A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab // aka a Conjuring of Absolute Destruction and Heartbreak #help

I am utterly and completely DESTROYED by this book.

A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab is absolute PERFECTION. I finished it on Tuesday and fangirled a bit (A BIT) in Wednesday’s post, but OMG IT DESERVES A REVIEW. IT IS JUST THAT AMAZING.

You know when you finally finish a book and just breathe out a sigh of relief??? Like “omg I’m done wow it feels so weird to finish”.

WELL. MULTIPLY THAT BY ONE MILLION AND IT STILL WON’T BE ENOUGH.

Me finishing ACOL:
Me finishing ACOL:
Me finishing ACOL: *breathes in slowly*
Me finishing ACOL: UM UM OKAY SO WHAT JUST HAPPENED HERE

Image result for sobbing gif

Let me apologize before I go any further. I suck at writing reviews and NOW I LITERALLY CANNOT THINK so prepare to read a jumbled mess of half-thoughts.

Check out my review of ADSOM HERE. (It was changed to four stars btw. I was a smart child back then???)

[ no synopsis cuz #spoilers, but: goodreads ]

also: NO SPOILERS for any books in series (unless highlighted)

flowers

First of all, let me say:

PERFECTION.

100% PERFECTION.

I’m not even kidding.

This book is absolute perfection. There’s no other word to describe it??? Okay so it had its flaws (BARELY—the flaws it had were just my WANTS) but it was perfect to me and perfect to the story and perfect to the characters and… just everything???

Okay seriously now I’ll just list out the characters and WHY I LOVE THEM SO MUCH because #characters.

bulletKELL

I LOVE YOU KELL. All your magicky goodness and whatnot. Your frowny face but your selfless heart??? LIKE YES PLEASE OMG YOU ARE AMAZING.

Also, because I can’t have a button-clicky-thingy for spoilers, highlight the next little section to see my little rant over something. SPOILERS, OBVIOUSLY. SPOILERS SPOILERS.

[Holy cow guys. Schwab??? Why did you make KELL HURT EACH TIME HE DID MAGIC??? Not cool. But cool at the same time??? IT’S SO BITTERSWEET AND AMAZING AND JUST HEARTBREAKING and like I don’t WANT it. But I doooooooo.]

bulletLILA

THIS LITTLE SASSY GAL. She’s just such an amazing character that REMINDS ME OF ALAIRA WHAT. (For uncultured little beans that don’t speak the language MAY, Alaira is a character, my favorite, in my novel, IF MEMORY SERVES.) Like not wanting to care about people because it hurts??? Sassy??? ALAIRA.

(Honestly this just shows that I’m as brilliant as Schwab. OMG.)

bulletRHY

In A Darker Shade of Magic, we really didn’t get to know much of Rhy. But in A Gathering of Shadows and ACOL, we get sooooooooooo much! I LOVE IT.

Like Rhy’s a piece of sunshine that met the moon and got messed up but he’s still okay and amazing and great??? His character development rocked (as well as the other characters’) and I feel like now he’s just that type of person who like horribly trips themselves and then grins.

bulletALUCARD

Honestly I love Alucard for all his wittiness. ESPECIALLY HIS BANTERS WITH LILA. They are the best. (I actually didn’t really enjoy Alucard and Kell’s little “arguments”??? I thought they were really just dramatic—like two grumpy old ladies, but THAT’S OKAY because it was still sassy and good.)

And AWWW HE HAS SUCH A TRAGIC LIFEEEEE. Honestly all of these little smol beans have suffered and I just want to HUG THEM ALL and give them lots and lots of warm cookies.

bulletHOLLAND

Oh my goooooooosh I’m gonna cry.

Like Holland’s the one who basically started this mess but he wants to fix it and thinks he HAS to fix it and then he’s just so TIRED AND TIRED AND TIRED and all he wants to do is rest.*

Please someone just lay a blanket over me as I curl up and cryyyyyyyyyy.

*HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILER: And he DOEEEEEES rest. *wailsssss*

While I did NOT cry during this book, I teared up a bit (HIGHLIGHT FOR SPOILER: it was when Kell was saying goodbye to Rhy WHY WAS THAT SO BITTERSWEET). Excuse me for my sudden EMOTIONS.

Image result for my emotions gif

flowers

Plot-wise, the action was really great. It was a tiiiiiiny bit boring when they were just lying low in the palace, but then it picked up when they got on the ship because #SHIPS.

Not to mention, this was darker than I’d thought it would be! I of course enjoyed this immensely, even though my heart broke every time Osaron* was a meanie. (Which was like… most of the book.)

PLUS on top of that, everything was MUCH faster than it was with ADSOM (my number one complaint with that book). AND IT WAS GREAT. The pacing was just on point and I did not feel like it was too slow or too fast.

The worldbuilding was also a strong point! I feel like we got to know more about this world (or these worlds???), like Arnes, Faro, and Vesk.

*I swear. I cannot spell his (its???) name. #TheStruggleIsReal.

Basically, all you need to know is: VE Schwab is an absolute genius and if I haven’t already convinced you to, YOU MUST READ HER NOVELS NOW.

Like dude. She has been promoted to the title of “favorite author” now. (Note that I have like five other favorite authors whoops.)

A Conjuring of Light was absolutely heartbreaking. I’m slightly damaged now by what this book has done to me, but it is so beautifully written and has wonderful messages and characters and everything. SOMEONE PLEASE FLAIL WITH ME OVER THIS.

★★★★★

amazing characters, plot, story, and EVERYTHING. this destroyed me and i probably will not come back from the dead.


shall we chat

have you read acol before? FLAIL WITH ME PLEASE. or have you read any other of ve schwab’s novels? what’s a book that utterly destroyed you? what about another book with simply amazing characters???

sign off 2.0

69 thoughts on “A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab // aka a Conjuring of Absolute Destruction and Heartbreak #help

  1. May, I love the blurb of ‘If Memory Serves’ and I want the novel in my arms NOW! GIVE YOUR LOYAL MANGO FOLLOWER NAMED MIRRA A COPY, PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Teach me how to be awesome *sobs and wishes to be awesome like the Mango Queen*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds AMAZING! I hate when you finish a wonderful book and don’t know what to do, it’s like, do I cry because of the awesomeness? Or smile because of the perfect ending, or cry because the ending was perfect?!?! Anyway, this was a very nice review. To be quite frank, I enjoy reading people’s really random thoughts. Because, it makes you feel like you have a little bit of their brain (sorry if that sounds really weird).

    ~ Pip

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book and how wonderful it is, so I am so glad to see you enjoyed it so much too! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. STOP.
    STOP IT RIGHT NOW.
    I MIGHT DIE OF NEED FOR THIS BOOK!

    *Comes back 1 hour later*

    OMG, your review WAS ACTUALLY SO GREAT! LIKE ONE OF THE BEST AND YOU ACTAULLY WORTE YOUR THOUGHTS. I’m SO JEALOUS OF THIS WHOLE POST, The graphics are JUST TO DIE FOR AND THE REVIEW ITSELF IS THA BEST! AND THAT FEATURED IMAGE THO

    Liked by 1 person

    • WELL IF YOU DIE YOU CAN’T READ IT SO NOOOOOO STAY ALIIIIIIIIIIVE

      Oh thank you!!! I feel like this review was better than my last. Wait… Have I done only one other review??? XD You like the new pink bullet arrow thing??? And HAHA the featured inage is trash (seriously, just “review”) but the picture itself is nice if I do say so myself! 😛

      Like

  5. This book sounds so good!!! I’ve never read anything by V.E. Schwab, but I really want to read This Savage Song (which I’m hoping I got right, and it is actually by V.E. Schwab and not some other person I’ve never read anything by…) I think I’ll probably look into this series now!!! Even though I told myself I cannot buy more books until I finish the ones I already have… LIBRARY TO THE RESCUE!!!!!!

    This was a really good review, by the way!! I think any reviews I do are going to be similar to this, as I like to basically just throw ALL OF THE FEELS out onto the page 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I see V.E. Schwab EVERYWHERE and I keep telling myself to read her books – literally ANY of her books – but MY TBR PILE IS SO BIG!!! IT’S A MOUNTAIN!!!
    I’m going to make it my goal to read at least one of her books this year though! I’ll probably start with ADSOM because the series sounds incredible and I love how you fangirled in this post 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m SO glad you loved that book as much as I did, May! I think one of my favorite things about this series was Rhy. If we did not get to know him too much in the first book, I loved how he was slowly introduced and ended up being one of my favorites of all, I just wanted to hug him by the end of the book ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love your review for this book May, 🙂 and I pretty much agree with everything you said about it as well. A Conjuring of Light was just amazing wasn’t it? I really loved Holland’s character and the way V.E. Schwab wrote his journey in this book was heartbreaking. This series had a real bittersweet ending to it, after everything the characters went through how could it not (God that thing with Kell is kind of heartbreaking as well).
    Basically everything about this book was amazing, V.E. Schwab is amazing, and everything she writes is bound to be amazing as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. AHHHH I kinda want to read this book but I um… didn’t enjoy the first/second book as much as everyone did?? Like, I liked it, but it’s not my favorite book. and.. ERMMM I didn’t like Lila very much tbh but I did like Kell??? *cowers in fear*
    And waIT WHY ARE YOU DISCONTINUING YOUR BOOK????

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wait did you not like A Darker Shade of Magic or A Gathering of Shadows??? Because ADSOM was super slow for me. XD WHAT HOW DO YOU NOT LIKE LILA??? Also the more characters are introduced, the more awesome they are. And this one (ACOL) was DEFINITELY the BEST one of the series. I hope you’ll read it??? *brandishes sword*

      BECAUSE OF PLOT PROBLEMS. I MIGHT GO BACK TO IT IN LIKE A YEAR OR SOMETHING. BUT PROBABLY NOT. OOPS.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t like A Darker Shade of Magic, but I read the second book and definitely liked the series more. And AHHHHH I DON’T KNOW. Lila was cool but I didn’t like her in the beginning of the book because she was rude to Kell and I had already liked Kell at that point (I think)
        xD please don’t hurt me i promise i’ll read this book!

        AND YEAH I CAN RELATE. I’M *TRYING* (emphasis on TRYING) TO WRITE SOMETHING BUT I’M LIKE “WAIT WHAT SHOULD THEY DO NEXT IDEK”
        btw YOU SHOULD TOTALLY GO BACK TO IT (hint hint: and publish it so I can read it) I’M WILLING TO FIGHT AGAINST THE ODDS.
        And yeah, it’s sad how many unfinished projects I started last year lol

        Liked by 1 person

  10. May! I need YA recommendations! I have read almost every single good book in the under 13s section of my Waterstones and am not sure where to start on young adult fiction. I thought you might be able to help?! I’m not big on fantasy or romance, more realistic sorta stuff. Any ideas? If not, no worries! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh yes! I’m glad you’re starting YA… Realistic sorta stuff seems to fall under “contemporary”, which I advent read much of. BUT definitely check out Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman first! It’s a great way to introduce you to the genre. Also let me know if you’re okay with cussing and/or “inappropriate” scenes/innuendos. Also let me know if you’re all right with LGBT+, because I know a lot of YA books with that. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I read A Gathering of Shadows last week and then went out and got A Conjuring of Light immediately! Still haven’t read it but also can’t wait! TuT Also, i really don’t want the series to end! T-T

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

