Mini Book Reviews // Strange but Good Books that Slightly Confuse My Weakling Brain

I either insult myself, or praise myself. I can’t decide which is better.

In this case, my weakling brain is quite weak. A lot of these books (three) confused me: Do I like it? Do I hate it? DO THE MANGOES APPROVE? But all of these books had some strange component. Which is fitting.

I’m super excited to do this post because I’ve been wanting to review a book on my blog for some time now, and although I won’t have as much room to rant and/or fangirl, I get to review more than one book! In fact, all of my February reads. Which is like five, as you learned in my MMM post.

But guys, look! I accomplished one of my goals; I took a booky pic!

20170219_121923-2.jpg

I mean, obviously it’s not very good, because I HAVE A HORRIBLE PHONE CAMERA AND THAT’S THE ONLY THING I CAN USE TO PHOTOGRAPH STUFF. But I managed to incorporate my favorite animal in the pic, so #winning.

Also, it seems like I should just take booky pics of library books, because those three stacked books are library books and they look much clearer than Scythe which is a personal book??? Or maybe that’s just how the cover of Scythe is??? But then that GLARE. #thestruggle

Anyways, those are some of the books that I’ll be doing mini book reviews on. BUT OMG I ACTUALLY TOOK A GOOD PICTURE IT’S GETTING ADDICTING HALP.

*All covers link to Goodreads because I’m FINALLY #TECHSAVVY. And it links to Goodreads even though I don’t have an account. I’M WORKING ON IT.


Image result for teh graces bookTHE GRACES ★★★☆☆

This book was strange.

Well of course it was, why else would this post be titled “Strange but Good Books that Slightly Confuse my Weakling Brain”??? But really, it was… different. I wasn’t expecting it to be this… odd… But it was, and that’s okay. I don’t really know what I was expecting, actually, but it sure wasn’t what I ended up reading. I mean, River was basically obsessed with the Graces and witchcraft, and she thought she was a special little bean who should get it all.

That’s the thing. The plot was… interesting. But I didn’t like the protagonist. I was somewhat disturbed by her??? Especially when she revealed her secret at the end??? On top of that, she has a twisted perception of herself and it’s weird. She was really obsessed and she thought she deserved more than everyone else.

THE GRACES though. The Graces were magnificent. If only the whole book was about them, but no, it was about a dark, obsessive little girl whose real name we don’t even know??? All the Graces were so enticing and I want to know MORE about them. Like why does Fenrin have a strange name while Thalia and Summer and Esther don’t???

So yeah. It was a strange, but good book, but I’ll be looking for the sequel to find out what happens next. (And I totally saw that ending coming??? Not with her secret though. That was good.)


Image result for the walls around usTHE WALLS AROUND US ★★★☆☆

The Walls Around Us was ALSO a… strange book. IS THERE A THEME GOING ON HERE? WHO DARES PLAY WITH MY BRAIN? 

This book apparently.

First of all, let me say that I loved the ending. I felt like it was a satisfying ending that wrapped up the story well. And MWAHAHAHA EVIL LITTLE VIOLET GOT WHAT SHE DESERVED.

Yeah, I didn’t like Violet. She was just really hard to like. Especially at the beginning, when she’s taking about how she’s better than all the dancers and deserves to be onstage? And then throughout the book, she keeps talking about how she wants to be exactly like Ori, because Ori is better than her. AND THEN, Ori is her best friend, yet when she is hauled off to prison, Violet is torn between feeling sad and feeling happy??? What is this heartlessness??? 

But ORI. I loved Ori. I mean, she was the innocent little bean who was so happy and kind and sweet and honestly, who couldn’t like her??? YOU GOT JUSTICE, MY LITTLE CHILD. JUSTICE.

There was really no plot. It was just going back in time (Amber) and then jumping forward to a really slow-moving day. Which is another reason why it’s so strange.

Marie was the one that got me reading this (I checked it out the day I read her review on it), and I agree that throughout the whole book, you get this feeling of unease. For me, it only went away at the end. The very end. Like I said, IT’S STRANGE.


Image result for cruel beautyCRUEL BEAUTY ★★☆☆☆

Oh dear. Huge disappointment. The only reason it’s two stars and not one star is because I enjoyed the ending. (This is like the second ending that I’ve said I’ve liked??? What about beginnings??? And middles???) But everything else was like… blech. Oh, and points for slightly coolish worldbuilding. It was a little confusing, but interesting nonetheless. Sort of interesting. Not really.

REASONS I WAS DISAPPOINTED:

  • Insta-love??? Come on, you’re kissing on the first day you meet and then you want more??? Oh and don’t forget the next day when your husband (oh look are we cheating???) touches your neck our something and then you suddenly want HIM. And it’s not really insta-love, but OMG JUST CHOOSE ONE PERSON TO LOVE OR WHATEVER AND GET ON WITH YOUR MISERABLE LIFE.
  • Love triangle that wasn’t really a love triangle??? If you read this book, you’ll know why it’s not really a love triangle, but at first, it’s TOTALLY a love triangle. And those are icky. No. Just go away.
  • Not much of a plot??? The first few days you’re in your home and you’re lowkey trying to find a way to destroy your husband while 1) kissing/wanting this person 2) kissing/wanting THIS person, and 3) feeling bad about being mean to your sister. The only part that was exciting was the CLIMAX. And climaxes are supposed to be exciting, so how would I know if it really was exciting if it wasn’t the climax???
  • WHERE IS MY BEAUTY AND THE BEAST FAIRYTALE. I get that it’s a retelling and all, but NO. WHAT. WHY WAS THERE A SECOND LOVE INTEREST. WHERE WERE LUMIERE AND COGSWORTH AND MRS. POTTS AND CHIP. CHIIIIIIIP. WHERE WAS MY SWEET LITTLE CHIIIIIIIP.

But some people apparently love it, so either THEY’RE deluded, or I am.
(But let’s be honest, it’s probably them, because everyone knows I’m right about everything.)

OH WAIT. DON’T FORGET THIS GLORIOUS SENTENCE THAT IS MY FAVORITE PART IN THE WHOLE BOOK:

 

20170217_183355.jpg
#favoritehamiltonreferenceever

 


Image result for wires and nerveWIRES AND NERVE ★★★★☆

Ah, the beautiful Wires and Nerve. It was great! I mean, not that much fangirl-worthy (EXCEPT FOR ALL THE CUTE SHIPS AND REEXPERIENCING THAT WONDERFUL FLUFFINESS PLUS SOME KISSES ASDFGHJKL). It was strange to see all the people and how they looked like, though. The only person who looked like I’d imagined was Kai. And sort of Scarlet. And call me ignorant, but WHAT HAPPENED TO WOLF I THOUGHT HE RESEMBLED A LITTLE MORE CLOSELY TO A MAN EVEN THOUGH THEY SAID THAT HE WAS BASICALLY A WOLF NOW. Excuse me while I go sob my eyes out all over again.

(Just kidding, I’m a heartless little mango. I only FELT like crying when I read the part about Wolf’s modifications. WOOOOLF.)

(HAHAHAHAHAHA HEARTLESS GET IT BECAUSE MARISSA MEYER WROTE HEARTLESS HAHAHAHAHAHAHA no stop why are you so cringy May.)

I can’t really think of any problems I had with this novel. Probably because it was a graphic novel and I was trying to finish it while I was still at the bookstore and I don’t remember anything??? Well, I do think that it was WAY too short and it should be LOOOONGER. And I also think that the plot was slightly underdeveloped? I mean, I get what the plot IS, but I think it should be more complex. It’s basically the same thing as before: Evil people against Cinder and the crew. I mean, all villains are going to be “evil”, I guess. But… I don’t know. I cannot explain it.

So yeah. Something about it was a little off for me, but overall it was really good, and if you’re a fan of the Lunar Chronicles (like meeeeeee), you will enjoy this. And want more.


**I got all le feels in this book, so be prepared for spoilers that aren’t stated explicitly, but can pretty much be discerned from what I said. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.**

Image result for scythe bookSCYTHE ★★★★★

And last but not at all least… SCYTHE. I saved the best for last. 

(Not really, because I’m being all #organized and putting my reviews in the order I read the books but shhh.)

I. LOVED. SCYTHE. It’s a different book. Like, the plot is unique and at a weird (but good) pace. And I’m gonna start out nice and positive by saying that the ONLY thing that bothered me was the pace. I get it had to be that way, but it just felt really slow. I think it was his writing style too.

ANYWAYS. I thought this was a great book. I mean, when I read the blurb, I was hooked. Killing people for a job? Perfect (but not really haha) world? YES GIVE IT ALL TO MEEE.

And ROWAN. MY BABY ROWAAAAAAAAN. Obviously I like you Citra, but Rowaaaaan you smol little child. Can I just say HOW MUCH I HATED GODDARD??? I hate him to the 189,376,247th power. Aaaaggghhhh I’m so glad he *mumbled jumble of words* AND THEN VOLTA. NO. VOLTAAAAAAA. *wails* 

Some things I loved about Scythe are:

  • the whole idea. SCYTHES ARE SO COOL AND I’M DEBATING WHETHER OR NOT I WANT TO BE ONE.
  • the whole world. I’m a bit confused by the prospect of the Thunderhead and how exactly it works/it made everything perfect, but it’s SO. COOL.
  • the characters. I really felt for them, ya know? Especially Rowan (I keep wanting to say Ronan, the name of another precious child) and Goddard because HOLY COW I LOVED ROWAN AND HATED GODDARD.  
  • (but at the same time I felt like some of the characters were underdeveloped??? Third person can be written to show the characters’ emotions or thoughts, and I think Neal Shusterman did this well, but not well enough.)

I’m realizing that I seem to have more issues with Scythe than I THOUGHT I had??? But OH WELL I STILL LOVED IT 20/10 WOULD RECOMMEND.

(Can I explode with someone about that ending though.)


**bonus mini review #yourewelcome**

(Not a February read but look more of meeeeee.)

Image result for the archivedTHE ARCHIVED ★★★★☆

The ugly cover lies. This was a great book.

Honestly, I wouldn’t have checked it out, just because of that cover, but I knew that Victoria Schwab was a really good author, so I went with that. And at first, it was slow. I wasn’t exactly sure what the problem of the plot was, which I found out later on. Once I got to the exciting parts, though, I couldn’t stop. She had me immersed!

Being the negative little bean I am, I’m going to start out with things I didn’t like, and then things I did like, and then things that I absolutely have to fangirl about.

  • Didn’t like the slow beginning. Who does??? I was just sort of slodging through.
  • Didn’t like the first person point of view. At first. I’m more of a third person person (haha), reading- and writing-wise, so when I saw that it was written in first, I groaned. But later on it got better. Cheers.
  • Didn’t like the slight insta-love part. You know. With him. All that kissing. It just seemed random and just weird??? Of course we find out the reason for that later.
  • Didn’t like the cover. It’s so weird-looking???
  • DIDN’T LIKE THE NAME WESLEY??? There’s an annoying kid (who seems to like talking to me???) in my grade named Wesley, so when I read the name “Wesley” in the book, I couldn’t stop thinking about the Wesley that I know. Which ruined Wesley’s awesomeness in the book.
  • Liked the plot twist. Well, I’m referring to the one with *him*. The one with *her* I easily guessed. But I was not expecting *him* to have done all that and be like that???
  • Liked the world and the Archive and the Narrows. At first, I was super confused because she just threw all the names at us with no explanation, but then I got it. And it’s super cool! Dead bodies that have to be taken care of by librarians which makes it like books in a library??? YES PLEASE.
  • LIKED WESLEY AYERS. He’s so great. I love him. (But again, not a fan of the name!)

And also: WHAT THE HECK WHY YOU DO THAT TO WESLEY AND NO POOR MAC AND dang it I forgot all the ranty stuff I was gonna say. #goldfish #mangold


[insert the great “shall we chat?” graphic because I am a procrastinating little bean and still haven’t made a new one]

So, how did you like my first ever book review(s)? Do you think I should do more? Mini or regular? Have you read some of these books? Do you agree? And AREN’T THESE ALL STRANGE BOOKS??? Chaaaaat wiiiiiith meeeeeee.

sign off 2.0

P.S. Is my sign-off easier to read now???

 

 

68 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews // Strange but Good Books that Slightly Confuse My Weakling Brain

  1. PHEW. IF YOU DIDN’T GIVE SCYTHE FIVE I WAS GOING TO SCREAM AT YOU. BUT LUCKILY YOU DID. SO THERE IS NO NEED FOR ME TO RUIN MY VOICE WHICH IS GOOD BECAUSE MY AUDITION IS WEDNESDAY. XD

    Okay now let’s have a #hamiltonlyricrant just because I feel like it. XDD
    I’LLLLL KEEP ALL MY PLANS CLOSE TO MYYYY CHEST
    *wait for it wait for it*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok, I need to read all of these??? You need to keep me in check!!!Ok, I haven’t read a book since October so I can’t review anything and HELP ME MAY also this is an a+ post 😊

    Like

  3. I feel extremely under-read (is that a word? I’m making that a word) compared to you. My also book-obsessed friend keeps throwing book recommendations at me and I’m like I CAN’T READ THAT FAST *cries in a corner* Anyway I TOTALLY HATE INSTA-LOVE. Like how is that even possible??? Also, book recommendations: Nest by Esther Ehrlich and Courage For Beginners by Karen Harrington. READ THEM NOW 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AHH ANOTHER POST! YAY! Duddeeeeee, thanks for sharing these books! I really want to read some of them now. AND NO, NO, I refuse to believe that Wolf is…a wolf. No. Marissa Meyer said on her website that he looked like a middle eastern man with wolfy features, and there’s an awesome pic of him on TLC wiki. So, no. He needs to be a man. *Covers ears*
    Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • XD Yay indeed! Haha, which ones do you want to read? And I KNOW RIGHT. Like, I just can’t. And then I was just like AGH when I saw him in the graphic novel, but I really can’t imagine him as a… wolf. *shudders* THANK YOU!!! 😀

      Like

  5. I read Scythe at the library and got so incredibly stressed because my mom was coming to pick me up and I already had all my books checked out so I read the end. #sorrynotsorry I was scared for their lives. ;D

    (Hamilton got chosen for the constitutional convention. “I got chosen for the constitutional convention ^-^ ^-^ ^-^ ^-^”)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Okay… I haven’t read any of these books so my TBR will just begin to eat my heart at this point–

    dang it I forgot all the ranty stuff I was gonna say. #goldfish #mangold
    (love the little references you make for me 🙂 ) (Or Maybe it wasn’t for me and everyone reads our comments and knows of this language)

    Also, your sign-off is not showing up for me?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mwahahaha that is basically the purpose of all book bloggers: to grow other book blogger’s TBR and kill them. 😉
      (And of course, little mangold.)
      And oh dang it, it’s not showing up for me either. LET ME GO AND FIX IT. (And add a part of my review for Cruel Beauty. #oops)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. So, how did you like my first ever book review(s)?: they were great! And entertaining. You’re very, um, passionate about your reviewing … 😉
    Do you think I should do more? Mini or regular?: sure! If you want, I mean. Either! I don’t know … (#washelpfultoday)
    Have you read some of these books?: I haven’t. I don’t read a lot outside of like, two genres … XD I really should ………..
    AREN’T THESE ALL STRANGE BOOKS???: Well, I’m not really a judge having not read them, but yeah, they sound strange!

    Liked by 1 person

    • XD Reviewing is fun!
      Oh, thanks so much, Kellyn, for your totally helpful responses… -_- XD
      Lol, which genres do you read? I know historical fiction for sure, right? 😛
      THEY ARE VERY STRANGE TRUST ME.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Historical fiction … more specifically historical romance … more specifically “Christian” historical romance (which basically just means it’s clean and some prays once XD ). So yeah … pretty narrow niche. I used to read a lot of classics, but I haven’t been so much anymore. And I’m reading a lot of review copies, too … so random genres, but usually they end up being historical fiction. 😛 Seriously, though, I need to read more! Who knows if there’s some genre out there I’d just love that I just don’t read enough of to know!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I definitely agree with you on all of these. The Walls Around Us and Cruel Beauty were both strange yet captivating at the same time. I’m glad you enjoyed them too! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Strange definitely is the right word to describe The Walls Around Us, haha. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it overall, also, I was happy about the ending just as well and things being “right”, as they should be ahah 😀 And YES for Wires and NErves. I really enjoyed this and read it soooo quickly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. YAS I LOVE SO MANY OF THESE TOO, WHERE DO I EVEN FLAIL FIRST OMG. (And also I prefer reading 3rd person too!! *hi fives*) 😂

    I need to read Scythe. I’m actually annoyed with myself for not having read it yet haha. And I LOVED The Graces, but like…I liked the Graces. River needed to nope. Except the plot twist was awesome I want more. The Archived WAS GLORIOUS BUT THEN EVERYTHING VE SCHWAB TOUCHES IS SO I’M HAPPY.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yaas, third person! *high fives*
      YES YOU DO IT IS SO GLORIOUSLY GOOD AND ROWAAAAAAAAAAN
      River is like no??? THE GRACES ARE SO AMAZING THOUGH (except for the whole Fenrin-is-the-only-one-with-a-weird-name thing XD ). The Archived was fantastic! Have you read The Unbound yet? I loved it even more.

      Like

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

