (( XD Ruby is a very nice name though. 🙂 WHAT? That thing called Life is still around? Guess I have to take care of that… XD Oh yes, NaNo is definitely odd. But a good odd. (And ahh, nice. 😛 )))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Yeah! If they want privileged information, they’re gonna have to bring forth some blood and tears to get it, because we ain’t giving it away free. (Wait … that sounded wrong … oh, well. I’m sure she’ll get my meaing …)
                      ((Yeah, Ruby is a great name! It’s a character who actually *ahem* resembles myself closely … only perfect. XD Seriously, though, she was the first (human) character who I really got into developing in a story and she means a lot to me … so yep. 🙂 And yeah, life! Actually, it’s calling me now … to bed. *scowls* I’d better run off now … And yes, NaNo is a great odd!))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • You’re totally right.
                      …I’ll go get my axe.
                      ((Ah, yes, those moments when you create a very good character… XD And lol, that’s what I had to do last night as well. *shakes head* Silly Life. XD ))

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • *shakes head* Bad Kellyn, you must remember to bring your knives and daggers and swords and ropes and axes and everything else with you everyday, everywhere. *wags finger*
                      (IT SOUNDS LIKE DROOLS.)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • ((Yeah … a normal writer is like a … purple dog. Weird. So if you’re a normal writer then you’re weird making you a normal writer which is weird … uh, I think I’d better stop …))

                      Like

  2. Yay! Welcome to the blogging community! GREAT POST! *Claps hands* I for one also LOOVVEE Rick Riordan. (Blame it on my 2nd grade teacher) I don’t think I would be here today if it weren’t for Rick. Thanks for the great post!
    -Jared

    Liked by 1 person

  3. THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL AND FANTASTIC POST!!! Congrats on your new blog and omg I laughed so much at the “you’re welcome Cait”. 😂 You mean my Raven Cycle fangirling isn’t as subtle as I thought? 😉 Bahhaa. I’M SO GLAD YOU LOVED IT!! You have got to try The Scorpio Races tooo sometimes because A+ it broke me and is the best thing of the world.

    And YES I also adore Leigh Bardugo (THE DREGS ARE MY DARLINGS) and Rick Riordan (SO HILARIOUS). And some of my other favourite authors are VE Schwab, Scott Lynch, and Jennifer Niven!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU!!! Well, that was my intention. 😛 Oh, it was very subtle, dear Cait. I just happen to be psychic. *nods* Okay! I was about to check it out from my library, but then I saw it was in first person… Right now I’m sort of “hating” first person, so… O.o

      And YAAAS I LOVE LEIGH BARDUGO!!! Her crew is so. Amazing. And yup, Rick Riordan for the win! I love his sarcasm. I saw VE Schwab mentioned a lot of time on your blog, so I’m going to check out some books by her! My library only has The Archived and The Unbound, though… 😦

      Thank you so much for commenting! 😛

      Like

  4. Lovely post, May! I can’t get over your professional-ism. 😀
    I haven’t read books by many of these authors (shame on me, I know), but I *have* read all the books by RR (except for the second Magnus Chase because in my opinion MC is just bleh), and I enjoyed them at the time! I’ve kinda outgrown his books, but they’re still very good. 🙂
    AHH SHANNON MESSENGER!!! I love Keeper!!! I’m not sure who I ship Sophie with…definitely NOT Keefe. I like Dex a lot ’cause he’s kinda overshadowed by Fitz and Keefe, but I’m not really sure. XD
    I also love Lois Lowry and a few others who have escaped me. XD

    Once again, amazing post, May! I have a feeling you’ll go far in the blogosphere. 🙂
    ~Grace ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, thank you so much, Grace!
      YOU MUST READ THEM. Unless you don’t like YA. XD But seriously, I love them all! I’m actually reading the Hammer of Thor right now, and though I didn’t really like the first book, I think it’s pretty good. I love that Rick is showing more character diversity–there’s a gender fluid character in HoT.
      YES!!! I’m surprised so many bloggers know about KOTLC, I know barely anyone who has read them in real life! I LOVE SOPHITZ!!!! Sometimes, I feel annoyed by Dex, but he’s a great character.
      Ah, yes, Lois Lowry. I’ve only read The Giver, but it was amazing.

      Thank you so much, Grace!!! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. NICE TO MEET YOU (for the second time)
    Obviously not stalking here
    J.K ROWLING
    LEIGH BARDUGO (ok, i don’t want to boast but I tweeted about how I was writing a review for Six Of Crows and ahem, SHE REPLIED TO MY TWEET!

    https://twitter.com/LBardugo/status/830863183145377793)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. OMG May! Your first post is AMAZING!! I love love love those authors too especially Rick Riordan,JK Rowling (of course!) and Heather Vogel Frederick. I was actually pretty surprised by the series too and I ended up loving it!
    Also this is such a lovely coincidence because even my first official post was about books!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

