How to Make A Habit Tracker (!!!) + An Update on My Own

Apparently, you guys REALLY liked learning about my odd habits.

Are you all stalkers??? Or are you just really invested in my life??? Or do I serve as just such an inspiration that you need to know EVERYTHING about me???

Either case, I thought it would be fun to do a little tutorial on how to make your own habit tracker. I’d originally planned to do a mini-version of this in my first habit tracker post, but I forgot. #ClassicMay

Also, I need to do a post “for you”. Because, again, one of my promises was to write more posts that benefitted you as a reader. And surely this will benefit you, because you’ll obviously become so inspired that you will create your own habit tracker #just #like #mine.

Before we go on to the wondrous tutorial, let me just say that YOU CAN MAKE YOUR HABIT TRACKER HOWEVER YOU LIKE. Just because I do mine a certain way doesn’t mean you have to too! Be unique, beans.

Please know that I am NOT an expert at this. I’ve only been doing this for two months??? But I think I’ve got the hang of it.

Now, this will be a photo-filled post. Also note that I’m modeling this with my future May habit tracker.

flower divider

Materials Needed

  • paper
  • pencil/pen
  • ruler (if you’re a perfectionist like me)
  • colorful pens

flower divider

Obviously, you need to find a journal*/notebook/random piece of paper to make your habit tracker on. And something to write with. Basically just get your materials and come flying back.

*Most people put their habit trackers in their bullet journals, or just a journal. But yoooooou caaaan dooooo thiiiiiis howeveeeer yoooouo liiiiiiike.

flower divider

Then, decide on the habits you will be tracking. If you need some inspiration, here are mine:

  • practice piano
  • water (1.5 bottles = 4.5 glasses)
  • off electronics by 8:30 pm
  • 9 hours of sleep
  • 200 words
  • stretch
  • 30 min. of reading
  • wai pla (pray)
  • correct posture (at least) 15 times
  • put oils on my ugly face

Think about some things that you want to work on or improve in every day, or things that you want to keep track of.

flower divider

I really don’t know how to explain that much, but basically, divide your page so that you can have the dates across (at the top), and the habits to the side (on the left). Or you could put the dates at the bottom, and the habits on the right. I don’t care! Do whatever you want! I’m not gonna stalk you and scream, “THAT’S NOT HOW YOU DO A HABIT TRACKER!”, right???

(So maybe not the screaming part, but I wouldn’t count out the stalking.)

I like to make my lines vertically, because I can see if they’ll make actual squares better that way. I’M A PERFECITONIST, KAY???

“Shut up May we already know this.”

No I won’t shut up.

flower divider

You can totally do this in Step Three, but I just want to make it obvious for people on what they need to do. I could’ve made Step One reeeeally long, but I gotta break it down for you amateurs, right???

(Just kiiiiiiidding. I’m sure you’re all beginners.)

Label the left with the habits you’re tracking, and label the top with the dates. You can do either weekday, actual date, or both. WHATEVER WORKS FOR YOU.

You can make a fancy title too, for the month:

I PROMISE I’M GOOD AT HANDLETTERING. I just was really bad at this one. Also ayy a habit tracker dedicated to me. NO DUH.

flower divider

So in March and April, I used a system where different colors meant different things.

black: total fail
red: mostly a fail
shaded/pencil: half fail, half succeed
green: I did it!
blue: above and beyond!

This worked practically for me, because I could see what I accomplished, what I didn’t, what I almost accomplished, and what I did very very well on. (Obviously everything.)

However, this month, I’m planning on making things different, due to me seeing the AESTHETICS OF OTHER PEOPLE’S HABIT TRACKERS OMG.

Instead of this “practicality” system that I have, people actually color a row/column (or they do it diagonally or whatever) in a different color. So if you color everything in, IT LOOKS SOOOOO AESTHETIC. And because I have a sore spot for aesthetics, naturally I must change my system to meet this demand???

AGAIN, you DO NOT have to make this the way I do. In fact, that would be called copying. Use my tutorial as something to be inspired by, and not a guide to what’s wrong or right.

(But we all know that I’m right 99% of the time.)

My new key:

ISN’T IT SO AESTHETIC.

I did the key in pencil, because I’ll be using other colors. The shapes are what signify the failing and achieving. Get me?

not colored in: total fail
circle in the middle: mostly a fail
rectangle across the middle: half/half
colored in: I did it!
colored in w/ black dots in corners: above and beyond!

And hey, if you don’t want to use the “total fail/mostly a fail/half fail/did it/above and beyond” thing, DON’T! I just find that it works for me to see what I’m doing well at and what I need to up my game on, specifically.

Most people color in a box if they achieve that habit, and leave it blank if they don’t. However, if you want to make a “system” like mine, be sure to think of what a certain color (or shape) will mean, and make a key for it.

And if you don’t want to make a system like me (why not, you), WELL THEN CONGRATS YOU SAT THROUGH THIS STEP FOR NOTHING. *claps hands*

flower divider

[april showers… may flowers]

This is definitely optional, but who doesn’t want to make their habit tracker a little pretty??? I just started this with my May habit tracker, so I am NO expert, but it’s really fun just to doodle around the edges and add in nice illustrations. All for aesthetics of course.

By the way, I am the worst doodler of ever. And I don’t know why I drew a bee. Especially because I really don’t like anything that stings/moves/flies???

flower divider

Using Your Habit Tracker to Improve Your Life

Because, frens, this is where your habit tracker actually serves a purpose besides pleasing your little aesthetics-hungry eyeballs.

  • At the end of the month, look at what habits you excelled at, and what habits you absolutely failed at.
  • Decide what habits you’re going to keep, and ones that you’re going to take out/replace.
    • For example, I kept the same March habits as April’s (except for number of words). But for May, I realized that one particular habit wasn’t working out, so I’m replacing it with something better.
    • If you keep failing the same habit, maybe it’s time to take it out or change it up a bit.
  • This is where you can really do some great things with your habits. Which ones are you going to REALLY commit to? (This should be ALL OF THEM.) Which ones do you think that you will need to work harder on?
  • You can also set a goal for that month to get better at one particular habit.
  • And if you keep a habit that you need to work on, you can make the “stakes” a little higher, to challenge yourself.
    • I’m really bad at drinking all of the water in my ONE water bottle. So this May, I’m upping the amount to 1.5 water bottles. I’ve always been drinking like half the water bottle, and calling it half fail/half succeed, but NOOOOOW, half a water bottle would be mostly a fail. #motivational
  • Basically, analyze your habit tracker like a nerd and use that information to improve. #totallyspecific

flower divider

This was quite short a tutorial??? But I think the fact is that it’s easy to MAKE the habit tracker, but it’s harder to keep up with those habits.

If you need any help at all, please let me know! Once more, MY WAY is not necessarily the RIGHT WAY—make! your! habit! tracker! how! you! like!

Here are pics of my old habit trackers so you can see how horrible they look:

[march]

[april]

And yes, that’s all I have. I TOLD YOU I’M NOT AN EXPERT.

flower divider

An Update on My Own Habit Tracker

FINALLY. TIME TO TALK ABOUT MEEEEEE.

Throughout my lil tutorial, you’ve seen pics of my May habit tracker sprinkled around. So do you really need to see it again???

Yes.

HAHAHA no, enough of the cringy pictures. But this picture is just so aesthetic, guys:

[insert heart eyes here]

But, if you read through my tutorial, you’ll know that I changed some habits.

25 ✕ 3… BECAME… 15 back

Me rolling my shoulders back 25 times, 3 times in a day, was NOT working. In the end, I just gave up on that habit, because I knew that I was just going to change it. Now, I’m resolving to fix my posture at least 15 times a day. I’m probably going to be a mangold and just completely forget how many times I correct my posture, but I think that this will be more helpful than the 25 ✕ 3 thing.

water 1… BECAME… water 1.5

Like I said earlier, I just wasn’t motivated to drink that much water. So by upping the amount, I’ll probably fail a lot in the beginning, but SEEING that I fail will make me want to NOT fail. I have to be the BEST.

Image result for king of the world gif

I also started using a new key because AESTHETICS YES PLEASE. Instead of colors like my old key, I use different shapes. It still looks aesthetic* (because you see the colors more than the shapes), but it’s also still practical. #winning

And this is halfway related to habit trackers, but I’VE DECIDED TO START A BULLET JOURNAL… in January 2018. I want to start earlier, but my two COMPLETELY FREE months of summer are busy (which makes them… not free???), and then school starts in August which makes it even BUSIER. Plus over Winter Break in December, I’ll have LOADS of time to get my BuJo ready.

And something about a fresh start with the new year is just so enticing???

*I think. I haven’t exactly seen it yet??? I’m hoping it’s aesthetic. It probably is.

shall we chat

so! how’d you like my first ever tutorial? will you be making a habit tracker now? or do you already have a habit tracker? do you bullet journal too? what are some of your tips to maintaining good habits? AND IS YOUR HABIT TRACKER AESTHETIC??? (#priorities)

sign off 2.0

147 thoughts on “How to Make A Habit Tracker (!!!) + An Update on My Own

  1. I’d love to make and use a habit tracker, but there’s one thing in the way…the fact that I’m such a lazy person. I’d always forget to fill it out, an even if I do remember I’d probably choose watching another youtube video to watch instead😂😂
    Just kidding, I’m not that lazy. Well I can if I really want to be!
    Having a habit tracker would be awesome though, mainly because of how pretty I can make it and (like you pointed out) AESTHETICS!!😍💞😂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m making one now! I just need the energy to move… 😝 May the force be with me! Or maybe May the Fourth? Do you like Star Wars? You should.

    Thanks for tutorial!

    Izzy💜

    P.S. Aesthetics are BAE! *whispers* Mine shall be beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. AHHH THE AESTHETIC IN THIS POST THO. I really loved this post–and your habit tracker and hand lettering skills are incredible dude. Kudos for you starting a bullet journal, even if it’s in 2018 and I hope it goes well!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This was so awesome! I love all the pictures. I want to take pictures … but I don’t have a camera at the time. :/ I can use my mom’s, but the only way to upload them are on my mom’s laptop (and it still doesn’t work well ’cause the camera and the laptop stink) and then I have to either email the pictures to myself or put them on my thumbdrive (INDIVIDUALLY!!! AAAAAH) and upload them on my computer … *scowls* So haaard …

    how’d you like my first ever tutorial?: It was amazing! Ah, the aesthetics …

    will you be making a habit tracker now?: no, probably not. I really stink at that kind of thing. I don’t know why, but remembering to keep up on journals and stuff is the hardest thing for me to do! 😛

    or do you already have a habit tracker?: nope. 😉 I’ve tried … but it just doesn’t work for me.

    do you bullet journal too?: nope. It just doesn’t appeal to me. Too much effort to make it and keep it and such.

    what are some of your tips to maintaining good habits?: uh … none? I don’t maintain good habits … 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wowww I’ve never even heard of a habit tracker! You’re always introducing me to new things May! And I appreciate it so much 😉 ❤
    This is actually such a great idea and I might consider it. But I'm a naturally lazy person so I'll probably give up on it after a week or so BUT WE'LL SEE!
    And I am a SUCKER for pretty aesthetics and cute bullet journals but again… I'M LAZY and I also can't draw pretty things or fonts or whatever to save my life. My journals are all pretty basic lol XD
    Anyway, I'm rambling again BUT YEAH THIS WAS A GREAT POST AND THANKS FOR THE INSPIRATION! I'll definitely put play the piano and drink x amount of water on my list! Woo ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Your tutorial was AWESOME with a capital A. My first habit tracker for this month was actually inspired by yours so thank you but this will help me out a lot for next month because my current one is #ugly. Yes, I do Bullet Journal but somehow you have left me to live this life alone?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This was AMAZING!! I TOTALLY have a habit journal #irresponsible #nohopeforme Anywho, this was so AMAZING and those pictures were so AMAZING and this was AMAZING. Is there anything left to say? AMAZING.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ugh, I am seriously just going to throw my BuJo in the trash.

    I mean … HOW??? HOW DO YOU GET YOURS SO PURTYYY? I don’t do it for aesthetics (since I find all that stuff distracting), but mine still looks awful compared to that beautifulness. 😦 XD 😛 *shakes head hopelessly*
    (Also…I LOVE the key-idea for your habit tracker! Imma have to steal that one)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That habit tracker is just so PRETTY, OMG GIVE IT TO ME NOW!!
    I tried to make these in my bullet journal, but it was such an epic fail I cant even. You’re hand lettering is so freaking beautiful, HOW DARE YOU CALL IT CRINGEY! When I start writing script it comes out like this wobbly letters script, it’s so ugly ew.

    I’m definitely going to try this out in May, and hopefully it’ll come out at least as pretty as yours.
    BTW, what are the pens you used. Tell me now, so I can waste what little money I have left… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • aReally? I didn’t think it was. 😛

      Aww, I’m sorry it didn’t go so well! You should definitely try again. 😉 And NOOO THAT WAS REALLY BAD HANDLETTERING TRUST ME. XD

      Aww, you’re too sweet! I’m glad you’ll try it again though. 🙂

      Oh, the pens I used are the Triplus Fineliners. They’re the best! And omg I’m so #broke too.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve heard of bullet journaling before, but this is the first time I’ve ever come across a habit tracker. It’s a novel concept! I’d totally make one if I wasn’t so indisciplined and lazy when it comes to stuff like this. It’s the reason I don’t have a diary, or a bullet journal, and now a habit tracker. I did love your tutorial though!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hey! Which post should I do next — a birthday haul, an artwork showcase or a NaPo recap?
    Thx! (and I promise I’ll reply to your comment on my blog as soon as I have time. (’cause I know it’s super annoying when bloggers are obviously online and then don’t reply to your comment. XD ))

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh my word, this is SOOOO cool! I’ve actually never heard of a Habit Tracker??? (I live under a rock, apparently) But now I MUST HAVE ONE! Those pictures were just so beautiful and aesthetically pleasing, and I just NEED.

    And might I add that the little bee and flowers and pretty illustrations you drew were SO ADORABLE??? I wish I could draw… I’ve got this problem where everything I draw looks like a squashed potato… It’s a serious problem. Really.

    I’ve always wanted to start a bullet journal, but I cannot for the life of me find a journal without lines on the pages?????? ACK!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ahhhhh this makes me want to start using a habit tracker again!! Also, some pictures didn’t show up for me?? But the ones that did look SO AWESTHETIC. (Awesome + aesthetic, see what I did there??? Can I trademark this lolllllll I’ll stop now). I had one in April and I kind of completely failed at following any of those habits and so I abandoned it for May? But I’m so glad it works for you, it’s so cute and fun! And your handwriting is sooooo pretty I lurve it. ❤ ❤ Lovedddd this!!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

