Beautiful Books―2017 Writing Goals

Today, I shall give you the ONE THING that has kept you from breathing your WHOLE LIFE… Information about my writing! *dances* *parties* *gives out dried mangoes*

I’m participating in the Beautiful Books meme, [co-]hosted by Cait @ Paper Fury. Here’s the button:

beautiful books

*isn’t sure if the button links to the page or not, so gives this link* #TechSavvy

*realizes the button isn’t supposed to link to the page* #EvenMoreTechSavvy

Ahem.

Now, onto…

questions

1. What were your writing achievements last year?

Well, I was one of the three winners of a fiction writing contest, and I also wrote 15k words in November (y’all know what that means :P) for my novel, which is the highest amount I’ve EVER written.

(I know, I achieved so much this year.)

Image result for trophy for sarcasm

 

2. What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

Okay. So I’m on hiatus from writing my current novel (If Memory Serves, which you’ll hear me refer to as IMS) to write a thorough outline of the plot. I did a plot structure, but I got stuck and now the outline will help me determine specific events that will happen next. #planner

I have this dark fairy-tale retelling idea (not revealing any more than that) that I’m starting to generate ideas for, but I probably won’t get to writing that this year. I also have a sci-fi genetic modification story I’d love to write. Someday. But since I’m mainly focusing on IMS, my goals are to:

  1. Finish my outline for IMS
  2. Enter writing contest with IMS―polish up the first few chapters
  3. Write at least 37,000 more words for IMS (which I’m expecting to be 90k or more words long)
  4. Plot/outline dark fairy-tale retelling idea (Decemberish)

And yeah. That’s about as much as I’ll get to. XD

 

3. Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

Well, obviously, If Memory Serves! In just a few keywords, it’s basically about five teens, a power-hungry government official, and a memory mutation in the brain, plus lots of secrets. >:) It’s sci-fi (ish) and dystopian (ish). I think it’s pretty unique, plot-, character-, and genre-wise. A more detailed blurb will be up on the My Writings page next Tuesday, when I’ll officially introduce my novel. 🙂

I also want to tryyyyy to plot/outline a dark fairy-tale retelling. Of the moment, that’s all I want to reveal. This will probably be a secret project, because secrets are fun. 1 (Or maybe not. Because I’m weak and have low-self esteem and want need you to tell me how amazing it is.)

(Just kidding.)

(But I really might just tell you guys all about it, because if I don’t, I’ll have nothing to talk about writing-wise, since I can’t focus on more than one project at once.)

1 But it wouldn’t be secret, since I already said things about it???

 

4. How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

Well. Right now, I’m not liking my novel much, because 1) it’s written and worded oddly, 2) for some reason, there’s not a lot of emotion―while I usually write with a LOT of emotion??? and 3) something’s just wrong. So, as a writer, I want to refine my writing voice and style and also show more emotion/feelings/thoughts in my writing. (I usually write in third person, and most of the time, I can show thoughts and emotions, but for some reason, it’s not working in this novel???)

 

5. Describe your general editing process.

Well… This is awkward… I’ve never actually finished a novel before… (like I’ve said a million times already… which should make it not awkward???). But one time, for a writing contest (the one mentioned in the first question), I basically did what was described in my recent post. Basically, I print out the pages of my story and murder it with my red pen. No matter what, that will ALWAYS be the case. I just can’t edit on the computer… It’s just… MY EYES.

 

6. On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

Mmmm…

6.5

I really don’t know why I put that in a blockquote.

I mean. Look. I haven’t finished it yet. Right now, at its current stage, it needs a lot of editing. BUT. I am absolutely in love with the plot ideas and the world and the CHARRIES OH THE WONDERFUL CHARRIES I LOVE YOU SO MUCH *hugs/squeezes/tackles*

 

7. What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

Oh my mangoes. A lot of it. XD Well, like I said, this particular novel has some trouble with showing the characters’ emotions/thoughts/feelings, so I’d like to work with that, and I’d also like to work on my style of writing and how I write each character’s voice (because some of the character’s voices incorrectly portray who they’re supposed to be).

 

8. What do you like the most about your draft?

Well. I haven’t finished it (like I’ve been saying), but what I like most about it is my charries and my plot (like I’ve also said). I love love LOVE my characters, and I think the plot is unique and quite developed. Comparing to other plots. XD Now I guess that really isn’t part of the draft, and more of the story, but BAH.

 

9. What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

Ohhhh, no no no. No publishing. I would LOVE for it to be published, since I think it has a pretty unique plot, but no way in the name of mangoes will I get to publish it. I was thinking about self-publishing, but 1) I’ve heard that if you self-publish, it’ll be harder for you to find an editor??? (I’m pretty sure I misunderstood that), and 2) I want to publish a REAL book, one that I can hold and flip through, and smell that musty aroma that only comes with REAL BOOKS. (Not to say that eBooks or self-published books aren’t real. They are. Just not… as real?)

Probably more edits, to be honest. And possibly beta-readers. I guess I would let some select friends read it (BUT NOT MA FAMILLE).

 

10. What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

Having never finished a first draft before… I would say that my top piece of advice is to TAKE A BREAK. You have just finished a whole draft of a novel/story. Whether it’s 1,000 words or 100,000 words, you need a break. So take one! Relaxing and spending time away from your novel will take your mind off it, and when you come back to it, you’ll be refreshed and reminded of why you love this story so much that you decided to write it. Honestly. Best piece of writing advice ever.


shall we chat

What’s your plan for your current project? How long do you expect edits to take? Are any of you participating in the upcoming Camp NaNo? Have you done the Beautiful Books meme? (If so, GIVE ME LINKS.) Did I add too many images/gifs? Let’s have a chat!!!

sign off 2.0

*All GIFs and images are all credited to their owners―their copyright completely.
57 thoughts on “Beautiful Books―2017 Writing Goals

    • Thank you! I maaaaaay change it, since it’s a name of an already existing book, as well as a song. But I’ve grown attached to it. 🙂
      Did I inspire this? How did I inspire this? YAY GRAPHICS?! *is a confused little mango* Wait. You said “actually good”… YOURS ARE ALREADY GOOD KELLYN!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, it’s hard to find a title that isn’t already used. I have spent hours in Goodreads typing random titles and seeing if someone’s titled a book that yet. And then I save the titles. Of course, there’s always a chance that someone will publish a book of that title later … XD Yeah, I do weird things …
        I like your graphics better! 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh this was so great! And I’m really hoping you get to finish a draft someday because it’s the besssst and I think it helped me improve so much as a writer when I finished my first book. 🎉 And all the ones there after hehhh.
    (Oh and not that I know much about self-publishing, but you can always get an editor! You hire one. Many self-pubbed authors hire editors. But if you want to self-pub first and then look for a publishing house…that’s when you might run into difficulties. If that helps.😜)
    And edits for me take FOREVER. (I’m sorry that’s not comforting at all is it?!?) 😂 Considering I write a draft in like a week…editing takes like 3+ months and lots of procrastination. But worth it. ;D

    Good luck for your excellent goals for this year! *cheers you on*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much, Cait! Yeah, me too. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to finally finish a draft!
      (Oh, wow, thank you for all the great info! That will definitely be helpful in the future. 🙂 )
      Don’t edits take forever for everyone? XD (It’s quite comforting, thank you Cait. 😛 ) I KNOW, HOW DO YOU DO THAT???
      It must be the cake. Something in the cake. I really have to start eating more of it.
      Thank you so much, Cait! 😀

      Like

  2. Oh, I’ve seen your book on the YWP Critiques Forum! 😀 I’ve thought about requesting it, but I’m a horrible procrastinator and I didn’t want to put you through that. 😛 But it sounds interesting! And, actually, a bit like mine. I’m sure they’re totally unique, but the way you described it…mine has 5 main characters (most of whom are teenagers), a very controlling government, and genetic enhancements (kind of mutations?). It’s also both sci-fi-ish and dystopian-ish, hehe, and I also absolutely adore my characters. So that’s really awesome! -wants to hear more about it, definitely-

    Ooooh dark fairy tale retellings are awesome! I started a Rapunzel retelling last year where Rapunzel was locked in the tower because she’d been convicted of murder and was awaiting her execution…except she escaped. I think I’m going to work on it this year after I finish this draft of my novel, but I’ll have to do some more planning plot-wise.

    My current novel is basically what I described above…I’m working on rewriting it right now, but it’s basically a first draft because I changed everything except the most vague shadow of the plot and the characters’ names. After this, I’m going to have to develop the world, characters, and plot even more and probably rethink about half of it…but that’s improvement! I’m not sure how long all of the edits will take total, considering I’ve never done this for a novel before…but I’m excited for it! And I’ll definitely participate in Camp NaNo, just probably with whatever I’m working on at the moment and not anything new. Probably still Enhanced unless I’ve managed to finish it before then…which I doubt. I’m behind on it right now.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ah, yes! I saw you there as well on Kellyn’s thread, and I was like, Wait a minute, I know a blogger named Lana… Which proceeded to me hunting down your blog. 😛 And haha, no problem! I’m outlining it, so a lot of what I’ve written is bound to change. And oh my goodness, that is so weird! Five teens, controlling government… XD I’ve been wanting to start a genetic modification story, so that’s funny as well! 😛

      Oh, that sounds awesome! I love fairy tale retellings, ESPECIALLY dark ones. This one I have an idea, but it’s not a well known fairy tale, and not really a “fairy tale” either.

      That sounds so cool! Rewrites are hard, but they make your writing much better! Wow, that’s a lot of work! I hope you get to finish it all! 🙂 Have you ever finished a novel before?

      I really want to participate in Camp NaNo. But at the same time, I want to participate in NaPoWriMo, and I’m not sure if I’d be able to manage both, especially since I’m increasing adding 2,500 words to my goal (from my original NaNo2016 goal), and there’s no break in April… And then in July I have some vacation stuff… But I’ll definitely try! 🙂 And don’t worry about being behind on things! Right now, I am TOTALLY behind on IMS. 😛 But I’m just taking my time — I know I’ll finish when I finish. 🙂

      Like

      • Hehe, yup, that’s me! 😀 Yeah, that’s crazy, but I’ve just read your post that talks more about your novel and they are more different…but yours still sounds so interesting!

        I hope so, too… And yeah, I’ve finished a couple of novels, but I’ve never really revised one before, so this is a first for me! I think I’m kind of figuring it out, though…maybe… 😛

        What is NaPoWriMo? Wait, is that for poetry? (Forgive me if it’s not and I just sound clueless… 😛 )

        Oh, I hope you can catch up soon! I’m slowly catching up right now…hopefully February will be a better month for writing more in Enhanced.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ah, thank you! 😀
          Oh, that’s awesome! Good luck on revising! 🙂
          Yup, it’s for poetry! I haven’t been writing as many poems as I’d like, and I really think it’s important to writing, so I’d like to get back into that…
          Haha, same! I hope to get back to writing IMS by the end of February, because I just really really need to get back into the writing flow! 🙂

          Like

          • That’s really cool! I really don’t write poetry much at all…I mean, I wrote a cool slam poem for creative writing last year, but I mainly just stick to novels and short stories. Except my short stories always seem to end up getting longer…and longer… 😛

            Good luck!

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Hullo, May! I just found your blog AND I LOOOOVE IT. You are an awesome blogger and I’m sooo glad I found your blog! #itstooawesome
    I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts!
    -Sara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I just discovered your blog, and I love it! Just realized person above me said that…oh well The name is very clever, too. I also prefer traditional publishing over self-publishing (though you can print out your book, it just costs money).

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

