Behind the Scenes: Everything About My Post-Planning and Post-Writing Process! (You Know You Want It)

Everything about blogging is extremely hard.

You have to comment on blogs, you have to interact, you have to reply to comments, ALL SORTS OF THINGS.* And then there’s also the thing called ACTUALLY BLOGGING. Aka posting.

But… how does one plan posts??? How does one WRITE posts???

WELL LUCKY FOR YOU, I’m here to stop you from having an existential crisis! I’ll be sharing how I plan and write my posts and hopefully that’ll help you out as well!

Of course, my way is NEVER the right way. But it should be. You do whatever is best and easiest for you! I’m just here to share my process and maybe it’ll inspire you a bit. Or cause you to change everything about yourself and your life because you love me so much.

*Okay so these are things you SHOULD do and things I LOVE to do… BUT STILL.

flowers

1. the month before, i brainstorm posts

So pretend it’s July. There’s May, hunching over her computer because she always forgets to straighten her back (what is wrong with her???). And you know what she’s doing??? She’s planning out NEXT MONTH’S POSTS.

Image result for working on computer gif

Aka August’s posts. Aka this month’s posts.

(Back to first person now, like someone normal.)

I’m already planning out September’s posts as we speak. I have a surprise… Planning them out the month before ALWAYS is useful, so it’s not August 1st and I’m freaking about what I’ll be posting.

Planning the month ahead is ALSO nice when you’re COMPLETELY BLANK of what to post. Instead of frantically writing a post the day you’ll be posting it, you have your plan to refer to so you can start writing posts early! And not flail about having no post!

And sometimes I’ll think of an idea that I don’t think should be written until later! So I’ll write it down* to save for later, and move on. *thumbs up*

*ALWAYS WRITE DOWN IDEAS OR YOU WILL FORGET THEM I 100% GUARANTEE.

flowers

2. putting dates on them

When I have almost all of the posts brainstormed, I start to assign them certain dates. (I usually do this a few days before the month starts.)

I’ll stick to my blogging schedule—Mon/Wed/Sat—and match up the posts with each day. I also include the number of the day as well??? I’M WEIRD.

This is where the calendar down at the bottom right corner for Windows computers—TAKE THAT MAC SUCKERS USERS.

And this is just me, since I have a variety of post topics, but I like to space out the types of posts. So I won’t have this blogging post and another blogging post and another, and then bookish post and bookish post and writing post and bookish post.

See now that’s just… not good. (I have a great vocabulary, obviously.)

Image result for not good gif

I also like to make sure that while I have posts planned for ALMOST every day*, I still have some slots* open for SPONTANEOUS post ideas.

And I make myself realize that THIS IS NOT SET IN STONE!!! I can move around posts, take one out, add one in… This plan is just something to make me feel organized (because I’m not) and for me to refer to.

*Not like EVERY DAY. More like… every day of my blogging schedule APPRECIATE ME FOR ONCE HERE I’M TRYING.
**What, is this like a gameshow or something???

flowers

Wow that was short.

Well I guess I skipped the whole part about getting post ideas BUT THEY COME FROM EVERYWHERE OKAY???

arrow 1

other Very Fun Facts™ about my post-planning process:

  • I have my blog plan in Google Docs. A simple bullet point list is all it takes.
  • I also should use that doc to keep track of all my tags/awards but LOL NO I APPARENTLY SUCK AT THAT.
  • I put a strikethrough (because I’m #fancy) through the posts I’ve published.
  • I need to have posts planned for at least 4/5 of the month or I freak out. Like, actually freak out. Like, AHDJSKSMFJSKAKJFJEKAKHAYJE freak out.
  • Sometimes I think of a post idea that is JUST SO GREAT AND AMAZING and then, you guessed it, I FORGET IT.
  • Lesson of the day, kids: Write your fricking ideas down or die suffer from horrible memory.

arrow 2

This is what my plan looks like!

those are (very badly) crossed out because I MUST BE SECRETIVE

My friend Ju(lianna) did a post on how planning ahead helps organize her blogging life, which you should totally check out!!!

flowers

1. titling the post + linking

Now comes the more complicated part: the actual WRITING of the post.

I either look forward to this, or completely dread it. (I DON’T KNOW WHY???)

Okay, so I’m not going to literally tell you EVERY SINGLE STEP (such as going to wordpress.com, clicking the “write” button, etc.) but I’ll do the most important ones! For example: titling.

TITLES ARE SO IMPORTANT!!! I like to make mine witty*, long**, and engaging. This (and the featured image) is what’ll most likely make someone click on your post RIGHT AWAY! Or maybe you just like that blogger’s posts so much you just NEED to read it.

Image result for i need it gif

And sometimes, I’ll come back and be changing the post title, but usually I keep what I start with!

Now, you see that little link icon besides it? THAT’S WHERE YOU CAN CHANGE THE (last part of) THE URL OF THE POST!!!

The WordPress default is just making that last part, after the date, your post title. AND MY TITLES ARE SUPER LONG, which makes the link long! And that’s not good for SEO stuff or whatever. (I don’t really know???)

And even if my post titles weren’t long, it’s good to condense your link to just a few keywords about the post. For example, I made my link: “my-post-planning-writing-process”. And that’s it!

*At least I HOPE they’re witty??? If not what am I doing here and what is my life.
**LONG because they’re WITTY.

flowers

2. writing the post + formatting

So now, it’s time to write the post!

I start out with one big catchy (hopefully???) line. Sometimes it’s just a lead-in to the intro, or sometimes it’s a line to about the post topic. But whatever it is, it’s BIG and BOLD and has to be worthy of that. *wink wink*

Then there’s the intro. My intros either SUCK or are pretty good. There’s no in between. I think my intro for this post is pretty good. I don’t like to make intros too long. And usually right after the intro finishes, I insert the “read more” tag.

I also like to bold one line that tells you guys what the post will be about.

As you can see, I’ve already started formatting some things!!! The first line is big and bold (in Header 2 and the color black). I bold an important line (to later make larger), and then I have the footnote.

And then after that I’ll have my lovely flower divider which I need to redo sometime soon. Any graphic that I make will be inserted into the post as I write (the flower divider and the arrow thingy). Just because it’s easier for me! And visually pleasing.

Image result for visually pleasing gif

Soooooo I write the post, and bold things as I go. These bolded lines are IMPORTANT phrases that I want you to read. At the end, they will be changed to a larger font size!So, basically the only formatting things I do while writing the post are:

  • headings

  • footnotes

    you can see me already getting some coding ready
  • graphics

  • bolding

Oh, and don’t forget! At the end of the post, I have to insert my “shall we chat?” graphic, create some questions for discussion, and then insert my sign-off. But no screenshot of that because I haven’t finished writing this post yet. :PP

flowers

3. the advanced™ formatting (coding)

CODING!!! A very interesting but sore-on-the-eyes thing.

So you see that screenshot??? You can see me use the code < small >. But without spaces, because if I do the ACTUAL coding, it won’t show up.

Well, the code < small > makes the text SMALLER. Wow. Who would’ve guessed??? But I use this for footnotes (and also little notes like this). I actually do < small > while I’m writing because it’s short and easy.

But, then comes the VERY LONG CODE of making text bigger. There are actually many versions you can use:

  • < span style=”font-size: __pt;” > — don’t put the spaces in between < > and the words, and the __ is for a specific number. i use 17.
  • < span style=”font-size: _____;” > — so the blank is for a lot of things??? like “medium”, “x-large” (which i used to use), “large”, “small”, “x-small”, etc.
  • < big > — this one’s very simple and easy. BUT it doesn’t make the text as big as i want it. soooooo. (but if you do < big > and < big > again, it’s pretty large!)

Also, after you do these codes, you have to close it with a < /span > or a < /big >. (This is really confusing, so check out this post by the wonderful Analee for more!)

The first code is the one I use. Mostly because you can adjust the size so it EXACTLY fits your taste. Just subtract a number to make it smaller, and add a number to make it bigger!

I KNOW AMAZING RIGHT.

Image result for shocked gif

I used to do ALL this coding in the HTML editor (there are two tabs called “Visual” and “HTML” underneath the title) and let me tell you: MY EYES WERE BLEEDING. It’s just all small black text and white background and UGH.

But now!!! I’ve discovered that if you put the coding in the Visual editor (like in the screenshot above), switch to HTML, then back to Visual, the changes will copy!

So now I can do all this coding and MY EYES WILL NOT DIE! Do you see why I’m so excited about this???

Also that sounded really confusing so let me show you the MAGIC:

SEE ISN’T IT MAGICAL???

So I just copy and paste the code wherever I’ve bolded the text*, do the Visual-HTML switcheroo, and VOILA. I HAVE LE BEAUTIFUL POST.**

The “Visual-HTML switcheroo” also works on wherever I’ve put < small >.

(Not so fun fact: If you’re viewing this post in my Reader, YOU WON’T SEE ALL THE BEAUTIFUL FONT SIZE CHANGES!!! Sooooo head on over to my BEAUTIFUL site and look at the differences in font that I spend a lot of time on!)

PRO TIP FOR CODING: When you type out the code, MAKE SURE IT’S RIGHT. Because if it’s not, and then you paste it everywhere… you’ll have to redo EVERYTHING. This happened to me three times for a post and I 0/10 do not recommend.

*I feel like if you make text bigger, YOU SHOULD BOLD IT. I don’t know, it just feels weird if you don’t??? Bolding is already a way of calling attention to text, and when you make it bigger, you do the same. WHY NOT DO BOTH??? Not saying that if you DON’T bold, you’re doing it wrong, tho. Just bothers me a lil.
**I PROMISE that my French is better than this.

flowers

4. featured image + categories and tags

So, I’m actually planning to do a little post on how I make my featured images??? SO I’M NOT GETTING IN DEPTH HERE.

I download a free stock photo (somewhat relating to the post) for the background image. I’M HOPING TO USE MY OWN PHOTOGRAPHY… but sadly not yet. I head over to picmonkey.com, upload my graphic template, and proceed to make the featured image.

Then I save it (or “export”, as it’s now called *glares*) to my computer, and then click on Post Settings to upload it to WordPress.

Next is Categories and Tags! I have six very general categories: blogging, book review, books, life, uncategorized, and writing. I keep it general and not that many because I’ve seen a lot of blogs with a RIDICULOUS amount of categories. Makes things hard to find.

And then for tags… well, I basically keep everything nice and concise in categories and actually NOTHING in tags.

Image result for nothing gif

TAGS ARE ACTUALLY REALLY GOOD FOR PEOPLE TO FIND YOUR BLOG!

My fear is that I’ll end up with WAAAAAY too many tags, which I’ve seen a lot of blogs have. Not saying it’s wrong!!! It’s just personally too many for my taste.

I’m trying to get better at it, but really… categories are more useful. All I’ve tagged for this post is “tutorial”. Which isn’t exactly true…? BUT NO ONE CARES BECAUSE I’M ACTUALLY USING A TAG!

flowers

5. time to gif the post!

MY FAVORITE PART.

Excuse me while I actually do the coding for this post so I can take truthful screenshots.

OKAY HELLO.

Image result for wave hello gif

So, this post isn’t very gif-able??? BUT I WILL MAKE IT WORK. (Like see, I did a gif right above this mwahahaha.)

For this step, I skim through the post, and try to find places where I could insert a gif relating to the text. I find that gifs, images, and any other thing with color are EXTREMELY important, because they make it easy on the eyes!

(Like, seriously. If the post is just all text with no fun graphics/images/gifs, MY EYES WILL HURT. This is why I stay away from eBooks #oops.)

When I find a spot I think a gif could work, I search it up, and copy and paste. I adjust the size to make it look fitting. (NOT TOO BIG THAT IT’S IN MY FACE, but not to small I can’t see it.)

 

see: i found “hunching over computer” and figured, there are gifs like that, right??? spoiler: yes, there are.

 

BUT THEN. I link the gif back to the original source. I do this in place of doing something like (via) underneath, and then linking THAT to the original source. IT’S IMPORTANT THAT YOU LINK IMAGES BACK TO THE SOURCE! So do that in SOME way.

Then I continue on my merry way with inserting gifs in the post. HOWEVER, I don’t like gifs being placed too close together, nor too far away. I have to be VISUALLY PLEASED.

flowers

6. publish the post!

And now it’s time to publish the post!

Or schedule it. Idk.

(I’ve actually been having some trouble with publishing posts??? Like the “publish” button has been permanently replaced with the “schedule” button and whyyyy. But I’ve figured out another way to publish it because I’m #genius.)

Now let the likes, views, and comments all come flooding in! Congrats to you (or me???) for finishing the post.

Image result for confetti celelbrration gif


shall we chat

so! did you like this post? was it helpful? how do YOU plan your posts, if at all? and what’s the process you go through for writing them? do you use gifs? do you use coding to make size changes? tell me ALL about your posts and how you make them!

PS this post is over 2K words long I’M SO SORRY

sign off 2.0

104 thoughts on “Behind the Scenes: Everything About My Post-Planning and Post-Writing Process! (You Know You Want It)

  1. YES MAY I LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS POST. I pretty much do all of these things (except schedule a month ahead because I used to post every day and that was stressful enough so I didn’t have the time lol). But I’ll try to schedule ahead once I get back into blogging aka after my hiatus. Which is going on for way too long. But I’m not feeling blogging at the moment. And I have papers to write. And I’m going on vacation SOON AHDHJJFKDKF.

    AnywAy, it’s like 2am and I’m exhausted and so freaking sleep deprived so my brain can’t think of anything else to say except BRILLIANT POST MY DEAR ❤️

    (I hope this comment makes sense I’m too tired to reread it omg goodnight)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’M GLAD YOU LIKE IT LOVELY! 💕 And oh god, those innocent days of posting every day. 😂 Scheduling ahead is SO useful, agh! And I KNOOOOOW THE HIATUS IS TOO LOOOONG. 😭 But if you don’t feel like blogging, DON’T. Relax ans enjoy your vacation! 💕

      JACKIE GO TO SLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      • Omg I don’t even know how I did it. The content was TRASH most of the time but I thought a good book blogger HAD to post every day so people wouldn’t forget you etc. But now I really don’t care and I wanna do my own thing!!!!!!! 😉 thank you so much my dear!! ❤️ I have a few posts scheduled for when I’m on vacation but I can’t WAIT to come back and get back into business (aka blogging) XD

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t plan my posts currently but I will be trying for the most part on my new blog. I don’t know if I could plan months ahead but that’s great that you can and do! I know it helps a lot! I think this post will help many bloggers in some way💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MUAH I LOVE YOU FOR THIS POST

    I had no idea how to do the weird coding/HTML things and I couldn’t find any good tutorials online??

    I usually plan my posts because it’s just way easier that way with school and work *massive eye roll* and all. I should probably make a schedule for posting them though woops

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This post was really helpful, May! Thanks for doing it!😊I’ve been trying to implement more interesting stuff (couldn’t think of a better word than ‘stuff'<<) into my blog, and I am most definitely not a techy person, so posts like this are suuuuuper helpful to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bruh, I didn’t know anything about that coding. Am I missing out? I feel like I’m missing out. Tell me I’m not missing out. And I don’t think of posts beforehand, smh. I’m getting there though cause it’s hard out here, especially when you start staring at that blank post screen. Our editing is actually the same though, edit while writing, gifs at the end. Gifs are the key to get my point across. It’s always needed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AHAHAHAHA it’s okay, I had no idea about the coding till I searched it up. 😛 Yes, exactly! I just feel so HORRIBLE when I know I’m supposed to post that day… but don’t have anything to actually POST. Thus why I plan things out. XD AND YESSSSS GIFS ARE MY LIIIIIIIIIIIFE.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. i have posts planned out for stuff that i know needs to be posted on whatever day, but i am a failure when it comes to blogging far in advanced 😉
    I’m that person that tends to type/finish most of the post on the day i’m posting it. WHOOPS.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, it’s good you know what you’re posting that day! And haha I know a blogger who’s planning 2018’s posts right now and I’m like WUT HOW.

      I finish posts the day I post them too! I try to write most of it ahead of time tho. 😛

      Like

  7. OH MY GOD! I have been in such a blogging rut recently, but this post totally got me super pumped again! I stopped planning my posts because I got lazy, but I am definitely going to get my act together! I totally needed this- haha thanks bunches!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. OMW THIS IS SO HELPFUL. THANK YOU, MAY.
    I actually was trying to figure out the coding for changing font sizes a couple months ago and the only thing that was popping up on Google was upgrading and spending money, smh. I did figure out the “span x-large, small etc.” thing eventually but I didn’t know the other ways until nowww.
    I’ve been meaning to plan all my posts but it never actually happens lol xD I need to try harder.
    THANK YOU SO MUCH AGAIN, THO FOR SHARING YOUR SECRETS. I’m in awe of your skills, tbh, but now I know some of the secrets behind them 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’M SO GLAD IT’S HELPFUL. ❤

      Oh, really? That's weird! I searched it up and the first results were different coding you could do for font size changes. 😛

      YES PLAN YOUR POSTS! It's sooooo helpful, gosh! And MWAHAHHAHAH I have more secrets. That you may or may not get to know. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ahhh this was SO interesting to read!! I am traditionally a very spontaneous potato, buuuut recently I’ve started planning out my posts a lot more. Like you, I plan them out in advance, though instead of the month before (WOWIE you’re so prepared May!!) it’s mostly just a few days before, or, now that I use my bullet journal, whenever I set up my blog page. Oh and I set up a plan for the dates as well! Though here my unruly potato ways come in and I don’t always follow those dates because I have to actually WRITE the post for my idea?? (*gasp*) And that takes a lot of time and sometimes I’m unmotivated. Oops. 😅

    Ahah I love your titles and how your format your posts! They’re always so visually appealing! My eyes are happy. 😂 I definitely love using different font size as well! (Thank you for linking to my post, by the way!) It just breaks up the text and makes it more interesting, for me. And oh!! I TOTALLY agree with you on bolding the large text. I pretty much always do this? It just looks much more appealing for some reason.

    And May!! You have now become my SAVIOUR for the trick on how to use the Visual editor for the HTML codes. Omg. I always accidentally paste the codes on Visual and then have to go back into the very unappealing HTML editor and GAH. It’s a struggle. I have to try out the switching back and forth thing!! 🙈 Thanks so much for that ahah.
    Lovely post, as always! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Spontaneity is awesome! Too much of it just freaks me out. XD YAY FOR PLANNING! And dude, you know Mikaela? She’s like PLANNING 2018’S POSTS AND I’M LIKE HOW??? Oh yes, bujos are nice to use for blogging stuff! And I KNOW. Like who would’ve thought that you have to actually WRITE THE POST???

      Aww, it makes me so happy that my posts are visually appealing! ❤ Font sizes are so fun. (Of course, lovely!) YESSSSS. Like I mean it's not WRONG if you don't bold large text, it just looks NICER. 😛

      AHAHAHHA HOPEFULLY IT WORKS FOR YA!!! My eyes just hurt so bad when I go through the HTML editor, but with Visual, my eyes do not hurt and all I do is click a few more buttons??? XD

      Like

  10. I found this very helpful!! And all this time you could shorten your post’s URL?? ALL THIS TIME?? 😭😭😭
    I’m definitely wanting to plan posts for upcoming months, but I’ve always wanted to have a notebook dedicated to it! No reason why, I just like notebooks hehe.
    But one thing I do A LOT is schedule posts to go up on a certain time. Like 99.9% of my posts are written in advance and scheduled because I like posting at a certain time!
    Enjoyable post as always May! 😄💕

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I LOVE THIS I LOVE THIS I LOVE THIS! You’re blogging process is way more creative than mine…im too lazy for that coding life! (Although the one cool coding trick I love for blog posts is anchor text; then your readers can like jump around so if you’ve written something long AF you can help your readers out) Seriously, this was such a good read. I love how entertaining, yet informative, your posts are! x

    Liked by 1 person

  12. YYAYYYY A Behind The Scenes post! I love these!

    I relate to a lot of what you do for blogging. I actually use the tag because it’s big enough for me *shrugs* and the xx-large for the intro sentence. my intros are usually really bad. I don’t even know anymore.

    OMG THANK YOU FOR SHARING THAT LINK THING. Because people have LONG titles and don’t change it and REALLY annoys me that their URL’s are that long. Sometimes I forget to do that and have to change it after I publish but STILL.

    I use Canva as you know and you can just change the image and text from your last thing because it saves there so that’s easy. The rest i basically do the same.

    BUT WHAT I FOUND REALLY HELPFUL is actually the first part! I totally need to work out my schedule and match them with post ideas! GENIUS

    (which is now called expert *glares* i laughed out loud at this because I related too much. LIKE I WANNA DOWNLOOOADD like stop changing names pic monkey. They also made a lot of fonts so that you’d have to pay for them SO LET’s KILL THEM. I mean oh that’s great.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think you might’ve done but then it didn’t show up??? So I’m assuming that that’s what you meant when you said it was big enough for you. XD YOUR INTROS ARE GOOD! ❤

      I knooooow. Like I found it on my first day of blogging and just… yeah. XD The link's already long with wordpress.com AND the date, so you have to make it as short as possible!

      I KNOOOOOOOW. That's the only thing I wish I had on PicMonkey — the ability to change already saved images. 😦

      I'M GLAD THAT PART WAS HELPFUL!!! ❤

      (NO DUDE YOU CAN DOWNLOAD YOUR OWN FONTS AND USE THEM WHICH IS SOOOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN CANVA???)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. This is incredibly helpful, thanks for sharing all this! I know practically nothing about coding, I think my brain freezes everytime I start to think about it. But this has encouraged me to dive into it further – maybe I can conquer this weird world of coding! 🙂 And I love planning out my blog, it keeps me from going crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is such a fun post May! Those HTML codes will definitely come in handy, though the first two don’t seem to work?? Also why has your publish button been replaced with schedule?! That’s so weird!
    Thank you for reminding me that I really, really needed to clean out my categories, which I immediately did when you started talking about people with too many categories 😂 When I first started blogging I created SO many categories and I’ve just been too lazy to delete them haha
    Oh and you’re SO organised damn. I envy you and your skills. I recently sorta tried to plan posts for the next month? But I’m not sure if it’s really working yet haha. I do write down all my ideas though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm, that’s weird? I know at first, the 17pt code didn’t work (which is why I used the second one), but then I tried again and it worked…? I KNOW. IT’S WEIRD AND FRUSTRATING. It used to flicker back and forth randomly but now it’s stuck on schedule. :/

      AHAHAHAA Having clean, concise categories is really great so I’m glad that reminded you! 😛

      Aww, thank yooooou! ❤ Oh, I hope planning ahead works out for you, Michelle! It's definitely really helpful for me haha. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I loved reading this, May! You gave me some wonderful ideas for my own blog. 🙂 I’m SO bad at planning out posts ahead of time…I just get so many ideas as time goes on…so you could say I’m the Blogging Pantser?? LOL it’s the only thing I pants.

    Annnyway, I really liked this, May! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Great post May, I loved reading more about your planning and writing process and you’ve definitely given me some tips I’ll take away in the future.
    This is going to sound really stupid but I didn’t realise you could change the URL of the post, in fact I only recently discovered the little paperclip like icon actually showed you the post URL before you published it. That’s something I’ll be keeping in mind because some of my titles, namely the Top Ten Tuesday posts, can get really long!
    Also I’m seriously in awe of how you plan your posts out a month in advance. I try and do that for the memes I take part in, books tags, and ARCs, but I’m a mood reader so there are months when I really don’t know what I’ll be posting a week in advance, let along a month! 😀
    Again great post, also I’m really excited to see what you have planned for your blog in the near future! 😀 ❤

    Like

  17. My favorite part about this post is definitely the part about you talking about planning your posts in advance. I just have one question to that… Where do you get your post ideas? I find it very difficult to figure out what I want to write about because even if sometimes I have a fantastic idea for a post I don’t end up writing it because W O W I open the page to write and boom I sit there watching the cursor blink for an hour wondering why I’m staring at a blank post page.
    I feel like you have it all figured out. Please teach me your ways!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Where do I get my post ideas??? That’s a tough question! Most of the time they just pop into my head, or are inspired by other posts. I really can’t help with that because they just randomly appear??? 😭😂 And oh yes, I can relate! In that case I just have to like FORCE myself to write the post. 😜

      Like

  18. OH MY GOD. This is beyond the regular dose of Mango Queen awesomeness *screams and jumps in hyper joy*
    Is it weird that I’ve been giving myself headaches the past month trying to Google how to change font sizes in WordPress HTML and all ol’ Googs can give me was, “You’re not allowed to change font sizes in WP yo!”
    I love how you really had aesthetic as one of your top priorities when formatting your posts. I get that. I’m pretty shallow like that as well 😅 It takes me a heck long time just getting the paragraphs to look visually pleasing.

    Like

  19. I’m always in awe at the people who can plan a month ahead. I mean I have “ideas” but nothing set in stone. Writing the posts in advance? Nope. I’m actually trying to write FOUR WEEKS worth of posts right now because I’ll be on vacation and I’ve only gotten half of one done because DISTRACTIONS EVERYWHERE (like blog hopping) hahahah Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just randomly think of ideas and then write them down for next month! I know someone (*cough* MIKAELA) who’s planning 2018’s posts and I’m like WHAT. HOW. Ooh, good luck with that! 💕 Four weeks’ worth of posts seems like a lot to write. 😂

      Like

  20. WHY DO YOUR POSTS NOT SHOW UP IN MY READER? No, I’m serious. It’s SO annoying! They NEVER show up, NEVER! And when I remember that I haven’t seen a post from you for a while…I’m always too late! 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️ #wordpress #difficulties

    Anyway, I really enjoyed reading about your post-making process! 😍 I’ve never actually make my text bigger or smaller, so I’m not really familiar with all the codes stuff you talked about. *hides* 🙈👀

    But…other than that, I totally relate to all the other stages! Of course I use GIFs! 😁 They make posts funny, enjoyable & awesome! 😜😎👍 Oooh – you use PicMonkey? I heard a couple of bloggers are using it, but I’m personally using Canva! 😏

    All in all, this was VERY helpful & fabulous! ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hmm, that’s so weird? Are you following me? (Because we ALL know that WordPress randomly unfollows blogs. 😂) And if you are, try unfollowing and then following again maybe?

      I’m glad you liked it! And hahaha yeah not everyone is into the text size thing, but it just makes for VARIETY imo. 😜

      YES GIFS ARE AMAZING!!! They really do make a post BETTER. And yup, I use PicMonkey! I tried Canva but I really just prefer PicMonkey, I don’t know. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  21. so! did you like this post?:
    Oh, goodness, I can not tell you HOW much I loved this post … it was so amazing. And it took me soooo long to read it. Like, ten years. *nods*

    was it helpful?:
    YES IT WAS SO HELPFUL!

    how do YOU plan your posts, if at all?:
    I really don’t. I try, but I’m bad at it + not organized + I always feel like I should be doing something else because I’m just like that. If I do plan, it’s basically me writing down a couple post titles and hoping I eventually get to writing them …? That’s why my blogging inconsistent + late + etc.

    and what’s the process you go through for writing them?:
    I just write them as I go. Sometimes I go back and add extra formatting (not like you; I basically just bold a couple phrases and then make certain phrases larger). In general, though, the post I write is the post I publish. (#ReasonforMessiness)

    do you use gifs?:
    Sometimes, but not usually. I don’t go searching for them. Sometimes I happen to see one, though, that I’ll use. More often than not my post is just boring text, haha.

    do you use coding to make size changes?:
    No, not usually. I don’t think I ever have, mostly because I don’t want to steal the Mango Queen’s ideas or bother with it. 😉 I’m a pretty lazy blogger …

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agh, I’m so glad you liked the post! AGH IT’S SO LONG I KNOOOOOW.

      Post titles are great! That’s what I mainly do too. But ahaha everyone works differently so maybe posting spontaneously is how you function???

      WHOA THAT’S INTERESTNG! You publish the post as you write it? WHOA. I think I’d be freaked out if I did that. XD

      GIFS ARE SO AMAZING THO???

      Liked by 1 person

      • I didn’t think it was too long! Okay, it was long, but it needed to be that long so I could see all that awesomeness!

        Probably. Although I’ve always been a planner in other areas of my life. Weird. I guess I really cut loose when I blog? Haha, no … XD

        That is why they’re kinda just put together and short, haha. But yeah, I would never post if I didn’t do it on the spur of the moment … 😉

        YES THEY ARE. I just don’t know of any good ones. Or I don’t know how to search for them without coming up with weird results … 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  22. Fantastic post, May! I’m a planner just like you, even if I don’t really have time and patience to plan a whole month ahead filled with blog post. I always have sort of an ideas-box where I write tons of ideas, and I plan the week ahead – for reviews, I can plan the month ahead since I read quickly and review veeeeeeeery slowly. I really love being organized this way, also I use Google Docs too and strike and highlight the things I already did, it feels GOOD to strike things out haha, right? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

