The Pros and Cons Viewing Posts on the Site vs. the WordPress Reader + My (Very Biased!!!) Opinion

The important question is: Where are you viewing this post RIGHT NOW?

If you’re viewing it on my actual site, YAY GO YOU I LOVE YOU KEEP DOING GREAT THINGS.

If you’re viewing it in the WordPress Reader… bye.

I’M JUST KIDDING COME BACK.

As you can tell, I have a very biased opinion on where you should view blog posts. And because I know people have different thoughts on this as well, I thought, Why not write a discussion about it? AND HERE I AM.

I’m a very big believer in viewing posts on the actual site, but I will try my hardest not to let my bias show in my list of pros and cons. (Lol it ain’t gonna work.)

And I also realize* that there are other ways to view posts, but these are the main two, yeah? And I also don’t really know the other ways…

*I spelled this as “realise” at first I SWEAR I AM BRITISH.

flowers

PROS

  • You get to see the actual BLOG DESIGN. Why is there a blog design in the first place IF NOT TO SEE IT??? On the site, you get to look at the blogger’s BEAUTIFUL design that they probably spent all their time and effort and souls on.
    .
  • You get to see the FORMATTING. In the WordPress Reader, you won’t see when I make text bigger. You also won’t get to see when I make the text black and when I center it and ALL SORTS OF THINGS I spent lots of work on smh.
    .
  • You can open as many tabs as you want!!! If you’re behind on posts, you right-click the “Visit” icon in the Reader, click on “open link in new tab”, and continue doing so until you have many posts open to read and comment on easily. VOILA.

Image result for voila gif

  • You can go to the blog’s pages. In the WordPress Reader, you don’t have access to the blog’s menu. (THIS IS BECAUSE THE READER IS NOT THE ACTUAL BLOG AND YOU SHOULD VIEW THE BLOG AS IT IS AND !!?!?!???!?!!!*)

*I’m not… passionate about this.

flowers

CONS

  • It takes more time for the page to load. You could be really lazy and you just don’t want to wait for the page to load (the WordPress Reader takes time, but not as much). Or you’re so lazy that you don’t even want to make a WHOLE new tab.
    .
  • If the blog design is ugly, you don’t want to see it. And… um… yeah. I DON’T KNOW I CAN’T THINK OF ANY CONS. Or or or maybe the blog design is really confusing and it’s just easier to look at the post in the WordPress Reader.
    .
  • You, uh, don’t want to see the formatting??? MAYBE YOU DON’T LIKE IT IDK. Perhaps the font is really hard to read and you’d rather read the post in whatever the default WordPress font is. (Anyone know???)

Dude I’m sorry I AM TOTALLY BIASED.

flowers

PROS

  • It’s easier! This ALL depends on the person because I personally find viewing on the site to be easier, but maybe in the WordPress app* it’s just easier to view posts in the Reader, aka the app, than opening up ANOTHER app to view it.

Image result for roll eyes gif

  • You don’t have to open up lots of tabs. Some people don’t like to do this! I agree, it does make me feel a little claustrophobic. And then you might get mixed up with everything and it’s overwhelming and JUST TOO MUCH.
    .
  • What’s the point of a Reader… if you’re not going to read posts on it? Okay so I’m just roasting myself here but it IS called a READER for a REASON. (Ignore the fact that this isn’t an actual pro.)
    .
  • You can stalk bloggers’ amount of followers. Maybe you want to see how many followers someone has (I don’t know a healthy reason why this would be the case???) but you can’t see it on their blog. SO STALK THEM IN THE WORDPRESS READER.

*I don’t have the WP app so I wouldn’t know. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

flowers

CONS

  • NO. BLOG. DESIGN. Dude. People make money off of blog design. They have businesses. They work hard. Some bloggers (LIKE MEEEEE) design their own blogs and it takes time. And you’re not even going to look at it??? WHAT’S THE POINT.
    .
  • You can’t see the formatting. These are literally the exact opposite of the viewing-on-site pros but still—you don’t see some formatting of the post (nor the personalized fonts!!!). And let me tell you: FORMATTING TAKES SO MUCH TIME.

Image result for sigh gif

  • There is no individuality. The Reader makes every post LOOK. THE. SAME. Of course, there’s different graphics and gifs and voice and things like that, but that’s it. THEY’RE ALL THE SAME. Nothing sets that blog apart, which SUCKS.*
    .
  • Oh, and sometimes pictures aren’t as high-quality. I’ve HEARD, though I don’t exactly KNOW for myself if this is true. I just know that sometimes people write “Read this post on the site for better quality pictures!”

*It also sucks for me as a visual person, because whenever someone mentions a blog, I immediately think of the blog design. And if I view it in the Reader, what will I visualize the blog as then???

flowers

MY OPINION

So you guys OBVIOUSLY know which one I’m for. But let me explain!!!

For me, the pros of viewing on the site outweigh the cons. The cons for viewing in the Reader outweigh the pros.

I spent sooooooo much time on my blog design. I spend soooooooo much time with the formatting of my text. People not seeing the things I’ve put hard work into makes me ANGRY. MAD. FRUSTRATED.

Image result for angry gif

(Don’t worry I still love you don’t run awaaaaaaay.)

So I don’t want to be that person who doesn’t see the things that people put hard work into! I’m not ACCUSING one of anything; I’m just saying that that’s how I personally feel.

On top of that, I’m a very visual person and seeing different blog designs is something that helps me remember the blog by. If I even THINK of a blog name in my mind, I immediately visualize the blog’s header. That’s just how I roll!

But with the WordPress Reader, I can’t do that.

I also find it easier to scroll through my Reader, “like” the ones I’m not that interested in reading, do the right-click-open-in-new-tab thing for posts I DO want to read, and then be able to easily switch from one post to another.

INSTEAD OF CLICKING ON A POST, COMMENTING, THEN GOING BACK, THEN CLICKING ON A POST, COMMENTING, AND GOING BACK AGAIN. Ew. Gross. Too much work.

Buuuuuuuuut! This is just MY OPINION, and this is just how I work! I’m not saying that I’m right and you’re wrong. We all function in different ways and that’s COMPLETELY OKAY.

flowers

DISCUSSION TIME!!!

I welcome discussion in the comments (TELL ME ALL ABOUT YOUR VIEWING POSTS PROCESSES), but no hate, please! In the end, we’re all just here to read posts from blogs we love, whether it be from the site*, or the WordPress Reader**.

Image result for jazz hands gif

*YAY.
**BOO.


shall we chat

time for the DISCUSSION part of discussions! where do YOU view posts: on the site or in the wordpress reader? why do you prefer it? or do you not really have a preference? add some pros and cons to my list! (we can all tell mine suck)

sign off 2.0

153 thoughts on “The Pros and Cons Viewing Posts on the Site vs. the WordPress Reader + My (Very Biased!!!) Opinion

  1. […] Bloggers but loads of time and effort into making their blog look amazing. I’m trying out a new design. Take the poll! Feedback is always appreciated. Also  May@ForeverandEverly did great post on how you should read posts on the blog not the reader because of how much time bloggers put in to site design. Check it out! […]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very visual, and I am all for supporting my fellow bloggers, so I open the sites and view in blog! I think it adds to the experience by being able to see the design and the full post as it was intended. Plus, I know it adds to the view stats and I think those are important to see. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I TOTALLY AGREE! I even write my posts in such a way with the colours that it would MATCH my blog’s theme and photos, and I’m just in despair if people read them in the Reader. After seeing another blog do it, I actually changed the settings so now even the reader posts show the first paragraph or so and gives the link to read the post IN THE BLOG. I was really unsure of this because people might not WANT to click the link then read and just be lazy instead, but yeah I did it.

    Liked by 2 people

      • I’m actually not sure? I had done it but then removed it after a few months because a lot of people read through the reader by using the tags and stuff. It IS possible though.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I took my time and concentration to make my blogs look good and they rarely see the look of it?……and the same goes for other bloggers?….Well the more you know. *goes to a corner and writes PATIENCE 100 x 100 times with a single tear drop shed.* Thanks for the insight.

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

