Writerly Update #6 // Edits, Planning, and A Procrastinating Mango Queen (No Really???)

If I’m a procrastinator, I obviously procrastinate.

And that means I procrastinate as a writer too.

Me: Yeah, let’s edit!
Me: *edits two chapters*
Me: TWO WEEKS LATER
Me: Oh I should probably start editing again.

HONESTLY. Sometimes I can’t even with myself.

But that’s pretty much my writer’s life. Even though I love writing and thinking of new ideas (43.7% of the time), I just PROCRASTINATE.

IT’S OKAY THO. I know I’ll always come back to it (will I???). I’m trying to make myself do writing-related things each day. Not sure if it’s working, but at least I’m trying??? APPRECIATE ME FOR A SECOND HERE.

flowers

ON EDITS

You probably don’t know this because I’m a secretive smol bean, but I’m editing IMS for a writing contest*.

It’s going… okayish??? In the example above, I showed you how I basically decided to edit into the night one day. And then promptly forgot what “editing” even meant. BUT DON’T WORRY. The other day I picked up the pen and started writing**! And also discovered that my pen was running out of ink. *cue agonized screaming*

BUT. I skipped over Chapter 3, because Chapter 3 is a complete mess and I will have to rewrite it.

For the writing contest, I’m not planning on doing any BIG edits (as in taking out huge chunks and rewriting everything) except for Chapter 3. I want the copy to stay as true as it can to the way I wrote it.

Image result for reminiscing gif

Here are some really bad quality photos (bad quality for a reason + blurred aka IT HURTS MY EYES) of what my edits are looking like:

(btw if you edit on a computer I do not comprehend your humanity. LIKE HOW. RED PEN AND PAPER. YES???)

Obviously I did a lot of edits on this one. (DON’T WORRY I’M NOT DONE MURDERING IT YET. >:) )

 

I also had the pleasure of editing with my dear friend Violet on Saturday night! We had a sleepover, and it involved writing posts, writing/editing, talking, playing games, and watching the INCREDIBLE MOVIE OF THE INCREDIBLES.

(Haha I’m so punnyyyyyyy.)

BUT HONESTLY. That movie is like my LIFE. I love it so muuuuuuuuuuch.

*Actually. I think I told you this. You should remember this. Because I remembered it.
**Or should it be editing??? BUT NO I MUST STAY TRUE TO THE REFERENCE.

flowers

ON PLANNING

You SHOULD know that I am currently brainstorming ideas for a new novel. It’s fantasy and about magic, hence the original title “magic story”. I’m #genius.

So I’ve figured out the bare structure of the plot (even though there are many plot holes and things that are unknown). I’m working on worldbuilding. WHICH I ACTUALLY HATE. I mean, I love thinking of ideas and stuff (SORT OF), but for some reason I just CANNOT think of ideas for this story??? *cue agonized screaming again*

I’ve also succeeded in naming characters! There’s a girl named Lilah (the one who inspired this all), another girl named Laie (pronounced lay), and yet another girl named Alyza (pronounced uh-ly-zuh).

IT’S MY SHIP NAME FOR ALEX AND ELIZA!!!

BE STILL MY HEAAAART.

And then there are the boys currently named B and OB—which stands for “Boy” and “Other Boy” because I apparently suck at naming boys.

(And I swear, B AND OB WILL BECOME THEIR REAL NAMES. LIKE NO. THIS CANNOT HAPPEN. I WILL NOT LET IT.)

Here are a few snippets of the wittier parts of my planning. (I tried to be witty in everything… but unfortunately mango queens can’t be perfect. How #rude.)

NOTHING CAN GO WRONG

DEATH (ALSO “A’S” IS TOTALLY A WORD)

NAMELESS FACELESS BLOBS

 

PERFECT SMILEY FACES

 

MAYBE PLOT??? MAYBE???

#STRANGERDANGER + SHINYYYYYYYYYY

WELL THAT WAS DOUBLE THE AMOUNT OF SNIPPETS I WAS PLANNING ON SHARING WITH YOU. But you like it. You love it. You love me.

(At least pretend you do okay??? *cries*)

Also:

FINDING FANTASY NAME FOR EUROPE BE LIKE

(I still haven’t settled on one yet.)

flowers

ON PLOT BUNNIES

Plot bunnies* are either your favorite thing ever… or not.

I’m serious. There’s no in-between, or “omg I love plot bunnies but I don’t and gah my emotions???”

You either LOVE IT or you HATE IT.

Right now, I’m at the stage where I hate it, then love it, then hate it, then love it. Because 1) I had a brilliant plot bunny and it’s AMAZING and I’m proud of myself of thinking of it, 2) there’s actually no plot and just a bunch of things randomly thrown together, and 3) I am working on a novel right now gosh darn it???

So yeah. Basically I have this really awesome story idea and it’s NOT GOING AWAY so I may end up brainstorming it??? Because Abbiee so wisely gave us tips on how to help with those plot bunnies and one of them is to NOT forbid yourself from thinking about it.

That was obviously my plan of action because I’m #stupid.

*Dear oblivious ones: plot bunnies is a term that writers use to describe story ideas. We just really like bunnies. Join the dark side.

flowers

ON A BLOGGY WRITING PROJECT

Along with edits and planning, I’m also brainstorming ideas for a writing project (like an actual project) to share with you guys in the blogosphere! I’m thinking like a mini Camp NaNoWriMo, except more focused on feedback and partner stuff.

I’M NOT REVEALING ANYTHING ELSE, but expect to see a post about it near the end of June. 😉 Honestly, I haven’t been this excited since someone told me that I had 5 million stacks of mango fanmail waiting for me!

(Wow I’m such a liar. It was only 4.9 million stacks.)

Image result for excited gif

flowers

ON SCHOOL + SUMMER

I’m FINALLY OUT OF SCHOOL (got out Thursday yaaaaas), which means I’ll have more time to write! I mean, there’s also something called PROCRASTINATION that can hold me back, but PFFFT I WON’T LET IT.

(I obviously will.)

Summer will be filled with writing and reading (and blogging). Hopefully less blogging because I swear, 50% of my life is blogging which is NOT GOOD.

If you’re wondering, the breakdown of my life is:

50% blogging
40% blogging
4% writing
4% reading
1% academics and grades and school maybe???
1% other useless things

I feel like I need to correct this to 100% procrastination.

flowers

ON CAMP NANOWRIMO

If you don’t know what Camp NaNoWriMo is, you can check it out here. Basically it’s NaNoWriMo with cool people and in different months. There was one in April, and there’s one coming up in July.

OBVIOUSLY I’M GOING TO PARTICIPATE.

Image result for duh roll eyes gif

I’m planning on outlining my novel. I really really want to write it, but in order to do that, I’d have to outline next month in June and HAHAHA I have so much work left to do.

Or maybe I’ll just end up ditching my magic story for that month and chase the plot bunny??? HELP. I NEED LIFE COACHING.


shall we chat

well that was the most random case of updates ever??? anyways. how’re writerly things going for you??? are you going to do camp nano? (please do.) any plot bunnies lately? do you edit by pen + paper or on computer? and procrastination is 100% of our lives, is it not.

sign off 2.0

141 thoughts on “Writerly Update #6 // Edits, Planning, and A Procrastinating Mango Queen (No Really???)

  1. OMG I LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS POST. OKAy, here are my thoughts, in the order I had them:
    1. GIrl, I feel you’re EDITING struggles! I’m right there with you, but I’m hoping to be finished with my second draft by the start of July??? MAybe??
    2. OMG A WRITING CONTEST? That sounds like so much fun! Good luck!
    3. Your pictures of paper covered in red ink give me flashbacks when i first read through my rough draft. ouch.
    4. You’re writing sleepover sounds like so much fun! I want to have one of those!
    5. I can’t even tell you how much I adore that you named one of your characters after a Hamilton ship.
    6. Plot bunnies are beautiful when they apply to the story I’m writing, like, oh, maybe this plot twist would help this character develop more!! And I’m like, good job, brain! They’re less helpful when the plot bunny is just a voice in my head whispering “Forget this story and write another one all about dragons and cake.” I wish I was joking.
    7. YOUR SNIPPETS ARE SO AMAZING AHHH
    8. I CAN’T WAIT for your writing blog project! That sounds like so much fun!
    9. Yay, a new novel coming from May! I love your writerly updates.

    Liked by 3 people

    • 1. EEK I hope you get your second draft done!!! *sends you all the luck and hugs*

      2. Thank you! 😀

      3. Editing never gives us good memories…

      4. YOU SHOULD. It’s much fun.

      5. Well, I was spelling “Eliza” as in the book “Alex & Eliza” and then I spelled “Aliza”… and then it exploded. XD HAMILTOOOOON.

      6. Yes, they’re great when they DON’T distract you. But when they do… *glares*

      7. *grin* THANK YOU!!!

      8. I’m super excited too! I’m so blessed to have all you amazing writer-bloggers supporting me. ❤

      9. I'm so glad you love them! I feel like I talk about myself too much. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol, you’re so lucky that your school ended on Thursday XD . Since I live in Canada, I still have a month left, haha; I’m enjoying it since it’s my last year before high school 😛 😀 .

    And I get you about the editing; I get so lazy and procrastinate whenever I sit down to edit one of my stories, novels, etc. It’s absolutely nerve wrecking!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. *dies* You are the funniest mango, your mangoness. Also: I want to BE Alyza because…. #shiny. (LIKE A TREASURE FROM A SUNKEN PIRATE WRECK! SCRUB THE DECK AND MAKE IT LOOK SHINAYYYY) what? I admit, most people think Lin-Manuel Miranda and go: “HAMILTON!” or “SILENT E IS A NINJA!” Me? I go: “SHINNNNNAYYY.”

    There’s a theory running around that instead of a dragon I am a raccoon. Don’t listen to it.

    BUT CAMP NANO! (we should word war sometime because #competitive) and NO IGNORE THE BUNNY I LIKE ELIZA and also the Europe/Yeaurep/whatever. Tell me what you decide to call Europe? Please? *puppy- no wait kitten- no wait MANGO eyes* I need to read your story. I DEMAND to read it. I can be demanding sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m hoping to do Camp NaNo, but that’s also only if I’m able to edit my novel (which I’m editing). I really want my summer to be consumed by writing, but my family is like, “LOL your writing needs to die” which then I kind of cry a whole ton because writing is the best thing in the world???? Also, I’m emailing you a collab idea tomorrow.

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ahhhhh someone else who loves red ink!! All my friends think it’s really creepy and looks like blood (that’s probably why I like it) but IT’S JUST SO PRETTY AHHH. #bringbackredink ((I mean I still edit on the computer but red ink.))
    And I’m hoping to join Camp NaNo – I did last year – but I might be a bit busy. Fingers crossed!
    One of my friends told me that I should just word vomit instead of obsessively editing each chapter like three times like I’m doing now… I like it and all, but I can’t help going back to read over everything!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great updates! I often write a scene and think ‘oh my goodnesss, that was amaaaaaazing! So dramatic and everything! Then I go to edit it and it’s really bad and doesn’t even make sense. I’m just like *face palm* I don’t know why, but it always sounds so much worse when editing. I edit on paper mostly too. I always type up the finished product after I have finally declared it PERFECT (they’re never perfect, I can always find something wrong!)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I loved reading about all your writing updates May, it sounds like you have a lot going on but at least now you’re out of school you’ve got more time to get around to it!
    I completely get what you mean about procrastinating, it’s something I do a lot as well and while I’ve never tried editing anything I’ve written I can imagine that would be something I seriously procrastinate on as well. 🙂
    Good luck for the competition you’re entering, good luck with the editing process as well! 🙂
    Also your new story sounds quite interesting. I guess you’re hoping to get further along with it this summer right.
    Camp NaNo sounds like fun as well and I can wait to hear more about your project. That should be fun. 😀 ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  8. GOODLUCK IN YOUR EDITING and other novel ideas! Once I wrote a book (it’s a zombie apocalypse book which I now stopped writing) and I can totally understand your editing struggles. It’s so hard to edit. I wish I have the time to write a book (I actually have but I have others [which is blogging and unproductive stuffs]). I actually have an idea about a fantasy book where I created my own lore or mythology so there’s deities and also other words, etcetera but you know, I “don’t have time”. Oh and the procrastination, all human beings do it, it’s normal haha
    PS ALEX X ELIZA FOREVER haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • I mean one day I’m like YEAH LET’S EDIT. And then the weeks after that… No. But I think if I force myself to sit down with my papers, I can edit. It’s just forcing myself to force myself… XD

      Ooh that sounds awesome! Time + procrastination always stand in our way though haha.

      YAAAAAAAS I LOVE THEM

      Like

  9. Hey May!
    I’ve just started a blogging project and wondered if maybe you’d be able to include a little note about it in your next post? If that’s not okay, no worries whatsoever. The details are on my blog. Thank you!
    Gracie

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I say this like EVERY time, but I’m so jealous of your inner writer-ness. If I did a writerly update, I’d just be like, so guys, I ate ice cream, and wrote a poem about the flavour. #imaginitive. Then I’d rant about HOW I HAVE NOTHING WRITERLY TO TALK ABOUT, and this also gives a shoutout to PORCASTINATION and my post would be done.

    BUT YOU HAVE SO MUCH FUN NICE WONDERFUL STUFF TO TALK ABOUT. I’ve never outlined, edited so I DON’T KNOW, maybe you’re doing it right??? HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO KNOW, though I’d probably edit online because then you can just RUB STUFF out and less messy? #nope?
    Am I doing camp nano, haha, #maybe! This might be my chance to do some real writerly stuff and get one step closer to becoming a published author. SO MAYBE!

    I think the only writerly thing i do is come up with plot bunnies! I’ve got like 10, undeveloped plots that are just waiting to be written.

    Liked by 1 person

    • BUT… BUT NOT EVEN I WOULD’VE THOUGHT TO EAT ICE CREAM THEN WRITE A POEM ABOUT IT. See, you are truly #imaginative.

      But editing with pen and paper is like… WRITERLY. You know??? Plus seeing all those red marks make you think, “WOWOWOW I did a lot of edits!” And also my eyes hurt after reading a lot from the computer screen.

      YESYESYES DO CAMP NANO!!! OR NANOWRIMO IN NOVEMBER!!! ONE OF THEM!!! BOTH OF THEM???

      And you should totally plot those plot bunnies. So then you have developed ideas. And then choose one to write. Also stop reminding me of my plot bunny because I really like it. 😭

      Liked by 1 person

  11. THIS WAS LIKE 100% TRUE. Procsastination= everything. I have been TRYING to edit my book but all I managed was like fifteen pages in two. whole. days. Editing is almost as annoying as onions.
    How’s writerly stuff going for me? Not as good as I expected. Because all of us puny peanuts have great expectations and smol patience levels when it comes to editing. Plot bunnies lately? Nah. I edit on the computer and that’s easier in my case because I delete paragraphs on paragraphs like some word chomping monster.
    Wish me luck, fren!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yes procrastination is the bane of my existence. But lately I’ve been procrastinating writing by blogging so it could be worse (I have all of June’s posts scheduled already who even am I). I edit on the computer but I use Google docs and put everything as suggestions then go back, and I need to do at least one round of physical editing first to do the major changes.

    I try to write my whole story before I edit (or at least the majority) because if I don’t I’ll be stuck in the editing world and never return.

    I’m doing camp nano too, and I think I’ll outline and write because I hate outlining and normally skip it but if I force myself to maybe the novel will come out better???

    Also if you need someone to help you with your mini nano project thing I’D LOVE TO. (and if not I’m not offended at all, I’ll just join 🙂 )

    yay for writing!! hope you win the competition thingy!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ugh, I feel ya. I get so many ideas, but I have trouble choosing, and for the life of me can’t figure out how to brainstorm enough stuff to happen. I just don’t really know how to. :\
    Anyway, I loved reading as always, Mango Queen! Good luck with your writing endeavors! (and we srsly need to get in a camp cabin together!! ’cause SNIPPETS)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. um. HOW. TO. WRITE. = my writing brain
    and YES I AM DOING CAMP NANO
    LOL I DIDN’T KNOW IT EXISTED AND THEN I FOUND OUT AND WAS LIKE “I WANT TO DO THAT” but turns out I was FOUR MONTHS LATE #oops

    And aghhhhhhh you’re so lucky I get out of school in like three weeks. THREE. WEEEEKS.

    Also I do pen & paper, sometimes?? I usually do, but there are also times where I can’t print and I just go on Word and put on the review feature where it tracks everything you do and makes everything red and look like blood is everywhere?? #notgory

    Liked by 1 person

  15. OOH YAY SNIPPETS AND RANDOM UPDATES AND AWESOMENESS 😀 I’m looking forward to this blog writing project thingy! It sounds fun. 🙂

    As far as my writing life…I finished my novella with Iris and Garic on Saturday so now I’m kind of floundering on what I want to actually do next…but I’m thinking about writing my Rapunzel retelling…eh, we’ll see. (I’m so indecisive about writing projects. I mean, I’m supposed to be working on Enhanced or The Blade, but am I? nope.)

    I don’t know if I’m doing Camp NaNo or not…I mean, I know I should, but recently NaNo just hasn’t been helping me productive? And I don’t know if it’s because I’m just procrastinating too much or because I feel like a failure if I get behind with NaNo? Who knows.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ME TOO!!! I mean, it’s not very creative but at least it’ll be fun, haha!

      OH YOU DID??? That’s awesome! You’re actually productive omg. Rapunzel retelling, yes please!

      Hmm, that’s weird! NaNo is a HUGE motivational tool for me, even if I use it for plotting or outlining or something other than actually writing.

      Like

      • I’m excited for it!!

        YES I DID. Thank you! Haha, well, I’m trying to be more productive and actually write stuff every day! And…I switched my mind last minute and decided to write my Little Mermaid retelling instead. It’s a bit more developed and I’m quite excited!

        Yeah, I don’t know… It used to be really big for me, but I’m thinking (maybe? hopefully?) I might be getting to the point where I can write everyday, myself, and NaNo will just be a way of keeping track of what I’m doing that month. -shrugs-

        Liked by 1 person

  16. Okay, this update was hilarious and amazing, (and random but great).
    You know, writing is just, writing I guess??? In Europe, like a good person, I am still working on my Story for a writing contest. I have to quickly finish it off by mid-June so I can edit :(. Also, I can’t edit on paper!! Cause in India, I won’t have a printer. Okay, I guess I ‘ll just go cry.
    NaNoWriMo??? I can tryyyyyy……
    Plot bunnies? Plot bunnies.
    It’s 2:00 a.m, just a random update.
    PROCRASTINATION IS LIFE PROCRASTINATION IS MY WIFE AND MY CHILDREN AND MY EVERYONE BECAUSE I AM THE HUMAN BEING WHO IS ACTUALLY AN INCARNATION OF THE GREAT PROCRASTINATION ENTITY.
    Also, Incredibles is amazing. I love that movie so much! Even though we had difficulty actually watching it #thestruggleisreal but still the movie was still the best(and spending time with you was kinda cool too BUT THE INCREDIBLES)

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I’m so behind on reading and writing lately. I’m trying to get out of this funk. I edit most by phone lol and pen. I don’t know when’s the last time I used a pencil. Maybe I should see if that sparks some new creativity even though it sounds strange

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I THOUGH B AND OB WERE TWINS AND TOGETHER THEY SPELLED BOB.

    I have no shame.

    I love plot bunnies! Sort of…? Right now I’ve have a massive bunny, and I really want to write it, but I’m still working on everlost so #FAIL. But I still love everlost, so I’m content. Sort of. I can totally understand your pain, though…

    I’M ALSO OUT OF SCHOOOOOOL!!! Except I graduated, so I’m out of school FOREVAAAAAHHHH!!! WHOOOO!!!! I’m so excited!!!

    Also, I’m so super uber excited for the surprise thingy-ma-bob???? Can I have it now, please, thank you.

    And I *whispers* edit on the laptop. YOU CANNOT COMPREHEND MY HUMANITY, MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    I love your blog so much!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Haha procrastinating is literally my life :’D
    I had a bad writer’s block the last two weeks and I wasn’t even able to write a blogpost.
    And clever me, I’ve never prepared a blogpost…:D

    But you’ll manage it and you’re gonna have so much time to write from now on :)!!

    xx, Sophie

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I’m a procrastinator too! In fact, I’m procrastinating right now by pressing instead of studying for my history exam. It’s kind of insane. I like writing my draft on paper and then typing it onto my computer while I simultaneously edit. After its typed, I like to edit it on my computer cause it’s easier and faster, but I don’t mind printing it and editing it too.

    Haha! What I’m wondering is how are creating nameless characters? Their present names are honestly hilarious but I think you can figure out their names as you create their personalities.
    Nice writing update!
    -storyspiller

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Hi hi hiiii I’m so late but I’m trying to catch up on posts I have missed while I was away (I have like 400 emails waiting for me SMH) and OMG the struggle of scrolling through 130 comments to get to the bottom of the page, YOU’RE SO POPULAR MAY! XD

    FINDING A FANTASY NAME FOR EUROPE HAHAHAHAAH THAT’S SO FUNNY DID YOU DECIDE ON ONE OF THOSE OPTIONS YET???

    I’m always so jealous of your writerly updates because I still have…… zero?????? Nada????? Niente??? And I’ve contemplated participating in Camp NaNoWriMo but I have no time to outline ANYTHING (and I don’t even know how it works anyway) so I’ll probably participate in the NEXT one (whenever that one is) :’)

    And omg I am SO here for your writer project thingy! I’d love to participate and finally. START. WRITING. because I’m #lazy and I haven’t even started (even though I promised you lol IM THE QUEEN OF NOT KEEPING MY PROMISES I FEEL SO BAD)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh gosh, I laughed so much when I read this comment. 😂 And Jackieeee YOU DON’T HAVE TO COMMENT ON ALL THE POSTS YOU MISSED (even though I would do that too XD). And I’m not that popular — I just end up having long comment chats with people. XD

      YES I THINK I DID BUT I FORGOT. #onlyme

      Ah, but you see, Camp NaNo can be for ANYTHINGA! You can just be planning a novel and getting out ideas. *waggles eyebrows enticingly* (The next NaNo is in November, and it is THE NaNo. XD)

      YAS although I think that at the time I wrote this post, I had a WHOLE other idea… so now it’s going to be announced in July. 😛 YES JACKIE WHY HAVEN’T YOU STARTED WRITING??? *pointed glare* At least tell me you read part of SoC???

      Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

