My Promises as a Better Blogger // Two Month Blogiversary!!!

Even though I am the Mango Queen and am supposed to be utterly perfect, the world refuses to acknowledge that. #rude

I am a Queen and Queens are perfect, but apparently NOT ME because I just have to be this great person who made lots of mistakes as a newbie blogger. Why all this rudeness??? Can’t we live in peace and harmony and agree that I am simply an amazing person with no flaws???

 

Image result for sound of music gif
That’s peace and harmony right there, beans.

 

But as much as it pains me to admit this, I actually am NOT a perfect person and will never be one. *sigh* There go my dreams.

Like the good little bean I am, I’m going to share with you the nine promises to you as a better blogger. I honestly am an AMAZING blogger with three thousand people fawning over me, all wanting to get my attention and just TALK TO MY MANGONESS.

Unforunately, the Queen does not have time for this??? But she does have time to write a whole post on nine promises wut.

I’m gonna stop being cringy now (where has all my wittiness gone??? 😥 ) and just say that I AM A HORRIBLE BLOGGER AND I WAS EVEN MORE HORRIBLE AS A NEWBIE, BUT NOW I AM SLIGHTLY LESS HORIBBLE AND I’M LEARNING HOW TO BE BETTER.

In bullet list form because I LOVE #LISTS.

And I attempted to make my promises short (cuz you know, I totally spend my time on everything but blogging), but unfortunately that failed. Have fun, munchkins.

promises

1. i will attempt to make posts shorter.

  • Attempt being the key word here, frens.
  • I KNOW my posts are too long??? Like even I wouldn’t even want to read my own posts sometimes. I’m that bad.
  • They’re like 2k words wut.
  • But I promise that will change! Hopefully! I’m aiming for below 2k words (around 1.5k, if possible) on all posts EXCEPT for some specific ones, like my MMMs.
  • But you know me??? It’s very hard for me to write short posts. I SHALL TRY THOUGH. FOR YOUR SANITY. AND HOPEFULLY MINE.

flower divider

2. i will bring you posts that you will CARE about, and content that will BENEFIT you.

  • So this is like the biggest promise on this list???
  • MY. CONTENT. IS. NOT. BENEFITTING.
  • You have no reason to read my content other than to just get a good laugh (at my cringy self and/or my amazing wittiness) or just to read and support me. ❤
  • BUT I WANT TO GIVE YOU POSTS THAT YOU WILL ACTUALLY HAVE REASON TO CARE ABOUT, AND CONTENT THAT YOU WILL BENEFIT FROM.
  • I know this is MY blog and it’s all run by me, but who wants to read all these posts on my life??? I know I would want something that’s entertaining to me in some way that does NOT talk about the blogger’s life ALL THE TIME.
  • For example: A recent post I did was a post on my habit tracker. What did you have to benefit from? Learning about my habits. Nothing else. What could you gain from that post? Maybe inspiration to do a habit tracker yourself. And why would you care about my habits? Because you think it’s cool to have a habit tracker.
  • Okay, so maybe that’s not the best example, but you get my point.
  • (Also, it doesn’t have to benefit you ALL the time, because then I wouldn’t be blogging for myself. But I have to find an equal balance of the two―blogging for myself, and blogging for you.)

flower divider

3. i will not make a “posting schedule”.

  • When I first started out, I made a huge schedule of what posts would be posted on what day. It changed quite often, but it kept me organized and prepared.
  • It was also very limiting, strict, and just… ugh.
  • I want to be FREE. I don’t want a schedule to limit me. Why should I listen to this pesky little piece of paper anyways??? I AM A QUEEN. I AM INDEPENDENT.

Image result for independent gif

  • However, I WILL brainstorm post ideas. I like to be prepared and know what I’m posting, and because my posts are long, I need time to write them. Before the day that it’s supposed to be posted.
  • And in my first month, I totally forgot about tags and awards, and ended up #smushing everything. I WAS SUCH A NEWBIE.

flower divider

4. i will not get irritated when i follow your blog and you don’t follow mine, or if i comment on your blog and you don’t for me.

  • I am guilty of this horrible crime.
  • I’M SORRY. Is any blogger innocent of this? Do you NOT get annoyed when you follow someone’s blog and they don’t follow back, or when you comment, but don’t receive a comment in reply?
  • But that was before. When I was a greedy, attention-seeking lil blogger.
  • I see now that people follow when they want to follow and read your content.
  • I see now that it’s hard to keep up with comments and answer them and comment on their blog in exchange.
  • And I also see that it’s not about followers (or comments).
  • I also see now that this is a stupid little jealous thing that I am ashamed of.
  • I don’t follow your blog for a follow. Well, I did at the very beginning, but only to make myself known so I wouldn’t be a lonely blog with no readers. But now I don’t. I follow because I want to read your content.
  • And so what if you’re not following back? That just means 1) you’re missing out on all this great content, honestly, 2) you’re so #rude (JUUUUST KIDDIIIIING), and 3) you have other blogs to follow and you’re busy and that’s totally okay! I have no business in saying who you should follow or not!

flower divider

5. i will not get irritated when you just like my posts and not comment.

  • I am guilty of yet another horrible crime. You have permission to shoot me.
  • Actually please don’t???
  • But really. WHY WAS I SO HORRIBLE.
  • (I still am, though, just less.)
  • I think my thought process was this: “You have time to let me know that you like my post, but you don’t have time to comment??? You follow my blog and like my posts and yet you don’t comment??? YOU HAVE SEEN THIS POST AND KNOW THAT I HAVE POSTED AND ARE COMPLETELY AWARE THAT I HAVE COMMENTED FAITHFULLY ON YOUR BLOG (sometimes), AND YOU DON’T. COMMENT???
  • Save me from myself please.
  • I now know that sometimes, you just don’t know what to say. Sometimes you don’t have time to comment. Sometimes, all you can do is “like” the post.
  • But sometimes you do know what to say. Sometimes you do have time to comment. And sometimes, you can do more than like. And sometimes, you don’t even read the post and just click like??? Or sometimes, you like, hoping I will like a post on your blog???
  • If the latter ones are true then I AM ASHAMED IN YOU.
  • Just kidding.
  • Maybe.

flower divider

6. i will always like your posts.

  • So this could be a BAD thing, as it can be annoying when people always like your post but don’t leave a comment (like I used to be irritated by), but I follow so many blogs that it’s hard to comment on everyone’s.
  • However, I really want to show my support.
  • But at the same time, some posts I really just DON’T feel like reading. The content just doesn’t appeal to me.
  • I’ll keep following (probably), but if your content really doesn’t interest me, then I won’t comment.
  • So that sounds really mean??? But would you rather me not follow you at all and not like your posts at all?
  • Darn it I’m so mean again AAAGGHHH.
  • BASICALLY. I will ALWAYS like the posts in my Reader. I will comment on ones I find personally appealing, because I am a busy gal who gives lots of love to lots of blogs.

 

HUGS.

 

flower divider

7. i will leave a comment for a comment.

  • This is to my NEW readers. I mean, my promise was not to get mad when someone didn’t do this to me, but honestly, dropping a comment makes me feel all warm and fuzzy, and I want to repay the favor!
  • Unless it’s spam. Ugh spam.
  • What I WON’T do is a follow for a follow. I follow because I like your content, people, not because you follow me. If I check out your blog and don’t think I’d like to read your content, then sorry, no follow. I WILL comment, though.

flower divider

8. my questions will be you-related questions.

  • So I started doing this about a week ago or ish, because I realized my “shall we chat?” questions were more of “what do you think of _______?” questions. and we all love talking about ourselves, and not what we think of something.
  • For example (because I feel the need to make this longer): instead of asking you what do you think of me abandoning my novel?, I say have you ever abandoned a novel before? And VOILA. Instant conversation starters.

flower divider

9. i will attempt to not #smush things.

  • This is last on the list because my mind is blank and I can’t think of anything. But this is also really important, because I ALWAYS #smush things???
  • Again, key word here is ATTEMPT. #smushing is half of my blogging life.
  • I tend to #smush things because I have so much to say in a tiny wittle space. So instead of having multiple posts over the week, I just have one really long, smushy post.
  • This is the reason why my posts are so long??? Well, ONE reason.
  • But honestly, guys, promises are meant to be broken. And this one will probably be broken. #sorrynotsorry #smushingforlife

 

Image result for squish gifs
SMUUUUUUUSH.

 


AGH. THE SELF-PITY IS OVER.

Sort of??? I mean, now it’s time for my…

AAAAAAGGGGGGGHHHHHHHASDFGHJKL WHAT IS THIS

Two months seems like so little time but it feels like FOREVER (and everly) AGO that I first started blogging. Thank you to the amazing people here from the start, and to the amazing people who were brought here over the weeks. You all mean the world and beyond to me.

  • 26 posts (27 including this one)
  • 4,199 views
  • 742 likes
  • 1,618 comments (WHAT THE HECK GUYS WE PASSED 1000 ALREADY???)
  • 193 WordPress followers + 2 email followers

Thank you all SO SO SO MUCH! I really don’t care about stats, as no blogger should. They are, after all, just numbers. What matters more is the LOVE and SUPPORT from the amazing blogging community, and you guys have shown me PLENTY of that, so thank you thank you THANK YOU! ❤

(Also, I literally was going to SCREAM if I got two hundred followers by my two month blogiversary. My thoughts: WHAT NO HOW IS MY BLOG GROWING SO FAST THIS IS NOT POSSIBLE HOW IS THIS HAPPENING NOW THIS IS UNREAL STOP.)


shall we chat

what have you done as a horrible newbie blogger? have you done anything to fix it? do you get overloaded with posts in your reader? and do you have a problem with overly long posts, like me??? (if you don’t, TELL ME YOU SECRETSSSSS) chat with me and answer my you-related questions!!! (huzzah, a promise has been fulfilled)

sign off 2.0

105 thoughts on “My Promises as a Better Blogger // Two Month Blogiversary!!!

  1. Congratulations on two months blogging! Happy Blogiversary! You’re doing amazing blogging and even though you feel like you’re doing horrible, don’t worry, we were all doing weird at some point and time. Don’t worry, you aren’t the only one like that out there. I still get slightly irritated sometimes when people like my post and then they don’t comment -even though I do that myself sometimes- I just think that if they like my post, they must have to say something about it, right? But not all the time so I’ll just stay paranoid. Also, I as well have a blog feed flooding with posts. I think we all do, haha. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congrats May! You seem to be doing just fine, you already have so much support just after 2 months. That’s pretty great! I only had 2 people reading my blog in the first 2 months or so lol. It’s a process that requires patience and practice but you are doing more than fantastic!!!
    And I so know what you mean though I am 100%guilty. It’s so easy to like post and not comment but I like that you see it’s not just about how many likes or comments you get, but I really appreciate when you comment on my blog! I definitely need to comment on everyone’s blogs more often. I follow too many blogs though and there’s never enough time to do all I want 😭keeping doing you May. Your blog is a unique and special blog ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Grace! Haha, well each blog is different! 🙂 It is! If you can take the time to like, surely you can take the time to comment! XD And aww, no problem! I love your content, and I want to show my support. 😉 Commenting on others’ blogs is just a good way to show your love and willingness to give back. It’s a good blogger habit. 😉 And same! I follow a lot of blogs. 😛 Thank you so much, Grace!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey! Lovely
    Post, I read it all and found it constructive for me? Im a newbie blogger , can you give me some tips? I’m new to blogging, would you mind following me back and checking Out my Blog? Thanks Bex xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad it helped! And of course I can give some tips! Hmm… let’s see… Well, first comment on other people’s blogs and show support. Two, reply to any comments on YOUR blog. Three, write content that YOU would want to read! Be you! And I’ll definitely check out your blog. 😉 Hope these tips help, and if you want any more, just let me know! 🙂

      Like

  4. Hey, you’re a better newbie than I was.

    Heck, I’m still a newbie, in my mind, dang it.

    I LIKED YOUR HABIT TRACKER POST NOOOO WHAT’S WRONG WITH ME, MANGO QUEEN? CALL THE MANGO DOCTOR.

    Is there a mango doctor?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations! I had no idea you were so new to the game, by the looks of your blog and your content it seems like you’ve been blogging for years! I can’t wait to see what the future brings your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats on your two month blogoversary! You’re doing much better than us and we’ve been blogging for a while! 😅 You’re doing great, and I just discovered you, so I’ll be looking out for more! And I feel the same with schedules- I only keep track of blog tour dates! And we’re all learning new things! I certainly wished I learned some things sooner- 200 followers in 2 months is great! You’ll do some great things! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy two month blogiversary! YAYY! I relate to so much of your content that it’s not even funny. I found myself nodding at, literally, every single bullet up there. Especially the comments one. I have like, 5 comments on my blog. Yep. That’s it. *sigh* But that’s fine, I know I’ve commented lots and lots of times and had some nice discussions with people on their blogs. (I’ll get like 50 views on a post but no likes and forget about comments, is there something wrong with my content?) I mean, I know that my blog is for me and so getting traffic, or lack of it, shouldn’t bother me but still. Oops! This is turning into a rant. (Think of happy things Sumzoë, like sunshine and dare I say it, mangoes!) Ahh. So, congratulations on your wonderful stats, May! I do so love your blog and I’m looking forward to what else you come up with. Have a wonderful day! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And haha, I’m glad my content is so relatable! And hey, five comments is five more than you would have if you didn’t blog at all! 😉 Hmm, 50 views and no likes/comments? That’s strange. And don’t worry! Every blogger worries about traffic and if people like their content. Think of it this way: Would you enjoy reading your own posts? Would you follow your own blog (if it wasn’t yours lol)? But remember: Your blog will eventually grow, as long as you keep supporting other blogs! ❤ Thank you so much, dearest dreamer!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. what have you done as a horrible newbie blogger?: eh, mostly just terrible posts. I was just impressed to get a comment back then because I started small. I’m still pretty small … I don’t do much blogging, honestly. I’m more concentrated on wasting time at this moment. *nods* Hehehe, seriously, though, I could never be as good at blogging and interacting with people and stuff as you are! I barely comment at all … I mean, I respond to comments sometimes, but I don’t actually comment on blogs. At least not a lot, though. And I don’t follow a lot, so it should be easier … so yeah, eventually I’ll get past this “newbie” mistake. Even though I’ve been blogging for over a year. *facepalm*

    have you done anything to fix it?: Eh … nope. XD

    do you get overloaded with posts in your reader?: YES! And I hardly follow anyone … so yeah.

    and do you have a problem with overly long posts, like me?: not really. Maybe a little, I guess.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Lol, yup! Those days when one comment made you explode with happiness. XD Hey, you’re not small! You’ve got 200+ followers! And aww, thank you! Though you’re great at blogging and interacting. Oh, well, I just love a lot of blogs. And… yeah.
      Woooow, nice. XD
      I follow about 120 blogs right now, but I honestly am gonna just stop commenting on everything soon because AGH SO MUCH.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I guess that’s true! But you have almost 200, too, so you’re big, too! 🙂 #itsnicertobefamouswhenyouhavecompany 😉
        I’m following … 111. Whoa. That’s … significantly more than I thought I’d be. I was like, “I’m probably following 60 or so … I should check, though, to be accurate …” I guess most of the people I follow just don’t post a lot, leaving me feeling like there are less or something. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I used to be an introverted penguin and NEVER follow any other blogs or interact. #shameful.
    WELL OF COURSE I FIXED THAT AFTER A YEAR OF BEING IN THE DARK Firstly, I became a Mangold and then I visited May’s blog and IT WAS ALL OKAY.
    I follow like 100000000000000 blogs, I AM ALWAYS DROWNING
    ALSO I HATE YOUR FIRST PROMISE. I like your posts reallllllllllyy long. (if you don’t, TELL ME YOU SECRETSSSSS)

    Liked by 2 people

  10. That was such a lovely post, May, and also I could FEEL so many things you described here as well, especially when it comes to commenting and following blogs. I used to wait for people to follow me back and for people to comment back and everything, but we are all busy and it’s definitely something not everyone does, and it should be fine. Also, numbers aren’t what matters (though you are doing AWESOMELY with these already, it’s quite impressive!), the community is the best ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Marie! And yes, we have to understand that everyone has their own lives! Yes, numbers are definitely not what matters (haha, thanks!). Yes! The support and love is what I value most. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Wonderful post May. I really love your goals for the future months, but seriously, I like your long posts. They give me some time to get off homework, Lol.

    Anyways, congrats on having an amazing start to your blogging career! Wish you good luck in your future endeavors! 😉

    (BTW, where do you make those headers?! I love those headers and pictures.)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Long posts are awesome. I wonder how I’d survive without them.
    Your posts bring a smile on my face, and that’s what people need these days, isn’t it? A smile? All I can say is that the world needs ya, May, and I’m forever and everly a devoted follower. << Drama syndrome
    Happy blogiversary, by the way! *throws confetti and dances like a maniac*
    And I don't know how this is going to sound, but I made you some flowery divider things. You know, because you said you were looking for some??? *ducks all the mangoes* Could you just check the draft section of TWW (Because that's the only way I can show it to you without other noses poking in) and tell me what you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Omg I haven’t visited your blog since you redesigned it and I’m not even stretching this: IT IS PERFECTION AND 100% GORGEOUS. I also used to try to make a posting schedule, but as long as I do it once or twice a week, than that’s good with me. An actual schedule is always soooo stressful! I honestly can’t even believe that you’ve only been blogging for two months?! Okay, it took me like half a year to get my blog decent looking; so, like, amazing job getting the hang of things! (this is a little unrelevant) But holy cow 200 followers already?! That’s crazy, but really it isn’t because your blog is so great, why should I be surprised? haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Loveeeeeee this post Mayyyyy!! Don’t worry, your long posts are always a pleasure to read, honestly. ❤ Also the comment situation is kind of something I've dealt with as well? When you take the time to comment on someone's blog, it's nice to have a comment in return. But, life gets busy, and I understand that now ahah. (SO LITTLE TIME AGH) I myself do my best to comment back on others' blogs though. I love keeping up with my blogger friends, and have a habit of going back on previous posts if I've missed one when it was posted ahah. (Leading me to binge-comment i.e. right now) ❤ WOW this was long. But congrats May on your success, those followers recognize your fabulousness. 😉 And good luck on these promises!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Analeeeeee!! Aww, thank you! I love long posts, personally. And yes! Commenting back is so hard! Usually, those who comment on my blog have blogs that I regularly comment on, so I’m lucky. 😛 (And haha! Thanks so much for binge-commenting though. ❤ ) Thank you so much again, Analee!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. “Even though I am the Mango Queen and am supposed to be utterly perfect, the world refuses to acknowledge that. #rude”

    ^ That is exactly something I say, like, on a daily basis. XD You have no idea how much your personality is seriously a lot like mine. XD XD XD

    ANYWAY. Your promises were so cool to read! I love reading your posts. 😀 And DON’T WORRY. I’ve been blogging for 4 years and I still get annoyed when I follow but don’t receive a follow back, comment but don’t get a comment back, or when people like but don’t comment… XDD Those are just my ahemmanyahem character flaws though. *whispers to self* Always room for improvement, Madi… (My hundred-fold vengeance plan of doing the same didn’t fly so well with my inner niceness (it IS in there… somewhere). XDD)

    HEY… two-month blogiversary!? SQUEEE! Congratulations! That’s SO amazing! *tosses confetti everywhere, making a nice big mess that she doesn’t plan to clean up*

    Blog on!

    Madi

    Blog on? Yikes. Yeesh. Yowzers. Where do I get this stuff? XDD That’s was… corny. Almost as bad as “Thank you and have a nice life!” 😂 … don’t ask 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • XD It’s so awesome that our personalities are so similar!!! It makes for great friendships. 😉
      Thank you so much! And haha, yeah, it’s hard NOT to get annoyed at things nowadays. XD But what is life without getting annoyed??? I really can’t think of a single day when I wasn’t irritated by something. XD And yes, improvemeeeeeent. (Although, again, I’m already perfect and therefore shouldn’t have to improve??? *sighs* The world thinks otherwise though… *glares*)
      And YEAH! Two month blogiversary!!! *glares at Madi* *cleans up mess herself*
      (And don’t worry, I’m cringy all the time. XD )

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Happy blogiversary first of all, even if this comment is a couple of days late 😛
    I’m guilty of liking posts and not commenting, but sometimes I just blank on something cool to say. Also, I feel like I write too much in my posts sometimes too. But I have a lot to say sometimes damn it! I do try to keep it under 1000 though.
    Anyway, I loved reading this blog, to be honest I kind of just stumbled across this blog from another blog. It’s what I do after writing posts 😀
    I’m sticking around for more, cause I kept laughing (and snorting) while reading this, you seem like fun and I’m looking forward to see what you’ll post next 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!!! And yeah, we’re all guilty of it. XD Yes! I just have sooo much to say and how do I fit it into this teeny weeny post of 1500 words??? Oh. Hahahahahahahahaaha I couldn’t keep most posts under 1000 if I tried. XD
      Oh thank you so much! Yeah, I just randonly click on people’s blogs too. XD
      AAAAGGHHH THAT MADE ME SO HAPPY TO HEAR THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  17. YOU ARE WONDERFUL, GIRL! Keep up this AMAZHANG content coming up, I love it! Also, can I just stop breathing for a moment and appreciate how much effort you have put into your blog? I love reminiscing looooong (super long)posts and I don’t mind if your posts are huge. I’LL DEVOUR THEM UP. *exhales and acts like a dying whale*😂

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

