The Writer’s Prompt Challenge #2―Less Dark, More Cringy *cringes*

I succeeded in being less dark this time, and also more cringy!

Yaaaaay.

I’m participating in the second Writer’s Prompt Challenge, hosted by Grace (at The Girl Upstairs) and Allie Taylor (at The Depth of My Faith).

twpc

Honestly my writing is so bad. I mean, it’s probably better than your average gal, but it’s still not my best. Well, probably because I was struggling with staying within the word limit, but whateveeeeeeeeeer.

Also, I’m writing in third person present. I’ve never tried writing in that style before, so it’s very odd and cool. I’ve always written third person past (which is muuuuuuuuch easier), but third person present just sounds so AWESOME, and I just have to try it???

Le Rules

(Why am I using “le”??? I don’t know.)

  1. Your entry must be between 100 – 300 words.
  2. The winners will receive a badge for their blog
  3. The winner will be chosen based on the number of prompts they have used as well as the quality of their writing.

ENTRY DEADLINE: Your entries must be in on or before Tuesday, March 28th.

Le Prompts

  • Word Prompt:
    • Prompt -- at birth, everyone has the date they will die tattooed on their arm. you were supposed to die yesterday:
  • Picture Prompt:
    •  :
  • Character Prompt:
    •  :
  • Items to Include:
    • Cloak, amulet/pendant, & a storm

Le Prompts that I am Using

  • Word Prompt―not directly stated, but mentioned
  • Character Prompt―I only mentioned her black hair and blue eyes
  • Item Prompts (cloak, pendant, and a storm)
    • DARN IT GUYS I ALMOST USED ALL THE PROMPTS *cries*

Other Facts for Submission

  • My name is the Mango Queen (aka May Everly).
  • My entry is EXACTLY 300 words long. I’m honestly so proud of this fact.
  • My blog is https://foreverandeverly.wordpress.com/ (which I hope you know???).

And now, for le actual story!


She was Supposed to Die Yesterday

Malis is supposed to be dead.

The Brand on her arm tells her so. 8/8/2545, it reads. That is the date of yesterday, her supposed death date, as told by the Branders. Not possible.

She has always felt that there is something the City did not tell them.

Just to make sure that she really is alive and not in some death-induced dream, she draws out the dagger she always carries and slides the blade across her skin. Blood, and pain. Definitely alive.

She frowns. Why isn’t she dead? Is there something wrong with her? As more seconds tick by, she finds herself slowly grinning, thrilled at the prospect of being alive.

Everywhere Malis went, people told her she was unfortunate, so unlucky to have such an early death. She always sneered at them, but inside, a dark little voice told her that they were right.

But now, look at her. Alive.

Knowing her mother and brother will report her “aliveness” to the City immediately, she snatches her cloak and pulls it on, tugging the hood over her short black hair. She stares at her blue eyes in the reflection of her dagger. They have a certain hardness to them, but also a glint, as if she is going to kill someone.

That will only happen if it comes to it.

She absentmindedly runs a thumb over her beloved pendant. The dark little voice whispers, You should be dead, Malis. Die. Die. Die. It’s as if it is willing her heart to give out on her.

She ignores it, scooping up the teacup lying on the floor and throwing it at her window. The glass shatters, and immediately, she is bombarded with the sound of rain, wind, and thunder.

A storm is exactly what she needs to escape.


Yay for mildly dark stuff that I’m not that proud of. *thumbs up*

This will be the last TWPC that I will post on my blog (maybe???) because you little beans don’t want to read my horrible writing, right??? I just wanted to share an entry with you one last time…

(Mangoes to my Hamilfans who got that.)

And now… LOOK OMG I HAVE INSPIRED YET ANOTHER FRIEND TO START A BLOG!!! I am ridiculously happy that more than half of my closest IRL friends have started a blog, and all because of meeeeeee.

Be sure to visit Violet dear’s blog, Vibrantly Violet! (I designed the header isn’t it great.)

AND ONE LAST THING…

Omg thank you guys soooooooooo much! I actually reached 200 on Wednesday, ONE day after my two month blogiversary. BUT OMG HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE I LOVE Y’ALL SO MUCH ❤


shall we chat

do you write mildly dark cringy stuff like me? have you tried writing third person present before? what person do you usually write in? have you participated in twpc before? will you check out violet’s amazing blog??? CHAT WITH ME, FRENS.

sign off 2.0

90 thoughts on “The Writer’s Prompt Challenge #2―Less Dark, More Cringy *cringes*

    • I know right! It’s so hard! 😄 And yes, the prompts this time were super awesome! I think I’d die if I had to write third person present for a whole book/short story though. And thank you! Violet is such a dear. ❤

      Like

    • It is!!! Amelie’s story is in third person present and I am in awe of her. Also, Cait @ Paper Fury always writes her novels in third person present??? And she’s written like 20+ novels??? And oh yes, you’re right, my mango powers helped me.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I LOVED YOUR STORY SO MUCH. ❤ I love writing in all different kinds of POVs– I first started off writing in third person (both omniscient & limited), first person, and then just this past year, I've gotten into second person which I really enjoy! You should try it more frequently, because it's really fun.

    And dark cringey stuff? I've written a lot of that before. Most of my fantasy novels are pretty dark, like the eight months we have little sunlight up here because of the snow. *cowers behind hands in embarrassment*

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Abigail! And haha, I started out writing in first person, then third. I used to like HATE first person reading-wise, but now I’m okay with it. 😄 And yes, second person is really awesome! It’s also fun to read.
      And haha, I know right! I mean, sometimes I achieve being dark without being cringy, but most of the time I’m just a fake. 😄 Ooh, dark fantasy! That sounds really interesting! What are you writing about right now?
      LUCKYYYYYYY I’M IN TEXAS AND I GET NO SNOW AT ALLLLLLLLL *wails*

      Like

  2. Ooh, another blog! *clicks* Okay, so, May, I’ve got ask … how do you do graphics!??! Aadfajsdaklfja, I would give anything to be as awesome at design as you are! I guess it’s just not my gift.

    do you write mildly dark cringy stuff like me?: eh, sometimes. For writing prompts. Mostly I just lay on the melodrama, though … 😉

    have you tried writing third person present before?: no. First person present, yes, but third person present? Not yet. I’ve done it accidently, though … 😉

    what person do you usually write in?: third person past. I occasionally write first person past, too. Still, third person past works best for me.

    have you participated in twpc before?: nope

    will you check out violet’s amazing blog???: yep! I need to get better at following blogs and getting to know people and stuff, May.

    Okay, so, May. 200 already? Seriously. How do you do it? I mean, other than sheer amazingness and the power of mangoes? No, wait, that’s probably how … 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay! And haha, I really just find some random images/graphics and put some text on it. 😄 There are so many more great designers who are much better than me!

      Haha, yus, melodrama.

      Yeah, I’m reading a book right now in third person present (though it keeps jumping to the past), ad it’s really interesting.

      Haha, yes! I am a third-person-past writer too.

      Yas! Awesome! Violet will be so happy. 😉

      I DON’T KNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW *wails* I am honestly yelling, WHAT ARE YOU DOING BLOG WHY ARE YOU GROWING SO FAST??? Oh yes, it’s my mango powers, you’re right. How did I not think of that???

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, yes! And thank you so much, Ruby!!! That makes me so happy to hear.

      (YAAAAAS HAMILTON!!! I listened to the whole soundtrack yesterday for the third time ever and it was just so magicaaaaaaaaal.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That was some story, buddy.
    Checked Violet’s blog out+ Hit the follow button. You did a great job designing out there.
    I have done third person before, though it always turns out horrible when I do that, but present? HOW DO YOU WRITE SO WELL IN PRESENT?? I stick to first person, my comfort zone lies there, and I’m not the best at getting out of it. I haven’t ever tried second person. It should be really hard.
    Loved le post, keep up at it. For some reason, I look at my inbox thrice every day to see if there’s a new post.
    I know, I’m weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you, kind sir. 😉
      Yayayay! Thank you so much!
      Haha, thank you! I don’t know how it happened. I think it’s a really unique style and I would like to get better at it. And don’t worry! I write in third person a lot and I’m STILL really bad at it. Oh yes, first person is great. Personally, I prefer third (there was a quite recent stage of me hating every book written in first, but I have passed that stage, having read many good books in first), but I will write first person if it’s necessary to the style/voice. And second person is really fun! Unique and hard, but fun!
      Aww, thank you so much Mukta!!! That makes me sooooo happy to hear. ❤ (And psst, I post every Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday. 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved that story. And that 3rd person present added this whole kind of awesomeness to your writing style! I’ve never tried it before but If I did, I’d probably fail. It was definitely good BUT SO SHORT, what is this shortness- ahh yes, the word limit, can’t blame you for following the rules. 🙂
    I LIKED THE NAME OF THE CHARACTER (actually what was the name again, #goldfishmoments)
    AND NOOO, post more on the blog of your entries. I personally don’t because I’m like REALLY shy when it comes to writing which is why that part of my life of writing is kinda secret (until my most recent post-MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA)
    And nooo that wasn’t cringey (SHUT UP GRAMMARLY) at all. When I want to, my writing can be all dark and stabby but usually, I keep it really mysterious and creepy writing in 1st person. I might not enter this time but WHO KNOWS?
    ALSO, Violet’s blog is sooo pretty and wonderful and *Dies*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Mahriya! And yes, third person present is SO COOL! I want to try writing more of it. (What also makes it cooler is that CAIT WRITES ALL HER NOVELS IN IT AAGH.) And I’m sure you’d do just fine! Haha, yes, it WAS too short. I’M SO #PROUD THAT I GOT EXACTLY 300 WORDS THOUGH.
      I like the name too! Wait dang it I also forgot. *thinks* Malis, I think.
      AGH okay, maybeeeeeeee. I know I’m not doing it next month because of Camp, but I COULD do it in May. And wut no you must post more writing-related stuff, mangold.
      Yes it was cringy! (And 😄 this is why I don’t use Grammarly; also my grammar is perfect. *flips hair*) I really want to write dark stabby stuff but when I do, it’s like really bad! *cries* But mysterious and creepy in first person is really awesome. 😉
      I KNOW RIGHT???

      Liked by 1 person

      • I KNOOOW I need to read a book by Cait, right? MALIS YESSS! I know, but mangolds are so shyyy! *flips hair* My Grammar is so perfect that Grammarly is always complementing me on how good I am 🙂 The company literally begged me to use their app and promote them, yes I know 😄 NOOO IT WAS REALLY GOOD. OoH, and Violet has already commented on our blog and she is literally so sweet and nice and wonderful!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • OMG YEEEEEEEEES One day I will just beg her to read one of her books. But I’m way too shy lol.
          MALIS 😄 I don’t know where that name came from, honestly??? Mangolds ftw. And oh, really, are you sure??? 😄 Of course you’re good at grammar, Mahriya dear. NOO IT WAS REALLY BAD. And do you mean TWW? Or MBL?

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh! That was GREAT, May!

    And ooh again! Questions! I love questions. 😄

    do you write mildly dark cringy stuff like me? Mm, depends on your definition of dark. I love writing action-packed thrillers like spies with pistols and ninja fight scenes and lovely heart-racing dramatic suspenseful things like that. 😄 I don’t think that’s dark, though. I don’t write extreme violence or anything. 😉 But cringy, oh yes. I’m sure everyone cringes at anything they read from me at least twice daily.

    have you tried writing third person present before? No… but I should! You did it so well!

    what person do you usually write in? First person past. I love being the character and getting to know what they’re feeling.

    have you participated in twpc before? No, but I shall! *pumps fists in air* … eventually.

    will you check out violet’s amazing blog??? Ooh, I want to! It sounds awesome!

    Once again, this was awesome, May!

    Madi

    Liked by 1 person

    • OH MY GOSH LONG COMMENT YAY!!! (Also I would’ve commented on your most recent post on Madi Grace, buuuuut I’m not Christian and that would’ve been #awkward. 😄 )

      OOH SPIES WITH PISTOLS AND ALL THAT. That sounds cooooool. Yeah, I was thinking like dark dark dark stuff, ya know? But that sounds really awesome! And omg I cringe at my own writing sooo much. But I’m sure your writing is AMAZING. 😉

      Thank you! It’s really fun, actually, and I’ll probably try more of it sometime.

      Yeah, whenever I write, I usually write in past tense. I USED to write in first person, but then I fell in love with third person. 😉

      😄 “…Eventually.”

      Yay! It IS awesome. 😉 And thank you so much Madi deeeeear!

      Liked by 1 person

      • GASP YOU LIKE LONG COMMENTS TOO?? (LOL! No problem! 😄 )

        OOH YEAH. IT’S SO FUN. 😄 LOL! Thanks! Same >.< Wellll… narcissist me would like to think so… or hope so… XDD

        You're welcome! I really wanna go try it now. X'D

        Hehe! 😉 Me shall try writing in third person, and me shall let you know how it goes. Although me thinks it could turn out very bad, very bad indeed. XDD

        I'm gonna check it out ASAP! 😄 You're so welcome May dear! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

        • I LOVE long comments! They let you know that they love you and your post enough to type out something so looooong. 😄
          I’m really weird and I either overly praise or overly insult myself. This seems to be the time that I insult myself ugh can’t we pretend I’m perfect???
          I know right! *runs away to write third person present like the oddball all writers are*
          Yeah, tell me how it goes! I love writing and I’m still bad at it, but whatever… 😄
          Awesome! Thank yoooooou! 😛

          Liked by 1 person

  6. OMG! I’m so happy to have found your blog! I just love how unfiltered you are.
    And don’t worry about this not being your best piece because honestly I can’t write to say my life

    Like AT ALL.

    I love to read and all but me trying to write a book or short story…….. yikes

    Can I just say that I love all of your Hamilton references? Sometimes it feels so lonely not being able to joke around with Hamilton lyrics because nobody around me really listens to Hamilton.

    I KNOW ITS A SHOCKER TO ME AS WELL :/

    Anyways, congrats on 200 followers!!!

    MAY your blog keep on growing and growing! < Do you see what I did there 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, thank you so much! That makes me so happy to hear. 🙂
      Haha, I know lots of people like that! Reading just fuels my love for writing though.
      OMG I LOVE HAMILTON THAK YOU FOR GETTING MY REFERENCES. 😄 (Yesterday I listened to the full soundtrack for the third time ever and it was magicaaaaaaal.)
      Thank you so much!!!
      And haha, I do that all the time. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • WERE ONE AND THE SAME! I spend hours of my day literally reading or listening to Hamilton. What I really like is that every time I listen to the album, I get a new favorite song. Like last week it was NONSTOP and this week it’s THE ROOM WHERE IT HAPPENED! I really hope one day I could go and see the show on Broadway but those ticket prices though….. Anyways just listening to the album is great 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I can’t believe it! This is a wonderful story! And of course we want to read more of your stories. If we didn’t, what kind of mangoey friends would we be?! (Mangoey is not a word, I know, but it works pretty well int his case. ^_^)

    Anyways, nice header! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. May, you placed third in this month’s TWPC! Congratulations, and keep up the great work! (View the post here:https://theupstairsgirl.wordpress.com/2017/03/27/twpc-winners-book-madness-week-3/)
    I can’t wait to see your other writings and hope you’ll enter TWPC in the future! 😀 And I’ll be contacting you about your winners’ button soon. 🙂
    And also…how do you get your posts to only be excerpts instead of full-blown posts in this theme? Thanks! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. *is replying to this post lateish because *cries* why do I have so many amazing blog posts to read but The Mango Queen demands opinions and it’s just too awesome not to reply to*
    ACH MAY, that was beautiful though. I love your writing, darling! That was just like dark enough and it was beautiful and third person present tense is really different but it’s seriously cool. *nods awkwardly* It was so short tthoo, I need more. 😄 I seriously don’t know how you were able to stay with in the word limit … *applauds you*

    I must be way too tired right now because I just skimmed over the Hamilton reference before you mentioned it. *tsks at self* Ahhhh IM ASHAMED. But now I have Christopher Jackson singing in my head so that fixes it I guess? 😉

    I must now go check out Violet’s blog. *disappears*
    Oh! And congrats on 200 followers!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aaaggghhh thank you so much, Sarah! And haha, I had to take out this huge chunk of writing to stay within limit… 😄
      And :O HOW DARE YOU SARAH. 😄 It’s all right, I do that too sometimes. And yeeees Christopher Jacksoooooon.
      Yay! 😀
      Thank you so much! 😀

      Like

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

