Writer Woes 3.0—9 Signs that You Are a Writer (Because We Are Doubtful Creatures)

If you are a writer, you doubt yourself. I am not exaggerating.

Actually, even if you AREN’T a writer, you doubt yourself. But writers doubt themselves more. And you’re welcome for boosting your self-confidence! *thumbs up*

But we writers shouldn’t doubt ourselves! We are wonderful people (usually) who write great (usually) and deserve to be recognized for our amazing writing skills (usually). While I am a big doubter of myself, I think that we shouldn’t be. We’re great, yo.

Also I’m REALLY EXCITED to do this Writer Woes because the wonderful Mahriya*asked me to write a post on “signs that you’re not a writer”. BECAUSE SHE’S SO DOUBTFUL OF HERSELF AND DOESN’T THINK SHE’S A WRITER. *waggles finger at everyone who thinks this* Non, my fren, you lie.

But I aim for POSITIVE** on this blog, so obviously I’m writing a post on all the signs that you ARE  writer. So if you relate to even ONE of these—YOU ARE A WRITER.

*claps at the sudden appearance of writers*

*GO FOLLOW HER BLOG RIGHT NOW. You will not regret it. Also she has one of my favorite blogs ever and is one of my favorite bloggers ever and is one of my best blogging friends ever. *smushes Mahriya*

**HHAHAHAAAHA AHAHA WHAT A FUNNY JOKE

flowers
I’m planning on changing this a little, based on feedback I got from some readers.

What Writer Woes is

Writer Woes is a writing advice series brought to you by MOI (May). The advice given will be decided upon by whatever MOI (May) is currently suffering with. Because if she talks about her problems, there is a 97% chance that they will be solved. (The other 3% chance is that she’ll just end up agonizing over her life choices and ranting about all her other problems. #oops)

If you have requests for any advice you’d like to get, contact me through the form on my Contact page, or let me know in the comments.

Today’s advice will talk about some signs that you are a writer. Because sometimes we doubt ourselves and need reassurance.

flowers

 1. you write/like to write

If you are a writer, you write. That’s it. It’s that simple. You don’t need to write GOOD to be a writer. You just have to WRITE.

And if you ALSO like to write, then you’re a writer. Okay. So maybe you have to like writing AND write to be a writer. But let’s not get down to the specifics here. Vagueness is nice.

Also, writing means anything! Here’s a list (because lists) of all that you could write/like writing:

  • novels
  • or parts of novels
  • because dedication I have none
  • short stories
  • poems
  • essays
  • songs!
  • and blog posts!
  • and book reviews!!! (GASP bet you didn’t think of THAT #genius)
  • letters to people/diary entries
  • paragraphs really
  • or sentences
  • or maybe just a word!!!
  • also perhaps you like to write individual letters of the alphabet
  • that’s fun too

flowers

2. you tend to get the craziest ideas

If you suddenly wonder, Omg what if we were all born with a twin and one of us is smart and one of us is dumb and that defines how we live but then my twin died and now they don’t know if I’m the smart or dumb one???, you’re probably a writer.

(By the way, no one steal that. It sounds like a really cool dystopian novel idea.)

The point is that writers have a CRAZY imagination. Which means we get CRAZY ideas.

And sometimes it doesn’t even apply to stories??? Like maybe you’re just like HEY LET’S GO JUMP OFF A CLIFF* and that obviously means you’re a writer because who else would get awesome ideas like that???

Image result for jump off cliff gif

*10/10 recommend. Will not get hurt or injured or killed. 100% guarantee. No money back.

flowers

3. you feel the urge to write things down

Okay, so maybe this doesn’t apply to like notes or things. But it applies to random thoughts or ideas! Or maybe there’s a song lyric in your head that you have to put down. Or maybe a verse in a poem! Or maybe an idea for a character! Or maybe just a really awesome quote for future use!

But look. If you feel the need to write things down, you obviously are a writer:

WRITE things down.

WRITEr.

Dost thou understand???

flowers

4. you love to read

Okay. So first, let me make it clear that just because you are a reader does NOT mean you are a writer.

Loving to read books doesn’t mean that you will love to write books. However, in a lot of cases, writers are readers. In fact, I’m 96.889% sure that all writers’ passions (for writing) come from reading.

Basically think of how all rectangles are squares, but not all squares are rectangles. (Or is it the other way???)

But if you like to read, you MOST LIKELY like to write! Again, this isn’t ALWAYS the case. However, if you know you love to read, beware that you might start writing your own book one day. 😉

flowers

5. you daydream a lot

Writers:

Image result for daydreaming gif

Writers daydream.

I daydream. I get lost in thought. I’m just randomly walking down the sidewalk when I spot a bird and then I get carried away with different possibilities AND THE NEXT THING I KNOW I’M ABOUT TO BE HIT BY A CAR. #rude

I’m pretty sure those bored people at school daydream too. But do they daydream like writers??? No.

(But lol I don’t know what “daydream like writers” means. Do we have pencils in our daydreams??? Or typewriters??? Or computers???)

flowers

6. you ponder the “what if”s

If THIS hasn’t been implied throughout the whole post. LIKE OBVIOUSLY WE PONDER THE WHAT IFS. (Number 2, number 5.)

But truly. What if we’re actually all dead??? What if we’re all living in a dream??? What if we’re all part of some psycho’s crazy clone plan??? What if, what if, WHAT IF???

Writers wonder about these “what if”s, which is why we have such a crazy imagination, which leads us to write about these “what if”s. And then we get even more questions and “what if”s which can be torturous or highly enjoyable.

flowers

7. you can’t think of a word

O. M. G. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME SOOOOO MANY TIMES AS A WRITER YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW.

Literally my novel:

Plus a few hundred more blanks.

Also if you’re a writer and you can’t think of a word: you freak out and rack your brain and look in thesauruses because you simply have to FIND. THE. PERFECT. WORD.

flowers

8. you feel the need to EXPRESS (through writing)

I am not a toy strewn across the floor, abandoned;
I am a bright red fire-truck, screaming for your attention.



“You’re
nothing to me, you understand? Nothing. You are a worthless, useless piece of scum that no one needs or wants. No one like you should deserve to live.”
Tears rolled down her cheeks. She stared up at her father—as if he was a father at allunable to ask the question that ______
* her mind: Why?
“Get out of my house,” he said, turning his face away in disgust.
She punched him.

I feel that it is important to let people know that I am not something to be ignored, that I deserve your attention.

I feel that it is important to show how much words can cause you pain, or how you can underestimate strength after being hurt. (Or maybe I just wanted an epic fight scene, I don’t know.)

But I feel that it is important to show these things, and the only way for me to do that is through my writing.

*See I did it again. What goes in the blank??? Help???
(OH OH OH I GOT IT. “Plagued.” Do you agree???)

flowers

9. you can’t speak, but you can write

Writers rely on their ability to write to communicate. I KNOW that I can express myself more clearly through writing than through speech; I get tongue-tied and have no idea what to say. I’M SUCH A HORRIBLE PUBLIC SPEAKER. EVEN THOUGH I’M SPEAKING TO ONE PERSON. OR EVEN MY FRIENDS.

But in writing? I just KNOW what to write, and how to write it. I mean, sometimes it doesn’t make sense (because #crazywritermind), but most of the time? The words come easy, while from my mouth, they do not.

Image result for blank face gif
ME TRYING TO THINK OF WHAT TO SAY.
Image result for type crazy gif
ME WRITING. I know EXACTLY what to say. (Most of the time.)

flowers

Mahriya’s Typewriter Project!

So this post seems to be dedicated to Mahriya??? Well no one really cares because Mahriya’s amazing, right. 😉

But seriously! I’m SUPER EXCITED for her new (writing) project, called the Typewriter Project. It appeals to all writers (the perfect reason to bring it up in this post!!!) and will be held on her blog, My Bookish Life. If you want to learn more about it, check out her post here, and sign up for it here.

Also. I’m the reason why Mahriya even announced this project to you guys. I mean, obviously she had the idea, but then I convinced her, as the generous mango queen I am, to finally bring this brilliant idea to light. SO YOU CAN THANK ME FOR THIS AMAZINGNESS.

(Lol just kidding. You can give me mangoes instead.)

But seriously, guys! Check it out, even if you’re not a writer! And make sure to check out Mahriya’s wonderful blog too.

#MahriyaPromo


shall we chat

do you show any signs of a writer or relate to any of these? what else can you add to my list? do you doubt that you’re a writer sometimes? or do you think that you’re not a writer at all? are you doing the wonderful mahriya’s typewriter project??? (the only answer is yes here.)

sign off 2.0

137 thoughts on “Writer Woes 3.0—9 Signs that You Are a Writer (Because We Are Doubtful Creatures)

  1. THIS IS LITERALLY ME. except i talk a lot irl. but whatever. 😄 (also you should add that we send panicked-sounding messages to friends about character name pronunciations *cough cough* haha jk they’re actually really fun to respond to. IT’S ALEX AND ELIZA’S NEW SHIP NAME KK? BUT SPELLED DIFFERENTLY. XD)

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I think I’m gonna like this series!! Oh, wow! My friend Allie is actually writing a novel about that (the idea that if everyone had a twin and one was bad and one was good and one died at birth and they didn’t know who was good or who was bad). 😄 I guess great minds think alike. 😉

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Oooh I relate to lots of them! I AM A WRITER, FRIENDS. Even though I sometimes doubt myself and feel like I can’t write. But yeah, I’m pretty sure the dictionary definition of writer is “someone who writes”, so since I’m writing this blog comment…

    Although I usually don’t bother finding the perfect word. I actually tend to have really dull word choice in my writing–but hey, that’s what editing is for, right? 😛

    Also the Typewriter Challenge sounds fun! (Plus, I love typewriters…I want one. Just to, you know, have a typewriter. And write letters on.) But I’m going to be sort of busy, so we’ll see.

    Oooh, hmm, anything to add? Probably when you think of ways you could murder people & get away with it/get past security/break into places…basically on a constant basis. It’s a problem. 😛

    Liked by 4 people

    • Omg yes I doubt myself SOO MUCH. “Am I really a writer??? I’M FAILING AT BEING A WRITER AGH.”

      I have really dull word choice too! I have a bad vocabulary lol. But I just can’t find the right words! I know it’s there in the back of my mind, just not… there! 😄

      TYPEWRITERS ARE BOSS.

      And omggggg I FORGOT ABOUT THE CRAZY GOOGLE SEARCHES LIKE “number of times you can get stabbed in the arm before dying”. 😄

      Like

      • I KNOW! But we all fail sometimes. I think. 😛

        I have that feeling sometimes! But I also have a really bad memory, so I just stick another word in there, haha.

        EXACTLY THOSE SEARCHES. Yep, just the other day, I searched for “common causes of spinal damage” and “causes of paralysis”. Because I’m wonderful to my charries like that.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. I HATE when I can’t find the right word because I’m sitting there thinking, “I’m supposed to be a writer, and this is is literally what I’m supposed to do. I’m supposed to know all the right words to use” 😀 Gahh, it’s annoying!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. I have trouble with conversations. I’m just like…ummm, idk what to say it’s SOOO hard but the urge to write something down. Seriously I was inn the car and was just like I NEED A PAPER AND PEN! And now that idea has turned into three or four chapters. I get crazy ideas. Like really crazy. Sometimes I’m in class and suddenly I’m up from a daydream and are like WHAT R WE TALKING ABOUT! I obviously love p
    To read! I just hate having missing words (or names) I’m just like TGESEURAS (idk how I spell that?) I even have a TGESEURAS downloaded on my computer. The what ifs. Don’t get me started. I did enter the typewriter challenge!

    Liked by 5 people

  6. I match every single requirement here! There’s no doubt about it, May, I AM a writer!

    1. Obvious.
    2. Definitely.
    3. Yup.
    4. Yes! Yes! Yes!
    5. Sorry, I was daydreaming. Didn’t quite catch that one.
    6. All the time.
    7. Same.
    8. More than anything!!!
    9. I read ya.

    See!?!

    P.S I have some ideas for the next Writer’s Woes post. Do you get many suggestions?

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I am a writer writer yaaaaaaaaaaay.

    “How do you write every second you’re alive, every second you’re alive?”

    Oh, I just made one of those crazy impulsive decisions. Story time!

    So, I was decorating Easter eggs with my family, and my hair was driving me crazy. I have really long, very curly brown hair. When straightened, it hits right above my (nonexistent) hips. Anyways, it was really bothering me, all hot on the back of my neck. I thought for a few seconds on possible solutions. They were as follows:

    1. Start styling my hair more (which I hate) and get it off my neck.

    2. Cut my hair super short for the summer.

    I went with the latter. So I stood up on a chair and made the announcement. There were several shocked gasps, and my aunt’s boyfriend offered to do the deed then and there. I politely declined. Long(ish) story short(er), I now have a salon appointment for 7:00 on June 1. I am either a genius, or insane.

    Or both. >:)

    Izzy💜

    Liked by 3 people

  8. This was hilarious! 🙂

    do you show any signs of a writer or relate to any of these?: yep, most. Well, all … 😄

    what else can you add to my list?: I don’t know … obsessive hand-wringing? I think you got them all!

    do you doubt that you’re a writer sometimes?: not really. Well, not for a while, anyways. I doubt whether I should keep up writing, but never that I AM a writer …

    are you doing the wonderful mahriya’s typewriter project??? (the only answer is yes here.): so …. yes? But yes, I signed up. 😀

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Okay but I connect to this on a spiritual level. I can NEVER think of the right word to use to I spend so long going through thesauruses to look for the perfect word! (Also plagued works perfectly!)
    My sister makes fun of me all the time when I don’t know how to pronounce a word or can’t think of a word when I’m speaking or whatever and I always retort with “I’m a writer and I read books, I don’t speak! I literally type on my computer all day for a living!” Human interaction is not my forte at all. You also nearly gave me an existential crisis with that ‘what if’ bit. I daydream so much I miss entire conversations… yup.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Lol thesauruses don’t help unless I know that I used a certain word already and I need another one similar to that. 😄 (Yay!)

      OMGGGG that is amazing. I mispronounce EVERYTHING and don’t know what anything means. I WILL USE THAT SAYING NOW. 😄 And haha existential crises are fun, right. 😛

      Liked by 2 people

  10. Yep. It’s confirmed, I’m a writer lol. I have ALL the signs. Every point I was thinking omg yessss that happens all the time. Writers also can get inspired by anything lol especially nature. I’m going to go check out the typewriter project, thanks💕✨

    Liked by 3 people

  11. OH MY…. I never thought I would relate to any of these because I don’t consider myself a writer BUT ALL OF THESE ARE SO RELATABLE!!! 😄

    I don’t write very often, just little scenes here and there that don’t go any further than that *particular* scene because I’m so uninspired, so I never felt like I could say: “hey I write! I’m a writer!” And I never really planned to write a full on novel/story/whatever.

    That being said, today I was hit with the best most incredible amazing beautiful idea for a book ever! (Ok maybe I’m exaggerating but IVE NEVER HAD THIS KIND OF INSPIRATION BEFORE!!! Like I can see the story actually GOING somewhere and the characters developing and now my fingers are itching to write it down 😋)

    Anyway, enough about me! I can 100% relate to not being able to think of a word! But I don’t put blanks in there but like 30 question marks like this ????????? don’t ask me why 😀

    And daydreaming?! Holy moly, I do that all the damn time and so many scenarios come to my mind and I LOVE IT!

    Also not being able to speak??? THAT’S ME. MOI. YES. TOTALLY. When I write things down everything is so much more elaborate and I can truly express my thoughts and feelings! But when I speak to people……. umm let’s not talk about it 😀

    AND THIS MADE ME LAUGH SO MUCH OMG MAY WHY ARE YOU SO FUNNY XDDD
    “10/10 recommend. Will not get hurt or injured or killed. 100% guarantee. No money back.”

    Sorry about this super long comment don’t feel pressured to answer it 😂

    Liked by 3 people

  12. This is an amazing post May, 😀 and so many of these apply to me as well which was kind of nice to read because before this I didn’t consider myself a writer! ❤ Obviously I write blog posts and book reviews which count I agree, but I used to love writing stories as well. It was only for fun, and I never really got up the courage to show anyone, but I had so much fun putting the worlds in my head down onto paper and I really want to try and get back to that someday. Your post has only made me more determined to do that at some point.
    Also the What-If scenarios and daydreaming points definitely apply to me as well, probably more than any other. I have just sat staring off into space for minutes on end just daydreaming. Sometimes even while I'm at work which is not a good habit to have! 😀
    Great post! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Great post!
    I love writing blogposts, I used to write stories and songs when I was younger, I wrote diaries.
    But on the other side I am a “speaker” (??) I love holding speeches, I enjoy oral exams and I’m really into communicating. Additionally, in High School I was never good at exams, since I was pretty bad at writing.
    I don’t know if I’m a writer 😀
    Maybe you could write a blogpost about how to become a better writer 🙂
    Or maybe you already wrote this kind of post, and I should scroll through your older posts 🙂
    xx,
    Sophie

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Is Camp Nanowrimo open? bECAUSE I FEEL THE STRANGER URGE TO WRITE!!!

    I could (surprisingly) relate to almost all of these, but the thing is I never imagined myself as a writer. But now I’m getting some good (but crazy) ideas for a novel so… HELP ME MAY!!

    Liked by 2 people

  15. YES Mango Queen saves the day and gets a billion mangoes by her adoring mango subjects! Thank you sooo much for this May!! I really needed it,I’m seriously loving your Writer Woes Series! I can definitely relate to the speaking better when you write thing even though I do talk a lot haha..I feel like Its much better when I’m writing everything down? I also can’t wait to read your novel after all of the little glimpses into your writing style…😍 I am of course definitely joining the typewriter challenge! It sounds AMAZING!! 😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

  16. HAHAHAHA. MAY, YOU HAVE NO IDEA ABOUT THE DEGREE OF ME BEING TONGUE-TIED. IT’S SUPERLATIVE. 😂 I’m so awkward when it comes to speaking with anybody.The other day, I met my friend who was, btw, wearing a Harry Potter shirt and I just went, “OMG THAT’S SO COOL AAHH ANOTHER POTTERHEAD” *mind you, this was all in my mind* And instead of telling her that the shirt was Siriusly cool *I’m a genius lol*, I thought of writing it out. But then, my brain messed up. And I ended up blurting a super-fast sentence that she couldn’t even understand. And then I had to repeat it. And then…. awkward silence. 😂 YEAH. *OH ANJ WHY YOU SO INCOHERENT?* DAMMIT I’M IN LOVE WITH WRITING. *Oh I Oh I Oh I Oh I, I’m in love with writing* (that’s a senseless parody of Ed Sheeran’s Shape of You made by yours truly)❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Writers tend to exaggerate but seriously, this post was anything but exaggerated. USUALLY, we are good people but most people aren’t recognised because of #SHY BEINGS. and it’s very nerve-wracking to share your work.

    I’m so glad you accepted my suggestion. Oh May, you’re wonderful at jokes, positivity, HA AHAHAHAHA.

    I LIKE TO Write so I’m a writer. MUHAHA, YES. So, I’m not good at writing. Thanks for clarifying. Technically, EVERYONE is a writer ( if they have an education)
    I definitely get crazy ideas, OMG that’s so relatable.
    I think I have writer urge syndrome. That sudden twitching in your hand to just WRITE SOMETHINg – no, just me? I love to read and daydreaming is a talent of mine. *flips hair*
    WHAT IF’s are basically my life. Like, What if this is all a dream and we wake up and find nothing’s real? Or what if, we’re all in this game simulation and other beings are playing us and controlling us. HAHA what if we’re all robots and…Okay, you get the point.

    I LOVE THE WORD PONDER, have you noticed? I can’t think of words ALL THE TIME and it’s just on the tip of my tongue and there goes my thesaurus.
    I LOVE PUBLIC SPEAKING (though I’m not too good at it). I find writing easier than speaking, though I love to debate and discuss and writing helps with that too.

    I’m amazing? Gosh, thank you *blushes* *Wipes blush off face and does evil laugh* #reputation
    Thanks so much for the promotion of the Typewriter Project – it wouldn’t have existed without you *wipes tear. #MAHRIYA PROMO. OMG, this is like next level. I should be trending on Twitter.

    I’ll add being very rantish but that’s not everyone, I just tend to waffle and babble. Also, haveing obsessions with words and also eating compliments (or is this just me?). Being shy about your work BECAUSE DOUBTS. I’m doubting myself about everything in general so…I’m not doing Mahriya’s Typewriter Project..because I’m organising it. But yes?

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAYAYAY LONG COMMENT. 😄

      Well lol the real definition of writer is a person who writes — but if you LIKE to write, you’re a “true” writer! AND I GET WRITER URGE SYNDROME TOO. *high fives*

      Omg those what ifs are so relatable??? Like honestly what if the bad people in this world are bad because they’re in a nightmare, and the good people are good because they’re in a good dream???

      Oh I am FREAKED OUT by public speaking. I’m okay at it, but definitely not great. AND OF COURSE YOU’RE AMAZING. AND YES MAKE THAT AN ACTUAL HASHTAG. 😄

      I’m definitely a ranting writer. 😄 And YAAAAS SHY ABOUT YOUR WORK (unless you’re the type of write who lives for fame and glory…)

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Your 9 points are so true, especially the can’t find a word. That’s funny. We are writers, and sometimes finding the right word is tough!! I’m glad you shared Mahriya’s typewriter project. I’ll have to check it out for sure! Thank you for sharing it! ❤️​

    Liked by 1 person

  19. OH. MY. DEAR. GUACAMOLE.
    They all are me!!! I’m a writer!!!
    Okay I probably wouldn’t think of myself as a /great/ creative writer but I get urges 😄 Also the blanks!!! Although I don’t use blanks if I don’t know the word, I use asterisks. I think it happened when you commented on one of my posts? One of them was meant to have a footnote (*mutters* but I forgot) and the other I simply couldn’t think of a word for.
    Great post as always May! 😁

    Like

  20. I am a very very oblivious and doubtful creature so #yessss to this post!! I can now say, however, I am not a writer!! (Except for when I write blog posts and occasionally reviews that are too long. But like not a WRITER writer.) Though I love reading and so I’m distantly related to the whole art?? #logic I do want to try writing an actual story though sometime… someday…

    Liked by 1 person

  21. As a fellow writer, I love this post and relate to it very much! I’m new to blogging, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers, such as myself.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you like and relate to it! And of course! I’m thinking of putting up a “blogging tips” post sometime soon, but my number one advice as a blogger is to write what you want to read. If you want to post something that you yourself wouldn’t enjoy reading, don’t! (Of course, post what you want. Just make sure YOU would like it as a reader too.) I hope all goes well for you — I’ve only been blogging for about four months, so I’m still “new”! 😛

      Like

  22. Great post, May…so true! I am all these things but I’m awful at getting them down. I’m a major procrastinator!
    I get a little stuck and go off down one of those internet rabbit holes. You know the ones!
    Jo-Ann

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

