Writerly Update #5 // I Won Camp NaNo Early??? + Am Dead

*Note: This is a day late because yesterday I was so freakin’ stressed and just didn’t feel like posting. 😦

Surprise, surprise. I actually won Camp NaNo before the 30th!

This is a huge shock to me, because in November, my goal was 15,000 words as well, and I even had a week off from school to writeβ€”yet I made it to my goal on the last day. And this time, I had no week off and was even sickβ€”but I won seven days before the 30th! *cheers*

I’m also quite dead right now (hence the subtitle) because of SCHOOL and STRESS and LIFE. But luckily one of my secretariesΒ was working full-time and she was able to revive me.

flower divider
I’m working on creatingΒ new flower graphics, but time is not on my side.

On Camp NaNo

I won Camp NaNo on April 23, with 15,409 words, but I didn’t validate my project until the 24th. The website told me I had actually written 15,868 words. Which I’m not complaining about.

Now my goal is 20,000, or at least 17,500, my original goal. This may not happen, because, like I said, I’m super stressed and I have a lot of homework, which means less time to write.

Apparently, I write best on the weekends? Actually, I write best on Sunday nights when I have an hour until the Wi-Fi turns off. No I’m not exaggerating.

But really. I get like 1K on the weekends, which is great for me? Actually, this Sunday I got 2K which is my HIGHEST LITTLE PATHETIC RECORD EVER.

I’m planning on doing all my writing during the weekend yet again. But this is not good??? I need stamina, and how will I do that if I just abandon writing in the week and then scribble on the weekend??? Please help???

Also. Dare I give you snippets.

copyright Β© may everly @ forever and everly

I’m not dark and murderous. No. Why would you think that.

SARCASM FTW.

I want a knife.

Take note: Not all men are stupid. Just men like Charve. (Whose name I came up with with a tired little mind.)

LESSON LEARNED FROM MY SNIPPET SHARING TODAY:

#sarcasm

flower divider

On NaPo

So. I told myself that I would NEVER EVER miss a poem again.

And I did.

I’M SORRY! They were both this week, the 24th and the 25th. This week has been really tough for me, with all sorts of school projects due, and I just didn’t get around to it. I said I would do it at night, buuuuut I forgot.

But today I am determined to write a poem. I WILL WRITE IT. In fact I should write it right now but #lazy no thanks.

Also I should be updating my NaPo page, but… HOMEWORK, PEOPLE. And here’re some great poems by moi that I think are actually semi-decent.

Check out the rest of my poems here.

[taken from the page where I record all my NaPo poems, not from my NaPo page]

copyright Β© may everly @ forever and everly

Date: 4.19.17

For some reason, this one really resonates with me. Why do people abuse the ones they love? Or do they hate those people? Or is their love so twisted that they think something similar to this?

I don’t think I’ll ever find out the answer, but this is just my interpretation on what may be one of thousand possibilities. Every mind works differently.

Well that was a change in size.

ANYWAYS, this is basically one sentence + a huge run-on sentence, and that’s part of why I like it???

Also this has what I call “poem aesthetics” and anything with aesthetics I will share with you so we can SCREAM ABOUT IT TOGETHER.

*wails into the void*

I have two things to say about this poem.

One, this was inspired by me riding my bike outside (forced by my madre, of course), and seeing tire marks made by trucks that came to work on constructing a brick fence outside of our house. It’s a long wall (which we always joke about, being so close to Mexico), and these people just break down all the trees to make way for their equipment.

The grass is dead, the ground trampled, and all that for a fence.

Two, this is actually a style of poetry I haven’t really explored yet.Β I don’t know how to explain it, but last year, we had poetry “mini-courses” and I knew someone (or multiple people???) who wrote in the style of this, so it was really cool to see that I had written something like that.

(That made no sense. #sorrynotsorry)

flower divider

Anything else worth mentioning

I made slight progress on my magic story.

I found a name for my main character.

But it has the same ending as another character.

So one of them has to go.

#help


shall we chat

have you won camp nano yet, or are you gettingΒ there?Β what are some of your favorite napo poems? aesthetics anyone??? do you have name problems? andΒ are you stressed out like me??? chat with me in the comments and make me feel better! (please.)

p.s. this post is also under a thousand words??? my writing life sucks i guess.

sign off 2.0

 

89 thoughts on “Writerly Update #5 // I Won Camp NaNo Early??? + Am Dead

  1. YAS YOU GO GIRL. YAYAYAY. I still have nine pages to write lololol that’s so me. XDD
    But! great snippets! and great poems! and great sarcasm! and THE CHARACTER NAME STRUGGLES ARE REALLLLL

    Liked by 3 people

  2. “Oh, look, our favorite people ever!” πŸ˜„ Our characters should meet. I always try to do NaPoWriMo but I never get around to it because I’m busy writing novels instead (It only takes like five minutes though???). Congrats on winning early!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. HOW WAS THIS POST SO SHORT!??!!? Well, I guess I don’t want to read more of your posts, anyway, after that terrible scare you can me at Violet’s blog! *sniffs* *glares* Seriously, though, I fall for everything …

    have you won camp nano yet, or are you getting there?: I’ve won! It was surprisingly easy this year, but yes, I don’t expect that to last into the next round … or even until the end of the month.

    do you have name problems?: ohhhh, yes. Don’t get me started on the Colleen/Colin debaucle … (which … I don’t know how to spell …)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I am dying at Camp NaNo. And writing in general. I’ve just been slipping into the world of reading fluffy books because I don’t want to do life things anymore like school or writing or anything like that. And I’m frustrated with myself, yet I’m not changing anything, and…ugh. Anyway…enough about me.

    CONGRATS ON FINISHING CAMP NANO! πŸ˜€ That is so awesome. Also, yasss sarcasm. I hope that school & everything stressful turns out all right!

    Oh gosh, name problems… I can’t tell you how many characters I have that start with the letter A. Okay, it’s not that bad, but there are two novels where basically all of the important characters have names that start with the letter A? And then I have one novel with a main character named Raven, and one with a main character named Riven, and in Enhanced there’s Kai and Taira whose names basically sound the same and…yep. I have lots of name problems, but I just keep ’em in there because I don’t want to deal with it. πŸ˜› So I’m probably no help.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. your novel excerpts are so good whyyy I’m so so so so so jealous. I’m not even halfway to my goal which basically means that I’m failing at everything and never making it.
    Hopefully you figure out life and it becomes less stressful!!! I’m taking finals for classes right now so I understand how overwhelming life is πŸ™‚ Congrats on winning NaNo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had to take this moment to appreciate you and your posts! I just LOVE them, reading your posts always make me smile and little me aspires for my blog to be like yoursπŸ™‚πŸ™‚ Like the flower graphics and the gifs and EVERYTHINGGGGGGG, it’s obvious you put so much work into your posts and it’s amazing! You’ve also motivated me to start writing again, I used to do it so much years ago and I just stopped because of…life is guess? I don’t really know where I’m going with this comment, but I bow down to you mango queen and I love you and your postsπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. OMGGG MAY!!! I didn’t know you could “win” Camp NaNo (I barely know what it is in GENERAL lol) but CONGRATULATIONS ANYWAY!!!!! ❀ ❀ I'm so happy for you πŸ˜€
    thanks so much for sharing those snippets because they're AWESOME and I'm amazed at all the unique names you've chosen for all these characters!!!
    AND THOSE POEMS :O GIRRRLLLL I don't usually read a lot of poems BUT YOURS ARE SO GOOD and I'm just amazed at how a human create such a wonderful thing :')
    I hope you reach your next little goal but don't stress yourself and it's cool if you don't!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congratulations on winning! That’s a huge accomplishment. I once tried to do NaNoWriMo but gave up in the 1st week haha. Let’s see, I did manage 11,631 words though (holy crap now that I look that’s a lot). 15,860 is AMAZING! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your snippets are so good! And I have name problems too, my main characters for my book I’m starting are Asher and Amara. I CANT HELP IT I JUST REALLY LIKE “A” NAMES!!! I really need to write… I haven’t worked on my book in a month because schooooooooolllllll…..😡

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I have SO many naming problems haha. So I hear you!! I just realised I have like three characters with names starting with M in my recent book….that’s not at all confusing. *facepalm* But SO MUCH CONGRATS ON WINNING NANO!! And doing poems?!?? Like that is incredible and you deserve at least 6 cakes and all the sprinkles. *applauds* WELL DONE. I enjoyed getting to see a sneak peek of your writing too. πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

    Liked by 1 person

  11. CONGRATULATIONS, this is SO great, you’re doing awesomely and I hope you’ll share more snippets of your story, I’m loving all the sarcasm here ahah. Your poems are also very, very good! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

