The Perfect Bookish Panel That I Probably Will Never Get to Attend

As a diehard bookworm and fangirl, there are some things I wish I could do, but can’t.

So I have to compromise and just dream.

But then Eventbrite, a place to plan your own conference through their registration online page, contacted me and asked me to write a post on the perfect panel of authors (or characters) that I’d love to see at a conference, and I of course jumped at this wonderful opportunity to fangirl!

flowers

who would be on your panel? your favorite authors?

  • Rick Riordan: RR’s work will forever hold a place in my heart. Percy Jackson was to me what Harry Potter was to most children. I LOOOVE Percy and co. (PERCABETH!!!), and while his books now are somewhat getting too “young” for me, and not as good as his original, I will always enjoy reading his humorous work. He is #BOSS at sarcasm.
  • J.K. Rowling: I read Harry Potter about two summers ago, and I loved it! (But don’t make me choose between PJO and HP.) I mean, I love it in a lovely-special-classic way. I fangirl about it of course, but like… LOWKEY. Or as lowkey as fangirling can get.
  • Marie Lu: I loooove Marie Lu’s novels! Like the Legend trilogy ROCKS and DAY AND JUNE ARE MY BABIES. And while I didn’t like The Rose Society that much (because I thought it was too dark and HAVE YOU MET ME I LIKE DARK STUFF), The Midnight Star is one of four books ever to make me cry.* It is THAT special. *cries*
  • Leigh Bardugo: So I have yet to read the Grisha trilogy (but I feel like I don’t want to because I won’t like it as much???) but SIX OF CROWS SLAYED. Like omg heists and morally grey anti-heros and just AGAHAGAG. I love these characters to death. (As in, they would literally kill me.)**
  • Marissa Meyer: The Lunar Chronicles is AMAZING. NO DOUBT. I fangirl about the characters honestly, because have you met them. I honestly love them all (except Jacin is my least favorite) because they’re just so great??? Don’t make me choose, darling. *wields knife*
  • V.E./Victoria Schwab: So this is when I realize that I passed “top 5 favorite authors” but PSSSSH NO ONE CARES. I mean. How could I not put this woman up here??? I’ve read The Archived series, and the Shades of Magic trilogy. And AGAHAHA my feeeeeeeeels.*** WHAT IS THIS SORCERY.

If these authors could all get together and talk about FANTASY (because obviously my favorite authors wrote fantasy at one point), that would be SO. COOL.

*I also got tears in my eyes for Champion, book 3 of the Legend trilogy, but THEY DIDN’T FALL SO I DON’T COUNT IT AS CRYING.
**Guess what. I got tears in my eyes for Crooked Kingdom too. THE HEARTBREAK.
***GASP. I teared up again during ACOL, but did I cry??? SURPRISE! No.

flowers

characters?

I just told you. I cannot choose favorite characters. Basically I would ask for all the characters from the above authors’ books to come (ESPECIALLY THE DEAD ONES). I’d just ask them some random a question (like What would you do if you had one day to live?) and then SIT BACK and watch the sass explode.

Image result for sass explode gif

flowers

what questions would you ask?

To the authors:

  • What inspires you to write?
  • Where do you get the motivation to keep writing?
  • What advice would you give writers trying to get noticed by publishing companies? Writers in general?
  • HOW DO YOU COME UP WITH SUCH AMAZING CHARACTERS AND PLOTS AND SETTINGS AND BASICALLY NOVELS???

To the characters:

  • What is your greatest wish? Your deepest regret?
  • What do you love and hate about the world you live in?
  • How do you wish your story ends? (WHO LIVES WHO DIES WHO TELLS YOUR STORYYYYY.)
  • And finally, why and how are you so amazing???

flowers

who would moderate?

  • Definitely me of course.
  • And any friends of mine who likes these authors.
  • Also I would love to see Becky Albertalli and some other contemporary authors moderate because FANTASY CONTEMPORARY FUSION WHOA.

Image result for whoa gif dean

flowers

where would it take place?

My ideal place would be NYC because look. That’s where all the publishing companies are, all right??? Also ideally, it would take place near me. Preferably like really close to me. In my house. Around my bed. You know, so I can just lie there with my socks and books and have a safe place to land when I faint.

Realistically though… probably in one of these author’s worlds. Because wouldn’t that just be cool???

Lol May how is that REALISTICALLY.

flowers

how long would it be?

FOREVER (and everly) OF COURSE.

flowers

what would the event schedule be?

Image result for rubs hands gif

  • Autographs and book signing. Obviously the authors will also sign mango bags for the broke mango queens who don’t own books by their favorite authors. *cue agonized screaming*
  • Also get free books from the author. Only for the broke mango queens of course. Because 1) they’re broke, 2) the dear authors pity them, and 3) FREE BOOKS.
  • Eat. Why not???
  • Ask the questions and such. Because apparently the purpose of conferences like these are to TALK and DISCUSS instead of SCREAM and FANGIRL.
  • Take selfies and bookish pics. Some people need proof that broke mango queens met famous authors. HOW DARE THEY DOUBT.
  • Eat more food. Like cookies. And ice cream. And cookies and cream ice cream.
  • Get the characters to fight. Pretty much all of my favorite authors wrote about characters that can physically fight somehow. BUT VERBAL FIGHTS ARE GREAT TOO. #sass
  • Preserve the smell of these famous authors and characters. In jars. With labels. Because #organization.
  • Eat again. To help us forget about our grief over the conference being over. (We apparently can’t prolong it for forever and everly.)

flowers

Also, because this post is already doing some #promo, the wonderful Mahriya asked me to spread the word that The Artistics blog is looking for new members! All you have to do is follow the instructions in this post. This is a great way to get your creativity out, whether it be through writing, photography, or graphic design!

(Or, you know, dreaming about book conference panels.)


shall we chat

what authors or characters would be on YOUR dream bookish panel? any ideas where it would take place? have you checked out the artistics blog? (or possibly joined it???) AND DO YOU LIKE COOKIES AND CREAM ICE CREAM. i dare you to say no.

sign off 2.0

119 thoughts on “The Perfect Bookish Panel That I Probably Will Never Get to Attend

  1. Lollll May XDDDD

    No im not dying from this post why would you think that??????

    But anyway! Omg child this is hilarious. Rick is totally a master at sarcasm and being funny, but at this point i feel like he’s really stretching the whole mythology thing out wayyyy too long. And the writing’s a bit too low-level for me, too.

    My author panel would probably be Neal Shusterman (!!!), Angie Thomas (I haven’t even read T.H.U.G. but SERIOUSLY??? A BOOK ABOUT THE ACK LIVES MATTER MOVEMENT??? COUNT ME IN, YO.), and maybe Suzanne Collins or something like that. And characters would definitely be a bunch of cool and funny Muddle-earth ppl. WHICH YOU WOULD UNDERSTAND IF YOU WATCHED LOTR MAY 😭😭😭😭😭

    Liked by 2 people

    • POOR SARAH. And I’m glad it’s hilarious. *flips hair* Rick is AMAZING at sarcasm. Well, it’s getting pretty expansive — but he’s making money! And we all want to make money off of writing, right??? XD Yeah, it’s getting a bit “young” for me, but I’ll always enjoy it.

      NEAL IS GREAT, and so is Angie even though I need to red her book. *cries* I HAVEN’T READ THG YET (as you know). And gosh I’m well-versed — I know that the LOTR people come from Middle Earth. Or at least some people. And they’re most likely creatures instead of people??? SEE I’M SMART.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MAY YOU MADE ME CHOKE ONE MY STRAWBERRIES, BECAUSE YOU’RE WAY TO FUNNY!

    Uhm, why hasn’t this happened yet? Maybe people should take advice from you because this is GENIUS! At the same time I’m sad because I STILL HAVEN’T READ SIX OF CROWS, OR THE LUNAR CHRONICLES.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Um, excuse me May, of course I would moderate! Who is the queen of fangirl sass? *flips hair* UH ME. Literally, today at school, I was walking backwards while telling my best friend that Twilight sucked and then I walked into a pole. BACKWARDS. Wow, how awkward am I. But I was sassy doing it, I swear! XD
    ~Sam

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ummmmmmm my favorite person wrote an amazing post that i love?????? ummmmm this sounds fake???? also your post is amazing like you and how are you so great at everything?????

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG THIS SOUNDS AMAZING! I would totally go to a panel that had Rick Riordan, JK Rowling, and Leigh Bardugo. (Although it sounds so good that if I did go I’d probably feel like I was dreaming haha). Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. IM CRYING THIS IS SO AMAZING. I want free books, (and food, of course) I think it has come to a point where everytime you say forever, everyone is thinking “and everly”. THIS POST IS AMAZING AND JUST AMAZING I ALREADY SAID AMAZING LIKE TEN TIMES SO BYE. AMAZING.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. OK BUT HOW IS RICK RIORDAN TOO YOUNG FOR YOU I’M LIKE YOUR AGE AND I STILL LOVE HIM
    AND HAVE YOU READ THE MAGNUS CHASE SERIES BECAUSE YOU NEED TO
    okok *breathes* i’m calm.

    I WOULD SO WANT TO BE IN THE CONFERENCE OMG because I LIKE ALL OF THOSE AUTHORS *gasps* whoa (it’s not as if they’re super popular or anything hahaaa)

    AND YES TO FREE BOOKS PLEASE YESYEYESYSYSYS. And no, my caps lock key is not broken. I love this post because I relate to EVERYTHING.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I MEAN I LOVE HIM BUT HIS STYLE OF WRITING YOU KNOW??? It’s aimed towards MG anyways.

      And yes I’ve read all of his books you dummy. (Except for the Dark Prophecy because I’m #BROKE.) Why do people like MC so much??? I thought it was okayyyyyyy. Trials of Apollo is better in my opinion.

      You like ALL of those authors??? Like ALL??? ARE WE TWINS???

      Free books would be amazing. I mean I honestly need to start requesting books on Netgalley because I WANT FREE BOOKS. And don’t worry, I caps lock a lot too. And EVERYONE IS LOVING THIS POST??? APPARENTLY I’M FUNNIER??? WHAT DID I DO DIFFERENT???

      Liked by 2 people

      • YEAH I LOVE HIM SM and yeah, you make a good point!!

        And SAMEE except for the sequel to MC.. I’m reading Dark Prophecy right now, actually!! and IDK I LIKE BOTH OF THEM and also I REALLY HOPE THAT TRIALS OF APOLLO DOESN’T BECOME ROMANTIC because that’s just weird to me tbh…

        AND YES I LIKE ALL OF THESE AUTHORS. But I’ve only read some of the Shades of Magic series by VE SCWAB.

        YESS YOU SHOULD DO THAT and also EDELWEISS and also BLOGGING FOR BOOKS and OTHER STUFF TOO I’m sorry for throwing a bunch of sites at you lol
        AND WHOOO CONGRATULATIONS I LOVED THIS POST ALSO!!
        AND what do you mean?? EVERYONE ALWAYS LOVES YOUR POSTS, MAY!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hammer of Thor was better than Sword of Summer! I think it was Alex Fierro. XD

          OOH TELL ME HOW YOU LIKE IT. And yo it would be #awkward if Apollo got into a relationship. I mean, BRING ALL MY SHIPS LIKE PERCABETH AND CALEO AND SOLANGELO but not Apollo. XD

          OMG YAS HAVE YOU READ MOST OF THEIR BOOKS??? #someonefangirlaboutmarieluwithme #toolonghashtag

          Edelweiss sounds like a chocolate brand. XD I’M SORRY THAT WAS THE FIRST THOUGHT THAT POPPED INTO MY MIND.

          Lol my book reviews suffer. I mean I find it hard to relate to reviews too so whatever??? XD

          Liked by 1 person

          • AHHHHH I WANT TO READ IT NOW

            AHHH I LOVE APOLLO SO MUCH HE’S SO FUNNY but there are parts where he’s talking about Meg and is like “I just want to help her” and “she looks so vulnerable” and I’m like NO PLEASE DO NOT SET UP A ROMANCE NO NOPE NO THANKS because YES that would be so awkward because… he’s a god?? and Meg is not??? and he has children??? LIKE HOW WOULD IT EVEN WORK.

            AND YESSSS I HAVE READ ALL OF MARIE LU’S BOOKS BUT I LIKED THE LEGEND SERIES MORE I’M SORRY #butnotreally

            😂😂I GET IT though!! Apparently edelweiss is like a plant or something 😂😂

            AND yes I think that can be said for everyone. And sameee except for when I read the book, usually!

            Liked by 1 person

  8. I love this post!!!! JK Rowling is my actual queen but I doubt I will ever meet her, because does she even leave her house? I feel like she would get bombarded with fans anywhere LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  9. CAN I PLEASE COME TO THIS BOOK PANEL?! It sounds AMAZING!!! I’d love to meet Rick Riordan and JK Rowling (of course!) and fangirl and probably squeal with excitement! It would be awesome! Also I have to read the Six of Crows!!! I’m dying to read it now! 😍😍😍😍😢😢😢

    Liked by 1 person

  10. MAY! This is such an amazing writerly post! So cool that you were asked to write it. I would absolutely love to come to a conference like this. Though I haven’t really heard of many of those authors, your questions and events schedule was awesome! As I said, brilliant post idea. May I steal it? Please?

    On my dream panel I would have Sita Brahmachari, Gillian Cross, Michael Morpurgo, Jeanne Birdshall and Gill Lewis. You should check them all out!
    We would discuss empowering young people and changing the world through writing. We would eat warming spiced pumpkin soup and then fresh pasta with creamy sauce. Also a selection of teas and coffees.

    We’d write a blog post together and take lots of selfies and I would get autographs for all of my friends. Then we would brainstorm ideas for an inspirational writing campaign and then have a grand launch with lemonade and Victoria sponge with fresh cream and strawberries. Plus jam!

    I would ask them challenging and unique questions and somehow figure out how to live stream the interview onto my blog so that all of my readers could watch and ask their own questions.

    Hope you enjoyed hearing about my dream panel! Have a lovely day!
    Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Excuse me but can I absolutely be invited to this panel because tHESE AUTHORS ARE AMAZING and I’m super pleased that you’re thoughtful and have book signings, talks, and a snack hour. Like what could be more perfect?!? I would never want to leave. 😍

    I ALSO WANT TO HEAR VE SCHWAB SPEAK SO SO BADLY AHHH!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This post is amazing and that panel…. HOW. IT’S SO PERFECTTTT. And yeah I did think that RR’s newer series aren’t as good as the original… until I read Trials of Apollo. APOLLO IS AMAZING I SWEAR. And I do recommend you to read Grisha trilogy, you might not enjoy it but maybeeee you’ll enjoy it and share the love and worship towards the darkling and nikolai like the rest of us??😆 worth the try!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Okay literally EVERYONE is saying this post is amazing, and I’m like what did I do differently??? XD Trials of Apollo is great! I still love my classic PJO though. 😛 I feel like I would thoroughly enjoy this Nikolai character… but probably not Mal. (I heard that many people’s ships sunk. XD )

      Like

  13. OMG MAY I LOVEEE THIS PANEL!!!!

    Rick riordan and JK rowling are incredible creatures and I would probably pass out being in the same room as them. but also Leigh Bardugo and V.E. Schwab are people I would die to meet even though I’ve never read any of their books but I follow them on Twitter and fangirl over them just the same, especially Schwab. I love how your nonrealistic setting is NYC and realistically is an author’s world I’m crying laughing right now.

    (ps I claim the right to be a moderator when this panel eventually comes true)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve been seeing these posts around on some blogs I follow and I always enjoy reading them (and I love how JK Rowling is just a staple to have)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. This is pretty much my dream panel as well May. ❤ I would LOVE to meet Rick Riordan and J.K. Rowling (although my reading experience with those two series is the other way around. I read HP as a child and only started the Percy Jackson books last year!) I doubt it will ever happen but I can still dream can’t I? 😀
    Also yes to Leigh Bardugo as well! She actually came to London last year and I missed it! I was pretty much kicking myself about that and I live in hope she’ll come back again one day. 🙂
    I wish your convention could be real, it would be amazing! 😍 Also yes I love anything cookies and cream flavoured! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, yes, most people read Harry Potter first, as their “childhood” series! But not me. 😛 And I actually got to see Leigh Bardugo and was in line to get her autograph, but my parents didn’t let me wait that long. (AND, to make it worse, the people right behind me got a VIP pass to cut through any lines. RIGHT BEHIND ME. *cries*) 😥

      I wish it could be real too! Who knows. 😉 And yaaas COOKIES AND ICE CREAM FOR THE WIN.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It seems most people were either Harry Potter people of Percy Jackson people. It’s rare I meet someone who read both as children! 😀
        Oh that must have sucked. I hate it when people cut through lines, even if they had a VIP pass (I’m British though, we take queuing very seriously over here!) Well here’s hoping she comes back one day and you can get her autograph this time around! 😀
        Definitely, you’re making me want some now!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Took this out of spam, haha! 😛

          Anyways, yes! I mean, when I refer to childhood series, I’m talking about a book series that like kickstarted your reading. Most people wouldn’t have read both PJO and HP as their childhood series, or if they do, I don’t know them! XD

          Oh, I didn’t know that you took queuing seriously there! XD And yes, if I had slowed down JUST A BIT (and not have run towards the line) I might’ve gotten that pass! But oh well, no regrets. 😛

          Liked by 1 person

  16. MAY! YAAAAS. BROKE MANGO QUEENS ARE THE BEST BECAUSE THEY #RULE. ❤ *that includes me too lol* RICK RIORDAN ANS JO ROWLING YAAAAS PLEASE. AND SUZANNE COLLINS (I’ll wait for you to finish the Hunger Games trilogy) THEY ARE TOTAL SAVAGES. DON’T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON THE AMOUNTS OF SARCASM AND #trolling (aka Jo : Snape snapped *that’s trolling alright*) they’ve got is ludicrous. Ahhh. AND ALL OF THESE OTHER AUTHORS ESPECIALLY V.E SCWHAB AHHHHH. I NEED TO GET TO THEIR BOOKS. I’m crying. I’ll be back. I promise lol. 😭❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’M NOT actually BACK YET…. I DON’T EVEN KNOW, MAY.. I’M CATCHING UP WITH PREP FOR SCHOOL… and I’m getting some reading done. But yes, I am making progress. Today, I visited 4-5 blogs and caught up with all the posts I had missed earlier on! ❤ DOESN’T SEEM LIKE MUCH, BUT YES. I’M MAKING PROGRESS. Also, I don’t know if I’ll be getting my hands on the physical copy of the series(hella costly) and my local library doesn’t have Shades of Magic #thissucks, so I’ll be trying to get my hands on an e-book maybe? But it will be amazing if I manage to read all of the three books! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  17. How did I NOT see this post, My, tell me? This was posted on the 22nd and I didn;t see??? I WANT TO DIE AT THE PERFECTION OF THIS POST. It’s so funny, witty, sassy, awesome and accuarate as well! PLEASE LET ME DIE. I WANT ALL THE AUTHORS IN THE WORLD. SNACKS, BOOK PERFUMES, FAVE BLOGGERS TO FANGIRL, and a typewriter in the background…somewhere…?

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

