May’s Moments of the Month: April // The Month of Writing, Stress, and Reading More than Expected

Well April was just jam-packed.

The writing was good, I read some nice books, and I was also very stressed from school. I had some stress attacks. Mucho fun.

I honestly can’t think of anything much more than just that though??? Like is that all my life is reduced to??? Writing, reading, school???

I like the writing and reading part, but school… How about #no.

  • Book Stats for April
  • Blog Stats for April
  • Writing Stats for April
  • Outstanding Life Moments of April
  • April Goal Achievements & Failures
  • Goals for May

mmm reading

I read 8 books this month, one of which was a school book. I AM PROUD OF THIS AMOUNT, especially with all the writing going on this month.

I’m also halfway through a book if that counts??? I tried to finish it yesterday to say I read 8 books but that didn’t happen.

  • TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE by Jenny Han
    • So cute and fluffy and give sequel now. ★★★★☆ {mini review}
  • WE WERE LIARS by E. Lockhart
    • Great plot twist and prose and I love Gat. Minor confusion??? ★★★★☆
  • BONE GAP by Laura Ruby
    • SO FREAKIN’ AMAZING GIVE ME MOOOOOORE PLS. ★★★★★
  • INK AND BONE by Rachel Caine
    • I love Santi??? And Wolfe??? And Jess??? And Morgan??? And Thomas??? Basically everyone and everything??? Flail with me???★★★★★
  • PAPER AND FIRE by Rachel Caine
    • Thank goodness for the sequel, and A GOOD ONE. ★★★★☆
  • DARK WATER RISING by Marian Hale
    • [for school] I was so bored, it was cringy, and I hate Ella Rose omg. ★★☆☆☆
  • CHALLENGER DEEP by Neal Shusterman
    • LOVE LOVE LOVE so deep and inspiring and just GREAT. ★★★★★
  • WE ARE THE ANTS by Shaun David Hutchison
    • The writing was weird but the message and characters were just BEAUTIFUL. GAY COUPLE. ❤ ★★★★☆

Overall, I’m REALLY proud of what I read this month (except for the HORRIBLE school book). They’re pretty much all four-stars, plus some AWESOME five-stars, which makes me happy-y-y.

And I read We Are The Ants super fast over the weekend so I could say I read it last month. #motivational BUT IT WAS JUST SO GOOD I GOBBLED IT. So don’t think I read just to have the numbers. NO NO.

Also my Language Arts teacher said we’re reading fantasy for our next book project thing??? AND I HEARD FROM MY FRIEND ABOUT SOME OF THE SELECTIONS AND THEY SOUND SOOOOO MUUUUUCH BETTER (than our last ones). There’s City of Bones, Cinder (MY HEART), Shiver, Miss Peregrine’s. AHGAHSDGHAHGH THIS IS GONNA BE GREAT.

{ all covers link to goodreads }

 

Image result for to all the boys i've loved beforeImage result for we were liarsImage result for bone gapImage result for ink and boneImage result for paper and fireImage result for dark water risingImage result for we are the antsImage result for challenger deep book

favorite book of the month?

Omgggg I cannot choose. It would probably have to be… Bone Gap, because I felt SOOO satisfied after reading it. Challenger left me like “Um more” and FREAKIN INK AND BONE HAD THAT AT THE END ASDFGHJKL (but at least it had an excerpt for Paper and Fire).

favorite author of the month?

I think Rachel Caine. I sorta like died from the amazingness of that series. GO READ IT RIGHT NOW. IT’S LIKE HISTORICAL FANTASY OPPRESSIVE MAGICALNESS.

 

tbrs accumulated

  • PS I Still Love You
  • ASH AND QUILL PLSSSSS
  • The Dark Prophecy (coming out tomorrow!!!)
  • Unwind
  • Noteworthy
  • SO MANY OTHERS, GUYS, I REALLY NEED TO KEEP TRACK

mmm blogging

  • I made it to three months of blogging omg.
  • On that note, I also got THREE HUNDRED FOLLOWERS. hOw???
  • Thank you s’much, you wonderful mangoes.
  • 39 posts
  • 2,950 views
  • 592 likes
  • 958 comments
  • 85 WordPress followers
  • My stats went down, because I wasn’t posting as much, but that’s completely okay!
  • Also, I hope you know that I’m not doing this to make you feel bad or brag about them. Numbers are nothing! I just like to analyze my stats like a nerd.
  • I also started a new “theme” with my graphic designing. I think that it’ll look more professional with similar looking graphics. 😉

top posts of the month?

{click on the images to read the post}

weirdest bookish habits

mmm march

writer woes 2.0

 

favorite post of the month?

writerly update 4

The graphic is aesthetic and also you guys really liked my snippets. *blushes and hides*

other awesome posts?

 

me taking over the blogosphere?

mmm writing

  • Well, obviously I participated in Camp NaNo, and NaPoWriMo. I wrote a total of 17,678 words for Camp NaNo, which makes me extremely happy. And I missed three poems, which makes me extremely sad. BUT I STARTED WRITING POEMS EARLY IN MARCH SO I GUESS THAT HELPS???
  • I came up with the major plot thing for my magic story. Which is great.
  • Um. That’s it? #sad

mmm life

  • I’M ADULTING, FOLKS. Aka my mom is getting a full-time job and I have to make my own salad now. DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD IT IS TO POUR THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF DRESSING? *wails into the void*
  • There must’ve been something else that happened in April. I think.
  • Holy cow guys is this all that my life has been reduced to??? Making my own salad???
  • Oh yeah I finally finished a piano piece! I’m still work on it for a recital this month though.

mmm goals last

Reading

  • READ AT LEAST FOUR BOOKS THIS MONTH.

    • I DID I DID I DID!!! I ACTUALLY READ FOUR MORE THAN FOUR!!! DO THE MATH!!!
  • ONE OF THOSE HAS TO BE A CONTEMPORARY.

    • I actually read THREE this month ARE YOU PROUD.
  • ONE OF THOSE CAN’T BE DARK WATER RISING.

    • Yup.

Writing

  • REACH MY GOAL OF 17,500 WORDS (OR AT LEAST 15K).

    • I did! Yesterday I wrote as much as I could and made it to 17,678 words. Wowowowowowow.
  • WRITE AT LEAST ONE POEM A DAY.

    • HAHAHAHA there were three days I forgot. One was a sick day. The other two were… stress days. *nodnod*
  • BRAINSTORM MORE IDEAS FOR “MAGIC STORY”.

    • I did! At least a little bit. I definitely came up with a plot though, so I’m happy! Don’t forget the name problems though. Oh my gosh the name problems.

Blogging

  • POST AT LEAST TWICE A WEEK (WEDNESDAYS AND SATURDAYS).

    • This was easyyyyyyyy.
  • REACH 300 FOLLOWERS.

    • AAGGHH I DID ARE YOU PROUD ARE YOU PROUD
  • SPEND LESS TIME IN THE BLOGOSPHERE.

    • Hahaha no I actually failed. ONE DAY I SPENT AN HOUR AND A HALF reading and commenting on all the posts in my Reader. I got no homework done, no writing. ASDFGHJKL

Life

  • GET OFF THE COMPUTER BY AT LEAST EIGHT THIRTY.

    • Pretty much??? There were some days where I didn’t. Even though the wi-fi was off.
  • GET. MORE. SLEEP.

    • *squints eyes* Somewhat.
  • CONTINUE PRACTICING PIANO FIVE-SIX TIMES A WEEK AND TRY TO PRAY AT LEAST TWICE A WEEK.

    • I WOULD’VE GOTTEN A CHECK ON THIS but there was one week where I only practiced four times. *cries* I guess some things weren’t meant to be.
mmm goals this

Reading

  • READ AT LEAST EIGHT BOOKS THIS MONTH.

    • I would say ten, but 1) this Friday is the last day to check out books from my school library how dare they, and 2) finals is coming up which means STUDYING.
    • BUT OMG GUYS I PUT FOUR BOOKS ON HOLD (that are actually at my library???) AND THEY’RE ALL BOOKS ON MY TBR. *dies*
  • THREE OF THOSE HAVE TO BE FANTASY.

    • I miss my homebodies. 😥 But I think contemporaries are like running me over haha whoops.
  • KEEP TRACK OF MY TBR.

    • Meaning “write down what books I want to read” and not “magically read all the books on my TBR”. That’s impossible.

Writing

  • EDIT AT LEAST CHAPTERS 1-3 OF IMS.

    • Again, I would set a higher goal, but finalsssssssss. Also this is for a writing contest (that I won last summer whoop whoop).
  • BRAINSTORM MORE IDEAS FOR “MAGIC STORY” (200 WORDS A DAY).

    • This is like not specific at all, but I just really want to get some ideas out for my story. It doesn’t matter if it’s good or bad, or complete nonsense, I just gotta get going.
  • WRITE MORE POETRY!

    • Doing NaPo last month has really made me realize how much I’ve missed writing poems, so I want to just write some in May!

Blogging

  • EXPLORE NEW THEMES AND FONTS AND STUFF.

    • I may or may not be changing my body text (which wouldn’t affect the people who read my blog through the Reader… in which case WHAT ARE YOU DOING YOU HAVE TO SEE THE LOVELY DESIIIIIIIGN). And I’m also thinking that I might switch over to a new theme, though I’m not completely sure yet.
  • REACH 400 FOLLOWERS.

    • We got this??? We got this???
  • SPEND LESS TIME IN THE BLOGOSPHERE.

    • Again, I NEED to make this happen. I really need to put writing and homework over blogging. YOU’LL FORGIVE ME IF I DON’T ALWAYS COMMENT, RIGHT???
    • I’m also going back to my regular schedule of posting on Monday, Wednesday, and Saturday. This is not good for this goal???

Life

  • DRINK MORE WATER.

    • Pls.
  • GET. MORE. SLEEP.

    • Also pls.
  • FIX MY POSTURE AT LEAST FIFTEEN TIMES A DAY.

    • Pls pls.

shall we chat

what books did you read in april? how was writing (CAMP) for you? any cool life-y moments? what are some goals you have for may? IT’S THE MONTH OF MEEEEE GUYS.

Image result for we are the antssign off 2.0

121 thoughts on “May’s Moments of the Month: April // The Month of Writing, Stress, and Reading More than Expected

  1. Aw, thanks so much for linking to my post! ❤

    And, ooh, so glad to see you thought so highly of We Are the Ants! I want to read it SO BAD, and I’ve heard so many good things about it! AND CONGRATS ON 300 FOLLOWERS! 😄

    Liked by 2 people

  2. CHALLENGERRRRRRRRRRRRRR DEEPPPPPPPPPP

    excuse me while i weep in the corner over the beauty an message and sadness and triumph and overall heartbreak of this book. And lollll I feel you about spending wayyy too much time in the blogosphere. 😄 I think that I’m spending just as much time in the blogging world as when I was still blogging? #whoops XDD Camp went well! I hit my goal (!!) and wasted a bunch of time chatting with my cabinmates (!!!) and then there’s Josie over there with her 100k words lol (!!!!!!!!) !!
    !!
    !!

    (no but seriously Josie you’re like the word count queen of all teenagers. like someone explain this to me.)

    Ahem. Life-y moments, hmm . . . I went to a regional piano competition on Saturday and didn’t place, lol. But! My friend won first! So yay her!! And my sister was on a chorus trip and sprained her ankle there and came back with it sporting about twelve different colors and now she can’t really walk on it.

    Goals?? ahahaha what are those?

    But seriously. I have none. I am a goal-rejecting, time-wasting, professionally trained couch potato.
    Maybe not to cry too much over Challenger. (I keep renewing it and the librarian is giving me weird looks now. It’s been a month, I think. XD) And to design a mock cover for my July project. And to outline a tinyyyy bit for it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You read so many awesome books this month!! I’ve heard great things about Bone Gap and the story sounds super interesting so I’ll definitely have to bump it up on my TBR. I’m really glad you enjoyed We Were Liars (though I will agree, it was pretty confusing at times).
    Also, thanks so much for the shout out!! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  4. HEY 8 BOOKS? THAT’S AN AMAZING TOTAL, MAY!! ALSO, C’MON YOU CAN DO THIS!! Mission: 400 followers for our Mango Queen 💛 Congratulations on doing so well in Camp NaNo!! OOH AND I CAN’T WAIT TO READ YOUR BOOK. #pleasepublishitoneday 😻

    ALL THE VERY BEST FOR YOUR FINALS! KILL EM! 😚 And new theme? I’m all for it. PLUS, IF YOU WANT TO FIND SOME RELAXATION, TAKE SOME TIME OFF AND HEAD OVER TO WORDPRESS. (Yeah, we’re wonderful here) ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  5. OMG IT’S ALREADY MAY?? I’m on vacation and school starts NEXT. MONTH. *sniffs*
    My favourite April book was probably The Song from Somewhere Else, and (*SPOILER*) I’m planning to do a review.
    (Shhhh don’t tell anyone)
    Poem in Your Pocket Day went well. Pretty much all. Don’t forget to give me some of your salad!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Those are some awesome goals! Congrats on Camp NaNoWriMo! I’ve gone NaNoWriMo for the past few years and it’s really a great experience. I’ve learned a lot from it. Congrats on hitting 300 followers! That’s fantastic! My goals this month are to finish two audiobooks, post 3 times a week, and up my traffic. Last semester hit my blogging hard (meaning I basically didn’t blog at all), but I want to strike a balance with that this semester.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you! And NaNoWriMo is just such a great event — it really has helped me grow as a writer! Thanks so much, Stephanie! Ooh, audiobooks! Yeah, I’m going back to my schedule of blogging three times a week too. 😛 Hope your blogging goes well! 🙂

      Like

  7. It seems like you had a great month! Congrats on reaching your word goal for Camp NaNoWriMo. Also, I’ve been meaning to add Bone Gap to my TBR. It’s good to know you really enjoyed that one. And I’m with you on We Are the Ants; it has some weird writing sometimes, but the characters are lovely so it’s all good ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  8. OMG MAY CONGRATS ON BASICALLY ACHIEVING ALL OF YOUR GOALS!!! ❤
    300 followers, reaching your writing goal, practicing the piano, brainstorming and writing poems ahhh! I'm so proud of you *pats shoulder*

    And I'm so happy to see that you loved We Are The Ants! All my friends tell me it's great and awesome – and I still haven't read it lol. BUT I'LL AT LEAST ADD IT TO MY TBR! OK? OK!

    I hope that May will be just as great and successful for you! And I'm also currently working on changing my theme and adding/creating more graphics so YAY! I'm in such a spring-cleaning mood hahaha 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  9. OMG I WANT TO READ WE WERE LIARS SO BAD!!!!

    Also you’re so amazing 8 books is incredible. And my goal is actually to spend MORE time in the blogosphere so give me some of your time PLEASE.

    You wrote so much (even though you have a blank in your writing goals spot, you said it earlier) and I’m so jealous. I wish I know NaPo existed before a week ago because I would have done it!

    Congrats on a great month!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Congrats, May! You did most of your goals. And guess what?

    I didn’t beat my Camp NaNo goal. 😥😭

    Lol just kidding I totally did! Yay!!!!! And I made a habit tracker (which I forgot to do yesterday cause I was at the Supreme Court meeting Justice Ginsburg, whoops).

    Happy May! This is your month.

    Literally. 😉

    Izzy💜

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I was evil and read nothing this month….I know that’s horrible! And it’s not like I didn’t have any time! I shall be awaiting my punishment😂 Congrats on your achievements this month, wayyy better than my April! I need to step up my game…
    And oh yeah, we’re currently in the month of you! Everyone around the world’s gonna be saying your name, you’re basically famous for a month?? As for any cool life moments, the only thing worth documenting was that I ordered a book! My first new book in monthsss

    Liked by 1 person

  12. YAY I’M VERY PROUD OF YOU FOR BEING A GOOD CHILD AND READING LOTS AND NOT MY TBR HAS GROWN HOW MEAN OF YOU BUT STILL.

    But seriously though, I can believe it’s already May??
    This was quite a short comment.
    Anyways.
    GO READ THE HOBBIT AND THE LORD OF THE RINGS SERIES AND THE SILMARILLION!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. BONE GAAAAP!
    Omg that was such a good book, I died after the book ended. Then I came back to life to see your posts 🙂 Give me your thoughts please!! YOU WILL REACH 400 FOLLOWERS BY THE END OF THIS MONTH, MAY! I will make sure of it myself (but you can’t really rely on me because I’m a rebel).

    Any-who, great wrap up I’m looking forward to next month!

    Liked by 1 person

    • IT WAS SO AMAZING. *dies with you* And aww, you’re too sweet! Well, I loooooved it — Finn and Roza and Petey and Sean were all amazing. I want to read more magical realism now! I was a little annoyed when Petey “ditched” him though — I thought she was being dramatic, but it WAS a realistic reaction.

      AW THANK YOU. Haha, let’s be #rebels together.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I can’t BELIEVE you’re at 300 followers already but at the same time I’m not even surprised because you’re blog is so crazy awesome, although, regardless congratulations!!!! I had to reread We Were Liars a few times before everything was totally clear and understood; but now that it is that way I love the book even more ;). And I am so glad I’m not the only one who thinks Gat is an amazing perfect character hahaha. If he wasn’t in the book, the book wouldn’t be NEARLY as good. Also, Gat spews out all these amazing quotes throughout the book…does anyone else notice how he is everyone else’s wisdom and pretty much the only sane one in the family?! And also, wow 8 books, that is great, you go May! Lol I’m usually the SLOWEST reader…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Thank you for linking my post! I was so unproductive this month 😦 OH MY GOD, YOU MADE SALAD *HUGS* I’M SO PROUD!!! YAY CONGRATS ON 300!!! You are literally the best human on earth currently. Its very hard to be number one on that list May…. PS OMG YOU’RE SO GREAT AND RESPONSIBLE AND NICE (not…JUST KIDDING YOU ARE REALLY NICE) AND YOU DESERVED EVERYTHING YOU ACCMPLISHED. OKAY I’M DONE I WAS JUST PASSIONATE. Correction: Okay I’m done I AM just passionate.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. This is an amazing recap May, and it seems like you had an amazing month as well! I love your idea of including monthly goals, also congratulations on completing Camp NaNo and succeeding in the majority of your goals from last month, that must have been a nice feeling. Kind of like for me when I finish one of my monthly TBR lists! 😀
    You got through some great books as well. I am so so glad to see you enjoyed Bone Gap because that is one of my all-time favourite books ever! Will you be writing a review for it? I’d love to read more of your thoughts on it. 🙂 ❤
    I hope your May is just as amazing as your April seemed to be, and good luck with this month's goals as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Looks like you had a good reading month! You’ve made me want to read Bone Gap and Ink and Bone even more now! Also congrats on 300 followers! I can’t believe you’ve only been blogging for 3 months!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Okay, WHY HAVE I NOT COME TO YOUR BLOG BEFORE!?!? IT’S EPIC. All the colors and graphics… *flails*

    Your blogging is EPIC here. Four months and that many followers? You’re rocking it! 😀 And I totally get how blogsphere can just suck you in… I usually have to make myself stay off it for a few days a week.

    I hope you have a wonderful May!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Reading 8 books is great!!! I’ve got Ink and Bone from the library and I can’t wait to read it! I definitely want to read We were Liars!!! AND I REALLY WANT TO READ BONE GAP. OMGGG CONGRATS ON 300 FOLLOWERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We are the ants looks great (# cover judging) I love your new featured images – they work so well together. THANK YOUUUU for linking to my post. Congrats on NaNo and Napo. I LOVE SALAD and you have to make it yourself *pats head*. I usually only like vegetable salad, am I weird? Of course, you’ve already confirmed this. Congrats on doing piano staff! Well, your life is mangoes so the salad is an upgrade 😀 Just kidding!!! Congrats on like um doing all your reading goals. AND IT’s fine sick and stress ARE VALID REASONS For not writing poems. #namepromblesm I don’t know how people come up with SUH GOOD SUITABLE NAMES. I try to get off all screens by 7:00 pm (recommended by the article but even my habit tracker can not motivate me) Water and Posture are relatable though I get enough sleep. I think you’re supposed to get 8-9 hours of sleep?Well, you already know most stuff about a month like books and cool life-y moments. But I don’t include goals in my recaps so I can tell you all.
    1) Catch up on all my design requests (I have like 10 graphic designs requests #help)
    2) Catch up on NetGalley’s books and ARC’s
    3)Read more books in general
    4) Carry on with my Bullet Journal and don’t fail and give up and…well, yeah
    I’m so excited for the month all bout you!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG YAS INK AND BONE. ❤ I love it so much. ❤ And yas, Bone Gap is amazing as well!

      THANK YOU!!! And yay, I'm glad you like them! Today's post has a different one and I'm trying to see if they'll look good together or not… I don't like salad? Except the salad I have been eating recently is okay. I just hate veggies in general. 🙂 🙂 NOT JUST NAME PROBLEMS. PLOT PROBLEMS AND WORLDBUILDIMG PROBLEMS. JUST AGAHGAGAHA #existentialcrisis

      Yeah, my doctor says 10 hours of sleep whoops. But if I get 9, I call that an accomplishment.

      HAVE FUN WITH ALL YOUR GRAPHIC DESIGNING AND READING AND BUJO-ING. I WANT TO SEE YOUR BUJO.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. I have to say, I’ve seen Jenny Han books EVERYWHERE. And I mean everywhere. Like I’ve seen it so many times you’d think by now that I’d be sick of it and just think that it’s overhyped- but no I’m putting my trust in that book because it seems good.
    I am definitely reading you review on that book because I really want to read it now that I’ve seen it too many times. Curiosity killed the cat, shall we say?

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Omg this is your April wrap up and right now it’s halfway through May WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME aghhh.
    But Ahhhhh I need to read Bone Gap!! I’m so glad you loved it!! And To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is so so adorable I need to reread those books I need to read the third book as well. ❤ ALSO. You have such amazingggg selections for your book project??! SO jealous haha. Sorry about the stress attacks though!! Not fun at all. And congratssss on all your blogging success!! Girl, you're on fire. 🙂 But take time for yourself and school for sure!! I love your comments, but it is SO hard to manage school AND still dedicate time to comment on every post haha and it's not a requirement at all. ❤ ❤ We will always love you no matter what!! I hope your May is going well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • NO YOU’RE COMPLETELY ALL RIGHT, DEAR. (And whoa halfway through May??? Where did the time go???)

      BONE GAP YAS. And omg I NEED Always and Forever! Thank you! And haha, I’m still super bad at finding that balance. School’s letting out soon, though??? And AWW YOU’RE SO SWEEEEEEEEEEET. ❤ ❤ *hugs*

      Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

