May’s Moments of the Month: January

Why hello there, and happy February!

I’m introducing a little “tradition” that I’ll have up once a month has ended. It’s called “May’s Moments of the Month”, and it’ll have book stats, blog stats, writing stats, life updates, and more. Hope you enjoy this month’s MMM!

(What are you talking about? “This month’s May’s Moments of the Month” completely makes sense! YOU WANNA FIGHT? Fight meeeeeee.)

mmm

  • Book Stats for January
  • Blog Stats for January
  • Writing Stats for January
  • Outstanding Life Moments of January
  • Goals for February

mmm-reading

  • I read six books this month. (Yay, yippee, mangoes for me.)
  • (Just kidding. I’m ashamed of myself.)
  • Those five books were:
    • Replica by Lauren Oliver
    • Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
    • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
    • Demigods and Magicians by Rick Riordan
    • The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan
    • When by Victoria Laurie (reread)
  • And I call myself a bookworm. *cries*
  • As you can tell, I did NOT read a lot this month, BUT I AM PLANNING FOR THAT TO CHANGE THIS MONTH. HOPEFULLY.

Image result for replica lauren oliverImage result for stars aboveImage result for the raven kingImage result for demigods and magiciansImage result for hammer of thor book

Random note: GUYSSSS IT’S A TWELFTH OF THE WAY THROUGH THE YEEEEEAR
Other note: WordPress wasn’t letting me format the book covers the right way, so now on your tablet or phone, it looks weird.

Favorite Book of the Month?

What??? You expect me to choose??? Aaaagggghhhh…

Either Stars Above or The Raven King. Stars Above was just so fluffy and amazing and GAH, while The Raven King was so gritty and amazing and GAH.

Least Favorite Book of the Month?

What??? No. I have no least favorites. They’re all by amazing authors and… no. I just couldn’t.

But… since you didn’t say “worse”… I guess my “least favorite” would be Demigods and Magicians. I mean, it was great. But the others were better.

PLEASE DON’T KILL ME I LOVE YOU RICK RIORDAN YOU’RE MY HERO.

Or perhaps When, since it was a reread… BUT OBVIOUSLY IF I REREAD IT, IT WAS MAGICAL, AND IT WAS JUST AS WONDERFUL AS THE FIRST TIME GAAAAAH. (Sorry, I had to fangirl somewhere.)

Favorite Author of the Month?

You can obviously tell that I like Rick Riordan… But I think the award goes to either Lauren Oliver or Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve read Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall, which I thought was okay. But Replica was very very good, and now I want to read all her other books. And then I hadn’t been particular obsessing over The Raven Cycle, but with The Raven King, Maggie Stiefvater made me definitely more obsessive over the series.

(Also, my Marissa Meyer obsessing was in December, when I devoured the Lunar Chronicles. Even though all the scenes in Stars Above were so. Cute.)

TBRs Accumulated From This Month?

Oh goodness, here we go (in no particular order except for the order in which I remember titles):

(BTW, a lot of these are inspired from Cait at Paper Fury XD)
  • Splintered by EG Howard
  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • Vicious by VE Schwab
  • The Archived by Victoria Schwab
  • Panic by Lauren Oliver
  • Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  • And a thousand more that I’ve forgotten because TOO MANY HELP ME

MMM blogging.PNG

  • Well, obviously, January was when I first started my blog, on Sunday, January 22, 2017. I don’t have a lot of stats, but I’ll share what I do have:
  • 5 posts
  • 567 views
  • 46 likes
  • 260 comments
  • 23 WordPress followers + 2 email followers
*Someone followed me today, so now I’m at 24 WordPress followers. 😛

First, of all, I want to say THANK YOU ALL SO, SO MUCH! You all welcomed me to the blogosphere and it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside! Thank you thank you thank you! I could not have asked for a better first month! (Or first two weeks. Because that’s basically what it was.)

Favorite Post?

Personally, I would say… Favorite Authors (Because I’m Horribly Unimaginative and Can’t Think of Anything Else). That was my first real post ever, so it holds some sentimental value. 🙂

It also had lots of graphics and gifs and images, which is cool. *thumbs up*

Top Posts(s)?

I’d say Favorite Authors was the most popular post, with 9 likes. There were over 70 comments, but to be honest, most of those comments were me chatting with Kellyn and Grace. 😛

Unpopular Posts that Deserve to be Recognized for Their Awesomeness?

Eh. I’ve barely started, and I think none of the posts were really “unpopular”. *blows kisses* *gives mangoes* Although make sure to check out yesterday’s post about my novel if you haven’t! 🙂

Shout-Outs to Any Blogs/Bloggers?

(Oh, yes, I’m that amazing. Free promos for nice people.)

Well, I’ll just point out my followers and/or commenters (BECAUSE I LOVE YOU ALL AND HERE ARE SOME DRIED MANGOES TO PROVE IT):

  • April McLauren from April Dreams
    • Thanks for being there from the very, very start! 🙂
  • Kellyn Roth from Reveries
    • Our conversations were the best.
  • Robin from Gems of Literature
    • I don’t know how on earth you found me, but thank you nonetheless!
  • Abigail from The Freckled Fashionista
    • You are my ultimate fangirl and lovely lass! (Hehe, didjagetit, didjagetit?)
  • Anonymous A from Caught Daydreaming
    • Thanks for believing in me and my blog!
  • Grace from The Girl Upstairs
    • You sweet girlie. 😛
  • Ivy Ashtyn from Flaming Ivy
    • Thank you for being the one I can rant and ramble to about my blog.
  • Allie Taylor from The Depth of My Faith
    • Such a sweet and lovely blogger! 😀
  • Solaice Skier from Oh, Solace!
    • Conversations with you are always fun. 😛

And that’s it! I’m not sure if I’ll do that each month, but I know for sure that I’ll call out some new followers or some bloggers who’ve made my day with comments. 🙂

Oh, and also!

  • Cait from Paper Fury
    • For making me squeal with glee the three times I saw your comments.

mmm-writing

  • Okay, let me first tell you: January has NOT been my writing month.
  • I’ve barely outlined IMS, and I haven’t touched the actual novel in FOREVER. But, once I’ve got this blog up and running, I think I’ll have more time to outline. I’m HOPING to get the outline finished by the end of this month, because I REALLY need to get back to writing again. Also, you know that writing contest I won that I mentioned in my Beautiful Books post? I want to write more of IMS and polish the first few chapters so I can submit it to the contest again this year.
  • So. What have I done besides getting 500 words done of my outline?
  • (I think) I’ve figured out a new story idea.
  • (Although that really isn’t an accomplishment because #priorities???)
  • It’s going to be dark, and a retelling of a lesser known fairy tale. With what I’m thinking to be cyborgs.
  • BUT NO I CAN’T THINK ABOUT THAT RIGHT NOW
  • I’ve also outlined a writing plan for the next few years. It basically says what I’m working on at what time of year and when I’ll be expected to finish.
    • IMS is estimated to finish in Summer 2018.
    • Dark retelling or genetic mod. sci-fi story is expected to start after that.
    • (I also might be able to finish IMS in May 2018, but that just depends on how long the chapters will get near the end.)
  • WHY AM I EXPLAINING THIS TO YOU THIS IS A POST ON WHAT I ACCOMPLISHED, NOT WHAT I’M GOING TO ACCOMPLISH

mmm-life

  • Well, nothing really exciting happened this month. I do just want to add a quick thing though:
    • Last week, I was entering the grocery store when I saw an old man hunched over with his shopping cart. A lady employee comes over and greets the man. “Hi!” she says, “it’s great to see you again! How are you?” To which the old man replies, “I’m fine, how are you?” Then the hug, and that’s when I spot the man’s one cloudy eye (which I believe means it is blind). And even if I hadn’t seen his “blind” eye, my heart still would’ve expanded, because often, the elderly don’t get the love and respect they deserve. Just seeing that lady be so caring towards him made me feel so lovely and wonderful. (And the fact that she seemed to recognize the man from previous visits.)
  • OH WAIT HOW COULD I FORGET: IT’S THE NEW YEAR!!! Welcome to 2017, y’all! New year, new opportunities! And new blog! 😛 (Not mentioning politics. I refuse to mention any politics.)
  • Um, maybe an outstanding life moment is that we got costumes for my upcoming dance show? Or maybe that I got to play Hamlet in a Shakespeare-mix class play? (Wow, that feels like forever ago.) Or other little things that I forgot?

mmm-goals

Reading:

  • READ SEVEN BOOKS.

    • Look, I know that’s a tiny amount. But 1) I’m a slow reader, 2) I have school and homework, 3) I need to write, and 4) I also have a blog now. And I barely made it through January with six books (one of which I finished over Winter Break―NO SCHOOL).
  • ONE OF THOSE SEVEN BOOKS NOT INCLUDING WE ARE WITNESSES.

    • We Are Witnesses is a book I’m reading for Language Arts, and my seven books cannot include that. Because. (Also, for the mango-ificent people who are wondering, the book is horrible. I mean, I thought it’d just be diary entries but this guy keeps talking and blah blah blah. I usually love Holocaust stuff BUT NOT THIS ONE.)
  • MAYBE DO A REVIEW FOR ONE OF THOSE SEVEN BOOKS ON THIS BLOG?

    • I’m not sure. I mean, I have a posts plan for the next few weeks (I know, I’m a planner at heart), but I guess I could add a book review. But I’m just bad at reviewing. So maybe not.

Writing:

  • FINISH IMS OUTLINE.

    • Seriously, this is a problem. I NEED to finish it! I have to get back to writing!!!
  • START REWRITING CHAPTER SEVEN OF IMS.

    • Chapter 7 was where the horror started of me randomly writing things because I didn’t know what else to write about, so that will need to be rewritten. *sigh*
  • PLAN A LITTLE MORE OF DARK FAIRY-TALE RETELLING.

    • Just a liiiiiiittle more. A tiny bit. I want to focus on IMS, but I know that I can’t just focus on that. So I’ll only plan A FEW things of this. And if I say anything about doing more than just “a few things”, you have permission to take away my dried mangoes. *sobs*

Blogging:

  • START A BLOG SERIES.

    • I have some plans for… um… four… I really want to get them going. I’m planning on starting one pretty soon, and then―OH WAIT, I’VE ALREADY STARTED ONE! THIS ONE! 😛 Well, I want to start another one, one that isn’t MMM. I’ve actually started thinking of a writing advice series…
  • MAYBE DO A REVIEW FOR A BOOK I READ THIS MONTH ON THIS BLOG?

    • Like I said in the Reading Goals―probably not going to. But maybe. Maybe…
  • REACH THIRTY FOLLOWERS.

    • I mean, I got twenty-four followers already??? How did this happen??? If I got TWENTY-THREE followers in a week and a half, I’m sure I can gain seven more in a month, right? RIGHT???
    • (I don’t know how y’all found me, but THANK YOOOOOOOOU.)

Life:

  • PRACTICE PIANO MORE.

    • Um. Yes. Like, I’m supposed to do it everyday, but some weeks I only get three days of practice in… D:
  • SPEND LESS TIME ON THE COMPUTER.

    • I spend waaaaaaaay too much time on the computer. I have HOMEWORK. This weekend was the most I’d EVER procrastinated―I had Saturday COMPLETELY. FREE. (Dance rehearsals were rescheduled to Sunday) And what do I do? Browse the web and BARELY study for a French oral test. Then on Sunday I put off homework until right before I had dance rehearsals, and I had to finish everything on Monday. NOT. GOOD.
  • GET MORE SLEEP AND PRAY EVERY NIGHT.

    • I have been REALLY bad at getting enough sleep (hello, life goal #2) and I’m so tired at school the next day. So I would like to get more sleep this month, because I’ll just be happier overall, better focused, and less exhausted. I also want to get back into the habit of praying each night before I go to bed. (I’m Buddhist, for those who don’t know, which is like everybody.)

Before You Leave Me!

Tell me, do you think the mini “notes” at the end are hard to read or visually unappealing?

For example, like this. (6)

I personally think it gets hard to read after awhile, and would like to hear your opinions. I don’t really want to change the font, because I really love this one for titles and headers, but I wish I could make the font smaller without making it all capitalized like that.

Perhaps you’d prefer if I put it in this size? (5)

Or maybe if it looked like this? (4)

Anyway, if you could comment which header you like best (6, 5, or 4), that would be awesome! And if you have any preferences as to whether I should do the many parentheses I do in the middle of paragraphs, or if I should to more superscripts like this to make it less confusing, that would also be super helpful! Your thoughts and opinions means so much to me, and I want to make sure you can read posts without being irritated (like I am when I read those tiny notes 😛 ).


pasted-image-0

Have you made it this far?  Did you like the format of MMM? How was your January? Any particular goals for February? Think I’ll be able to reach my goals? 6, 5, or 4? CHAT WITH ME!!! (I promise I won’t throw any dried mangoes at you.)

If you did, here are some mangoes to celebrate your amazingness. I swear, this is so. Long.

onojpuo_laxj9rdrs3yh-jmlthimgerydzimo6wof79-ti5rn1ot-2xnfzkbo2noexfj4_cdugwl2n1_ztshjpnhfdh6dq6awaiywhpqasmb9oe_dh9t8n3zptor0bw2iq

52 thoughts on “May’s Moments of the Month: January

  1. As for me, 6. But I don’t know. Ask people who know, not me, who can read anything … XD

    Yeah, I read it all! Most of it anyway … 😉 I’m just kidding; I read it all.

    So, here’s my bet. I think you’re gonna win two or your goals and fail the rest. That’s right. I don’t think you can make it … I think you’re a failure …

    All right, I’m kidding, I’m kidding. I’m just excited and rambling ’cause I GOT A MENTION!!! Nobody ever talks about me in their posts! Unless it’s a blog tour or something like that … and then they kinda don’t have a choice. XD So yeah, seeing my name on someone else’s blog is a AAHAAHADFGKADSJGALDGALFG moment for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 1 vote for 6! 😛
      Haha! It’s fine if you didn’t read it all — honestly, I probably would’ve skimmed some bits. XD *makes mental note to make posts shorter*
      *cries* WHY KELLYN WHY DON’T YOU BELIEVE IN MEEEEEEEEEEEEE MY MANGOES DO TRUST IN MY MANGOESSSSSSSSS
      Haha! Well, you guys welcomed me and made me feel completely AWESOME, so I just had to mention all these lovelies! I think everyone is excited when they see someone else mentioned them. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. SO APPARENTLY I WASN’T FOLLOWING YOU which is why le posts weren’t showing up in my Reader. *whaps self* Well anyway, lovely post, May! Also what is this you haven’t read Les Mis??? Oh my gosh. *pushes* Go read it, and see you in a week after you’ve recovered from all the crying at the end.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I like 6, but personally I prefer parentheses rather than notes…since I tend to forget what the notes were actually referring to…oops. 😛

    Anyway, you had a great blogging month! *high fives* Way better than my first month, so kudos to you! That’s awesome! And this blog series is so cute. 🙂 I love it.

    Ahh, I’ve heard that The Raven King is really good! I should probably read it…how’s the content in it?

    Also, you should probably work on IMS. (But because I love fairy tale retellings, I’m going to whisper to you that it’s okay for you to procrastinate… 😉 )

    You’re Buddhist? That’s awesome! 😀 I love learning about other religions and I just finished taking a religions class last semester and Buddhism is really interesting. So I may ask you some questions if that’s okay…once I look over my notes and remember what I learned about it. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Okay, thank you! I also like parentheses, but often I have too many and it gets quite confusing. 😛
      Thank you! Haha, I’ve just commented around and manipulated everyone into commenting on and liking my blog. 😛 And thanks! 😀
      Yes! It’s great! The Raven Cycle is super good! Well, there’s a lot of swearing, but other than that (and some, you know, dirty things), it’s really good! Paranormal, romance… *claps* For a better idea of the content, you should look it up. 😛 I’m bad at explaining things.
      I should… Haha! Wow, thanks so much for helping, Lana…. 😛
      Yes, I am! I’m actually not that serious about it, so I don’t know a lot, but I’ll try to answer most of your questions! 🙂

      Like

      • Hehe, I like lots of parentheses!

        Well, it’s worked for you, so good job! How did you go about manipulating people…any tips for me? 😛

        Okay, I’ll have to look it up, then! If the content is okay, then I’ll probably get around to reading it at some point. If not…well, they really need to make a VidAngel for books.

        I know, I’m just so helpful. Whenever you need help procrastinating, I’m right here for you. 😉

        Okay! *reminds self again to go look up notes*

        Liked by 1 person

        • Same! 😀
          Haha! 😛 Um, I just comment on people’s blogs? XD I mean, I’ll find someone on a bog I’m following, and then I’ll look at their blog, then comment and perhaps follow. 😛
          It’s really great! I also love Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (if you haven’t found out by now), and I think it is an absolute must-read!
          …What is a VidAngel? XD
          Aw, thanks! Shall we be procrastination buddies?
          😀

          Like

          • That’s a good idea! I’ve done that a couple of times…but sometimes I feel like I spend too much time blogging already…even though I produce hardly any posts. 😛

            Ahh, cool! I’ll have to look that up and add it to my TBR.

            VidAngel is a movie filtering company where you stream movies online and choose what to cut out from the movies. You buy a movie for $20 and then can sell it back for $19 that same day, so it’s basically a dollar. Unfortunately, they’re in a legal battle right now, so they’re shut down at the moment. D: But yeah, I’d love a filter for books that’s like that, where you can choose what to cut out.

            Yes, we should! 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh nice post, May! I love it! I haven’t read ny of those books! I am so far behind the modern world. ;_;.
    Thank You. I am so pleased I got a mention! :). Oh and for where I found this blog here is the riddle: It is the initial plan of the nemesis, And ends with the initiating failure of ours. Good Luck. :P.

    I like 4 or 6. It goes easier on my eyes that way. 🙂 Nice post again!

    P.S. Love the title!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Robin! And haha, I’m trying to keep up with all the new releases, but 1) I’m broke and can’t get buy the, and 2) my library unfortunately gets books like a month to two months later. 😦 XD
      Haha, you’re welcome! 🙂
      I’m really bad at riddles so I’m not gonna even try. 😛
      Thank you, Robin!
      Haha! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh OKAY *scrolls back up to remember what to comment*. Sorry for my #goldfish moments
    FIRSTLY, MMM sounds so cool! I can’t wait for you to do an MMM for MAY!
    Replica by Lauren Oliver (my sister got this book and I’m begging her to let me read it XD)
    I haven’t read anything by Maggie Stiefvater but I NEED TO, I’VE HEARD SHE IS SOO GOOD!
    Oh, and my sister also has Delirium by Lauren Oliver and I am begging.Congrats on all your followers, but you really should have WAY more because hello? THIS IS GOOD CONTENT PEOPLE *makes mental note to FORCE people to read your blog otherwise I will stab them with hardback books and throw bookmarks at them and maybe they can drown in my bookshelves as well. MANGO FIGHTS*
    AND BOOKWORMS CANNOT HAVE SLEEP – WE MUST TACKLE OUR TBR’S!
    AND PIANO, you are officially awesome. TEACH ME HOW TO PLAY
    and I like (5) the best

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg, Mahriya, I love you!!! You’re too funny.

      Oh yes, May will be interesting. XD

      YES READ STIEFVATER YES YES YES I mean I’ve only read the Raven Cycle BUT READ STIEFVATER

      Oh yes, I need to read Delirium! And Panic! And Vanishing Girls! NOOO TBR GO AWAAAAAY.

      AGH STOP BEING KIND TO ME, MAHRIYA. I’M NOT USED TO SUCH KINDNESS. Omg are we throwing things and stabbing people? *joins in*

      BUT SLEEP IS GOOD. OTHERWISE I’LL FALL ASLEEP READING A BOOK WHICH IS #NO.

      Thank you, but I was awesome before piano. *flips hair* 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • FUNNY? What did I just comment. AHH YES ABOUT JAM WAS IT? I NEED JAM, OH AND MANGOES!!!!!
        And yes, my TBR will grow bigger than my house soon. Maybe even bigger than the universe. MUHAHA! I WILL TAKE OVER (and you of course) and the book worms will be OUR MINIONS!
        YES, HARDBACKS ARE VERY GOOD WEAPONS (a bookworm doesn’t carry around books because they want to read, they carry it for safety. Am i right or am i right?)
        SLEEP is GOOD but BOOKS are better #yes. *bookworm fights*
        YOU WERE ALWAYS AWESOME (Always – hp reference, no) After all this time? You were awesome and you didn’t tell me (forgets other conversation but #goldfish moments). i think I should re-name my blog MY GOLDFISH LIFE

        Liked by 1 person

        • *dies of laughter* STAAAAAHP.

          I SHALL JOIN YOU if my TBR doesn’t kill me first. It’s a very strong, scary possibility.

          YOU ARE RIGHT. Though most of the time I am #broke and can only afford paperbacks. 😥

          Books are better than sleep. *will regret saying this at three a.m. tonight*

          HPPPPPPPPP And yes, I’m very modest except for some situations that you have forgotten because of your #goldfish moments. AND YES. DO IT.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I TOLD YOU WILL DIE. I TOLD YOU (wait, did i tell you?) NOW YOU ARE A GHOST (or were you already one, HOW CAN I KNOW?) TBR’s are VERY DANGEROUS (but not as dangerous as ME MUHAHAHA) Bookworms are ALWAYS BROKE. HOW CAN WE AFFORD THINGS WHEN a)we have to buy book snacks b)we buy lots of books c)BOOKSHELVES!

            Liked by 1 person

            • You are being a #goldfish again. *shakes head* I was already a ghost because of a little someone called OUTLINE. *glares at said outline* But don’t worry, I can die again for you if you’d like. And you obviously wouldn’t like that because you need my glorious mangoness around at all times. AND YES. YOU ARE VERY DANGEROUS MAHRIYA. But not as dangerous as the MANGOOOOOES. One day, I hope to be a rich bookworm. Don’t know how that will happen (hopefully I’ll publish an NYT bestseller???) BUT I NEED TO HAPPEN. BECAUSE BOOKISH NEEDS.

              Liked by 1 person

  6. This is such a great idea! I had a massive reading slump in Sept/Oct/Nov and read like 10 books over the three months #shameface but then somehow I got out of it & read like 8 books in December and 13 last month I was so proud. I think I have another slump though. Only 3-4 books so far. 😦 x
    PS I comment as the mangoest mango of them all (after you, of course, the mango queen 😂)

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

