Writerly Update #4 Ft. Bad Snippets and Worse Poems

Being sick apparently takes away your writing time, as does procrastinating and staring at a blank screen. #surprise

Okay, so I knew this. But I didn’t want to??? I wanted to assume that HAHAHA I CAN WRITE WHILE I’M SICK because that totally doesn’t require you to use your brain at all AND PROCRASTINATING = WRITING am I right or am I right.

(Spoiler: right.)

Today’s Writerly Update includes my experiences with Camp NaNo and NaPo (so far), along with some horrible snippets and worse poems, and an update on how [bad] my magic story is going.

*thumbs up*

flower divider

On Camp NaNo

Here’s a quick summary of how it’s going for me:

DAYS 1 & 2: We’re actually on track omg! Maybe we could even finish before the end of April!
DAYS 3 & 4: Okay, so a LITTLE off track, but WE HAVE TIME.
ALSO DAY 4: Hahaha I can’t write anymore of this chapter TIME TO WRITE RANDOM SCENES.
DAYS 5 & 6: Oh no oh no 1000 words behind what do we do should we lower the goal???
DAYS 7 & 8: Sick. WUT EVEN IS LIFE ANYMORE. No words written (except for a few hundred written in the wee hours of night, which is apparently bad for sick people).
ALSO DAYS 7 & 8: Hahaha *lowers word count goal*
DAYS 9 & 10: Get back on track get back on track YAS 1000 WORDSSSSSS [on Day 10].
DAYS 11 & 12: I actually have a chance???

My word count currently stands at 5,095 words. My goal for today is 6,000, but that’s okay because I haven’t written anything today and I PLAN on getting caught up. Hopefully.

In the early days of Camp, I finished Chapter 7, and wrote some parts of Chapter 8. But then on the fourth day, I gave up and started writing different scenes from future parts of the book (THAT I’LL NEVER GET TO BECAUSE I’M DISCONTINUING IMS WAAAAAH).

Last night I wrote a murder scene from the head of a person slowly going insane. It was really fun??? I should write more stories like this.

I’ve just now started word warring with my dear friend Violet, because my cabinmates aren’t usually there. 😄 It’s proven very helpful. What can I say, I’m a competitive person. Fight me.

ANYWAYS, here are some snippets because that might motivate me to write more??? Btw these are all over the place so they probably don’t make sense. 😉

 

I can’t write fight scenes I’m sorry. I also can’t write something on the computer whoops.

 

 

Here’s the murder scene I was talking about. 😉

 

 

Along with fight scenes, I’m also bad at writing abuse. (And EEK this is long.)

 

flower divider

On NaPoWriMo

ALL WAS WELL until I decided to get sick and conveniently get sick and not write a poem that day.

DO YOU KNOW HOW SAD THIS MAKES ME??

Image result for crying gif

You can check out my progress here, as well as some bonus poems from before NaPo actually started. But I’m going to share a few of my favorite poems that I’ve written so far (because I need the reassurance that my writing isn’t total trash).

(All Copyright © May Everly thank you very much)

sidebar template graphic

This was written before NaPo started, and it’s technically just a sentence, but for some reason I REALLY LIKE IT AND IT MAKES ME PROUD.

sidebar template graphic

(If you can’t read this well, go here.)

So this had to be posted in three parts because it’s so long. I used to write poems these long a lot, but now my poems are surprisingly shorter??? CHANGE OF STYLE AGAIN. Also do you know how surprised I am that THIS ENDED ON A POSITIVE NOTE AND TALKED ABOUT SELF-LOVE???

Image result for gasping gif

I sort of want to go back to my dark/negative side??? But I just gotta go with the flow.

But I am really proud of this one. 1) I actually have a cool title, 2) I RHYMED!!! 3) I had some #cool phrases that sounded really awesome and poetic, 4) I liked the ending. Basically this poem is proof that not ALL my writing sucks???

sidebar template graphic

The little italic parts I’m doing is inspired by Milk and Honey—if you haven’t read that, go read it NOW. It talks about some *things* but it has such a BEAUTIFUL message, and the poems are just amazing.

I think that the reason I like this poem so much is because of that italic part (“sometimes we’re just a little blind”). And maybe the line “that someone can wear / but never will see”. I’m weird like that???

flower divider

On my “magic story”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA HAAHAHAH AHA HHAHA.

Do you really want to know what I’ve been up to with my magic story??? NOTHING. I GOT NOTHING.

Actually I did get some setting stuff done, and charrie stuff… but now I’m way more confused

Here are some lovely screenshots of my insane thinking.

OOH YES I FIGURED OUT THE PROBLEM OF THE PLOT THOUGH!!!

Please please PLEASE don’t steal this idea!

But HAHAHAHAHA but then I confused myself again.

 


shall we chat

how’s camp nano going for you? what about napo? are you horribly failing or are you wonderfully succeeding? want to see more snippets/poems? (of course you don’t) and what do you think of those dividers—too bulky, right? and are you proud that i actually kept this post under 1000 words??? *screams* 

sign off 2.0

129 thoughts on “Writerly Update #4 Ft. Bad Snippets and Worse Poems

  1. AHAHAHAHA SAME ON THAT WORD COUNT
    Honestly, the struggle isn’t actually writing . . . it’s figuring out WHAT to write. If I know what I have to write I can get 3k out with no problem. I just . . . planning . . . how do I words. Just, planning. XDD So I gave up on my project yesterday?? And started a new one??? #whoops

    AND YES OF COURSE I WANT TO SEE SNIPPETS. IT’S PAYBACK FOR DRAGGING MY HORRIBLE WRITING OUT OF ME YOU EVIL BEAN MAY XDD jkjk love ya girl.

    (srsly what even is this comment)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. ba ha ha i am absolutely failing at camp nano. life is being too life-y to me right now and i can’t handle it. the “a thousand kind love already a flame” poem was amazing omg!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LOVELY POST, MAY!!! I would LOVE to see more “snippets” and “poem”s since they are AMAZING. This post was under 1000 words? *screams with you* Also, YOU’RE SUCH AN AMAZING WRITER AGH IT’S BEAUTIFUL, THE POEMS, AND EVERYTHING. Also: [sad crying gif], WOW MAY, just wow. I’ve used a lot of CAPS LOCK in this comment but I DONT CARE I’M PASSIONATE, OKAY? Good bye.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh May I can’t even. WUT EVEN IS LIFE.

    I WANT TO READ YOUR STORY I LOVE IT I LOVE IT YOIR POEMS ARE AMAZING

    SOMEONE HELP ME

    How do you lower your word count on Camp NaNo?

    Jk.

    No, really, I need to know.

    HELP

    Izzy💜

    Liked by 2 people

  5. So May, I hereby give you permission to stop being such an amazing writer, and I give you permission to stop making amazing blog graphics. You really are amazing, darling. These poems are fantastic! And NOOO who’s going insane????!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. how’s camp nano going for you?: pretty good! I mean, okay. I should write more …

    what about napo?: I’m not doing it so um … pretty good, I guess? Or pretty bad? Both? 😄

    are you horribly failing or are you wonderfully succeeding?: a little of each. I feel like I should write more.

    want to see more snippets/poems?: snippets would be nice!

    and what do you think of those dividers—too bulky, right?: I don’t know!

    and are you proud that i actually kept this post under 1000 words???: whoa. Seriously!? Whuuuh?!?!?!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m sick, and I’ve been avoiding all things because SICKNESS MAKES YOU PROCRASTINATE! Haha, I wish I wasn’t sick but oh well. Anyways…. congratulations on doing NaNoWriMo, because it literally seems so hard for me to write, plan, and edit a whole novel in a month.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations on catching up! I have also caught up about 10% (even if I lowered my word count by 3000 words…. XD).

    Your poems are amazing! 🙂

    Good Luck in both NaNo and NaPo! Stick it out! #stickitout

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love your snippets! (Seriously they’re not that bad). I try to keep writing by just thinking ‘it’s only the first draft’, first drafts are supposed to be bad (mine definitely is). Your poems are really good!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m glad you’re doing somewhat OKAY with camp! I’m cheering you on because YOU CAN DO THIS – and please, I need that magic story (when’s this gonna get a title?)NaPo is actually going great! I’ve never missed one poem BUT I’m horribly slow at uploading them on my blog!! So I guess I’m horribly failing and wonderfully succeeding? I LOVED THE SNIPPETS, THEY ARE WONDERFUl – CAN I JUST DIE?OF COURSE, I DO WANT TO SEE MORE. And yes, I love the dividers, I think they’re wonderful. NON, Je ne suis pas fier (I am not proud). I LOVE LONG POSTS!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yas, thank you! And how dare you offend my naming skills??? Obviously “magic story” is the best title ever. And SAAAAAAME I’m two days late (or three???) now. 😄 And AWW THANK YOU MORE IS TO COME. And I like long posts toooooo but sometimes mine are too long…

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I really enjoyed your poems, May. They were beautiful, especially the flame one. Don’t worry, I am not opposed to long posts at all. In fact almost all of mine are guiltily over 1500 words. Your writerly updates are awesome and funny and I’d love to read some more of your writings. Poems, stories, whatever! These snippets were so good. 😁😃

    Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

  12. GREAT POETRY! Sickness is the EVIL and we must SET MY DRAGONS on it. WITHOUT. DELAY.

    Writing is #hard and #sad and also procrastination is so fun!

    I love you superlong poem because I love superlong things (maybe because I’m short and I can roll myself up in long things? Does that sound weird?)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ugh. I can relate to being sick. It’s just the worst when you’re trying to channel your inner genius and create a masterpiece. 😉
    Anyway, I’m not doing great either. For me, the problem isn’t so much the writing, it’s figuring out WHAT I’m supposed to write. See, I knew this would happen if I didn’t have a solid plan or outline, but then I went ahead and participated anyway. And now I’ve got nothing 😀 Like, I have an idea and a couple of characters and…that’s all I have. God, I suck at pantsing. xD

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ahhhh, I loved all these snippets and poems! ESPECIALLY the poems! The first one that is basically just a sentence is so simple but SO powerful, I LOVE IT ❤ I can literally write anything BUT poems and I always love reading other people's poety! Yours is great, keep going! And get well sooooon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. WHAT IS YEH TALKING ABOUT, MAY? Those snippets were really great! NaPo is going alright for me too, but it’s a bit of a nuisance when I have to get up right before I tuck myself into those warm covers. *sniffs*

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

