Writerly Update #8 // Setting Pathetic Records + Snippets + Dumb Typos + Other Miscellaneous Adventures

Outlining is so much fun!!! Until it isn’t.

Or maybe that’s because I know I’m outlining… just to outline??? Or maybe it’s because outlining is seriously trying to kill me.* I DON’T KNOW. ONE OF THE TWO.

As you may or may not know, I am participating in Camp NaNoWriMo… and instead of outlining my novel so I can write it, I’m outlining my novel just to practice my outlining #skillz!!! Pretty creative right. But I am planning on writing it, just later???

I’ll explain more below. Because right now I need to tell you that outlining will NOT be killing me because I am #strong and #stabby and #TheMangoQueen.

*We certainly need to have a talk. Obviously I’M the one who does the killing.

flowers

CAMP NANO

So basically I’m outlining my magic story for Camp. Here’s a smol list of explanations because I have a lot of explaining to do oops:

  • I DO NOT HAVE A TITLE!!! Yet.
  • Goal is 10K but I’m probably going to end up with more. And I’m not making it higher because people are always impressed with the surpassers. #thatsme
  • I’m NOT writing my magic story (yet) because I am so not motivated to do anything with this project. Which is a bad bad sign. This is also what caused IMS’ death oops.
  • LET’S ALSO NOTE THAT I AM 500% HERE FOR THE CHARACTERS AND 500% DONE WITH THE PLOT.
  • “But May, why would you outline a project you’re not passionate about???” GREAT QUESTION, MY FRIEND.
  • I have never actually outlined a novel before. I’M VERY NEW TO “ACTUAL” WRITING, BELIEVE IT.* So I’m trying to find how it works for me before I outline a novel to actually WRITE.
  • Never mind the fact that outlining is making me want to write it.
  • BUT I’M WAITING TILL THE RIGHT TIME AND THAT TIME IS NOT HERE YET.

I was on vacation for the first few days, which meant I had to write by hand. Let’s just say that I type MUCH MUCH faster than my hand can write??? And I was doing fine until Day 5! When I wrote nothing at all!

HEY I HAD FLIGHTS THE WHOLE DAY.

I know I could’ve written DURING the flight but have you ever tried doing something in a plane? You’re just tired and exhausted and 100% done.

But theeeen the next day, Julianna and I did word wars and word sprints and 1K30s and I got a total of 3K (fortunately on my computer). Which is pathetically the most I’ve written in a day.

On Saturday I wrote nothing because I watched Wonder Woman and was so emotionally damaged that if I wrote that day, I probably would’ve killed someone off. I’M NOT KIDDING I AM DAMAGED FROM THAT MOVIE. *sobs*

Image result for wonder woman steve trevor gif 2017
HE’S MOUTHING “DIANA” AND ALSO HE’S *HIM* AND I’M GOING TO FREAKING CRY I LOVE STEVE SO MUCH. (And then there’s Charlie in the background.)

Struggles are when you ship your own characters together… but they’re not the right ship??? (I’M SORRY THEY’RE SO SASSY AND FLIRTATIOUS WHAT DO I DO.)

*I didn’t add “or not” because of why WOULDN’T you believe me.

flowers

MAGIC STORY

This and Camp go hand in hand, really, but I NEED ROOM TO FANGIRL ABOUT MY CHARACTERS ASDFGHJKL.

  • BRECKEN. He’s the MC and I love him so much omg. Basically he’s a hired assassin who works for the royalty and kills anyone they tell him to. He has PTSD and is just like done with everything. <333
  • LILAH. She’s the second MC and AGH SO SASSY AND GREAT AND I LOVE HER. She has her very precious daggers and cloaks which she will cry over, and she loves food. Literally the best.
  • LAIE. Can we take a moment to appreciate her beautiful name??? This is Lilah’s cousin (more like sister tho) and they fight all the time but love each other to death. She also obsessed with food and is tough but vv kind.
  • ALYZA. It’s Alex x Eliza!!! But lol I’m telling you this girl is PURE and SWEET and INNOCENT and she does not deserve all the pain I’m giving her. She also likes shiny things and is the best thief.*
Image result for shiny gif tamatoa
Literally Alyza… except less evil. And also not a crab.
  • EMIAS. AGHAGAGH SMOL CHILD!!! I LOVE HIM. He loves his family so so much and would die for them, and he’s a juggler afraid of heights. He is also very sassy and THINK JESPER.** He goes by Em.

I LOVE ALL MY CHARACTERS and they’re basically the only reason I want to write this story.

Also I keep imagining Emias the wrong skin color???

*Omg I just realized that this is from AGOS??? You know? What Lila said to Alucard? WOW I ACTUALLY REMEMBER THIS.
**I typed Wesper on accident. I ship them too hard omg.

flowers

THE SCRIBBLER’S CHALLENGE

I introduced this wonderful amazing superb blog writing project of mine on Saturday, and I got SO many positive reactions!!!

I’ve already received 28 form responses and that’s 28 more than I thought I’d get??? To those people—THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU YOU HAVE NO IDEA HOW EXCITED THIS MAKES ME.

And to the people who forgot/don’t know what I’m talking about/didn’t see the post/really don’t care, check out this post to find out more and sign up. You know you want to.

Remember to sign up by Wednesday, July 19th. Or face death.

But I am SUPER SUPER EXCITED LIKE YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW HOW EXCITED I AM. I’m just over here hoping that nothing goes wrong because I’m already stressed out thinking about how this is all going to work, especially when I have school and WiFi problems and ASDFGHJKL.

flowers

WRITING CAMP

Last month I had a writing camp! It was super fun and now I have a plot bunny to add to my list. CADIS. <333 Lol it has no plot but I’m 110% in love with Cadis and his flowers and his poor poor tragic life. :'(((

It was great! I made some new friends, got annoyed at people*, and listened/screamed along with Hamilton. I also got complimented on my “handwriting” (aka my handlettering) and also my writing. WAHOO.

Then I was chosen to read a piece at a big reading ceremony thing! HAHAHHAA no. Please no.

Last year I did it (and it was actually okay because I shared positive stuff) but it was originally on the date of a book fest. Then it got moved. WHICH WAS GOOD because I sort of got to meet Leigh Bardugo???

“Sort of” meaning line was long, impatient parents were impatient, and the people right behind me got VIP passes to cut all lines.

Image result for noooooooo gif

I cry. And also throw a tantrum.

BUT!!! MARIE LU WILL BE AT THIS ONE INSTEAD AND I WILL NOT MISS MY CHANCE TO MEET MARIE LU!!! SO THIS READING BETTER NOT BE AT THE SAME TIME AS THE BOOK FEST OR I! WILL! NOT! GO! (To the reading.)

*This happens too many times tbh.

flowers

THE WRITING CONTEST

So I submitted the first five chapters of IMS (which had 1.5K cut off and I DO NOT KNOW HOW*) to the writing contest!!! And also forgot to submit the submission form!!!

Luckily someone emailed me about it and I was able to complete the form. (I’d filled it in already… just forgot to click the “submit” button. I’M GREAT.)

Image result for nervous smile and thumbs up gif

Fingers crossed that I’m one of three winners! The prizes are $150 and an editorial review AND I WANT. (Again.) I will totally be using the money on books if I get it because I don’t buy books… like at ALL. IT’S SAD OKAY.

Also, I NEED to win for my self-confidence because there’s an award ceremony that I’ll attend at that book fest with Marie Lu, thus giving me a reason to skip out on the reading besides “I want to see Marie Lu”.**

*Like I just edited a few things here and there and BOOM 1.5K GONE. That’s good tho because I would’ve been over the word limit oopsies.
**ALTHOUGH THAT IS A LEGITIMATE EXCUSE REASON.

flowers

SNIPPETS

Hey look wanna see some of my outlining??? Just so you know it goes from like one-page descriptions of one chapter to 37493-page descriptions of one chapter and I’m like WhYyYyYyY.

I also try to be funny but fail 90% of the time.

DON’T RUIN APPETITES PLEASE

SMOL CHILD LILAH

I LIE I’M SORRY

MY DAGGERS !!! !!! !!!

#LIVEINTHEMOMENT

STRATEGIC PLOTTING

flowers

TYPOS

Look it’s me being all fast and furious and smashing my hands against the keyboard!

Image result for smashing against keyboard gif
Or my (robotic) head. Whatever works, you know.

Hi mom.

Obviously I can spell trhough trhough trhougghorurhg through.

*blinks*

When your figners are too eixcted and type the letter beofre the other figner finsihed typing.

Not really a typo, but *facepalm*.


shall we chat

how’s writing/camp going for you? tell me all about your projects! have you checked out/signed up for scribbler yet? what hilarious typos have you made? do you like marie lu? (of course you do) AND HAVE YOU WATCHED WONDER WOMAN??? cannot… handle… feels *sobs*

also: do you feel like i post too many writerly updates? is there anything i can do to make them [more] enjoyable?

Your post-ly reminder to sign up for Scribbler before the deadline!

sign off 2.0

77 thoughts on “Writerly Update #8 // Setting Pathetic Records + Snippets + Dumb Typos + Other Miscellaneous Adventures

  1. how’s writing/camp going for you? I’m not doing a writing camp, but I AM writing! I’m trying to keep a writing journal where I write every day. *cough* I’m kind of failing at the every day thing, but it has helped me to write a lot more than I would without a goal.

    tell me all about your projects! Okay, so I wrote a chapter summary for a novella that I really want to write! I have to keep developing it, but I hope it amounts to something. 🙂

    have you checked out/signed up for scribbler yet? YES I HAVE AND OH MY GOSH I CAN’T WAIT. (Btw, did you see the contact form I sent you asking how to change the email address I want to use for the challenge?)

    what hilarious typos have you made? There was a time (*eh hem* like seven years of my life) where I couldn’t spell “beautiful” to save my life. I finally got it write (get it? write??… never mind).

    do you like marie lu? (of course you do) I actually don’t know what Marie Lu is… don’t kill me please!!!

    AND HAVE YOU WATCHED WONDER WOMAN??? cannot… handle… feels *sobs* Yes, I saw Wonder Woman! It was really good! And yes, the whole Steve-thing was so emotional I wanted to cry but I didn’t because I can’t just let movies wreck me like that.

    also: do you feel like i post too many writerly updates? Naw, I love these posts!

    is there anything i can do to make them [more] enjoyable? Well, I don’t know about that. Your posts are so awesome and I love them. (Your gifs are AWESOME.) But maybe you could explain things a little more? Like Marie Lu for example, since I don’t know what that is, but would love to. Or more about your camp, which I also don’t know much about. But all-in-all, your writerly updates are super fun and enjoyable to read!

    Also, ALYZA WAY TO GO WHAT A BOSS NAME. I actually love all your characters’ names! I’ve only attempted a fantasy novel before. Didn’t get past the first two chapters. :/ Even though I’d planned further than that. The main reason I like fantasy is because of the names. My favorite fantasy name (and I hope to use it someday in a work that amounts to something) is Cadmar – it means “brave warrior” and I mean doesn’t every protagonist need to be that???

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yes, having a goal to write every day is SUPER helpful! Goals are the best tbh.

      Ooh a novella! Is it a contemporary?

      WOO HOO I CAN’T WAIT EITHER. (No I haven’t but will check after answering these comments. 🙂 )

      XD I struggle with words all the time tho??? Like the other day I couldn’t spell a really easy word and I was like WHYYY. (NICE PUN.)

      Marie Lu isn’t a WHAT — she’s a WHO, and she’s one of my favorite authors EVER asdfghjkl.

      I WILL LET MOVIES WRECK ME BECAUSE I’VE ALREADY BEEN WRECKED AND… STEEEEEEEEEEVE. *sobs* I only internally cry tho, not externally. XD

      Haha, yeah, I was assuming everyone knew who Marie Lu was! And I have two camps — there’s Camp NaNoWriMo and also a writing camp… which might be confusing, I agree. Thanks for the feedback! ❤

      THANK YOU. I spent days over their names (and actually don't have some of their last names oops). Cadmar is a GREAT name, and I like fantasy names too??? As long as they're not completely OUTLANDISH tho. XD

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Okay but I want to go to a writing workshop. People keep talking about them and I got the chance to meet Marie Lu! She’s so nice and amazing!! And I LOVE your character names!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I watched Wonder woman 2 days ago and I’m shooketh. I’m still recovering. And call me Patrick Star cause I live under a rock but what is this writing contest you speak of? ALSO I’m so pumped for the Scribblers Challenge like can we start now??

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, I fucking LOVE when I am writing a long ass comment but the website decides to refresh itself just like that :’) HA ha hA ha :’) it’s so great :’)

    ANYWAY LET’S DO THIS AGAIN THEN, SHALL WE?

    ALL THE CHARACTERS FROM YOUR MAGIC STORY SOUND SO AWESOME????? AND I AM SO IN LOVE WITH ALYZA AND EMIAS ALREADY LIKE AHHHHSHDHDJD MY BABIES

    And I totally get that thing with the typos like when you get SO OVERLY EXCITED about something and you just need to let out all these thoughts and ideas ASAP BECAUSE WHAT IF YOU FORGET THEM LIKE IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME THAT I’M THINKING OF SOMETHING AND THE NEXT SECOND I’M LIKE … umm, what? Literally everything I write looks like the screenshots you’ve posted lmao whether it’s my writing, a blog post or my essays for uni, THEY’RE ALL A MESS AND FULL OF TYPOS WHEN I FIRST WRITE THEM.

    Also how did I miss your Scribbler’s Challenge???????? I’ve been so freaking excited for it but I totally didn’t realise you announced it already???? *curses my hiatus*

    I looovveee your writerly updates and I don’t think you post too many of them! And they’re already super fun an enjoyable so I don’t think they need any changing ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  5. BRECKEN sounds like my type of guy. Lilah reminds me of A CERTAIN SOMEONE from ADOM. Maybe. If Alyza was a crab, MY LIFE WOULD BE COMPLETE. I also love that crab, he’s so awesome.WESPER. I AM SO EXCITED FOR SCRIBBLER I can’t even…FUNCTION. But have you read the applications yet, since my e.g of writing WERE super random. I’m reading The Midnight Star today/tomorrow whilst reading THUG and I AM INSANELY JEALOUS. I wanna meet Marie Lu (And tell her to not hurt Enzon EVER AGAIN)
    GAH, I hope you win so you can give that $150 to me! MUAHAHAHA. You know you wanna.
    And the snippets in your outline were pretty awesome. OMIGOSH your typos are SO HILARIOUS. I need more. I would say more about these 2 but my comment is already SO short. SO YAH.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Your characters all sound AMAZING and their names are all so cool – how do you pick your characters’ names, May, and could you do like a blog post on that and everything?! HAha no seriously, I’d love to know 😀
    And so many participants already to your writing project, guess who told you so…………….. Haha, I’m so happy for you, it’s going to be so much fun and I’ll watch from afar when it starts and cry. No but I hope it’s a big success so I can participate another time for sure 😀
    I really like reading these writing updates and everything, do not change themmmmmm. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Is it just me or is learning about other writer’s projects and thoughts and ramblings weirdly satisfying? Love these posts, May! Especially the snippets. Your style is so unique and funny and snarky and sassy and lovely!

    Gracie 💓💓💓

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I really love reading your updates on your writing May, and learning more about your ongoing projects too. It certainly seems like Cap NaNo is a success for you, especially if the way your stats have shot up above your goal are any indication. I’m sure you’ll manage to exceed 10K words really easily! 😀
    Also its great your so passionate about your characters too, does that make it any easier to write them/the story? I’ll admit I’ve never tried outlining anything before, I just tend to start writing and let my mind take me where it will.
    Does outlining work well for you?
    Anyways, good luck with Camp NaNo, congratulations on your writing feature taking off, and good luck with the writing contest as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I found you… because I know today is Monday and you said Monday was one of your days… YOU CHARACTERS ROCK! LAIE – there is something about her name that I LOVE! And that she is a sort of sister character/relationship! YES! Your names are quite good… I do want to know all about her PAIN!! BTW I love SPELL CHECK! What did writers do without it before, lol… have spelling errors they didn’t know were there!! 💓

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I cannot believe that reading is in the way of Marie Lu. Like, “Darn you reading, you’re great, but she’s a lot better…”

    HAHA yes typing on the plane is so annoying. You just get exhausted and here aren’t people snoring and your ears just pop and so when you try to writ esometimes the stewardess will ask for your beverage and you’re just like, “UM I AM DOING IMPORTANT THINGS.”

    YOUR CHARACTERS = SMOL CHILDREN THAT DESERVE TO BE TOLD STORY TIME TO.

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, the reading isn’t scheduled yet but it probably will be on the same date of that book fest. XD 😥

      IKR. And plus you’re just so tired??? I end up playing games, reading, or watching something on planes. XD

      MY CHARACTERS ARE SO SMOL <333

      Like

  11. I admire you for writing such a long and detailed outline because I can never be bothered. Sure, I’ll write a few pages on my characters and plot points I’d like to include, but that’s it. It’s never longer than five pages…which is probably why I get stuck about halfway into the book xD Oh, well…

    Also, good luck with the contest!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. *TRYING NOT TO SCREAM AND WAKE EVERYONE UP* “What NO I’m not doing some SERIOUS MIDNIGHT BLOGGING….” The reviews for Wonder Woman have been so good, but now you have perueded me more because I’m meeting a friend and we’re going to the movies next week and you SERIOUSLY HAVE ME CONTEMPLATING VALERIAN AND WW FURTHER. *SOBS* WHY DOES MY LIFE HAVE TO BE SO DIFFICULT. (I’m awful) I mean I don’t know IT’S CARA. (who’s aka amazing) ANYWAYS, (wait does DIANA DIE?!!) good luck with your writing contest, and hey I did a writing camp too! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh this was fun fun fun. I’m not technically doing camp nano because I can’t be bothered, but while I was hiking I wrote an outline to a novel that I’d already written 15 k of and I kind of suck at sticking to the outline (I keep foreshadowing things that I DIDN’T PLAN WHAT IS THIS) But I have lots of typ[os too [<–that was intentional i swear]. Anyway I also came up with the plot buny for a fantasy (!) trilogy (!!) about three sisters, and they each get to be the main character in one book so ~at some point~this year I want to outline that and also I might write the first one for NaNo in November. We'll see, I guess!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hey May! *winks* I’m back from camp!! OMG YOUR CHARACTERS SOUND AMAZING I LOVE

    *nods*

    Shjdfkgjfhddjifoij. GOOD LUCK IN THE CONTEST!!! I AM CERTAIN YOU WILL BE EXCELLENT

    HOLY GUACAMOLE TELL MARIE HI

    Also I am so excited because I am preordering Marie Lu and Marissa Meyer’s mew books!!! Yayyy

    And *whispers* sometimes I would just keyboard smash to get words. Trust me yours is fine

    Liked by 1 person

    • HEY GREY!!! ❤ And agh I love them too. XD

      AWW THANK YOU! I really hope I win. 😛 XD

      WELL IT'S NOT CERTAIN I'LL MEET HER BUT I'M TOTALLY FIGHTING FOR IT.

      Ooh, I should preorder too! (And what about Wonder Woman: Warbringer?)

      *keyboard smashes* ahiwejorhetssdojfiawjpehjomv RJUHYA4t402quJOHARIY 493HEISRLK

      Like

  15. This is a really late response, buuut whatever.

    how’s writing/camp going for you? It’s okay…I have a pretty low goal, and the main problem is that I’m not sure what should happen next in my story. Which is kind of a problem.

    tell me all about your projects! I’m writing Battle Song and yup. I think you know about that. But it’s turning out a bit more dark and emotional than I thought it would…oh well. Maybe that’s a good thing. 😛

    have you checked out/signed up for scribbler yet? Yup!

    also: do you feel like i post too many writerly updates? is there anything i can do to make them [more] enjoyable? Nooo I love writerly updates! They’re some of my favorite posts, actually. But, you know, that might just be my opinion. I mean, I’d probably post writerly updates half of the time if I had writerly updates to talk about. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agh, I’m outlining so not knowing what comes next is even harder. XD DUDE I’M SO FAILING AT THIS one day I forgot I was doing Camp. XD

      OMG DARK!!! I LOVE DARK!!! And emotional writing is always wonderful. 😉

      I love reading others’ writing updates, but for some reason I feel like people don’t like reading MINE? XD Writerly updates are so awesome, tho, I agree!

      Like

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

