The Meaning of Aesthetic-Cover-Devouring Bookworms + Covers to Feast Your Eyeballs On

It is a truth universally acknowledged that bookworms will always love and drool over aesthetic book covers.

No, I haven’t started reading classics. Yes, I still know that iconic line.

But is it not true??? We bookworms LOVE pretty-looking covers.

And that is completely okay.

I think that as readers we all say that we “judge books by their covers”, me included. But I personally find that judging books by their covers and liking pretty covers is something totally different, and that’s why I wanted to bring it up today.

This post is my first discussion yet (!!!), and it was inspired by this lovely post by Tiana. I’ll be using some of the points she mentioned and adding my own thoughts. She has things stated differently than me, so make sure to check out her post if you haven’t!

Now, I would put this in list form (because LIIIISTS), buuuuut I’m not creative and can’t think of that many reasons. And also, to go along with the “covers” theme that Top Ten Tuesday has*, I’ll be adding some covers that I think look GORGEOUS and PRETTY and AESTHETIC at the end of this post. Have I read most of them? No. #oops

*Am I joining the trend??? Perhaps. On Wednesday. #rebel

(Also, thank you to Analee with helping me out on changing font size! You’ll see me playing around with it in this post. Because it’s fun.)

flower divider

Why do bookworms like pretty-looking covers???

Well, why wouldn’t we? We humans are attracted to pretty things—ask anyone.

We are very visual, and book covers are just made to draw your attention. Why else would they be there? To protect the book from ripping? To run your fingers over and smell? OBVIOUSLY FOR AESTHETICS.

It is a true fact that bookworms are humans (if not superhumans), therefore, we are attracted to pretty things. Is that something to be ashamed of? NO. It’s just who we are.

In Tiana’s post, she says:

Humans are creatures captivated by beautiful things.

And it’s true! If the cover is beautiful, we are just naturally drawn to them. Our eyes instantly snap to it, we squeal, then run over to pick it up. Covers are like the book industry’s way of propaganda. HONESTLY.

flower divider

What about judging books by their covers?

Judging books by their covers (without having read them) vs. liking covers of books  is something COMPLETELY DIFFERENT.

Judging books by their covers = saying this book is good or bad based on their cover.

Liking covers = saying that this book has a nice cover.

ARE YOU MIND-BLOWN?

Image result for mindblown gif

In reality, we shouldn’t be in shock over this. If you judge books by their covers, whatever! I’m not judging you, even though I don’t think that’s necessarily a “right” thing to do. But if you LIKE covers but not necessarily the book, I’m with you, I understand you, let’s ride off into the evening and eat mangoes.

Basically, just because we say OOH PRETTY COVER PRETTY COVER SUCH A GREEEEEEAT COVER doesn’t mean that we think the book is great. We are simply commenting on the book’s aesthetics, because, well, aesthetics.

Just because we say that we will marry this book because of its cover doesn’t mean that we will marry this book because of its content! No! Again! The cover! We’re talking about the cover! LOOK AT THE COVER!

And finally (I’ll be serious this time), just because we like the cover doesn’t mean we like the book.

We’re not saying that since the cover is pretty and nice-looking, the book will be great.

We’re not saying that since the cover is ugly and unappealing, the book will suck and we will throw it into the void.

We are simply saying that we like the cover. We may or may not like the book, but that has NOTHING to do with our appreciation of the cover.

Liking pretty covers is not the same as the judging books by their covers. Liking pretty covers is liking pretty covers, and judging books by their covers is saying we think this book is good/bad because of their good/bad cover.

flower divider

The great combinations of covers + content

And sometimes, the cover is great and so is the book! That just works out perfectly and makes us bookworms extremely happy.

But other times, the content is uglyyyyyyy, but the cover is great. Not the best, but we can still use it for pretty pics and prop it up on our bookshelves to admire and drool over. We’ll just forget the horribleness of its insides whoops.

And then other times, the COVER is ugly, and the content is wonderful. This is where we get conflicted because what do we do with it? Do we just hide it under piles of other books? Do we wrap it in some pretty gift paper and pretend it has a beautiful cover???

And FINALLY, we have the ugly cover + book. Then we can just use it to hit people and sit on.

Image result for hit people with books gifs

The important takeaway from this section (???) is that covers have nothing to do with content, for the cover-loving aesthetic bookworm. Versus in judging books by covers, covers define how the content will be.

flower divider

So is it okay to like pretty covers?

OH YES. YES YES YES 100% YES.

Like I said, we are pretty much hardwired to like pretty things. Covers are made to catch our eye, to scream “HEY HEY LOOK AT ME I’M BEAUTIFUL”. So it is  c o m p l e t e l y  okay to like covers! That’s basically telling the cover designer that they did their job.

Plus how can you NOT like pretty covers.

However, it comes to the question of: Is it okay to judge books by their covers?

In my opinion, you really can’t judge things based on their appearance. You can APPRECIATE the appearance, of course, or you can like it for its aesthetics, but you can’t say that because the book LOOKS beautiful, the book IS beautiful. Nor can you say that because the book LOOKS ugly, the book IS ugly.

Of course, that’s just my opinion! It applies to real life as well—just because someone has a different skin color than you doesn’t mean they are inferior/commit crimes/whatever ridiculous stereotypes have appeared in the world. *frowny face times infinity*

Image result for frowning gif

flower divider

Saying that we “judge books by covers”

We bookworms do this A LOT. I think it’s just easier to say than “I like book covers but I don’t necessarily like the book”. Like I’ve said a MILLION times before, I personally think that judging is different than liking. But you may not! And that’s okay! Because we’re different and have different opinions and different is FIIIIIIIIINE.

Even I say that I judge books by covers. I said it in my comment to Tiana’s post! But now, after writing this lovely discussion, I realize that I in fact do NOT judge books by covers—I simply like pretty covers and say I like pretty covers.

However, for me, it’s a step further than just “liking” pretty covers. Because that cover is pretty, I want to read the book. But is that judging? NO.

Image result for no gif

The pretty cover makes me want to read the book. I am not judging the book and saying that THE BOOK WILL BE GREAT BECAUSE THE COVER IS. Its aesthetics just drew my eye and I want to know what it’s about.

The ugly cover will discourage me from reading the book. I’m not judging the book and saying that THE BOOK WILL BE BAD BECAUSE THE COVER IS. Its unappealingness (it’s a word shh) makes me feel like “agh I don’t want to read this book because it just looks so uglyyyyy”.

BUT I’M NOT JUDGING IT. I don’t think the book will be bad because the cover is bad! (And haha I’m just repeating that sentence over and over again #oops.)

flower divider

An example of me NOT judging a book by its cover (despite its ugly cover)

Yesterday, I was browsing books in my school library. I remember the wonderful Jackie talking about the Shatter Me trilogy, so I found the book. I took it out of the shelf, and my first thought was, WOWOWOW that cover is ugly. What about the pretty cover???

This was the cover I saw:

Image result for shatter me

This was the cover I WANTED:

Image result for shatter me

Isn’t the second cover so much appealing???

But I read the blurb, read the first few pages, and thought, WHOA THIS IS AWESOME. (Even though it’s in first person. *cries*) But the cover really really discouraged me from reading it.

(And the other books in the series were the pretty ones. Like #wut???)

Am I saying that that is the right thing to do? NO. It’s probably not very good of bookworm me at all. I’m just giving an example of how the cover made me not want to read it instantly. I was impressed by the blurb and the first few pages—I think that Shatter Me will be a good read (if not great), by what I read. I DID NOT judge the book by the cover.

flower divider

The takeaway from this horribly long discussion

Judging books by their covers and liking covers is completely different. IN MY OPINION.

Covers have nothing to do with content, even if we say “OMG THAT COVER’S SO PRETTY.” IN MY OPINION.

Liking book covers for their prettiness is completely okay. IN MY OPINION.

You can say you judge books by their covers, but most of the time, you really aren’t. IN MY OPINION.

It’s not necessarily right or wrong to be discouraged from reading books with “ugly”* covers. IN MY OPINION.

Basically, you need to know that everything in this post is based on my opinion.

*Whether we agree on if it’s ugly or not is a whole other matter.

flower divider

Pretty covers to feast your eyeballs on

I couldn’t leave this out of the post, could I???

Here are some aesthetic covers that I LOVE. Note that there are like a few hundred more but I obviously forgot.

Image result for caraval book  Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)  Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)These Broken Stars (Starbound, #1)  A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)  The Heir (The Selection, #4)

Image result for a thousand pieces of youshall we chat

the most important part of a discussion! first of all, how’d you think i did on my first discussion ever??? (i repeated a whole bunch of things agh.) what are your thoughts on judging books vs. liking books? are you an aesthetic-cover-devouring bookworm too? do you agree with my points? TALK WITH ME! i really would like to hear your thoughts.

sign off 2.0

80 thoughts on “The Meaning of Aesthetic-Cover-Devouring Bookworms + Covers to Feast Your Eyeballs On

    • Well, to me, that just means that the cover ATTRACTS you. Judging books by their covers (to me) means that you think the book is good or bad because the cover looks good or bad. If you want to read a book because of a pretty cover, that means you’re just attracted to it, and not really JUDGING it. But that’s just what I think. 🙂

      Like

  1. 100% agree! Like you said, *judging* by a cover is not the same as liking or disliking the cover.
    and whaaat I have never seen that cover of Shatter Me… I mean, I’ve seen worse, but the second is so much more appealing. (alsoitsagreatbookalthoughalittlestrangeandaweirdending)
    *HEART EYES* is it possible that I got a rush of happiness looking at those covers? Beauty right there

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yup, my thoughts exactly! And if you want to read that book BECAUSE of a pretty cover (or the opposite) it’s still not really judging. Cuz you’re not saying it’s good or bad. In my opinion. XD

      Really? Well you’re lucky, it hurts my eyes. XD And agh, I really must read it! Along with the 6 other books I placed a hold on at my library. 😂

      I KNOW RIGHT. I ran out of time, but I need to add more covers!

      Like

  2. A Thousand Pieces of You and These Broken Stars have always been two of my favorite covers, so I’m glad to see them on this list. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. THE SNAPE GIF and the rest of the post as well BUT THAT GIF MADE MY DAY.

    Also: how dare you suggest that i am human. obviously i am a magical being made of awesome. *haughty sniff*
    JK I think i might be human. Maybe.

    Also: YOU TREND FOLLOWER PERSON. YOU HAVE BECOME ONE. THE CIRCLE IS COMPLETE DUN DUN DUN.

    My favorite book cover is Star Wars: Bloodline’s because such purty. :p

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not the biggest reader but I do definitely choose a book based on its cover! In fact, I was ordering a book from Amazon because it was cheaper, but the one in the bookstore had a prettier cover, so I ended up buying the bookstore one for like, five dollars more!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. WHOA. This post was so REAL. Sometimes I just go into a book store, look for pretty covers, realize there aren’t any walk out. I KNOW THAT IS HORRIBLE. But pretty covers are so… Pretty. I also find aesthetic blog headers attractive. THAT’S HORRIBLE TOO. I’ll try and get over it, okay?
    And oooh the gifs! The Snape one got me laughing out really loud. XD Alan Rickman makes such an amazing Snape.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, thanks! Oh really? I don’t do that lol. If it seems like a good book but has an ugly cover, I’ll probably just be like jfalkjdlfkjaldsjf do I buy or not buy??? Then I’ll check it out at the library lol.

      No. Alan Rickman MADE such an amazing Snape. *cries* RIP

      Like

  6. Hahaha May!! This discussion was so fun to read! I LOVED IT! I have this weird obsession with covers which are matte:smooth and nice and soft to touch. Then, I adore covers with patterns. And designs. And minimalistic touches. PLUS, PRETTY COLOUR SCHEMES. AND THE COLOUR GREEN/YELLOW/ORANGE ON IT. *Anj basically drools so much at the sight of a beautiful book cover* #nocontrolwhatsoever 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m much more likely to read a book with a nice cover! It adds to the whole experience of reading a book! I can read a book with an ugly-ish cover if the plot seems amazing, but if I find the cover borderline ugly I most likely won’t read it, even if I’m interested in the story….does that make me a bad reader?😯 Ugly covers just put me off big time, it automatically makes me lose a huge amount interest in the ugly book in question!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. May- brill post as usual. The world would be so much more of a better place if we discussed things! I like this discussion post and think you should do more, on all different topics.

    I was meaning to say something about the competition. Unfortunately I am not one of these people who can knock up a graphic or a badge or something like that as a prize. But please feel free to design your own and display it on your blog or in a post, showing that you are one of the worthy winners.

    Just wanted to let you know!
    Gracie ✌️

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I do get what you mean! Although I do actually do both…I judge books by their covers and I just judge them for being aesthetically pleasing or not.😂 But like there are tons of times when I pick up a book because it looks like a certain-type-of-book due to the design…and then it turns out to be COMPLETELY DIFFERENT. Like one I’ve read I swear it has an epic fantasy-style cover, but then it was actually a dystopian. Sooo frustrating, haah. (Also I could like read blurbs?? But pfft. who has time for that.)
    I LOVE the covers you listed at the end. SO PRETTY I CAN’T EVEN.😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I completely agree!!!! A lot of times especially on Netgalley I’ll click on a book because of a cover, but just because a cover is pretty doesn’t mean the book is.

    I think pretty covers will get more attention to the book (which brings up the whole problem with Indie books not having the money/resources to do that) but it won’t help if it’s absolutely terrible.

    I wrote a whole post on this a while back but I enjoyed reading your take!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I agree with you! Now there’s nothing else to say … XD

    Really, though, those covers are gooooorgeeeeeoooouuuus!!! But yes. I don’t know you can’t judge a book by its cover. Even though you can love covers. Because pretty covers are so awesome. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. That Shatter Me cover makes me so sad, the one with the eye is so much more stunning, I love it so much – but yes, sometimes we definitely are prone to judging a book by its cover, which is sad but…well, we’re humans after all ahah 🙂 That was a lovely discussion to read, and I LOVED all of the covers you mentioned here 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is an amazing post May, and a topic I haven’t really thought about in detail before but now you’ve mentioned it oh my god I completely agree with pretty much everything you’ve written.
    I’ve always said I judge books by their covers but now I don’t think I do. Yes I put books off it they have a cover I’m not a fan of but I’ve never said that book was bad because it had a bad covers. In fact I’ve said more than a few times that by doing this I’m potentially missing out on great stories. 🙂 Guess I’ve gotta stop saying I judge books by their covers and just start saying I love book covers! 😀
    Also all the pretty covers you featured at the bottom are favourite books of mine, except The Heir, I haven’t actually read that one myself. Great post! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thank you so much! It makes me happy to hear that you agree with my thoughts. 🙂

      Yes, same! I’m always “put off” by covers I don’t like (as you said) but never actually JUDGED the book because of that cover. And yeah, I’m probably missing out on some good books… XD

      Oh, that’s awesome! I’ve only read some of them — I’ve read The Heir though (and I DEFINITELY prefer the first three books of the Selection series over it XD ). Thank you so much, Beth! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s all right! 😀 Oh I really did, pretty much everything you wrote I agreed with and it did make me re-think how I look at the way I look at book covers.
        We’re aware of that which I guess is half the battle. I guess now it’s just a case of actually reading the books despite the covers! 😀
        Did you enjoy the ones you have read then? I don’t have The Selection series on my to-read list but even I can appreciate the covers.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’m glad to hear that my post made you re-think that! 😀 And haha, yes… but pretty covers… XD

          Yes, I did! I’m reading the Shades of Magic trilogy right now, and ADSOM was great. BL,LB was also really awesome, as well as Six of Crows (!!! ❤ ). I don't remember any of the others… XD

          Liked by 1 person

          • It really did, and it’s not something I thought about much myself until I saw someone else had written it you know? 😀
            I’m glad you’re enjoying the Shades of Magic series, ❤ and honestly I think the three you just mentioned are kind of the best of the best either way! 😀

            Like

  14. I loved your first discussion, you got your point across very clearly. (thought cut down on repeating yourself 😀 Sometimes it’s good –> Like the first time but just don’t ramble that much XD I DEFINITELY agree with you on everything here. Covers are a marketing strategy and IT WORKS – Judging and liking covers are completely different things.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eek, I’m sorry for not replying! This was put in spam. 😛 I think it’s because you used a comma instead of a period in your URL haha. Anyways, I’m glad you agree! Yes, just admiring the cover is different from judging books. Thank YOU for reading! 🙂

      Like

  15. Ahhhh May!!! Thank you for mentioning me in your lovely post 😋💞
    And woohoooo 🎉 How awesome was your first discussion post??!!?! I LOVED IT! And it really made me think…
    I always say that I judge a book by their cover when I shouldn’t blah blah – but now I realised that I actually DON’T judge them! Like you said, if I think as cover is pretty, it is more likely that I will pick it up and read the blurb! And you’re so right, THAT’S NOT JUDGING!!! Mind = blown. Eyes = opened XD
    And the first three covers – Caraval, Six of Crows, A Thousand Pieces of You – must be some of my alllll time faves 😍😍
    GREAT POST and thank you for sharing your lovely thoughts with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love the Shatter Me series. I agree with you 100% that the book cover with the eye is WAY more appealing than the cover with the dress. You hit all great points, especially the judging a book by its cover versus a person by his/her outside appearance! What a great discussion!

    Like

  17. Oh yes, you have done it again! You are awesome at capturing us bookworm’s true feelings! My Mom bought me Everything, Everything yesterday so I could read it before I see the movie, AND MY OH MY THE COVER IS THE MOST AESTHETICALLY PLEASING COVER I’VE EVER SEEN! It’s so pretty! I’ve read a lot of bad books with great covers, like the waterfire saga, which I did not enjoy. But there were mermaids on the cover so I was like, “my wallet is calling youuuu!”
    ~Sammy

    Liked by 1 person

    • Everything, Everything has SUCH a pretty cover! However, I’ve heard some bad things about it, so I don’t think I’ll be reading it. XD (GASP — me not reading an aesthetic book???) And I enjoyed the Waterfire Saga! Except for the last book. It was cringy. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  18. SO MUCH YES TO THIS POST. I LOVE it when books have pretty covers, but content is more important. As you said, judging a book by it’s cover is like assuming somebody is horrible because they have acne or are short or look funny (the middle one is totally me haha). I think covers are MEANT to be appreciated (duh!) but also I think it’s good to realise we’re here for the content and not the cover, because we’re book worms, not bookcoverworms XD. I really liked this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Great discussion. I love pretty books and when I’m browsing though books at the library or book store have a bad habit of only picking up books that I find aesthetically pleasing. Really have to work on this as as you say just because a book cover isn’t pretty doesn’t mean the book is bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Pretty book covers indeed! I also pick out book covers that have something as a monster on them, but maybe that is because I know there is going to be adventure/action in it, or maybe because I am just a boy? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  21. A fabulous much needed post May!! I totally agree with what you say here; liking and wanting to read a book because of a pretty cover does not mean we are necessarily judging the content based on the cover! I am totally guilty of claiming I judge books by their covers though, simply because, well, it’s so much easier haha. But it’s not judging at all!! It’s in our nature to be attracted to pretty covers, after all. 😀 Speaking of, AMAZING choices for the covers! Ahghghghhghhg I love all those covers so much. A Thousand Pieces of You is SO eye-catching, and I loveeee Caraval and Six of Crows and just all of them??! Loved this discussion soooo much May. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

