Blog Tour: Charis Rae! (A Flowery Aesthetic Self-Hosted Blog that I Want)

Welcome to my stop on the Charis Rae blog tour!

I am SUPER excited for today’s post, because it’s all about my friend’s new blog, Charis Rae!

You may know Grace @ The Girl Upstairs. Well, her real name is actually CHARIS* and she’s moving to her own self-hosted blog! Aka please teach me all you know.

I’ll be talking about Charis herself, her blog, what she’ll be posting, and some other awesome stuff. I’m also doing a review of her blog. Which can’t be the most accurate since she hasn’t started blogging yet??? BUT YO I WANT THIS POST TO BE LONG AND I’M GOING TO WRITE A REVIEW. #dealwithit

CLICK HERE TO SEE CHARIS’ BLOG!

Here’s a sneak peek!

Displaying crae-screenshot.JPG

ISN’T IT SO PRETTY??? *heart eyes* Be sure to click the link above to visit this fabulous blog!

*Such a pretty name omg.

flowers

ABOUT CHARIS

Her official description:

Charis is

  • a dreamer
  • a dancer
  • a writer
  • a photographer
  • a blogger
  • a bibliophile

But to MEEEEE, Charis is:

  • super fun
  • also nice
  • A READER + WRITER + DANCER LIKE MEEEEEEEEEE
  • a wonderful friend and blogger
  • cool beans

Her name is pronounced CAIR-iss (like Paris). This is obviously necessary information as we all know that I am horrible with pronunciations.

(But despite this I still call her Chair-iss. I’m sorry, Charis, you have been reduced down to chairs. And I definitely did not just spell your name as “Chairs”.)

flowers

ABOUT THE BLOG

Charis Rae is a self-hosted version of The Girl Upstairs. She wanted to switch to a more professional platform and share more about her, her life, and, of course, her real name. Makes me want to go by my real name too.

Charis actually had a blog titled Charis Rae, but it was a Blogger, private blog. Her only views were from close friends and family, but she wanted more connections with other bloggers, so she started a WordPress (The Girl Upstairs) and blogged under the alias Grace.

And then she decided to be awesome and self-host.

 

Image result for flips hair gif
Look at Beyoncé Charis being all awesome.

 

SERIOUSLY GIRL. TELL ME EVERYTHINGGGGG.

flowers

WHAT SHE’LL BE POSTING

The content will be similar to what she posted on The Girl Upstairs, except it’ll be more focused on her life, her interests, and what she’s doing.

Image result for it just got personal gif

Except not TOO personal. She’ll be using her real name… but not her face. At least she’s using her real name though??? Unlike a certain someone. *cough cough* Charis will be showcasing her everyday life and activities, like dance (!!!), photography (!!!), and lots and lots of writing (!!!!!).

flowers

HER HOPES WITH CHARIS RAE

She hopes that Charis Rae will become just as successful as The Girl Upstairs, but will reach more people and grow into something beyond what she ever could’ve dreamt. She’s also excited to learn more about self-hosting, coding, and WordPress.org.

(WHEN YOU BECOME FAMOUS, PLEASE TEACH ME ALL YOU KNOW.)

flowers

MY REVIEW OF CHARIS RAE

*waggles eyebrows* The exciting part mwahahahaha.

design
★★★★☆

Of course the aesthetics come first??? I know she had to choose a WordPress.org theme and you can’t change much with it, but all the flowery stuff is SOOOO PRETTY. That font is gorgeous too!

She DID have flower graphics in her sidebar… But of course, me being the #fabulous designer I am, she took them out because I told her that I thought it made her sidebar look cluttered. I am an extremely helpful person. Appreciate me. (But I do think it looks better!)

I feel like there could be more graphics (such as featured images for each page), but I think she’ll get to that!

navigation
★★★★★

There’s a menu at the top and it’s very easy to find pages. The home page is the blog page, WHICH I GREATLY APPRECIATE. She also have a search bar right at the top of her sidebar, which makes it quite easy to find anything you need!

content
★★★★☆

I’m giving this four stars because she hasn’t really posted yet… so I can’t say for sure if her content will be five-star quality. (Though I’m sure it will be. 😉 ) I do really like what she has on all her pages, though. ESPECIALLY THE WRITINGS PAGE. I NEED TO KNOW MORE.

Image result for i need to know more gif

about page
★★★★★

I think that About pages are EXTREMELY important, since they will help the reader know who the wonderful person behind the blog is!

That being said, I think Charis’ about page(s) are really nice! I learned a lot about her in a fun format. PLUS she also included an About the Blog page, which is also important, in my opinion!

Guess who needs to update their pages and sidebar. *cough cough*

overall
★★★★☆

Let’s pretend that’s a 4.5 okay??? Okay.

So this is like very mathematical (SCHOOL IS BEHIND US, MAY, IT’S OKAY, YOU DON’T HAVE TO KEEP DOING MATH), but 5 + 5 + 4 + 4 = *gasp* 4.5!

And I feel like that’s an accurate rating! Her blog is looking really nice, and I really don’t think ANY blog could be a perfect five-star when just starting up! I’m sure it’ll continue growing into something wonderful, though.

flowers

FOLLOW ALONG WITH THE TOUR!

June 16: Abi Leah // Bella // Anika // Pip & Lolly
 …
June 17: May (THE MANGO QUEEN) (ME) // Danielle // Nicole // Enni
 
June 18: Hope // Nabila // Courtney // Brooke
 
June 19: Light4theLord // Zielle // Evelyn // Rebecca // Penelope

Remember to check out Charis Rae by clicking here!


shall we chat

so! have you checked out charis’ wonderful new blog yet? isn’t it gorgeous? do you want to have a self-hosted blog one day? are you jealous of charis for her beautiful blog? 😉 what are some of your blogging goals? let us chat and celebrate!

sign off 2.0

131 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Charis Rae! (A Flowery Aesthetic Self-Hosted Blog that I Want)

  1. I agree, the aesthetics on Charis’ blog are beautiful! I’m not jealous – I love my blog! But yes, the flowers… I want some! Yes, I definitely want a self-hosted blog some day, some day…

    Yes, I have blogging goals! I want to post more often, but my stories are hard to conjure up. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charis’s blog is starting out awesome for sure, especially since she’s going to continue improving the design and making things EVEN MORE FANTABULOUS. also CHARIS YOUR NAME IS SO FREAKING BEAUTIFUL AJSKDLKJ.

    But anyway! I really like the uniqueness of it. ^.^

    I definitely want a self-hosted blog someday! I want to be able to work with a designer to code a unique theme . . . But that’s super super expensive so we’ll see. #broke XDD

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This post was so well done. My was kind of ehh, because something happened with communication and I didn’t even know I was actually posting. Yeah, so I wrote the post and made (and ate) lunch for my little sister and I. In less than twenty minutes. Let’s just say I was stressful.

    Anyway, Charis’ blog is so wonderful and I’m crazy excited to read more of her posts!

    ~ Pip

    Liked by 2 people

  4. WHY IS HER BLOG SO PRETTTYYYYYYY.

    Also, CODING? How can she use this black magic. *cries over my own coding woes*
    It would be so cool to have a self-hosted blog tbh but also DO WORDPRESS PUNGBACKS EXIST. I THINK NOT. (I actually don’t know though so if they do TELL ME.) also, self hosting would be sooooo great because then I could fix that dark header problem??

    My blogging goals?
    – BE A GOOD BLOGGER

    🙂

    ALSO MAY. YOU SHOULD TOTALLYYYYYY PUT DOWN YOUR REAL NAME. #NoPressureButYesPressure

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Charis is the most lovely name and I’m jealous because Daisy is just…. a flower. Charis like, sounds cool? AND WAIT MAY YOUR NAME ISN’T MAY WHA?? and CHARIS’ BLOG IS JUST SO…
    SO…
    AESTHETIC.

    And suddenly I feel like, “happydayswithanonymousa.blogspot.com” is a really…. long…. and… childish…. blog address but I have memories there! *falls into puddle of conflicted decision-making*
    I’m super excited to see more of charis’ blog!

    Liked by 2 people

      • Like, her name has greek roots which makes me think about demigods and HOLY KITTENS THAT’S WHY HER PROFILE PIC HAS THE CHB SHIRT ISN’T IT???

        Well, my traffic has been picking up quite a bit lately (I blame instagram, honestly….) so I know I have to be thinking about it but?? It makes me feel a bit sad!

        something about watercolor flowers, i think… they’re just really nice to look at?

        Like

  6. IWANTAASELFHOSTEDBLOGOMG.

    But I seriously want to move onto wordpress.org BUT IN MY DREAMS. I’m a broke little marshmallow here so DON’T MIND ME.

    Charis Rae’s blog IS GORGEOUS, I love how it looks, and I’m EXCITED about ALL LE POSTS, and obviously, navigation is perfection.

    YES, I HAVE SEEN her blog, stop reminding me of my internal jealous of this AESTHETIC! SOME OF MY BLOGGING GOALS
    1)To Start commenting back (because I never do *weeps*)
    2) To be more —interactive. Sometimes I feel like replying to my blog comments becomes so HARD all I think to say is ‘I’m glad you found it relatable’ and then turn into a dying blob fish.
    3)Okay. TOP SECRET STUFF (even though anyone can see it) In the Summer, I might be moving blogs.SSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHH

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh this is a great idea to promote your friends blog May, and I’ll definitely be checking out Charis’ blog myself once she starts posting on it. It seems like such a huge thing, to go over to self-hosting. I’d like to one day myself but yeah I’m not sure where to start like at all. 😀 Maybe one day but I’m happy on WordPress in general at the moment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I looked at her blog and OMG IT IS SO PRETTY LIKE AWESOME! WOOOOW!! (….A.Ham) I guess my goal for my blog is to gain more followers and to really find out what type of posts suit me and my followers. (Is that good enough??? Hahaha…new blogger problems)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my gosh, I love Charis’ new blog so much! She is an absolutely great blogging friend to me, so helpful and friendly and kind. This post really did her justice! Great job, May. Oh, btw, I’ve got a couple of guest posts lined up, do you think you’ll be able to commit to doing one? If so, do you have an estimated time that it’ll be written by? If not, no worries. I’m just trying to figure out a schedule. 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! It’s sooooo amazing. Charis is definitely an awesome friend! And yeah, I think I can do a guest post! Hmm, this week I’ll have less time at home and the time I have I need to WRITE WRITE WRITE… so I will TRY to finish a post for you by next Sunday before I leave for vacation on Tuesday. But if not, I’ll definitely get a post to you by… July 8th. XD Sory about that!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. First of all, Charis is such a cool and unique name??? I’ve never heard that before but it sounds so pretty! And I understand the temptation of calling her CHAIR-is, I mean it DOES sound quite cool 😂

    Also, HOW DID I NOT KNOW THAT MAY ISN’T YOUR REAL NAME???? What is it then????? TELL ME *grabby hands*

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

