Writerly Update #9 // Procrastination But I Won Camp? + An Inspiring (???) Message/Rant on the Hardships of Writing

GUESS WHO PROCRASTINATED and still won Camp early.

Me!!! Tho the winning isn’t that much of an impressive feat because… it’s only 10K. BUT SITLL. I AM PROUD. Even tho I still haven’t finished the outline oopsssssss.

By the way this Writerly Update is a bit jumbled because… I’m feeling a bit jumbled myself. I’m paint who’s been splattered all over the canvas but resembles no image whatsoever.

(WHY ARE YOU GETTING SO DEEP MAY STOP IT.)

But really. I rambled and talked about basically nothing, and then I have a message/rant at the end so… stick with me???

(I swear WHAT IS THIS INTRO.)

flowers

CAMP NANO

So… I won! *cheers*

But… I didn’t finish my outline. *boos*

Yesterday I reached my goal of 10K words. My friend Charis hosted a word sprint on Saturday that I couldn’t make it to, but yesterday she, Sarah, and I got together and wrote lots of words! (At least I did… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)

And that’s how I won. *jazz hands* Thanks, girls! <333

My thoughts on winning:

  • I WON I WON I WON!!!
  • But I still need to finish my outline.
  • Which is kind of useless because the plot is SO. BAD. It’s literally them leaving a palace to go to another palace to go BACK to the original palace, only to travel all over the place in search of something…
  • …they didn’t have to travel for.

Image result for facepalm gif

  • I MEAN OBVIOUSLY there are twists and turns and all that action-y stuff… but still. IT SUCKS.
  • I hate books with long journeys in them, and yet here I am.
  • So if I ever wrote this book (which I’d do SOLEY for the characters and/or sass), I’d probably re-plot and re-outline???
  • So Mean May™ is whispering, “THE OUTLINING WAS POINTLESSSSSSS.”
  • But really, nothing is pointless in writing. I learned something!
  • A few things actually:
    • Bullet point outlining is so much fun.
    • As is making witty/funny/sassy remarks.
    • I will include extreme detail for certain events… and then be extremely vague at others. (WHAT??? MAY???)
    • OUTLINING IS FUN ONCE YOU GET GOING!!!
    • Outlining is easier than actual writing. (Well, when you’ve already plotted it out and are just putting down the details.)
    • But it’s not as FUN as writing. :((

I’m going to try to finish my actual outline by the end of June. Because I need to see how well I can plot endings. (I’m pretty sure I’m really bad at it HAHAHAHA.)

ALSO I HAVE FIGURED OUT A SOLUTION TO THE SHIPPING-THE-WRONG-CHARACTERS-TOGETHER PROBLEM. I just found someone else to ship Em with.

Image result for wink gif

flowers

SNIPPETS

I tried to be funny but just ended up being cringy so I’m sorry.

arrow 1

WHAT NORMAL???

#RUDE #LETTHEMLAUGH

FITE ME

(Btw this is talking about their injuries. And also Em is a juggler.)

I LOVE EM <333

#EVILWRITER

arrow 2

So basically I love Em.

flowers

THE SCRIBBLER’S CHALLENGE

I’VE FIGURED OUT ALL THE PARTNERS/GROUPS AND SOME PEOPLE STILL NEED TO CONFIRM THAT THEY’RE PARTICIPATING BUT OTHER THAN THAT I’M SO EXCITED!!!

And also kind of stressed out… BUT. Pairing everyone together was SO much easier than I thought it’d be and that’s already a huge weight off my shoulders. (For now HAHHAHAHAHAH.)

Image result for whew gif

Some people still have not confirmed they’re ABSOLUTE PARTICIPATING sooooo I’m just sitting here like… I don’t want to dis you but please hurry???

But still! I’m super excited. A few days ago I had a horrible feeling this would fail and now that feeling has KIND of disappeared.

Oh and I’m such a bad person I still need to think of half of the prompts OOOOOPS.

flowers

(MORE) PLOT BUNNIES

That’s right… May got dem plot bunnies attracted to her carrots.

BUT SERIOUSLY. ANOTHER ONE??? And it’s a DARK plot bunny and I simply cannot stay AWAY from dark books agagahhaga. Like??? How am I supposed to choose???

So far I’ve got “gold glitter story”, “Peter Pan mental illness retelling”, “Of Flowers and Skin”*, and “dark bad people story” (the most recent one). They’re all too good for me to choose from WHYYY.

*LOOK IT HAS A NAME!!! But lol the only reason it does is because it’s getting published in the writing camp anthology.

flowers

…NOTHING

Sometimes… you just can’t force yourself to write. And it absolutely SUCKS.

(Wow May what a great start to this supposedly inspiring message.)

The three above things are the only writing-related things I’ve been doing. Scribbler isn’t actual WRITING and plot bunnies just come to me. I had to use the motivation of WINNING* to get me to write.

And then after I reached my goal I went to watch Friends. (HEY MY DAD WAS LIKE “WE’RE GONNA WATCH FRIENDS COME DOWNSTAIRS” and was I going to say no to Friends family time??? NO. Btw it was very good.)

Sometimes you just CAN’T force yourself to write. It doesn’t work. The words don’t come. You’re stuck.

But it’s okay. Because one day you WILL write. It WILL work. The words WILL come.

Image result for nod serious gif

Writing is something that takes a little of you each time you do it… and not only is it RUDE but ENTIRELY EXHAUSTING UGH. Writing is SO SO SO hard but you have to keep believing that one day… it will not get easier.

Because it won’t.

IT’LL GET HARDER AND HARDER AND YOU’LL CRY HA HOW’S THAT FOR INSPIRATIONAL HUH.

Just kidding omg why are you so serioussssss.

Writing won’t get easier tho! It’ll most likely get harder and more complicated. But YOU are growing with it, and you’re learning more and improving and becoming a better writer. You will learn to Become One With Writing™ and you will also Break Up With Writing Because You Are Rage™. And Also Frustration™.

And that’s aaaaaaall a part of a writer’s journey.

SO WHAT’S THIS RANT ABOUT, MAY??? This rant is about me trying to comfort myself about my whole life how it’s okay to not write. How it’s okay to feel BAD about not writing. How it’s okay to hate writing. How it’s okay that writing gets harder. How it’s okay that you CAN’T. FORCE. WRITING.

Writing will come to you. I promise.

Image result for i promise gif
I LOVE TANGLED SO MUCH OMG.

(And if it doesn’t I will take away all their mangoes and books and chocolates until it comes running at you with open arms. IT LOVES YOU AND GUESS WHO ALSO LOVES YOU. Spoiler: ME.)

*I’m not… competitive???


shall we chat

how’s camp nano for ya? won yet? what have you learned about outlining? any more plot bunnies? do you feel bad when you don’t write? do you NOW REALIZE that it’s okay when you don’t write??? (of course you do i just told you to.)

P.S. i’m still taking questions for my q&a! click HERE to submit one, and HERE to take my feedback survey. thank you soooo much to those who already did this! <333

 sign off 2.0

78 thoughts on “Writerly Update #9 // Procrastination But I Won Camp? + An Inspiring (???) Message/Rant on the Hardships of Writing

  1. THE WORD SPRINT WAS LIT. (also i’m going to be on like all day today so JOIN ME PLS. @Charis too. WE SHALL HAVE ANOTHER LIT WORD SPRINT.

    And yayayay for winning camp! Although you said that you want to finish the outline by the end of June??? You meant July right??

    ALSO TELL ME MY PARTNER PLSSSSS

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on winning Camp early. You say 10k like it’s nothing! THAT’S A LOT. And even if you don’t really like your plot and you didn’t finish your outline, you’re right. Writing is almost never pointless! I’m glad you’ve learned from it ❤ I WAS SUPPOSED to start outlining but mostly I've been planning so there's that. I think I will be participating in NaNo in November. As for plot bunnies, Sasha and I have some GREAT ideas up our sleeves and have been at work! If I don't write, I'm busy so don't really FEEL BAD. I know that I don't have time and that I can come back to it whenever I like. And If I'm facing writer's block, i just give it a break and come back whenever I like. Basically, I know writing is always waiting for me and that I shouldn't burn myself out. LOVED YOUR SPEECH though! It's so true and all aspiring or not writers should read it!

    P.S WHY IS THIS POST SO… *gasps* SHORT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s so amazing that you achieved your goal! I had to pass Camp this year, both the one in April and July because of classes and other things in my mind. I’ve still been working on my story and I’ve got a title at last that I think fits! This post actually inspired me to make a post about it soon, so thanks for that! lol. But I’ve been gearing for NaNo in november of course, both as participant and ML, so that’s exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ugh YOU ARE A BEAST. hahaha congrats on winning??? I am SO BEHIND I’ll probably never catch up tbh. I was going to edit my entire book of Feathers Black but then I had finals and a birthday and got minorly sidetracked. But I’m so happy for you!! That’s awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. CONGRATS ON WINNING CAMP!! That is such a huge achievement, I don’t think I could have done that, even if I tried. And I love your snippets, they always make me laugh <3. And The Scribblers Challenge sounds like it's going to be fun. I really was looking forward to it!! I think this is the first time I'm bummed on going on vacation, lol 😅.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh congratulations on winning camp May, and early as well. 🙂 Even though it was only 10K words it’s still a great acheivement and one you should definitely be proud of. I took part in NaNo in November a few years back and I never managed to win so go you for sticking with it for a while month! 😀 ❤
    Sounds like you have a lot of work to do still on your outline, I guess NaNo is about writing it all down and after NaNo is about editing right? 😀
    Also wow that is a lot of plot bunnies, still I love the sound of all the stories you mentioned so hopefully you manage to get them all down on the page at some point right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank yooou, Beth! And yeah, it’s good to know that I can make goals and stick to them! Oh, I hope that if you do NaNo this year you’ll be able to write the whole month! 😀

      Oh yes, it’s definitely about writing during NaNo and editing after! I’ll probably start brainstorming my plot bunnies when Camp’s over tho, and choose one to start writing!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. WOOOHOOOOOO CONGRATS ON WINNING CAMP NANO!!! *claps enthusiastically*

    As you know, I’m not participating in Camp NaNo which I’m SUPER sad about because it seems like so much more fun than the actual nano thingy??? AND 50K WORDS IS [italics] A LOT [/italics] and pretty much unachievable for me so I might not participate in that one either????? SO I’LL HAVE TO WAIT ANOTHER WHOLE YEAR TO BE ABLE TO PARTICIPATE FOR THE VERY FIRST TIME. #tragic

    And I’ve learned that outlining is TONS OF FUN. Especially if you do it in bullet points. And sarcastic remarks. And hashtags. I LOVE IT. But I haven’t outlined in a while because of uni AND I MISS MY CHARACTERS. Ok technically they’re not mine except for one lol BUT STILL.

    And I haven’t had any other plot bunnies except for the one I told you about (I just realised I haven’t checked my WP notifs in a while and I haven’t replied to all of our convos yet OOPS) but yeah…

    And I honestly don’t feel bad when I don’t write (ok maybe a little bit) because I never wrote much to begin with! BUT I’M STILL MAD AT MYSELF SOMETIMES (a lot of the time) BECAUSE I’M NOT PRACTICING!!!! I NEED AS MUCH PRACTICE WHEN IT COMES TO WRITING AS I CAN GET SO I CAN FINALLY START MY FIRST ORIGINAL BESTSELLING (jk) NOVEL.

    Wow sorry for ranting but I barely ever comment on posts anymore because of my ~hiatus~ but when I do it’s like 10k words long HA talk to you soon bye!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Congrats on winning camp!! Your story sounds super fun. I haven’t done any NaNo things yet, but I plan on doing NaNoWriMo this November. (I’m already nervous. I’m such a slow writer xD.)
    I’m super excited for the Scribbler’s project!! I have been in a great writing mood lately and I’m thinking that will continue. Do you want any suggestions for prompts? If not that’s totally fine, just thought i’d ask!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on winning camp! I have failed oh so epically, but that’s okay. I’ve done a lot of brainstorming and that’s a thing. I’m super excited for The Scribblers Challenge and you’re so epic for putting it all together!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congratulations, May, and good luck with any future writerly adventures! At first I found it really hard to pair people up for my project, but it got easier and became quite enjoyable. I can’t wait to see who I’ll be working with. Actually, I can’t wait to start the Scribbler Challenge and get writing!

    Those plot bunnies are great. (Why on earth are they called that???) Especially the Peter Pan mental illness retelling one. That’s super creative and aware.

    I’ll make a confession to you. I love your writerly updates, but I don’t understand a lot of your terminology. You see, I tend to just write. I read your posts and I’m like ‘Wait, that’s called THAT???I thought it was called writing.’ You should start a dictionary!

    Not writing feels horrible. I feel all blocked up and as if I. Can’t. Physically. Get. Words. Onto. Paper. It’s really mentally exhausting and frustrating when you’re sure the inspiration must be there somewhere, but it’s not and you’re so sad and angry and certain that it’s hiding from you (on purpose)

    I have submitted some Q and A questions and filled in the survey (like a good subject of the Mango Queen)

    Yay! Thank you for all the tips, advice and wonderfully fabulous ranting. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my little visit to Forever And Everly today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Gracie! And yes, at first I was scared to pair people up, but then my excitement just grew haha! Altho I’m slightly scared you won’t like your partners haha.

      I’M SO PROUD OF THE PETER PAN MENTAL ILLNESS PLOT BUNNY TBH.

      Oh yes, I assume everyone knows what I’m talking about! You know, a little dictionary would be a GREAT post idea! Hmm…

      Oh yes, not being able to write is really exhausting and frustrating! You know you CAN write but something’s just holding you back, right? It sucks, but it’s part of a writer’s life!

      Thank you so much! And agahahah you are truly the sweetest, Gracie. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. CONGRATS ON WINNING!! I’m so very close I only have a few thousand words left but I have almost no inspiration. Which sucks. BUT like you said: it will come to me eventually! I always feel really guilty when I procrastinate writing and watch videos/read instead, but then I word vomit and feel better. I also dislike outlining strongly: it just doesn’t work for me. I don’t like having a constricted way of thinking?? (wow I’m so deep omg.) It’s just that I like keeping it open-ended. So I can change anything, any time. I tried outlining but I waste more time doing that than actual writing xD
    And plot bunnies are AWESOME but kind of annoying because I have all these cool ideas but I don’t know how to fit them in and it’s #stressful. For now I’m just writing them down so I can use them for other things.
    I loved this post! Writerly updates are always amazing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU! And you got it! You can do it! Push through it! Yes, it sucks because you really sometimes can’t force motivation to come, but eventually it will! And ah, you’re a pantser, I see! Well for me, in all aspects of my life, I HAVE to have a plan, otherwise I freak out. (And some people make things different from their outlines — it’s really just how you go about it!)

      Oh yeah, definitely write down plot bunnies to come back to later! And I totally get you — I’m WRITING SOMETHING RIGHT NOW GO AWAY PLS.

      Agh I’m so glad you like them! *flails*

      Liked by 1 person

  12. CONGRATULATIONS ON WINNING CAMP, you are awesome and deserve all the flowers, chocolate and croissants (if you’re into that) and everything all the books, May! This is so great! ❤ ❤
    That Peter Pan retelling you're mentioning is making me scream with impatience because I need it SO BADLY, it sounds awesome, please write it?
    Also, I get the feeling of the writers' block, I have been having it and I beat myself up SO much for this because… well, I barely am able to take time to write so…when I have time and the words don't come it is so frustrating. But I guess it happens and we just have to wait and pray it'll come back 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOOOOU! ❤ And gosh chocolate and croissants are what I LIVE for GIVE 'EM ALL TO MEEEEEEE. ❤

      Agh I have NOTHING for that. All I know is that Peter has depression and therefore can't fly (cuz he can't think happy thoughts), and then Hook has anxiety and gets panic attacks anytime he hears/sees clocks and YEAH BASICALLY NO PLOT. XD

      And aww, I hope you'll get over your writer's block soon! It seriously sucks, but we can't force inspiration or motivation. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha, I will send you a massive package of croissants and French cakes and all. YOU WILL LOVE IT ahah.
        Well…YOU HAVE SOMETHING already and what I am hearing makes me happy already. I hope you’ll write an outline next and tell me ALL ABOUT IT because I need it now! 😀
        Thank you, May!! ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  13. DON’T DRAG YOURSELF DOWN LIKE THAT YOUR GOAL WAS 10K AND YOU REACHED IT CONGRATS

    I love your snippets – either they /are/ funny or we’re both cringey. If it’s the latter at least we’re not alone *finger guns*

    Good luck with your outline! All of your plot bunnies sound awesome how will you choose ahhh. I wish I could help you choose but… I have like a million ideas myself that I can’t choose from. I have no advice.

    Camp NaNo isn’t going that great for me lmao. Like you said, sometimes you can’t force yourself to write. And now that I finally have the time to write, I’m just not feeling it? Oh well. I’m spending a lot of time in the blogging community instead and loving it so it’s okay 🙂 It’s just my competitive streak that’s screaming ‘YOU MUST WIN’ even though I’m not competing with anyone 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • AWW, YOU’RE SO SWEET MICHELLE THANK YOOOOU ❤

      Omgggg! What a great solution! *finger guns back bc that is proper etiquette*

      Thank you! And gosh I'm so indecisive that I DEFINITELY will have trouble picking a plot bunny to go with, but I gotta do it!

      YOU'RE COMPETING WITH YOURSELF MICHELLE COME ON YOU GOT DIS. But yesss, I literally have the time to write… but I don't write. (Tbh I think I'm a bit TOO immersed in the blogging community. XD) Good luck for the last week!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Congratulations on winning, May!!!!! I’m so happy for you!!!!

    Alas, I am failing miserably in camp. But that’s okay! I’ve planned a fun writer’s day today, so hopefully it’ll all work out. The scenes I’m currently working on are just refusing to speak to me, though, and I’m not sure if I should just plow through, or write something else… Tis a complicated scenario…. XD

    Also, I’m not sure what Scribbler is as I’ve been on Hiatus, but it sounds like fun and I hope it goes well!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

