Bloggers for Change: How Blogging Can Help with Social Anxiety | Part Three of a Collab (!!!) with Abigail and Charis

Blogging is AWESOME.

Because of many reasons! You make new friends, find awesome blogs, and create something that you’re supposed to be proud of.

But not only is blogging supremely awesome, it can be extremely helpful.

As part of Gracie’s Bloggers for Change project, I’m teaming up with Abigail and Charis to talk about various ways that blogging can help with social anxiety.

This is a bit different from what I usually post, but I feel like it’s something really important to talk about so hopefully you’ll enjoy it???

I’ll be talking about how blogging can help people with social anxiety interact with others in real life. Check out Part One (by Abigail), and Part Two (by Charis)!

flowers

ABOUT THE PROJECT + DISCLAIMER

To learn more about Gracie’s blogging project, click here.

To sum it up, the purpose of this project was to use blogging to change the world, and present a campaign. My group and I decided to bring awareness on a topic that we think isn’t talked about often, and show how blogging can help it.

Disclaimer: I DO NOT HAVE SOCIAL ANXIETY. (At least, not professionally diagnosed. There’s a fifty/fifty chance I have it, BUT it’s not certain.) So I may get some facts wrong—which I truly apologize for.

I also am NOT saying that blogging is a cure for social anxiety. I’m only detailing the ways it can HELP with it, and that’s not even the case for everyone. EACH PERSON IS DIFFERENT.

Image result for everyone is different gif

So if I get anything wrong, please do not hesitate to let me know! Also be kind if I DO make a mistake, because that’s what it is—a mistake. I am not at all aiming to hurt those with social anxiety.

Without further ado*, I present to you**: ways that blogging can help people with social anxiety interact in real life!

*I SOUND SO FORMAL WHAT IS THIS.
**AYY IT RHYMED.

flowers

1. interacting with others online can make it easier to interact with others in real life

Of course, interacting with others online isn’t the same as interacting in real life.

You type to talk, you often don’t see the other person’s face or body language, you can get confused by what they mean (but tbh this happens irl too #oops).

But the thing is: you’re INTERACTING. Interaction is really hard for people with social anxiety, but doing it online is much easier!

Real life interaction is much harder, but interacting ONLINE can help people with social anxiety feel more comfortable with interacting with others! I know that ever since I’ve started blogging, I’ve felt a little less shy—and I’m a pretty shy person!*

Image result for shy gif

*I know it may not seem like it since I’m screaming all the time… BUT I’M REALLY SHY OKAY.

flowers

2. blogging can make you feel more confident

When you scroll through your blog, looking at the graphics you made yourself (hopefully) and all these posts you crafted yourself (hopefully), you feel PROUD.

You feel POWERFUL.

You feel CONFIDENT.

In yourself, in your blog, in everything you’ve put into your blog. Obviously, there will be moments of self-doubt, both about yourself and your blog, but you then you’ll (hopefully???) become proud of yourself again.

Confidence is a big thing to people with social anxiety. Often (but not always!!!), people with social anxiety have low confidence. Blogging can help them BUILD that confidence, and it may carry on to real life!

An example from me (though I may or may not have social anxiety): I’ve definitely gotten more confident since I started blogging! I’ve gained more confidence in myself and what I do, and it’s highly possible that people with social anxiety can too.

flowers

3. blogging can help you deal with negativity

You can get a lot of self-doubt from blogging. Are my posts as good as theirs??? Why/how have they gotten so many followers in a shorter time than I’ve been blogging??? HOW ARE MANGOES BEING OVERALL BETTER THAN ME???

Or people can be mean to you. They can trash you and your blog, make you feel bad, all sorts of things! It’s hard to deal with it, but over time and with practice you’ll get better with accepting the negativity and finding positivity instead.

Or maybe you just keep being negative idk.

THE POINT IS, blogging can help make it easier to deal with negativity! Many people with social anxiety can have negative thoughts, so being able to deal with them is KEY to not letting your anxiety get the best of you.

Image result for be positive gif

FOR EXAMPLE: You think this post is going to fail because why on earth would they ever like reading about this and you also talked about something controversial and now you’re going to be hated on and !!!*

But then people actually love the post! Some agree with you (and why wouldn’t they, you queen), and if they don’t, they don’t hate on you!

OR. A lot of people disagree with you. They don’t like what you’ve written and try to debate with you on what’s right. BUT. There will always be people who support you no matter what, and that can give you the strength to THINK POSITIVE!

Wow that was so cringy I’m sorry.

*This is just an example of what anyone might think, not a person with social anxiety would. I don’t want to give any specific examples like that because I! HAVEN’T! EXPERIENCED! IT!

flowers

4. other bloggers/people online can inspire you

Of course, bloggers/people online can inspire you on MANY things. For example, I’m inspired to not make typos. I’m inspired to write funny (???) posts. I’m inspired to be a better book reviewer. LOTS OF VERY IMPORTANT THINGS.

But not only can they inspire you to not make typos or write funny posts or be a better book reviewer, but also inspire you to be better and do better. They can inspire you to work hard and play hard.

And if some bloggers have social anxiety… well, GREAT!* Seeing how others are (hopefully) successfully dealing with their social anxiety can make you feel like YOU CAN TOO! Because you CAN.

It’s like seeing someone read 200+ books a year and saying, “I could do that too omg.”

NO I ACTUALLY CAN’T but are they INSPIRING me to be a faster reader and read all the books of ever??? Yes.

*Not like great that they have social anxiety but like great in the way that—yeah I’ll shut up now.

flowers

5. the community can make you feel like what you say is okay

People with social anxiety often feel like they’ll be judged for what they say, or embarrassed by it, or maybe they’ll offend someone.

Through blogging, you say a lot of things. That’s how you blog??? What would a blog be without posts??? BUT YOU SAY A LOT. To someone with social anxiety, blogging may make them anxious at first.

But then the community comes in. The community is SO SO extremely supportive and kind and sweet and genuine and loving. The fact is: There will be haters. But there will ALWAYS be more supporters than trolls.

Image result for i will always love you gif

They can make you feel like you WON’T be judged for what you say, you WON’T be embarrassed by it, you WON’T offend people.

A lot of the times, the worries that people with social anxiety have are exaggerated.* But the supportive community will lessen those worries.

It can carry into your real life and thus make you more able to interact with others. The support that others give you is so important to making you feel “okay”, and blogging provides SO much of that support.

*NOT FOR EVERYONE THO!!! But even for me, as someone who may or may not have social anxiety, my worries are often exaggerated.


shall we chat

do you have social anxiety? or do you think you might? how has blogging helped YOU interact with others irl, regardless of whether you have social anxiety or not? and who are your blogging buddies who support you??? (spoiler: me)

sign off 2.0

70 thoughts on “Bloggers for Change: How Blogging Can Help with Social Anxiety | Part Three of a Collab (!!!) with Abigail and Charis

  1. I wouldn’t say I have social anxiety. But I could totally relate to Evan Hansen singing “Waving through the Window” and he has social anxiety. So maybe I also do???
    Anyway. Whether I have social anxiety or not, yes I’m also shy like you. And I totally agree that blogging has helped me be a lot less shy than I was before. I mean, I used to just sit in the corner and stare at people and be a total creep. Now… I still sit in the corner because sitting in the middle feels uncomfortable (hekhek) BUT! I talk to people and be a bit more friendly when I need to or they’re asking me a question. It’s a great character development, if I say so myself 😄

    Liked by 2 people

    • AHAHHAHAA I’VE BEEN MEANING TO LISTEN TO DEH UGH GET ON IT MAY. And yeah, when I was doing research for this, I found that I sometimes experienced a lot of symptoms of social anxiety… but I don’t know for sure!

      Blogging has DEFINITELY helped me be less shy! But I also feel the need to avoid people??? But yeah, there are a couple of times where I’m SO not shy and I’m like YAS. CORNER-SITTING ALL THE WAY! 😂

      Like

  2. This is a great post, and I think you’re right that alot of people find solace in blogging. It’s a (fairly) healthy way to express yourself, follow your interests and interact with people. And us book bloggers are pretty cool people!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I don’t think I have social anxiety, but I DO know that I’m a very very very shy person & when in public (e.g. School) I sometimes deal with a lack of self-confidence. #sad 😔

    BUT…ever since I started blogging, my life has changed in many ways! I’ve started having more confidence, mainly because of the loads of positive feedback I get on my blog! That feeling when you know that people all over the world are reading what you have to say & actually like it, agree and relate is enough to make me SO SO happy & confident! 😍

    Even though the people at my school have never really expressed interest in what I have to say – there are hundreds of others out there who actually & genuinely do! These days, I feel more valued and it’s the best feeling ever! 😊

    I TOTALLY relate to #1 and #2 in your post, because they 100% apply to me! The interaction I’ve done via blogging has made me feel that I’ll be able to interact face-to-face with people & not mind (even tho I’m still the same shy person)! Besides…I’ve made dozens of cool blogger friends (like you!) and the majority know that high-school friends don’t last forever, especially when they don’t support, appreciate or even respect you! 👊

    So…yeah! Back to your post…I REALLY LOVED THIS! ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 3 people

    • I MIGHT have social anxiety but I can’t say anything for sure. Oh yes, I definitely agree — I’m getting less shy but I DEFINITELY lack self-confidence, especially when talking to people. 😕

      Yes, exactly! I’ve had real-life instances where I talk to people without being anxious or anything, and I think it’s because of blogging interaction! And YASSSS the support and friendship of the blogosphere is simply AMAZING! 💕

      I’M SO GLAD YOU LOVED IT!!! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahaha I’m the exact opposite of a socially anxious person. I’m not shy, I talk to everyone, and am the stereotypical fangirl 😀 But my best friend has serious anxiety issues (I think the reason we’re best friends is because we’re so?? unalike??? but exactly same.), and her therapist told her to start a blog (and make a timetable to deal with stress, but that was unhelpful). She wasn’t expecting it to help, but she just came over to my house and we built up a blog for her. She didn’t have a schedule, no fancy graphics – she just wrote down whatever came into her mind. It helped her, a lot 🙂 I think that knowing people enjoyed her writing, without caring who the author was, made her happier. She closed the blog a few months ago, though. 😦
    BUUUUUTTTTTTTTT THE POINT STILL REMAINS: BLOGGING IS VERY HELPFUL AND AWESOME. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • AHAHAHA WOW I’D LOVE TO BE YOU. 😂 And oh wow, what an interesting story! I never would’ve thought that therapists considered blogging to be helpful too! That’s really cool, that the blog helped her. And AWWW I WANTED TO READ HER WRITING. 😂

      YES BLOGGING IS HELPFUL AND SO AMAZING!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 🙂 I don’t have social anxiety but I have a couple friends who struggle with that and just normal anxiety. Communicating online has helped them a lot, so I definitely see where this post can help with confidence and whatnot, even for people without social anxiety 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I love this idea! It’s true that blogging can be helpful in so many ways! I didn’t used to have bad social anxiety but it has worsened in the last 6 years to the point where the thought of going to any social gatherings gives me major…well…anxiety of course. In short I have ro force myself to go out and afterward I am either really tired or feel like crying😅 but that’s just from the sheer amount of strangers talking to me! I do feel like blogging helps confidence and helps you find more of a voice and it’s certainly a great tool!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Amazing idea for a collab! This just NEEDS to be talked about ❤

    I think all your points are true. I mean I don't have social anxiety (Well i think i don't) but given your explanations, I feel blogging can be a place to interact without having to actually…well interact XD Blogging gives you a voice helps you speak out and can really help you out if you're feeling down! Though on Twitter i feel like you can't have your opinion only the rigt opinion but generally the community is the sweetest and most supportive

    Liked by 2 people

    • I agree, social anxiety needs to be talked about more often!

      Yes, exactly! The blogosphere is a place to interact without ACTUALLY interacting (face-to-face). And yes yes yes blogging gives you a voice and makes you feel like what you have to say is valid. AHAHAHAHA I’ve heard about the drama on Twitter, god…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for this; all of what you said is true! Especially the confidence part… I have a hard time inserting my thoughts and opinions into everyday conversation because I just assume no one cares what I have to say. But then I’ll make a blog post, and people will comment and like, and it just makes me feel so much more self-assured ☺️

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, blogging helps so much with confidence, even for people without social anxiety! It gives us a voice and makes us feel like people actually WANT to hear what we say. It makes us feel “validated”, though we’re already “validated” without having to blog. 🙂

      Like

  9. Great post!! I don’t have social anxiety, but I am shy and blogging has definitely helped me a lot in this past year. I’m not as shy anymore, and I’m definitely more of a social person, and I can talk to new people without it being awkward (well, sometimes it can be awkward at first but after that it turns out to be really fun).

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Hi May! Wow, wow, wow! I guess I have already read/commented, but I had to say SOMETHING. This post is totally beautiful and unique to you (May). You’ve done this project proud and I feel so so so so so so so so so so SO happy after reading this. Words cannot express my thanks at your effort and enthusiasm towards my project. Thank you!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. This is a great post May, and I’ll definitely try and check about Abigail’s and Charis’ parts to this as well. 🙂
    I don’t have social anxiety but I do find it hard to talk to people in real life. I’m an introvert and just awkward around large groups of people which not only makes blogging easier for me, because I can talk to groups/people I don’t know and it’s less awkward, but blogging has really helped me open up more as well. People I work with have told me they’ve seen my confidence improve a lot and I think that’s partly down to the blog. 🙂
    Great post, I loved this topic because I think it’s important to talk about these things and offer support to other bloggers who are going through something like this. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s definitely super hard for me to talk with other people! Yes, I’m so awkward with other people haha. Oh, yeah, blogging has helped me open up SO MUCH! And wow, that’s so cool that your coworkers have noticed that your confidence has lifted! I hope other people can say that about me haha. 😛

      I agree! Social anxiety is definitely talked about often, and it should, along with other disorders, disabilities, mental illnesses, etc. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s easier to talk to people on the internet because you write what you want to say, and you have the opportunity to go back and change the sentences you think don’t sound right. Can’t do that when your speaking aloud.
        I’m sure they can. It always gives me a nice feeling when someone mentioned my confidence had improved. 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Wonderful post!! ❤

    I personally don't have social anxiety, but I know I, and a lot of other people, can relate to feeling uncomfortable/extremely awkward in social situations. I feel like getting used to your blogging voice online can really develop your confidence as a person, and also it helps you become more comfortable voicing your opinions!! So yaayyy blogging!!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. This is SUCH a great post, May!
    I don’t have social anxiety (at least, I’m not diagnosed with it) but I am very quiet and I do have a hard time opening up to people etc. Blogging has helped me so much, especially, like you said, with my confidence. It’s nice to have a hobby that I’m good at and that allows me to interact with others, even if it’s not technically in real life. I feel so much more confident in my interests and personality and talents way more now than I ever did before I started my blog.
    Thank you for this super important post!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I definitely relate to not being able to open up very easily! Blogging has TOTALLY impacted my confidence, and it’s so cool that it’s impacted others as well! And aww, I’m so happy you’re feeling more confident in yourself, Lenna! You’ve got a lot to be proud of. 😊💕

      Like

  14. May this is SUCH a lovely post! Unfortunately most of these don’t really apply to me. For example I’m still having trouble interacting with people (and when I do my mind always goes ‘WHY DID YOU SAY THAT’ even though at the moment of the conversation I’m fine but then bam the anxiety kicks in rip), but I do feel like the blogging community has helped me with my confidence (still have low self-esteem though) when people actually like my posts, post lovely comments and follow my blog. And boy do they inspire me!! Love this post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hehe I’m totally awkward so it does cause extreme social anxiety! I also use WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYY more words than most people have the attention span to listen to… hahhahaa… yeah. So blogging has helped A LOT… you kind of get a clue when NO. ONE. COMES. BACK. I’ve come a long way and mannnnyyyy bloggers have been so lovely to me! It’s a great community!!

    Like

  16. Fantastic post, May – we’d never guess you are shy in ANY kind of way when reading your blog posts. Blogging is fantastic for that, and for so many other things for sure 🙂 I agree that it’s easier to talk online than in real life. I’m a bit shy even if it has gotten way better the past few years, I’m still feeling a bit awkward in some situations and overall just not in my place, or in a place where I am actually allowed to speak up. Blogging, WordPress blogging, has really helped me though, I feel like I am allowed to speak up there in a genuine way and have people supporting me, which feels great. I don’t know how I’m feeling about it now – I mean, I’ve been away a bit, I’m here now but I’m leaving again, with my holidays and everything and I feel like I’ll have all of the anxiety coming back, but well -. It was such a lovely post, May, thank you so much for sharing this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahahaha, yup! I’m quite shy. But yes, blogging is definitely helpful in lots of ways! Oh, wow, I never would’ve guessed you were shy in real life either! Aw, exactly! Blogging has “created” supporters for us and it feels SO good. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post, Marie. 🙂

      Like

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

