Mini Reviews // All the Contemporaries Attack Me

*Please note that I am sick and therefore my thoughts may be a little jumbled, and this post may or may not have a sucky featured image.

 

I don’t usually read contemporaries. So then they all decided to attack me.

I first thought contemporaries were all drama-y and not that interesting to read. (Save the school drama for school please.)

But actually, contemporaries are smol little beings that 1) are unique in style and voice, 2) talk about and address modern issues, and 3) are almost always deep and meaningful. Meaning not your school drama type of book.

So after realizing this, of course I have to go and read some fantastic contemporaries.


Today I bring you five mini reviews of the five contemporaries I have most recently read. I’m pleasantly surprised by myself; I knew that I needed to read contemporaries, but then I read THREE in a row??? #proud

Also, just a warning to the younger readers here: The books I read are YA (Young Adult). They often contain language or inappropriate content. If you have any questions about any “inappropriateness” in these books, just let me know in the comments. (Whaaat? These books don’t contain any language and/or inappropriate content at ALL…)

Click the covers to view it in Goodreads!

flower divider

Image result for still life with tornadoSTILL LIFE WITH TORNADO
★★★★☆

Still Life with Tornado is about a sixteen year old girl named Sarah, who goes through an existential crisis. She also gets to meet ten year old, twenty-three year old, and forty year old Sarah. #coolamirite.

My basic thoughts on this book:

  • You really understand Sarah and her problems/thoughts/feelings and that’s what made it so relatable and good.
  • It’s a little confusing with all the time jumps, especially from Helen (the mom) to Sarah.
  • Was I the only one who saw Chet as some random lazy fat guy??? I mean, in the end we find out that he *mdjfushejkty* but still???
  • Also I really like the relationships with all the Sarahs, except I do wonder why mom and bro and her aren’t freaking out and wondering how this is happening??? Can I meet my own past and future selves???
  • The ending was quite nice and satisfying though. Points for no romance either. 😉

Overall a sweet and touching story with some beautiful prose and minor confusion.

flower divider

Image result for aristotle and dante discover the secrets of the universeARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE
★★★★★

OMG FIRST OF ALL LET ME SAY HOW MUCH I LOVED THIS BOOK. It was so beautiful and cute and angsty and just UGH.

(Also I’m going to call this a contemporary even though it’s set in the 70’s whoops.)

  • LGBTQ+ representation. We really need more diversity in books, whether it be race or sexuality or religion, so this was super cool to see.
  • THE CHARACTERS ARE SO GREAT OMG. We have ARI, who’s your angsty little guy whose big brother is in prison and doesn’t really know what to do with his life. Then there’s Dante who is like the opposite and is all SUNSHINE AND HAPPINESS AND GOODNESS.
  • Don’t forget the dialogue! The dialogue honestly is the best part of this book. Sáenz’s style of dialogue is not using dialogue tags but it’s super awesome to read and the dialogue itself is so fuuuuun and greeeeat.
  • ALL THE LOVE. Whether it be the friendship or the romance OR THE FREAKIN’ AMAZING PARENTS CAN I HAVE PARENTS LIKE ARI AND DANTE DO, this book has SO much love and it is BEAUTIFUL.

My only “problem” is that the plot wasn’t really a plot, but like ALL CONTEMPORARIES have unique plots so not a big deal.

AND THERE’S A SEQUEL COMING SOON!!! IF YOU HEAR A HIGH-PITCHED SCREAM THAT WOULD BE ME

flower divider

Image result for EVERYTHING YOU NEVER TOLD MEEVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU
★★★★☆

Wow. Okay. This was… “intense”, as dear Amelie said. It was a good intense. But omg Lydia’s death (not a spoiler) was so saaaaad. I mean, it didn’t say exactly HOW she died but from what I assume… 😥

(And this takes place in the 60’s BUT I THINK IT’S A CONTEMPORARY AND AM I ALWAYS RIGHT??? #yes)

  • I loved knowing everyone’s background and their histories, especially Marilyn’s and James’s, and how their pasts made them think now.
  • I FELT LIKE CRYING (but didn’t) when Marilyn and James DISSED Nathan and Hannah. Like I know you love Lydia more but at least 1) don’t show it, 2) give some love to those TWO OTHER CHILDREN YOU HAD HELLO THEY’RE NOT RANDOM TREES.
  • It was a LITTLE confusing going from past to present, but not THAT much. It was also slightly strange with all the different perspectives. I get that they were necessary but it felt like really random and all over the place. Like at the beginning, there wasn’t Lydia’s POV at all and then at the middleish end, there was a lot of it???
  • That thing with Louisa was WEIRD…
  • Also the hint about Jack and *ahdjfmfn* at the end was just ❤

This was a very deep and heartwrenching book, but there were some things about it that were slightly… off.

flower divider

Image result for simon vs the homo sapiens agendaSIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA
★★★★★

Let me just SQUEAL about HOW AMAZING THIS BOOK WAS. The characters are so freakin’ adorable and I just died from the overall AMAZINGNESS THAT IS THIS BOOK.

  • I absolutely LOVED the characters: Simon was so hilarious even when going through the whole coming out thing, Blue (tempted to say his real name here) is SO ADORABLE, Abby is just all around an amazing bubbly (black!!!) girl, and Nick is your epic cool guy. I thought that Leah was a bit annoying and needy though???
  • The emails were SO! FUN! TO! READ!
  • I love the relationships between all the characters. EVERYTHING IS SO CUTE AND FLUFFY, GUYS.
  • Also Albertalli has lots of diversity in this book WAHOO.
  • And I guessed who Blue was at one point and I was like YAS when it was actually him. This was the really fun part because OOH GUESSING GAME!!!

I cannot SCREAM ENOUGH about how much I loved this book. There was just something about it that made it so great. The characters were just really awesome and SEQUEL! GIVE! NOW!

(I mean I know there’s not gonna be one but at least there will be Upside of Unrequited???)

Basically how I feel about this book: ASDFGHJKL I WILL LOVE YOU TO DEATH YOU ARE MY LIFE HELLO BLUE YOU ARE GREAT

flower divider

Image result for to all the boys i've loved beforeTO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE
★★★★☆

I heard such great things about this book in the book blogging community, and I will say one thing: I actually ENJOYED it.

Surprise! But really, like I said, I’m usually not the type of girl for all that “drama” stuff. School drama? Um no thanks. I can just WALK INTO MY SCHOOL to experience THAT.

But Lara Jean’s story was shockingly VERY interesting??? I was more invested in her story than I thought I’d be. And after I finished the book, I kept thinking about it???

Also, sequel give now.

  • I found myself rooting for Josh, then Peter, then Josh, and now Peter.
  • THAT CLIFFHANGER AT THE END THO.
  • This was basically very intriguing fluff.
  • Also can I just mention how much I HATE the name Lara Jean.
  • I mean, not that much. But still. Can’t I just call you Lara???
  • Josh is so cool honestly. And Margot is a cool name.
  • Can we know more about this daddy though? And mommy?
  • Lara Jean was very relatable though. And so was Kitty. Obviously ice cream trumps all other inferior little things.

I honestly don’t know what made this so likable but I NEED SEQUEL.


shall we chat

have you read any of these books before? did you like them? do you like to read contemporaries? (and any recommendations???) what books are you reading right now? tell me ALL, frens.

sign off 2.0

83 thoughts on “Mini Reviews // All the Contemporaries Attack Me

  1. LOL They all look like great books! (I’d probably read Simon vs the Homo sapiens agenda and to all the boys i’ve loved before, because I’ve heard great things about those two. Actually, I’d probbly read them all except… nah, I’d read them all. 😄 )

    Allie Taylor / thedepthofmyfaith7.blogspot.com

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Feel better soon, May! 💕 I’ve only read Simon Vs Homo sapiens Agenda from among these and I loved that! I really want to read Aristotle and Dante though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely agree! I really enjoyed Ari & Dante and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda so I’m so glad you enjoyed them as much as I did. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous reviews! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope you’ll feel better soon, May, sending you lots of love and croissants and everything to make you feel better ❤
    YES FOR CONTEMPORARIES THEY ARE THE BEST PLEASE READ MORE OF THEM OKAY. ❤ I'm so happy you loved these, especially Aristotle and Dante and To All The Boys, I loved these so much. And Simon was super cute, right? ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ^ I think that was the shortest comment I’ve ever posted on your blog. 😄

    OH WAIT THAT’S BECAUSE THE QUESTIONS I FORGOT THE QUESTIONS.

    have you read any of these books before? Ah nope.

    did you like them? Ah nope.

    do you like to read contemporaries? (and any recommendations???) Depends on the contemporary. But I don’t have any suggestions. XDD

    what books are you reading right now? Psalms, Catch the Wind, and A New Beginning!

    Well… it’s not as short. I’M SATISFIED SO I WILL LEAVE NOW.

    Madi

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ahh now we can squeal together about Simon vs. The Homosapien Agenda! It’s so cuteee!!
    I actually adore the name Lara Jean, I really don’t know why but I love it and somehow is very fitting for the character.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Simon vs. the Homosapien Agenda still isn’t available at my library and I cry. 😥 BUT OKAY like Jenny Hahn isn’t a bad author– I thought I’d dislike her novels too and I also grew to love them, and although its not necessarily a YA novel, Shug is my favorite novel by her.

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Those contemporaries look amazing May! AHH WHY HAVE I NEVER READ A SINGLE JENNY HAN BOOK??! *sobs* I need to get the BOOKS. *TBR pile creeps up* *smacks away*
    I’m kind of in a classic reading stag right now, as I just finished Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and, I’m\ on to Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen! Classics are amazing reads. But I miss my baby contemporaries and fantasies. 😄 😄 😄
    ~Sammy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. MAY.
    (this is probably not going to be a comment that makes ANY sense but why make sense when you have a book to flail about?!!)
    I SHALL KEEP ON BUGGING YOU AND BUGGING YOU AND BUGGING YOU UNTIL YOU READ CHALLENGER DEEP BY NEAL SHUSTERMAN ‘KAY? OMG IT WAS SO AMAZING AND I COULDN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT . . . MENTAL ILLNESS AND DELUSIONS AND HEARTBREAKING HAUNTING CHARACTERS AND LITERALLY MAKES YOU QUESTION HIS REALITY AND OMG OMG OMG HELP OKAY GO READ IT OKAY? the beginning is really hard to get through but as you read it and put things together you realize that he’s so schizophrenic that it’s NOT supposed to make sense?? basically I don’t know what I’m saying but YOU HAVE TO GO READ IT NOW. LIBRARY, BOOK STORE, YARD SALE, FIND IT SOMEWHERE IN A TRASH CAN, BORROW IT FROM A FRIEND AND MAYBE KEEP IT FOR LIKE A YEAR, I DON’T CARE YOU HAVE TO READ IT

    p.s. also nice post 😄

    Liked by 1 person

      • yeah, it’s confusing at first . . . BUT OMG ONCE YOU START UNDERSTANDING IT IT LITERALLY MESSES WITH YOUR HEAD IT’S SO GOOD. i finished it and then i read it four more times just because that book is perfect for overthinking beans like me. 😄 UGH OMG IT LITERALLY IS SUCH A HAUNTING STORY AND OMG OMG OMG I CAN’T EVEN.

        (also tell me when you start reading it so I can bombard you with explanation emails bc it’s just so confusing but goooooooood and parallel realities omg)

        Liked by 1 person

  10. OML ARISTOTLE AND DANTE?? I LOVE THAT BOOK TO PIECES IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL AND AMAZING AND EXTREMELY WONDERFUL. I don’t know why, but I cried for a full ten minutes after finishing the book. It was just so AMAZING. And SIMON VS HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA YAASS SLAY. I LOVE it as well. (“You love a lot of things, don’t you?”) I was planning on starting “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” but I thought that the summary made it seem too dramatic and decided not to read it. Also, you might like “Thirteen Reasons Why”. It’s really good – about this girl who suicides and leaves audio tapes for thirteen people. It was turned into a Netflix series as well lol

    also, nice post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is totally intriguing fluff ahah I loved it!! It was just so cute and adorable and so much fun. ❤ SIMON YESSS. So filled with diversity and adorable characters (can I just have a Simon irl plz???) I absolutely can't wait to read Albertalli's most recent novel, The Upside of Unrequited ahah. And Ari and Dante!! A must read, it seems. Loved all these reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

