How to Survive While May is on Blogging Hiatus + One Month Blogiversary!!!

TWO BIG ANNOUNCEMENTS TODAY.

Let’s cut straight to it. Because I am an impatient little bean.

I’m going on a brief blogging hiatus until next Tuesday.

. . .

Today is also my one month blogiversary!!!

How exciting, amiright???

So. You’re probably wondering, WHY DO YOU HAVE TO LEAVE, DEAR MANGO??? I CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT YOU!!!

I know. Which is exactly why I’ve compiled a list on how to survive while I am on a blogging hiatus. #yourewelcome

But for you overly curious mangoes:

This weekend, I am going out of town to attend a dance convention.

I’ve only attended two dance conventions before, and I’ve never danced with this company (organization? faculty? WHAT DO I CALL THEM???) before. I’m super excited! Of course, I’ll be quite sore, and I wasn’t in any of the pieces chosen to perform, but that’s okay! It’s the experience that counts.

(Plus my dance studio is REALLY not competitive, so yay.)

And now you’re probably all freaking out because WHAT NO, HOW COULD SHE LEAVE ME TO FEND FOR YOURSELF IN THIS DARK WORLD FULL OF EVIL CARROTS AND BROCCOLI??? (The nemeses of mangoes.)

I’M SORRY. I’ll be back with a post on Tuesday, February 28, though.

(And I expect a huge welcoming party full of mangoes and cookies & cream ice cream. AND DRIED CRANBERRIES. DON’T FORGET THE DRIED CRANBERRIES.)


1. Be stalkerish and scroll through old posts.

  • I’m a fairly new blogger so I don’t have that many posts, but you can still look through them (and the comments) to remind yourself of those wonderful days while May was still here.
  • And honestly, this is what I do even when someone is not on a blogging hiatus. What can I say, being stalkerish is one of my best qualities skills.
  • And it’s quite fun.
  • I recommend it.
  • Especially late at night when it’s all dark and scary. It makes the experience better.
  • (P.S. This is my fourth post in five days, so make sure to check out all of them in my absence!)

 

2. Randomly comment on posts.

  • I mean, it won’t be fun for me to come back to all these random comments (well, maybe a little), but 1) it keeps you busy (from dying, of course), and 2) it reminds you of when you used to comment on my blog all those days ago.
  • THOSE LONG, LONG DAYS AGO.
  • Nothing like some reminiscing.

 

Image result for reminiscing gif
This man here is reminiscing about the olden days in which he had better hair.

 

3. (Kindly) Promote my blog.

  • What??? You can’t blame a girl for trying.
  • About a week ago, Mahriya and I were talking about the perils of being a blogger and having to promote your own blog.
  • Well, the solution of that is to just HAVE OTHER PEOPLE PROMOTE IT. #genius
  • All you have to do is post something and then mention MOI and MA BLOG (what’s French for blog???) and link stuff to stuff to stuff. It’s very easy, fun, and relaxing.
  • It also reminds you of those great times where you used to fangirl over me and my amazing blog. Which keeps you from dying, of course.

 

4. Wait???

  • Well. I know you people. You’re just not very patient.
  • But I do believe that you can wait just six days until my next post??? Or my amazing comments???
  • (BTW I won’t be commenting on new posts from Friday afternoon to Sunday evening. And if the hotel has Wi-Fi (aka if my parents will let me have the Wi-Fi password and actually use the complimentary Wi-Fi), I’ll probably comment all weekend too.)
  • When people go on hiatuses, I’m always like WHY YOUR POSTS ARE THE ONLY BRIGHT LIGHT OF MY DAYS (besides comments from you guys, of course). But when I think I can’t make it and I’ll die from no-post-inglitus, I actually make it through. With new posts. Which leads me to…

 

5. Read others’ blogs.

  • Guyssss looook. I’m being a kind mango and telling you to get off my blog and go read other awesome people’s blogs instead of commanding you to stay on my blog FOREVER AND EVER(ly). See how selfless I’m being?
  • Help it hurts how do people do this all the time.
  • But yeah. I know it’s quite surprising, but there are ACTUALLY other blogs out there that EXIST besides my OWN blog. Shocking.
  • Oh yeah, and while you’re at it, go ahead and perform Survival Method #1 (which is being stalkerish, for all you goldfish people like Mahriya) on those blogs, because people appreciate stalkers.
  • Or is that just me.

 

Image result for stalkers gif
SEE ISN’T THAT JUST PLEASANT.

 

6. Write in a journal about how much you miss me and how you feel like you’ll suffocate and/or die since I’m gone.

  • Journals help, people!
  • Just write, “AGH HELP ME I’M DYING BECAUSE MY FAVORITEST BLOGGER EVER IS ON HIATUS AND SHE’S NOT POSTING ANYTHING AND HER POSTS ARE MY LIFE I LIVE FOR THOSE POSTS I DIE WITHOUT THOSE POSTS HELP” and your problems will be solved!
  • Unless you’re a person who uses a computer as a journal. Then type it out.
  • But then you’ll want to keep writing/typing, which will grow into a whole ranty ramble about how much you need me and miss me and wish I’d come back and that will just make you feel worse
  • Well, you know what, publish that post on your blog. Then people will comment (and check out my blog; thank you for the promo) and then you can wail together.
  • BOOM. Problem solved.

 

7. Don’t post a lot on your blog.

  • Posts take a lot of blood, sweat, and tears. You’re already pouring blood and sweat and tears over my hiatus, so don’t pour even MORE blood, sweat, and tears by posting!
  • Also this will help with the amount of new posts I have to read and comment on when I come back.
  • But really. It’s an honoring sort of thing. I don’t post, you don’t post! See how it works?
  • Stop looking at me like that.
  • I’m perfectly sane.
  • I think.

 

8. Distract yourself with other things, like actually sleeping.

  • We all know that you don’t get sleep because you’re too busy stalking my blog and waiting for the moment a new post gets published.
  • WELL. Now’s the time to catch up on all that sleep!
  • It’s also very convenient, because since you missed so much sleep, you can just sleep six days straight until I’m back. #yourewelcome
  • Or you could do other productive things, like working on that novel of yours, or reading that book that’s been sitting in dust now for the (exactly one) month that I’ve started my blog.
  • SEE. LOOK AT THE BENEFITS OF MY HIATUS. (No. Don’t. Cry. Wail. Sob. DON’T BE HAPPY.) You get to catch up on all the things you missed ever since you started reading my blog. It’s great. Happiness.
  • (Can you tell I’m being sarcastic? IT’S NOT HAPPINESS. CRY. WAIL. SOB. DON’T BE HAPPY.)

 

Image result for wailing gif
Ayy, look! It’s another Supernatural gif. You’re welcome, Cas.

 

9. And finally… Just don’t.

  • Just don’t survive.
  • Easy solution.
  • I mean, it’s not a way of surviving, since you’re not surviving… But die right after you finish reading, liking, and commenting on this post (and taking the following survey), and then conveniently come back to life on Tuesday, right as a new post comes up!
  • 100% guaranteed to work!
  • Buy now for $50!
  • No money back.
  • (Bookish needs, guys, bookish needs.)

And now, onto the second part of my post: MY ONE MONTH BLOGIVERSARY!!!

Can you believe it? The weeks have gone by so quickly! At 6:13 PM on Sunday, January 22, 2017 (I THINK it was 6:13, but maybe later), I published my blog!

Actually, I accidentally published it, but having helped my friends build their blogs, I discovered that you will always “accidentally publish” it, when you first make your website. That would’ve been a whole lot LESS STRESSFUL if I had KNOWN that, but nooooo, of course I had to freak out and think, AGH NO IT’S ALREADY PUBLISHED AND I DIDN’T FINISH MY POST AND MY SIDEBAR AND MY PAGES AND GAAH EVERYONE’S GOING TO THINK I’M A LOSER.

Thanks a lot, WordPress.

Unfortunately, I will not be having a giveaway, because #cheap. Oh wait. That’s quite fortunate for me. CUZ I DON’T HAVE TO SPEND $$$. #winning

But seriously, though. THANK YOU ALL SO, SO MUCH! You guys are the bestest subjects a Mango Queen could ever ask for.

As of right now, my blog stats stand at:

  • 15 posts (this post makes 16)
  • 1,836 views
  • 366 visitors
  • 294 likes
  • 733 comments
  • 86 WordPress followers + 2 email followers

OH MY MANGOES. *cries happily* Thank you thank you thank you! I never expected that I would build my blog this fast. I’m so grateful for all you amazing mangoes and readers and followers and commenters! You have made my day many, many times, and just seeing how much my blog has grown because of you is making my day right now!

I have no way to show how thankful I am (because, again, #cheap). Instead, I’ll just give you virtual hugs. And mangoes. Of course.

And now, I ask you yet another favor. I love you guys so, so much, and want to make my blog better for you. With that, I leave you the survey below to fill out. You are in NO WAY obligated to fill it out, but if you do, I will sprinkle you with even more hugs and kisses (and mangoes).

Let me know if the thingy above doesn’t work so I can give you the link! (For some reason, each time I paste in the link, it transforms to that preview thingamajig. #techsavvy)


pasted-image-0

Feeling like you’ll surely die between today and next Tuesday? Feeling proud of yourselves for making this grumpy mango so happy? Feeling TOTALLY happy at the prospect of filling out a (super long) survey? CHAT WITH ME BEFORE I LEAVE FOREVEEEEEEEEEEER.

 

onojpuo_laxj9rdrs3yh-jmlthimgerydzimo6wof79-ti5rn1ot-2xnfzkbo2noexfj4_cdugwl2n1_ztshjpnhfdh6dq6awaiywhpqasmb9oe_dh9t8n3zptor0bw2iq

93 thoughts on “How to Survive While May is on Blogging Hiatus + One Month Blogiversary!!!

  1. Congratulations!! That’s awesome!! The gifs were #onfleek. But you didn’t even need to write this post–the simplest solution is to not go on hiatus! *claps hands* See, it’s the perfect solution. It’s already decided, you don’t get a choice. *drags on your leg* WHY ARE YOU LEAVING US?! I’M GOING TO WRITE A TON OF POSTS, HAHA. Oh, and good luck at the dance convention!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Omg you’re right! Honestly, I don’t even know why I’m going on a hiatus–it’s just three days? Well, three days can be a lot for you impatient little mangoes. 😛 NO DON’T AAGGHH THE AGONYYYYY. 😄 And thank you! 😀

      Like

  2. I was like “NOOOO” and then I saw “until Tuesday” and now it’s all good. 😂😂😂 Don’t worry about it — I used to drop off from my blog for weeks at a time, and a lot of older bloggers do it too. It just happens. #highshoolproblems XDD Have fun at your dance convention! Oh, and . . .

    OMG WHAT ARE THESE STATS 86 FOLLOWERS IN A MONTH WHAT AM I DOING WITH MY LIFE THAT IS UNHEARD OF.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 😄 Yup! I don’t know why I’m calling it a hiatus because it’s only a few days, but whatever. 😛 Oh goodness, I’m not looking forward to high school… 😄 And thank you!
      Erm… it’s 87 now… 😄 *hides* And no no no! You are an amazing blogger! I just… have random followers? Honestly, I don’t know where half of my followers found me from. 😄 AND I WISH YOU COULD STILL BLOG. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m screaming why must you leave us May. Also I feel embarrassed because I took off for like a week and you write an entire post and you’re leaving for 3 days 😥 Also you’re welcome in advance for the answers on your survey and HAPPY ONE MONTH (I totally didn’t accidentally write year 😉 ) ANNIVERSARY

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m crying ’cause you’re going. I won’t survive without you, you’re blog (and Ivy’s) is the highlight of my day!
    Happy blogiversary! Maybe I’ll survive because of that.
    Have fun at the dance convention!
    ~Emily x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The moment you come back I’ll pour a lifetime’s supply of dried cranberries & other bits you mentioned onto your head. #noneedtothankme Congratulations on your blogiversery and stats! Your awesome, I love your blog and I’m going to miss you so much. 😦 x

    Liked by 1 person

  6. MAY *sobs* WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME. HOW CAN ONE* SURVIVE WITHOUT A MANGOE QUEEN?
    *A MANGOLD
    Feeling like you’ll surely die between today and next Tuesday? I probably will even with your marvellous tips because who will FANGIRL WITH ME

    Feeling proud of yourselves for making this grumpy mango so happy? Proud? PROUD? NO, I AM SO BAD AT SURVEYS OMGMYLIFE and I don’t even make sense and I’m so picky so I probably made your MORE grumpy.
    CHAT WITH ME BEFORE I LEAVE FOREVEEEEEEEEEEER.
    MORE LIFE FANGIRL, AND WAHT FOREVER? WHAT ABOUT THE MANGO KINDOM AND THE MAGAZINE!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • MWAHAHAHA I AM DOING IT BECAUSE I AM AN EVIL MANGO QUEEN. >:)

      My marvelous tips are amazing and they will work. *glare*

      NO NO NO THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR FEEDBACK (btw I’m changing the color scheme very soon 😄 ) IT MADE ME VERY HAPPY SINCE MANY PEOPLE WERE ALL LIKE “it’s amazing already don’t change it” (not to say that wasn’t helpful).

      Well of course I wasn’t being serious. I have a kingdom to run, mangoes to rule, and a magazine to craft!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Feeling like you’ll surely die between today and next Tuesday?: *glances at busy schedule* Yeah … sure … I’ll let you believe that ……. 😉 Seriously, though, I’ll miss ya! Though I’m pretty sure I missed a couple days of your gone-ness being gone myself …
    Feeling proud of yourselves for making this grumpy mango so happy?: mmhmm … well, not really because I’m so grumpy I couldn’t possibly make anyone else happy, but whatever!
    Feeling TOTALLY happy at the prospect of filling out a (super long) survey?: I took it! And was silly. It will not help you one little bit. I did my best to be critical because that’s what I like … but I totally failed. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  8. HAPPY 1 MONTH BLOGIVERSARY FABULOUS BEAN!! *showers you with sprinkles and anniversary cake* THIS IS MOST GLORIOUS. And you’re blog is like incredible for only being a month old omg. Mine had like 2 page stats and 2 followers, both of which were my sisters when I’d been blogging for a month.😂 I’m great. Ahem. SO keep up all this awesomeness and I hope you have a good time on hiatus too!! *waves and waits for you to get back*

    Liked by 1 person

  9. WHAT MAY NO YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO LEAVE WHO AUTHORIZED THIS
    AND DANG GIRL YOUR POPULAR
    i can say i knew you before. i bestowed all my knowledge of wordpress unto you so when you become a great blogger i can say i helped.
    i could out you on my resume like gosh
    BLOGIVERSARY AHHHH
    YES
    1 MONTH OF MAY
    HOORAY!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

