Valentine’s Day Celebration + Poem + Happy Birthday + Dance Show

Today is the day we celebrate LOVE. ❤

Of course, we should celebrate love and be loving every day, but this is a special day in which we show our love more openly.

Fortunately for me, I love no one.

love black and white i love you one tree hill chad michael murray
I can’t say the same thing about you, but why thank you, sir.

Alrighty! Here’s what this post will hold for you today so you can be mean and skip through everything and read only the parts that are interesting:

  • poem
  • a quick discussion on love (in the world and in books)
  • give some love to these:
    • books
    • blogs
  • a Happy Birthday to Amelieeeee
  • dance updates

When Love is No More

(Note: My poetry is usually more negative and/or darker than this, but with the events going on in the US right now, I just had to write this, my old “passionate” and “meaningful” style of poetry. And also: some, but not a lot of, controversial topics.)

 

When love is no more,

the world will end,

because there will be a mother unable to take care of her child,

starving in a camp because

no one will reach out a hand

and give them a place to call home.

When love is no more,

the world will end,

because a girl will not be allowed to go to school,

while a boy walks past

with a backpack over his shoulder

carrying knowledge that she will

never have.

When love is no more,

the world will end,

because Earth will be raging in a constant battle,

the people versus the people versus the people

in a never-ending war

where hate will win

and love will

lose.

 

But when is “when”?

What is “love”?

Are we already too late,

too slow,

“no more”?

 

Now is “when”.

“Love” is gone.

We’ve gone past “no more”

and into “never ever”.

 

We can change that, though.

We can make “when” tomorrow,

and the day after that.

We can bring back “love”,

and spread it through the world.

It won’t ever be “no more”,

if we choose to stand up

and love

today.

 

(That positive ending killed me. Can’t I just end everything with darkness and murder and misery??? I’m so tempted to change it right now, but NO. TODAY IS [supposed to be] A HAPPY DAY. I MUST BE HAPPY. EVEN FOR JUST A SECOND.)


A Quick Discussion on Love

(Note: some more controversy because I’m very passionate.)

Today, you won’t see many big acts of love. There are small acts, sure, such as a mother tucking her child in bed, or giving money to the homeless. But right now? You really can’t see much. Many events such as the refugee crisis and war show us how much hate our world can hold. I am quite passionate on the topic of immigration, my family having immigrated to America more than a decade ago. Not allowing immigrants to enter the US because of their religion is astoundingly cruel of the US, and that is not at all showing love. Neither is shutting out refugees, seeking a home. I understand that these refugees and immigrants have a chance of threatening national security, but people have been immigrating to America for years. We can’t let the acts of one religious group stop that.

Love is not tangible. It is an abstract, strange thing, in so many different forms and shapes that we cannot even begin to fathom what it is. What it isn’t, however, is showing hatred towards others, not treating everyone fairly regardless of their race, gender, religion, or sexuality, refusing to lend a hand to those in need. I ask of you, this Valentine’s Day, to just show one act of love, however small or large it may be. It may be just thinking and hoping for the best for those in suffering, or doing service in your community. We are too divided right now to come together and be loving again, but I hope that we aren’t weak enough to be hateful to others around us.

Picture of child drawing a heart in sand

Give Some Love to These…

BOOKS!

  • Percy Jackson & all the other books by Rick Riordan
    • Rick Riordan is amazing and so hilarious and creative and gah.
  • Harry Potter by JK Rowling
    • Obviously???
  • the Legend trilogy and the Young Elites trilogy by Marie Lu
    • One word: HEARTBREAK. (But definitely read it.)
  • the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo
    • Can I just say ❤ ❤ ❤ LIKE OMG.
  • the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    • Still fangirling over it… BUT LOOK AT ALL THE CUTE SHIIIIIIIPS.
  • the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
    • BLUE GANSEY RONAN ADAM NOAAAAAAAAAAH.
  • the Keeper of the Lost Cities series by Shannon Messenger
    • #TeamSophitz all the way.
  • the Mother-Daughter Book Club series by Heather Vogel Frederick
    • Now, this isn’t my usual reading style, but I really enjoyed it.
  • the Selection series (but not The Heir and The Crown) by Kiera Cass
    • The series was great, but the story should’ve ended with America.

(Now for some of my other favorites.)

  • the Graceling trilogy by Kristin Cashore
    • Graceling was the best, but all of them were pretty good!
  • When by Victoria Laurie
    • The second time I read it, it obviously wasn’t as awesome. But ❤
  • And a million others that I’ve conveniently forgotten.

BLOGS!

(Because I’m nice and I like my friends and I will #promote you.)

The first three blogs are by some of my closest friends in real life; they (and I) would very much appreciate it if you checked it out/commented/followed! 😉

(These blogs belong to bloggers who comment often on my blog ❤ or have blogs that I like. 🙂 )


Happyyyyyyy Birthdaaaaaaaay

Technically, today isn’t her birthday, but I’m not posting on Thursday, so I’ll say it today:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, AMELIE!!!

She started her blog quite recently, called That’s All There Is, and it would be a very sweet birthday present if you went over there to check it out. 😉 Love you, girlie! Hope your thirteenth year is as sweet as you are!

Image result for happy birthday gif


Dance Updates

So, I’m part of an advanced dance team that we call “company”. We’ve been working on pieces all year to perform at our company showcase. Tomorrow, I have dress rehearsals from 4:30 to 9, so no posts. And then on Thursday, I have my actual show (!!!). Because of this, I’ll be posting on Saturday AND Sunday, because I know you can’t miss my amazing posts. Don’t worry, mangoes, I’ll still be reading your posts and commenting on them, because I’m #awesome that way. But just so you’re aware of why I’m not posting tomorrow as I usually do.


pasted-image-0

Did you have a good Valentine’s Day? What do you think of poems with happy endings! (Blech.) Will you check out those books and/or blogs? Are you going to give Amelie a fantastic birthday gift by visiting her blog? WILL YOU MISS ME??? (You better.) Chat with me, I’m lonely!

 

onojpuo_laxj9rdrs3yh-jmlthimgerydzimo6wof79-ti5rn1ot-2xnfzkbo2noexfj4_cdugwl2n1_ztshjpnhfdh6dq6awaiywhpqasmb9oe_dh9t8n3zptor0bw2iq

P. S. Guysssss… I was in such a horrible rush to publish this post, I totally forgot about a graphic and gifs! I know. I’m so disappointing. *cries*

70 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Celebration + Poem + Happy Birthday + Dance Show

  1. OH MY GOSH THANK YOU FOR THAT POEM, MAY. People are so heartless these days; I always want to ask them how they would feel if their last hope was to escape their country and they were shut out of America. And no matter what religion anyone is, it’s just plain wrong to be discriminating because of that. I really think this country is headed straight downhill, and so many are blinding themselves to it. UGH UGH I CAN’T DEAL. Would you care for some alternative facts? -_-

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WOOHOO ANOTHER GREAT POST! AGH I feel you SO MUCH on that poem! I’m a little scared with out government tbh but I know there’s always good people out there ❤ and that poem was PERFECTION. Just the way it is. I also tend to do sad endings but I like yours how it is.
    Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, thank you so much Grey dear! Yes, I agree–however bad things may be right now, there are always good things. 🙂 Thank you! I wish it could’ve been more negative though… It made me cringe so hard. XD

      Like

  3. Did you have a good Valentine’s Day?:
    What do you think of poems with happy endings!: Um … no comment, really? Idk. XD I don’t think I’ve ever seen one except that one … so I’m too young in this happy-poem-area to know for certain.
    Will you check out those books and/or blogs?: already did! I mean, most of them were amongst my favorite blogs (you know the ones that you just can’t wait to read the next post by), and the ones that weren’t I went and checked out and so yeah. Now I’ve already done that! XD But I guess I technically hadn’t checked them all out before this post, so … yes? Okay, this officially makes no sense.
    Are you going to give Amelie a fantastic birthday gift by visiting her blog?: Natch. (What? I can use ’40s slang whenever I want and still be cool … okay, not cool, but … I can still be Kellyn Roth, Queen of Obscure Awkwardness and Chocolate)
    WILL YOU MISS ME???: YES!!! The (blog) world ain’t the same without you, honey. Even though you’ve only been here a couple weeks. But we’re already very attached to you.

    And I got mentioned in the blog section!!!!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 I mean, it happens every once and a while amongst my (I say my, but I really mean … like the community I’m in … not that I own it … it was here loooong before my time and even if it wasn’t … *stops talking* *awkwardness ends*) itty bitty blogging community … but yeah, always fun. 😛

    And … I think I’ve covered everything? Yep. Pretty much. No, wait! Nice little thing about love up there. I mean, I don’t agree 100%, but yeah. Deep stuff. *nods*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ohh well that was a fun post to read and I loved the poem! 🙂 Also, YOUR FAVORITES YAY! The Lunar Chronicles and The Raven Boys are just so, so good, I love these series, I need mooooooooooooore. And I do agree with you about The Selection series: I enjoyed it, but it should have stopped with America. I still haven’t read the last one ahah.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome post, May! I agree with a lot of what you said. 🙂 And THANKS SO MUCH FOR MENTIONING ME!!! *hugs you* 😀
    ~Grace ❤
    P.S. AGH the Hamilton t-shirts on Etsy are SO purtyyy…how must I choose?!
    P.P.S. When I first saw "Happy B-day to Amelie," I thought you meant the Broadway musical that Pippa is in. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  6. WHY? WHY? WHY ARE YOU SOO GOOD.
    Have you written a book, MORE, because I could get drunk on your writing, it is SOOO good.
    SERIOUSLY, I AM IN PIECES after that poem *Wails*
    Checking out some of those blogs, and OH UM EXCUSE ME WHILE I DIE HERE, ME? Thanks for the promotion, at least someone’s done that awkward job for me xx
    OH AND:
    Harry Potter by JK Rowling
    OBVIOUSLY OBVIOUS
    Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    SCREAMS

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG Thank you so much!!! *cries from Mahriya’s kindness* That’s actually not one of my best… XD
      I KNOW RIGHT? XD And yes, it’s much easier to promote another blog than to promote your own. (No… We haven’t had any recent conversations on promoting…)
      YES YES HARRY POTTER AND SIX OF CROWS AGHAGHALHSGLHASDG

      Liked by 1 person

        • BUT I’M THE ONE IN TEARS BECAUSE OF HOW COMPLIMENTY YOU ARE.

          Oh, yes. Nice to meet you too, Mahriya! I haven’t seen you around the blogosphere at all, which is TOTALLY why I promoted your blog in my post…

          *screams incoherently*

          Liked by 1 person

          • I GUESS WE SHOULD JUST CRY TOGETHER SO THE TEARS CAN FORM A WATERFALL AND THEN I CAN DROWN IN THEM AND YOU CAN WRITE ABOUT IT BECAUSE YOU ARE SOO GOOD

            It’s lovely to come across your blog. I wish I could’ve talked to you before! Glad to meet you FOR THE FISRT TIME EVER

            (no-one will here me fangirling (auto-correct made this flinging) inside #struggles)

            Liked by 1 person

            • 😢😢😢 STOP IT MAHRIYA YOU’RE TOO KIND

              People are mean to me so kindness is foreign to me. 😂 Just kidding. Maybe.

              I love your blog as well! We really should’ve gotten to know each other. It’s a blessing that we were brought together FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME.

              *dies silently*

              Liked by 1 person

                  • totally not being vain here, right! Awesome people are too awesome to be modest. WE NEED TO SHARE THE AMAZINGNESS and if we be ‘modest’ about it how can we? (Even tho I find Self Promo awkward, and I am awkward, and my blog but hey let’s just FOCUS ON YOU NOW!) YUP MAY IS AWESOME(do not visit my blog)

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • Awesome people either overly praise themselves or overly insult themselves. True story. NONONO PEOPLE GO VISIT MARHIYA’S BLOG BECAUSE SHE IS AN AMAZING LITTLE MANGO WITH AN AMAZING NOT-SO-LITTLE BLOG.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • STOP TRYING TO GET PEOPLE MURDERED (this is what happens when people read my posts) EVERYONE WHO FOLLOWS ARE JUST GHOSTS (including you muhaha. dw, i’m a ghost too) STAY SAFE, and don’t read my blog. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED MY MANGOES (also, I’m a mango? I thought I WAS A GOLDFISH!)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • PEOPLE ARE ALREADY DEAD BECAUSE THEY ARE ON MY BLOG (#extremelyboring) AND YES I AM A GHOST BECAUSE MY OUTLINE KILLED ME (living is very dangerous and can lead to death) AND YOU ARE A MANGO-GOLDFISH HYBRID. LOOM. YOU’RE BOTH ORANGE. Just like a certain president…

                      *crosses fingers and hopes weakling brain remembered right that Mahriya hates Trump and agrees with weakling brain’s impulsive statement*

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • BORING, ahah, keep dreaming. Your blog is the OPPOSITE! And I know, because I’m a mango AND a Goldfish (#reliable). NAUGHTY OUTLINES *tuts*
                      ORANGE. Ugh, I hate that man, Of course I DO, WHO LIKES HIM? (I don’t want to be orange like him tho? *cries*)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Oh yes, but I am the Mango QUEEN. I am knowledgeable of all content relating to mangoes, and the mango content on this blog is not worthy of mangoes.
                      A majority of Americans like him apparently. *cries* (YOU SHALL BE A MULTICOLORED MANGO GOLDFISH. FOR LGBT STUFF AND EQUALITY.)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Of course, Of Course your highness. (but please, your content is to die for!)
                      WAIT? Idiots who like trump, are considered people? OH, I thought they were a different species.
                      (AND YAS, OMG, I’ll BE MULTICOLOURED LIKE A RAINBOW AND THEN NO-ONE CAN BE RACIST TO ME)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • HOW DARE YOU ADDRESS ME AS “YOUR HIGHESS”. I AM “YOUR MAJESTY” TO YOU, THANK YOU VERY MUCH. “YOUR MANGONESS” WORKS AS WELL.
                      But no, mango goldfish, you either lie or are horribly blind.
                      Apparently they are humans. 😦 I’m ashamed to be of the same species of them. Can I be an animal? No. I shall be a fruit. A MANGO.
                      (YES. AND YOU SHALL SHINE SO BRIGHTLY THAT TRUMP WILL BE BLINDED AND SO WILL PENCE AND THEY’LL HAVE TO RESIGN. AND THEN YOU’LL BE MAGICAL AND TURN ALL THE HORRIBLE PEOPLE WHO SUPPORT TRUMP INTO NICE PEOPLE.)
                      Dear stalkerish person reading this comment, I don’t hate Trump’s supporters. I just don’t agree with them. And in this comment speaking with a non-Trump supporter, I am getting very passionate and being rude. #freedomofspeech Now scram. Go be stalkerish somewhere else.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • I HEREBY PARDON YOU OF ALL CRIMES AGAINST THE MANGO QUEEN AND YOU ARE NOW ABLE TO SPEAK TO HER INFORMALLY. Hello friend.
                      If we didn’t have freedom of speech, would that mean we couldn’t fangirl??? :O #mindblown

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • MANGOLD. HAHAHAHAHAHA lol. Manfish is more likely, but it sounds weird? OMG MAHRIYA THE MANGOLD AHDHJFIJS. Dang it I should’ve–oh wait, I do have an M name. 😂 THE FANGIRL’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXIES BY MAHRIYA THE MANGOLD AND MAY THE MANGO.

                      Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

