My Summer TBR (aka the Books I Haven’t Read but Should Have)

Summer is coming! And with that, too much sweat, tank-tops and shorts, and FREE READING TIME.

Obviously, I’m not going to waste this precious time and spend it PROCRASTINATING. Because that would be silly and quite irresponsible of me, honestly. And because I don’t have to write or practice piano or attend dance rehearsals, or even keep up with my blog, for heaven’s sake, I’M GONNA READ.

(Lol just kidding. Tbh blogging will probably overtake all of that, LIKE IT IS NOW. *glares*)

But truly. Summer is the greatest time because NO SCHOOL. And that means I can read more. Which is why all the books I meant to read during the year can be read now!

And maybe I’ll get to read them all??? I’ll actually end up reading some random book from the library tbh BUT I WILL TRY.

flowers

the hunger games

I love dystopian. And yet.

I’M SORRY??? I blame my third grade teacher (though I love her very much). She tainted my mind by saying, “Make sure to get parent permission before reading the book and/or watching the movie because there are some graphic things that happen!”

And me being me, I carry that wise piece of advice all the way up to now. After I have read five million books with “graphic things”. And also books with dark stabby bloody things (which I thoroughly enjoyed).

BUT I PROMISE. I really do need to read this. Like people are making puns about “orange” and “Peeta” and I need to know what they mean.

{click on covers to view in goodreads!}

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)

(Why is Catching Fire so skinny.)

flowers

the mortal instruments

Despite my friend’s* discouragement (read: utter disgust and harsh dissuading), I will be reading this series! For my other friend. Who is obsessed.

I read The City of Bones before… but that was like quite a few months ago so I may have to reread it. Which I don’t want to do??? I’ll just do what I do with sequels: Pick it up, read it, and pretend I know exactly what it’s talking about.

Also I’m not sure whether I should scream in frustration or fangirl incoherently about the fact that there are SO. MANY. BOOKS. Like I mean yay for making money and all that but honestly why is this so loooooong.

*You may know her. Amelie. Entirely disgusting human being. (JUST KIDDINGGGG. Only partly disgusting.)

Also I am NOT going to stick in all of TMI covers. I’ll just do the first three. Also please note that I hate the editions of these covers like GAH.

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)

flowers

the night circus

A friend of mind recommended this to me, and I was THIS CLOSE to checking it out from the library. Then I saw something about “love story” and EVEN THOUGH THE MAGICAL CIRCUS SOUNDS AMAZING, I put it back. Because romance between characters is great, but it caaaaaan’t be ALL about that.

Now, the wonderful McKenzie over at Bookish Things and Tea recently talked about (and reviewed!) this book, so of course I have to go and read it! But I’ve been meaning to read this… and now it’s just bumped up on my TBR.

The Night Circus

flowers

illuminae

DUDE. I NEED THIS. Sci-fi please??? I don’t read a lot of sci-fi and I definitely want more, and Illuminae has this! PLUS, Illuminae is formatted uniquely like a special bean and I JUST NEED.

(I almost bought this at Barnes and Noble but I decided against it. It was expensive???)

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2)Obsidio (The Illuminae Files, #3)

(Obsidio hasn’t come out yet.)

flowers

splintered

I’ve been wanting to read this for quite some time now. But I never got around to it. Because I’m a #smart kid.

BUT NOW I WILL. And hopefully I’ll enjoy it??? But Alice in Wonderland retelling, yes please, and DON’T THEY ALL LOOK QUITE DEMENTED ON THOSE COVERS.

#mykindofpeople

Splintered (Splintered, #1)Unhinged (Splintered, #2)Ensnared (Splintered, #3)

flowers

a bunch of contemporaries

I have recently been introduced to this wonderful genre, and OH MY I NEED MORE. Fantasy will forever (and everly) be my homebody ❤ but CONTEMPORARIES ARE SO DELICIOUS. Cute and fluffy or angsty and heartbreaking and ALL THE FEELSSSS.

Image result for all the feels gif

Ones that I especially want to read aka ones that I’ve been wanting to read since three months ago are:

Holding Up the UniverseAll the Bright PlacesI'll Give You the Sun

HOLDING UP THE UNIVERSE: I’ve been wanting to read this because the premise seems AWESOME.

ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES: Same author whoops??? I honestly forgot what this was about though haha.

I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN: PRAISE FROM EVERYONE = I MUST READ.

flowers

new 2017 releases i haven’t read

Ahem. This will be long.

(PS: AMELIE YOU LITTLE LIAR. YOU SAID YOU WOULD GIVE THUG TO ME MORE THAN THREE TIMES AND DID YOU GIVE IT TO ME??? NO.)

(PPS: You’re getting a lot of negativity in this post, Amelie.)

All the releases I need to catch up on *cries*

*format credit to Analee and her awesome monthly releases posts!*

{click on cover or title to view in goodreads}

The Hate U GiveThe Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo, #2)The Upside of Unrequited

THE HATE YOU GIVE: Well obviously.

THE DARK PROPHECY: Rick Riordan is AMAZING and I will forever love him and his books.

THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED: Same author as the great Simon Vs??? I’m reading it. (Preferably now.)

Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All the Boys I've Loved Before, #3)History Is All You Left MeCarve the Mark (Carve the Mark, #1)

ALWAYS AND FOREVER, LARA JEAN: Omg I finished PS I Still Love You a few days ago and I NEED THIS RIGHT NOW LIKE I’M NOT KIDDING PETEEEEEEEEEEEEER.

HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME: I’ve heard great things about this? And it sounds good??? I want to read this???

CARVE THE MARK: I need to know about this “racism”. Seriously. I just want to be in the know. (And also I enjoyed the Divergent series soooooo.)

Caraval (Caraval, #1)AllegedlyIt's Not Like It's a Secret

CARAVAL: Time to get my own opinion of this book. *rubs hands*

ALLEGEDLY: It FINALLY ARRIVED AT MY LIBRARY… and then it got checked out. Thanks.

IT’S NOT LIKE IT’S A SECRET: Okay so this came out like yesterday but they said TWO MAGICAL WORDS: To all the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I HAVE HIGH HOPES FOR THIS ONE AND IT BETTER NOT DISAPPOINT. (We’ll just pretend it doesn’t have 3.66 star rating.)

*I also have other books that were released this year buuuuut I’m actually reading them right now! *screams*

flowers

all the new releases that are coming out!!!

In ONE month, like three thousand books are published. So in the THREE months of summer, that means nine thousand books??? I HAVE TO READ THEM ALL.

Some notable ones that I will TRY to read are:

But let’s be fair here. I’m broke and my library is slow that I’ll be reading these all 15.8 billion years later after no one’s here to fangirl with me (because I am all immortal, obviously).

AGHAGHAGH LET ME JUST FANGIRL OVER THESE:

Ash and Quill (The Great Library #3)Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons, #1)Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter, #1)

ASH AND QUILL: I HONESTLY NEED THIS RIGHT NOW. Like these are all my children and I need to know what happened to them. It’s not funny. I’m literally dying.

WARBRINGER: Dude I honestly don’t care much about Wonder Woman IT’S LEIGH BARDUGO YO.

WICKED LIKE A WILDFIRE: This sounds so interesting??? It sounds like MAGIC. And witchy stuff. Sort of like The Graces??? THAT COVER THO.

Lol is it bad I can’t think of/find any other summer YA releases??? Someone just post a list for me thanks.


Psst…

This seems like the perfect post to sneak in a little poll (because I’m indecisive and seek approval)…


shall we chat

what are some books on YOUR summer tbr? any particular summer releases you’re looking forward to? do you have a goodreads account??? CHAT WITH ME and give me all the recs, frens. (and also give me more summer releases.)

sign off 2.0

152 thoughts on “My Summer TBR (aka the Books I Haven’t Read but Should Have)

  1. um???? rude???? hello i am here to tell you not to read history is all you left me because it’s boring, don’t read all the bright places because it has a really gross portrayal of mental illness, and i’m hurt that you’re reading the bland white feminist books of tmi and the hunger games. i take back all of the nice things i said about you in my post 😦

    Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry, just saw this comment (not sure if you were joking or being sarcastic) but is there anything wrong with reading ‘bland white feminist books’??? Umm white people exist, diversity is great but there ARE white people in the world, we ca still write books about them??? ATBP doesn’t have the best rep of mental illness but at least it recognises it and portrays a realistic story? Anyways sorry for just like…placing myself in the conversation, I just felt a little inclined to??? And if you were not being entirely serious, then my apologies 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • i’m really sorry to butt in on your discussion like this, but I thought I’d add my two cents to what you said, Mahriya! White people do exist, yes, that’s true. And nobody is saying not to write books about white folk – statistics from publishers will show quite the opposite. If a book is going to promote itself as ‘feminist’ then it HAS to have diversity. Otherwise, it completely erases the very important intersectional part of feminism. If you don’t stand for all women, you stand for no women. That’s a really important quote to add. Also, I saw your comment below about carve the mark and I entirely respect your different opinion but as far as I can tell from your comments (please correct me if I’m wrong!) you’re white. You wouldn’t be able to pick up on these small microaggressions in a book because you don’t experience them on a daily basis like WoC do. And it’s kind of disrespectful to say that others are entirely wrong?
          Boy, that got really long! I’m sorry haha.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Hi guys! Mahriya, just wanted to let you know that Amelie is an odd sarcastic kind of person… She can be a little offensive at times. *glares* But Trisha — just to let you know — Mahriya is a POC and also Muslim. I’ll stay out of the discussion here because I don’t think I know enough to talk about it. 🙂

            Like

          • Gosh didn’t mean to start so much controversy! I totally agree with your point about feminists and being white, and how if you don’t respect all women, you don’t respect women in general. I didn’t take that into consideration but I didn’t no Hunger Games was labelled as feminist because for me it was more plot focused? I’m actually not white, but I found that Carve The Mark DID have things that showed it was racist but the way people were dissing and defining the whole book as ‘racist’ kind of annoyed me because I got a totally different impression. You’d be surprised how much I do experience as a Woc and a Muslim so please think. I don’t think others are entirely wrong, I just think some people got the wrong end of the stick Pleasure talking with you ❤

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm, Hunger Games was better than I expected, tbh. Splintered…. was inaccurate but enthralling.

    NOW.

    LET’S GET DOWN TO BUSINESS.

    *throws you a list*

    You need to read Heartstrikers, for starters, then you need Fairyland (Valente) then you need Warriors and then you need to get into star wars because BLOODLINE.

    Translation: we fangirl together please? *puppy dog eyes* *offers you a chocolate covered mango* what bribery no i’d never stoop so low.

    okay fine i would.

    TELL ME IF ILLUMINAE IS GOOD im scared to read it, okay? I just am. I’m a small frightened dragon queen sometimes.

    Well, this has been a super long comment. I apologize profusely.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. YAS COME TO GOODREADS BECAUSE THEN I CAN READ ALL OF YOUR LOVELY REVIEWS.
    Honestly I don’t really interact with anyone on Goodreads though? I use it as more of an organizational tool to figure out what books I read and what I thought of them, because who’s going to remember that haha… 😛

    *has no idea on summer releases, oops*

    I don’t really have a summer TBR, mainly because I don’t want to force myself to read books. but I do want to reread all of Brandon Sanderson’s books because I’ll actually have time to! And then probably some other fantasy, because I’ve been looking at my Goodreads, and I’ve just been reading fluffy romances, which are great, but I need awesome fantasy to hone my stabby writing skills. Any recommendations that don’t have a ton of swearing or bad scenes?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. YAY!!! May, thank god, Hunger Games is on your list. It has to be te first you read because you won’t be an outcast in our Hunger Games fandom. *sigh* It’s probably not as bad as being a Harry Potter outcast. All of those books are officially on my TBR list as of now.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I was really confused about the warning to ask your parents about reading The Hunger Games…until I realized you were in third grade! I can definitely see why it might not be a great choice for third graders, but I’m also surprised there apparently were a large amount of people that age reading the books at all, if only because they’re very long and probably above the reading level of many kids. But I think you will enjoy the series!

    Also, I LOVE The Night Circus. It’s so beautiful and unique.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. OMG SO MANY FABULOUS BOOKS! The Hunger Games and Illuminae are two of my favorite books of all time, so I am so glad you are planning to read them. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Two words, darling: Goodreads. Now.

    NOW NOW NOW NOW NOW! (okay, that was a lot more than two, but you get my point)

    I spend waaaay too much time on Goodreads … and TBR piles are evil … BUT DO IT! NOOOOOOW!!!

    what are some books on YOUR summer tbr?: classics and review copies. I want to read something for fun, too. 😉

    any particular summer releases you’re looking forward to?: My own! Hehehe … seriously, though, I think a couple of my author-y friends are releasing books, but I can’t think of any other books that are coming out this summer … I can think of some next year … and in the fall/winter … but this summer? I feel like I just can’t remember them.

    do you have a goodreads account?: yes. It’s where I live. XD

    Liked by 2 people

  8. oooh yes all the reading! I HIGHLY reccomend THUG, but as your friend Amelie said above, I really wouldn’t read ATBP. It has a rather disgusting portrayal of mental illness, and just BLEH. If you want to read a good book with mental health representation that’s also contemporary + romance, then I’d suggest you read a quiet kind of thunder by Sara Barnard – it’s incredibly adorable and if you don’t like it then I’ll NEVER EAT ANOTHER MANGO AGAIN (jokingggg) (maybeee) (mangos are kinda gross anyway tbhhh)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m super excited about THUG! And yeah, I’ve heard things about that too. I think I’ll end up reading it to see how it is (like I did with King’s Cage — I H A T E D Glass Sword but then I just wanted to see what happened and KC was okay???) for me but I’ll definitely keep it in mind when reading ATBP. OH I’VE HEARD OF THAT *adds to TBR* And whaaaaat??? HAVE YOU TRIED DRIED MANGOES YET BECAUSE YOUR OPINION MAY STILL BE CHANGED.

      Like

  9. YO MAY!! I CANNOT WAIT FOR YOU TO READ THE HUNGER GAMES TRILOGY!!! *just tell me after you’ve read the trilogy, because we’ll fangirl together, hey, that’s why you need friends:To fangirl 😂*

    I’ve always thought that Illuminae and Gemina are part of a duology? AND NOW THERE’S A THIRD BOOK COMING OUT IN 2018? *my life is a lie😂* I haven’t read them either but I’m hoping to read them soon. I also haven’t read I’ll Give You the Sun, Holding Up the Universe, The Night Circus and the Mortal Instruments. So, just know that you’re not the only one. ANJ WILL ALWAYS STAND BY YOU. ❤

    P.S: JOIN GOODREADS AAAHHHHH. You’re gonna have a lot of fun! Though your tbr may increase just a lil bit, I swear it’s AMAZING. 😻🙈

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Unlike most book bloggers, I don’t have Goodreads (because I procrastinate enough already), so I don’t think you need it? Illuminae is so good and I NEED Always and Forever Lara Jean. I adored the first two books (biracial MC? Cakes? family? YES PLEASE). I wanted to buy it but it was soooo expensive so I’m going to have to wait a while. Hopefully my library gets it, maybe. Also I’m about to be free of high school forever and I’ll read so much and Yayayayayayay!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I procrastinate too. XD I think I’ll mainly use it for like all the shelves and goals and such??? Writing reviews would make me procrastinate on other things even MORE. XD

      There’s a 4-chapter sample (with some pages omitted) on Google Books and I gobbled it all up??? And see, the problem is: #broke + slow library = AGONIZED WAITING. And yay for getting out of high school!!! 🙌🎉

      Liked by 1 person

  11. WOW YES YOUR LIST IS AMAZING! I did like TMI but TID is THE BOMB. I was able to read Caraval last February and it was an interesting fantasy! I can’t wait to see it become better for its sequel.

    Enjoy your summer TBR!!!! ❤

    – Andrea at A Surge of Thunder

    Liked by 2 people

  12. I feel like I might FINALLY get around to all those books I talked about in any and all of my ‘New Releases’ posts that I never got to. And with May being SO full of great releases (and me only just now being halfway through the FIRST of them) I’m sure I’ll have tons of great books to read! I might actually pick up the To All The Boys I Loved Before books now that summer is getting closer – it sounds like the perfect read for this time of year!

    DUDE. You should absolutely read all of TMI and the entire rest of the books in the Shadowhunters Chronicles. I’m obviously a huge fan (and slowly dying in anticipation for Lord Of Shadows!) so I want everyone to read these books! You can even read The Infernal Devices trilogy while you’re reading TMI which might be even more fun! emmmasbook over on Youtube has a guide on how to read ALL of he Shadowhunters books without being spoiled! I would recommend the order that has TMI and TID interwoven with each other! I might actually get back to my re-read of the ENTIRETY of the books for the remainder of the year too!

    Wonder Woman: Warbringer might be my favorite summer release to look forward to! I love Leigh and her writing and I just need MORE. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

    Liked by 2 people

    • OH YES, DEFINITELY read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before! I thought I wouldn’t like it but OMG IT’S SO CUTE AND FLUFFY AND WONDERFUL. *heart eyes*

      Haha, I KNOW you’re a huge fan of TMI! 😛 And ooh, that’s interesting! I heard from my friend that the characters from TID appear near the end of TMI so I might just take on that little system. 🙂

      I mean, I’m not that obsessed with WW that much, but it’s LEIGH. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m judging some of these books so hard bc ewww what are their covers

    (and yes I know that you just wrote a discussion post on that BUT)

    AND YES CONTEMPORARIES ARE AWESOME AND LET’S JUST ALL GO IMMERSE OURSELVES IN THEM. except All The Bright Places lowkey romanticizes suicide. uncool. I think a lot of people would have ranted about it but the writing is really beautiful so everyone’s like OH SURE WE’LL JUST IGNORE IT. like it does address it correctly a little bit at the end and it’s heartbreaking bc mental illness and grieving and omggg but at the same time. meh.

    THG ughhh. she had a really, REALLY good idea going — like the gladiator-game-like stuff and the tributes and omg it was such an amazing plot line. but the writing?? girrrl. the writing itself was covered up by the fantastic plot and fast-paced sequence of events and HELP. MY HEARTTT. but seriously. all her characters ever do is “say”. :PPPP

    Liked by 2 people

    • XDD WHICH COVERS ARE THE UGLY ONES TO YOU???

      CONTEMPORARIES ARE AWESOME. Yes, I’ve heard that about ATBP. I think I’ll just read it and decide for myself??? Honestly I don’t know enough about mental illness to know if it’s being misrepresented or not (unless it’s really obvious), so. :/

      Silly Sarah. 😛 Yeah, that was what happened to me for The Unwanteds. Like the writing bored me but the plot and stuff was wonderful. I’ll have to see though??? I do hate it when all the characters do is “say” and not “ask” or “scream” or “reply”. XDD

      Liked by 1 person

      • ENSNARED AND ALL THE REST OF THE BOOKS IN THAT TRILOGY. EWWW. AND ALSO ALL THE COVERS OF THAT EDITION OF THE TMI BOOKS. EVEN MORE EWWW. And I always think Rick Riordan deserves BETTER COVERS, YO. but oh well. his writing is hilarious. XD

        yeahhhh uhm it’s a weirdly heartbreaking and at the same time infuriating book. I don’t really think that’s it’s misrepresentation per se, just romanticizing it. the self-destructive emotions are very real and interesting to read, but the book ends up COMPLETELY MAKING IT A MUSHY OMG AHHH MY [spoiler-which-i’m-not-going-to-put] DIED OMG OMG HOW ROMANTICCCC AND IMMA CRY BUT IT’S SO ROMANTICCCC AND IT’S MESSED UP AND I KNOW SUICIDE ISN’T RIGHT BUT IT’S SO ROMANTICCCC.

        me after that: —–__________—–

        haha. literally sameeee.

        Liked by 2 people

  14. Wowww, this is a long list. Good luck my friend. YES HUNGER GAMES IS AMAZING YOU WILL LOVE IT I PROMISE. As for Splintered…eww. I’ve heard bad reviews about that, and since alice in wonderland is my life, I refuse to read it. Have you read Heartless yet??? That’s the best Alice in Wonderland retelling ever.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It is quite a long list… *cries* OKAY I’M COUNTING ON YOUR WORD. And never trust the reviews until you read it, Abi! *waggles finger* XD I haven’t read Heartless yet, but I want to! Although I’ve also heard some meh reviews about it. 😛

      Like

  15. The Night Circus is one of my favorite books OF ALL TIME and it’s not all about the romance at all. The synopsis is deceiving. I need to read so many of these as well! I need to read I’ll Give You The Sun and I’ve been planning on it for so long I just haven’t gotten to it yet! And I own it too. I’m currently reading History is all you left me and although it’s SO GOOD it’s so heartbreaking and emotional and I was in a state of total sadness for an entire day after binge-reading it (only halfway through, still reading it)

    Liked by 2 people

  16. THIS POST WAS GORGEOUS AND WONDERFUL AND LISTS!!!
    Okay, ahem, fangirl session over. Like now.

    The Hunger Games are…great? Like I liked them A LOT they’re just not AMAZING and not too fangirl-worthy. The characters and plot and book are all like 4/5 stars if you know what I mean?
    I WANT TO READ THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS SOO BADD – SOMEONE HELP ME (apparently they are very adults though so MAY!)
    I want to read The Night Circus too! The same thing happened to me with Illumina that happened to you with TNC. I was going to buy it but saw the romance and was like, really? Hmm. #nope
    I’ve got Holding Up The Universe AT HOME!!!RIGHT NOW!!! But I’m reading The Bobbit right now so it will have to wait (you should totally read The Hobbit – it’s s squishable and FANTASY and tale-like) All The Bright Places was pretty good, but like IT’s HEART-BREAKING. The characters ARE SO LOVABLE — but there’s not much of a plot, which I didn’t mind. It was more character-driven. THUG, I NEEEEEDDDDDD! And The Upside Of Unrequited sounds so good!
    Carve The Mark, thanks for that reminder. I need to rant about how it’s not racist and clear some misconceptions up about the book. #opinions
    CARAVALLLLLLLL. I NEED. Also, Allegedly sounds pretty awesome (that premise)
    WARBRINGER. I’m not into WW either but BARDUGO. #givemenow. I’ve got Ink And Bone from the library bit haven’t got round to reading it yet #oops.

    STRANGE THE DREAMER (give me now), ADSOM (obviously) Written In The Stars and UM MAYBE YOU SHOULD GET GOODREADS (yes, please). Then we can be friends on it and
    a) comment on reviews and fangirl
    b) compare SHELVES (books we’ve both read)
    c)Drown in TBR’s together
    d) do the 2017 reading challenge
    e)see what everyone else is reading because Goodreads has a feed when you follow people you see all their bookish lives and it’s FUN.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah I’m not exactly sure what to expect from THG??? I’m hoping I’ll like it a little though. XD

      Apparently the romance is very secondary so IMMA READ IT NOW. And lol I actually don’t want to read TMI THAT much??? Just a little. But I promised my friend. XD (But I am interested in this “Malec” I hear of…)

      Haha I haven’t read LOTR yet, so… *hides* THUG YES PLS. And you have to read Simon Vs. if you haven’t already! And yeah, I want to make my own opinions on Carve the Mark, sooooo.

      LEIGGGGGGGGGGGH. ❤ And omgggg GO READ INK AND BONE RIGHT NOW. Like I love it so much it's not even funny.

      OKAY OKAY LIKE 25/29 PEOPLE SAY I SHOULD GET IT SO I'M PROBABLY GETTING IT. I'll just use it for like organization and stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. So many good books on your TBR, May, I hope you’ll get around to reading ALL OF THEM but please please pleaseeeeeeeee try and make I’ll Give You The Sun a priority, that book is BRILLIANT, really, I love it so, so much. I hope you’ll enjoy all of these, and yes The Hunger Games, it’s about time to read these fabulous books 😀 and Illuminae….well…..just….be ready for it ahhaha 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Let’s talk about the Splintered series and The Night Circus shall we? Firstly The Night Circus is gorgeous and beautiful and amazing and the romance is VERY secondary to everything else that happens in this book. Secondly, READ THE NIGHT CIRCUS. Thirdly The Splintered trilogy is amazing and it has colored fonts and I love it so much so of course you MUST also read that one too, ok, Bye! 😂😊❤️🐶

    Liked by 2 people

  19. I definitely vote for Goodreads in your poll, I finally joined so it’d be nice to see you on there as well May! 😀
    Also some of these are amazing books, I’d highly highly recommend The Night Circus because it is one of my all-time favourite books ever! Like seriously ever. I’ve been recommending it to everyone who has expressed even the tiniest bit of interest in reading it! 🙂 I hope you enjoy The Mortal Instruments series, I’ve recently started that one myself, and oh some of the 2017 releases you still need to get around to were/are my most anticipated releases of this year.
    I really hope you enjoy all of these books, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on them after you have read them! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh, awesome! I’d probably mostly use it for shelves and TBR and goals — I already procrastinate enough without writing book reviews! 😛 Ah, The Night Circus seems to be a favorite of everyone’s. I’m excited to read it!

      Thank you! I hope you’re able to read some books on your TBR as well, and I’ll try to review some of those books on my blog if I read them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I still need to update some of my older reviews, I’m definitely procrastinating when it comes to that! 😀
        Then I hope you enjoy it as much as everyone else has, and that’s all right. Whether you do or not I’d be interested to hear what you have to say about them however! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  20. That’s a great list, gave me a lot of Inspiration! I will definitely check out some of the books you selected, some of them are also on my list 🙂
    By the way, I love how you use those flower ornaments!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Let’s keep the comment short and sweet. YES. I want to read so many of these! But I am not responsible and take a month to finish books because I have no time (*cough* *cough* Simon Vs. Homeosapiens Agenda *cough* *cough*) THIS IS JUST GREAT???? Goodbye my friend…..

    Liked by 2 people

  22. Honestly though, SAME about the books. There are SO many books that I know I NEED to read but I can’t because no time and because i’m too lazy. It’s a bad combination of assets, I know. And I feel guilty for not reading some the most popular contemporary books! I haven’t read ANY of those contemporary books that you put up there. BUT I *have* read Simon vs. Homosapiens… which YOU NEED TO READ omg

    Liked by 2 people

  23. UMM first of all YES you should make a Goodreads account!!! It’s so cool and fun (except when people post spoilers AND DON’T FREAKIN’ MARK THEM AS SPOILERS *cough* all the people who read ACOWAR and keep posting about it *cough*)
    ANYWAY. THUG and Upside are two books that I desperately need to get my hands on and they’re both in my Amazon cart but the prizes for both of them went up recently and now I’m just impatiently waiting for them to go down again ahhrrhghg! 😀
    I’m trying to make my comments shorter so let’s stop here but just so you know, I agree with a lot of these (because I haven’t read most of these either except like THG and TMI lol)

    Liked by 2 people

  24. What amazing books you listed. Okay…you haven’t read the Hunger Games series? It’s not as bad as I pictured it (the fighting to the death). Like the scenes aren’t graphic (I thought). I loved the underlying message in the books with the separation of people. Just a great reminder to treat everyone equally. It’s one of my favorite series. I’ll have to refer to your list again. It’s wonderful.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. You’ve NEVER read the Hunger Games? That’s surprising! Personally, I’ve only read one and two and I liked the second one the best. It kind of went downhill from there. No offense to those who enjoyed it, but I’m not the biggest fan of war/dystopian reads and the third book is all that.

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Just added Wicked Like a Wildfire to by my TBR now. Sounds intriguing, plus it has that gorgeous cover!
    Also, I think you should get a Goodreads account. It helps me keep track of all the books that interest me and, on the plus side, if you like a particular person’s taste in books then you can find new books that you’ve never heard of through their past read 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  27. ahh you have such good reading taste! i really liked The Hunger Games (at least when i was a smol bean), but i could never get into TMI. yesss The Night Circus! please read it! (it’s one of my favorites of all time!) if you read Illuminae, please update me on whether you like it or not! i’m still undecided if i want to read it…

    also, pls pls get a goodreads account! i’m about 95% sure that you won’t regret it, and i would love to read your reviews!

    the books i want to read this summer include Always and Forever, Strange the Dreamer (i’ve heard such good things), Flame in the Mist, Our Dark Duet, and also reread some of my old favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m not sure if I’ll get into TMI or not, since I didn’t like LOVE CoB. Illuminae seems really good and I hope I like it.

      Yas, Always and Forever! Strange the Dreamer also sounds really good — and I need to read This Savage Song! (Reading ACOL right now and I’m just like AAAAGGGH.)

      Like

  28. YES YOU SHOULD JOIN GOODREADS HOW IS THAT EVEN A QUESTION. IT’S SO GREAT.🎉🎉 😂 And omg your TBR is gorgeousness. And I actually heartily adore SO many on this list so excuse me while I just flail over how much I adore The Mortal Instruments, Splintered, Illuminae, and The Hunger Games, I’ll Give You The Sun, and both the Jennifer Niven books. 😍 The only one I haven’t read in your first section is Night Circus and I want to read that too!!

    So it’s not summer for me.😂 BUT!! I do want to read a ton of those new releases too! I’m also really hoping to get on top of my eARCs I’ve requested hahhahaaha….and catch up on the Jenny Han series. I LOVED the first book so so much. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • OKAY I PROBABLY WILL GET AN ACCOUNT. XD And wow you’ve read so many of these! I’m glad you liked them all, then. And I hope you (and I) enjoy The Night Circus!

      Oh yes, you’re heading into those cold months right? XD Wear those Batman socks! And AGH OMG I cannot WAIT to get my hands on Always and Forever! 😍😍

      Like

  29. Oh wow – with the exception of the hunger games, so many of these are on my own TBR list – although thanks to a new library card I’m slowly whittling that list down. Like you I’m also trying to get through a lot of series – my main two being The Winners Curse series (really loving this so far) and then I need to start Melissa Meyers Fairytale series too…. so many books!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

