9 Things “Regular People” Should Never Say to a Bookworm (Unless You Have an Extreme Death Wish)

There are MANY things that offend bookworms.

Some of these include: 1) insulting their fandom/favorite book, 2) interrupting their reading, and 3) not giving them your money when they demand politely ask for it omggg how ruder can you get.

But not only can your ACTIONS offend bookworms and/or make them cry, but also your words. And because bookworms are very fragile creatures who will easily break, I’ve compiled a list of 9 things you should NEVER say to a bookworm.

Unless you want to die, of course. In that case, go on ahead and tell every bookworm you know the following phrases! You most definitely WILL NOT get a pineapple thrown at your head???

Seriously tho, you don’t want a pineapple thrown at your head—LOOK AT HOW SPIKY THEY ARE.

But pineapples are also quite aesthetic and come on you LIVE for the aesthetics…

NOTE: I’m a bit salty in this post so beware of that. :))

flowers

1. “here’s another book for your tbr!!!”

SO BOOKWORMS EITHER LOVE RECOMMENDATIONS OR HATE IT. I’m that one kid who loves it but also hates it. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Seriously tho? Something makes me happy about expanding my TBR. If it’s happy in a sadistic, “oh look more books that I will never ever get to read and will one day all fall on my head and kill me!!” way.

BUT you have to admit that when someone recommends you a book, it’s likely to be GOOD. And you want to read all the good books, yeah?

Also does it not give you pride to have 1000+ books on your TBR like WHOA 1K HOW COOL IS THAT.*

But then other times you just feel like a depressed lump of wet cardboard whenever someone recommends you a book because how the frick will you have time to read this precious smol book??? Spoiler: YOU WON’T.

*I’m sorry, I swear I’m not here to look cool. Stop it May you’re sUCH A LIAR.

flowers

2. “[insert spoiler]”

NEVER. SPOIL. A. BOOKWORM.

This is what will happen to you:

Image result for oh no you didn't gif

Image result for throwing yourself at someone gif

Image result for running after someone gif

^^ how to keep idiots entertained for 30 seconds ^^

Well actually, a correction: Never spoil a bookworm if they know what the book is that you’re spoiling. So like maybe you say, “There’s this one book where the MC dies at the end and it’s not even that great because she just randomly DIES.”

And then you proceed to rant about it, but do you give away the actual book title? NOPE. Therefore I don’t classify it as spoiling it. But other bookworms are sensitive be careful.

flowers

3. “um… don’t you need more shelves???”

No, despite the fact that my books are strewn all over the floor and I cannot shove them onto my shelf, I do not need any more bookshelves.

UM DUH I DO WHY ARE YOU POINTING OUT THE OBVIOUS???

Obviously we need more bookshelves. Please don’t rub it in that I do not have the money or space for that. I CAN SEE. I HAVE EYES. My precious books need a home, I know!!! Please stop making me feel horrible!!! Thanks homie!!!

flowers

4. “what puny little arms you have.”

This is a VERY SENSITIVE BOOKWORM TOPIC because you know what an extremely underrated bookworm struggle is??? The fact is that books weigh A LOT and if we’re doing it right, we’re gonna carry MANY books and that just equals much pain in the arms.

I mean, this is your girl who once did like 60 push-ups in a row (idk how I did that honestly) and she STILL has trouble carrying a stack of 7 hardcover books.

WHY ARE BOOKS SO HEAVY.

And more importantly why are they SO EXPENSIVE.

Image result for dropping books gif

And then when you’re holding them up to read, sometimes your arms just give out and the book falls on your face because your arms are like “Why do I have to sustain this pain???”

Do not talk to bookworms about having puny arms, okay. WE’RE TRYING TO DENY THIS FACT.

flowers

5. “chill.”

I WILL NOT CHILL I HAVE NO CHILL WHATSOEVER HOW CAN YOU TELL ME TO CHILL I’M LIKE A RED HOT CHILI PEPPER DIPPED IN HOT SAUCE AND OTHER SPICY THINGS* AND ALSO LITERALLY ON FIRE.

Yeah, I actually do not have any chill.

But seriously!!! People can say “chill” to readers at so many occasions, the more common ones being when 1) they’re damaged, 2) they need to cry, 3) they need to rant, 4) they’re angry about something in the book, and/or 5) THEY NEED A MOMENT OF FANGIRLY SQUEALS OMG.

There are other non-chill moments, which just proves that we canNOT chill, so just don’t even bother telling us to.

Also this would be the appropriate place to stick in “they also tell me to chill with the amount of books I devour” but alas, I do not read that many books. I cry.

*I cannot eat spicy food for my life btw??? WHICH IS BAD because I’m Thai and a lot of Thai food is spicy help.

flowers

6. “i’ve never read [insert fav book/series]”

BOI YOU GET ON IT ASAP BECAUSE YOU NEED THIS IN YOUR LIFE OR ELSE YOU WILL ACTUALLY DIE K.

^^ Legit what I want to scream at everyone in this and other universes about multiple books.

Okay, so maybe bookworms can be a little self-righteous in the way that we are completely awestruck by the fact that people haven’t read our fav books but my friend, we do not have time to be self-righteous and we just need to SCREAM AT PEOPLE TO READ THE DANG BOOKS.

I mean, gently and politely encourage for others to pick up a book and see if they like it.

I’m very gentle and polite.

Not screaming inside.

No. Not at all.

Image result for screaming gif
if i’m having nightmares from seeing this when i searched up gifs, i’m bringing you down with me ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

flowers

7. “what are you reading?”

*inhales deeply*

Hello, my name is May and I hate when people ask me “What are you reading?” because this usually means that they see me reading a book and INTERRUPT MY READING TO ASK THAT QUESTION WHO DARES TO DO SUCH A CRIME OMGGGGGGGG.

And then the also doing it when I have the book propped up on a table and they can fully see the cover and title but still they ask me what I’m reading. No thanks???

OH OH OH and there’s also when they ask you to SUMMARIZE what the book is about like heck no I’m here to read and enjoy my book and not summarize like a fricking school assignment.

Also I probably don’t remember what happened on the previous page so that’s a bit #awkward.

flowers

8. “you’re such a bookworm.”

…Is this supposed to be an insult???

I am a bookworm and proud. And you make it sound like an INSULT.

HAHAHAHHAHAHHAAHA get out of my face. Now.

flowers

9. “stop reading.” or “you’re always reading.”

Image result for disbelieved stare gif

I am a READER. What am I expected to do if not READ??? Telling me to stop reading it like telling me to stop breathing and do you really want to tell me to die.

Frankly, I’d be scared if I wasn’t reading. One time I didn’t read anything for 24 hours and I freaked out. Books are honestly our oxygen* and WE CAN’T STOP READING. Thus why you can’t ask us to do that, because it’s futile and annoying.

ALSO WHILE YOU’RE AT IT, please do not 1) cover the page with your hand, 2) interrupt us while we’re reading, and/or 3) do anything else to distract us from the beauty that is called a book.

Honestly this one annoys me the most because HELLO am I called a reader because I DON’T read books??? What even @ everyone.

*Please help THIS SOUNDS GRAMMATICALLY INCORRECT AND IT’S BOTHERING ME.


shall we chat

are you a bookworm? do you want to strangle people when they say these things? what else shouldn’t people say to you, lest they want to die a horrible death? is it spoiling if the person you’re spoiling doesn’t know the book title? can you eat spicy food??? (teach me your ways)

P.S. are those my ugly legs + hand in the featured image??? yes, yes they are. (THE FILTER MAKES THEM LOOK UGLIER THAN THEY ARE OKAY.)

sign off 2.0

115 thoughts on “9 Things “Regular People” Should Never Say to a Bookworm (Unless You Have an Extreme Death Wish)

  1. i am so honoured to have first comment 🙂
    I AM MOST DEFINITELY 100% A BOOKWORM. And I know so many people who say stuff like this and thanks to my imagination (another bookworm trait ha ha) I can torture them in various manners in my head. I won’t go into too much description tho lol. Oh and funny story: how I met one of my best friends. He was trash-talking JK Rowling and I hit him on the head with a pencil case. #sorrynotsorry But then I told him to actually read Harry Potter before dissing it and now he’s cool.
    Spicy food isn’t that bad – like, I have my limits, but mostly it’s fine. Tip: if you have to eat something really spicy in front of other people, close your nose and eat it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha! This is too funny. 😂 I totally get all of these, especially the one about being asked what I’m reading. We should rant together! 😃

    And, yes, I can eat spicy food. It’s not for everybody, but I LIVE for good spicy food. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Seriously, NEVER ask me what I am reading! Unless you want a diatribe of what I am currently reading, usually this is countered with a suggestion of what I should read next. Then someone gives me the book and I am all….”Okay…I want to read it, but I am overloaded in that genre.” or “Given the news, I don’t feel like I can emotionally handle this dystopian fiction right now. Give me a few weeks.” They look like I just said their first born was an ugly baby.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahahahaha don’t they see that you’re reading something RIGHT NOW and that you don’t need a suggestion of what to read next?? And omg YES other people don’t understand that you have to be in the mood for certain books. 😂

      Like

      • Yea like even now I told my mom I will read Small Great Things soon, which looks great and I want to read it, but I am also like…themes and mental health are a thing. So I am trying to read a Lizzie Borden alternate history, and a thriller at the same time this week trying to get both done by September 1st. This should be interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I was getting ready to ask if you took the featured image yourself! It looks great, dear. 🙂
    Great post! Thankfully some of these things have never been said to me, but the ones that do are honestly SO ANNOYING OMW.
    Also, for some reason I always spoil books for myself?? Like, I’m done reading for the night, but then I don’t feel like turning off my light (but the next chapter is too long) and I end up skimming and reading ahead. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ahahaha this post was really great!! I totally relate to all of these. Whenever I’m reading at family gatherings (because I do that hahaha) my relatives always ask me what books I’m reading and it’s SO ANNOYING. I’ve also accidentally spoiled books for myself (*cries*) and it was really really bad haha
    xx
    Em

    Liked by 1 person

  6. OMG I was thinking ‘did MAY take that featured image or is it stock?’. SO THANK YOU FOR ANSWERING MY QUESTION. But YOUR LEGS ARE NOT UGLY. Well, i mean can legs alone be ugly? IDK let’s not get into the technicalities of this okay??

    OMG MY FAMILIES LIKE ‘omg u read so much’ and i’m like ‘WELL? WHAT ELSE AM I SUPPOSED TO DO WITH MY LIFE?’ I don’t understand? Like my family really likes book but when I come home from the library it’s like ‘and I thought I read a lot’ I’M LIKE IT’S ONLY 10 BOOKS? Which I had to carry home by the way AND BOOKS ARE HEAVY OKAY! Like I love you hardbacks but you make it hard for my back, Okay? But books DON’T MEAN TO MAYYY. 60 push-ups in a row? GURL, #wow.

    No, you know what’s WORSE than ‘“i’ve never read [insert fav book/series]” is ‘I’m never going to read {insert book]’ or ‘i don’ like X book even tho I haven’t read it’. LIKE BRUH NO. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. N. O. That is NOT COOL. I AM FREAKING OUT OKAY? and no I won’t chill.

    OMG…if someone says ‘should i tell you what happens?’ or ‘i remember that’ I immediately start screaming or kill them. Whatever is easier, to be honest. I DO NOT LIKE BEING SPOILED or my books spoiled. It is the worst thing ever okay?

    AND OMG I was about to get a book yesterday (book #13 for series of unfortunate events) and my bro was there and he was like ‘get that one’ but it was a different cover to all the other books and i started hyperventilating LIKE NOOOO. True story.

    are you a bookworm? do you want to strangle people when they say these things? what else shouldn’t people say to you, lest they want to die a horrible death? is it spoiling if the person you’re spoiling doesn’t know the book title? can you eat spicy food??? (teach me your ways)

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes the struggle of an entire series with one book without the same type of cover. If I have an entire series in hardback, I will buy all the rest of the books in that series in hardback, the struggle is reeeeeeeeeeal.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your posts are always guaranteed to make me laugh! (even if it’s silent in my head because i’m in health class right now.)😂 ESPECIALLY “WHAT ARE YOU READING.” That gets so irritating. I am tryyyying to read. And spoilers are also the worst! Great post, May.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  8. *CRaacks knUCKles*
    OKAY RECOMMENDATIONS, I LOVE YOU AND I HATE YOU. I’m so happy when people rec me books, but at the same time when I see my TBR getting longer and longerrr and longer I just CRY INSIDE because I KNOW I will never be able to read them all YET I WANT TO SO BAD. WHY CAN’T WE??? I MEAN,,,,,,,, we’d all be SO HAPPY.

    dAMN, If someone spoils anything for me I just go *rabid animal attack* BECAUSE THAT IS NOT OKAY HOW DARE THEY, THE STUPID HUMANS NEED TO BE ENEDED. And don’t even get me started on shelves. . . I’M LITERALLY CRAMMING MY SHELVES AT THE MOMENT AND IT’S BURSTING AT THE SEAMS. I cannot fit anymore and when people point that out they either suggest 1) don’t buy so many books / don’t read so much (HA.NO.DIE.) or 2) You should buy some more (WELL I WOULD BUT MONEY, silly human!)

    WUT ARE “CHILLS”, JUST.,, What does “CHILL” even mean?????? I HAVE NO TIME FOR CHILLS.

    7………… KMN.

    MY ENTIRE FAMILY’S LIKE “YOU READ TOO MANY BOOKS,” “ALL YOU DO IS READ,” “YOU SHOULD GET OUT MORE,” “ALL YOU BUY IS BOOKS,” “YOU ‘WASTE’ YOUR MONEY ON BOOKS,” “YOU NEED TO STOP READING NOW.” And all I say is NO. JUST NO. What else am I to do with my life?????? JUST SIT THERE? I DONT THINK SO!!!!!!!! I could be out doing drugs, but no I AM AT HOME, SAFE, NOT-HIGH, AND READING. WHATS SO BAD ABOUT THAT? READING IS FABULOUS AND NO ONE CAN SAY OTHERWISE. *hands out cake to all the other bookworms*

    (Sorry, my comment was really long and shouty 😀 )

    I loved your post, so funny!
    LUUUUUUUUUU

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOOOW RIGHT??? Like yes please I love me some good books but LOL @ ME IF I’M EVER GONNA READ THEM.

      SPOILING IS THE WORST. And sometimes it’s accidental and I’m just like okay,,,, I still hate you. 😂 And AHAHAHAHA I don’t have that many books but I don’t have a big bookshelf and I’m squeezing the books in and HOPING I don’t break them. 😂

      AHAHAHHAAHA YESSSS. That is 11/10 logic right there. Reading is much better than drugs or violence or killing or drinking right??? LET ME READ IN PEACE.

      I’m so glad you liked my post! :’)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly 😂 were never gonna read them all BUT WE’LL BE DAMNED if we’re not gonna at least TRY TO!!!

        Yassssss any spoilers = they die.

        I have one book case, which is good because if i had any more I WOULD BE UNCONTROLLABLY BUYING BOOKS (more than i already am ofc 😂😂)

        Exactly, we’re innocently reading *SCREAMS ON THE INTERNET ABOUT HOW SHE LOVES STABBY BOOKS*

        Liked by 1 person

  9. YOUR FEATURED IMAGE IS GREAT and so are YOUUUUU. ❤ This had to be said.
    I love this post – but I always love your posts, so nothing new here ahah. I'm so with you on the recommendations, I both love and hate them so much because I want to read all the books and end up having like NO time to read them all and don't know which ones to prioritize so I end up having an existential crisis. being a bookworm is haaaaaaaard.
    I hate when people ask me what I am reading and to summarize the book because I JUST CAN'T hahaha I can't do that I feel like I am rambling and I just want to say, JUST READ THE BOOK.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ADJSLFLSJD YOU’RE TOO SWEEEEEET. 💕💕

      Exactly! I LOVE being rec’ed amazing books but I despair because will I ever read them??? Most likely NO. YES CHOOSING WHAT BOOK TO READ IS THE WORST. 😭

      I KNOOW. I mean I ask people what they’re reading but like,, WHEN THEY’RE NOT READING. And I never ask them to summarize. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. OF COURSE I”M A BOOKWORM! And yes, these all drive me crazy (I’m totally sending this post to my brother… he needs this information. Grrrrrr.)!
    I don’t think it’s spoiling if someone doesn’t give the book title… unless they say something else, like a distinctive character name (or really ANY character name). Because that is not nice, people.
    Also, spicy food is a NO. I can’t eat anything spicy… even if it’s just a little bit spicy.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mayyyy you better be talking about pineapples because you don’t want to hurt any mangoes by throwing them… Don’t make us dethrone you from the Mango Throne!

    MAYYY NO WHYYY WHY THAT GIF THERE GOES MY SLEEP CURSED IMAGE

    BOIIII THE ‘WHAT ARE YOU READING’ QUESTION NOPE NOPE I just hold the book out for them to read the back because I can’t summarise?? HOW DO I SUMMARISE THE GLORY THAT IS THIS BOOK I don’t

    It’s spoiling if it’s really obvious which book you’re talking about. For example: ‘so in this book this boy goes to a wizarding school’ I mean,,, sure you could be talking about another book, but people will THINK it’s Harry Potter anyway so even if you’re spoiling another book bookworms will think you’re spoiling Harry Potter and still get mad and murder you ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (okay most bookworms have read Harry Potter but still)

    Another to add to this list: ‘why did you bring a book’ WE’RE TRAVELLING BY TRAIN MOM ON TRAINS YOU READ IT’S BOOKWORM LAW

    Liked by 1 person

    • I WAS TALKING ABOU ~OTHER~ BOOKWORMS THROWING PINEAPPLES BECAUSE OBVIOUSLY ~I~ HAVE ALL THE MANGOES!!

      Ahahahha GOOD LUCK AT NIGHT!

      I knooow like please, I probably don’t even remember the sentence I just said, do you expect me to summarize a whole book???

      Ahahhaa YES, it’s spoiling when you can tell what book it is! But unless it’s bookworm to bookworm talk, it’s likely that the “regular person” doesn’t even know a lot of the books. (Wow today I’m not making sense, I’m sorry.)

      OMG YESSSSS. And ??? I’ve never been on a train before ??? I WANT TO THO.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I love this post May. 🙂 I love recommendations for my TBR list, the more books the better in my opinion. I mean yes if my TBR list were all physical books I’d be about to be crushed by them but you can never have too many books. Oh if someone spoiled a book for me they better start running, unless it’s a book I know I’m not going to read and I don’t mind being spoiled for it. Sometimes I have discussions with my friends about books and I’m fine with spoilers then because I know it’s a book I’m not going to pick up.
    If someone asks me to summarise what I’m reading I can never do it, I always end up ending my sentence with ‘it’s better than I make it sound’! 😀
    Great post, hopefully you haven’t had to deal with too many of these things being said to you. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahahhha, yes! I mean of course getting book recommendations is awesome — it’s just that we’ll never read them all NOOOOOO. Oh, that’s so great that you have discussions with friends! I totally agree — I spoil books for MYSELF when I know I’m not going to read it! XD

      Oh my god YESSS. I can never summarize books right. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve reached the acceptance stage, acceptance that I’ll never get through all the books on my to-read list but I’m still going to give it my best shot. 🙂
        Sometimes you just need to know how a book will end despite not wanting to pick it up yourself.
        That’s what blurbs are for right? To summarize books when we can’t! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Example of major sorrow in my life:

    Me: * start reading*
    Mother: Come here and do this and this.
    Me: *do things, come back and start read again*
    Mother: *enter room and start to talk. Sometimes about nothing*

    Or when I order new books: oh, look another of her package. Of course it’s another of mine. Why they can’t get that I need to own new books even if I’ve tons to read?
    A thing that really gets on my nerves is when I talk to people, and I’m like: yes, I read a lot.
    Person: Oh, I read hundred pages in a month or one book during the whole year. *then stat to laugh*
    Are you trying to prove something? Are you trying to be funny? What? WHAT?

    Liked by 1 person

  14. are you a bookworm?
    No.

    THAT WAS SARCASM.

    do you want to strangle people when they say these things?

    No.

    ALSO SARCASM

    what else shouldn’t people say to you, lest they want to die a horrible death?

    “You’re weird”
    LOOK, SWEETIE, WHAT’D YOU EXPECT ME TO BE??

    is it spoiling if the person you’re spoiling doesn’t know the book title?

    eh… because I can generally guess.

    can you eat spicy food??? (teach me your ways)

    HECK NO. WHO CAN BECAUSE THEY SHOULD TEACH ME. I live in the south, we drink SWEET TEA.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SO MUCH SARCASM TODAY, DAISY.

      AHAHAHHA YESSS. Like I mean, I won’t kill someone for telling me I’m weird because, 1) I know, and 2) I’M PROUD.

      I live in the south as well! And ahahah I should be able to eat spicy food because I’m Thai but NOPE.

      Like

      • I CAN’T HELP ITTTTT/

        WEIRD AND PROUD

        FLY THE WEIRD FLAG (what flag? someone make one. put a jackalope on it.)

        GASP.

        GASP.

        *whispers* someday in the future we’ll need to have a meetup and drink sweet tea in a stereotypical fashion

        POOR MAY

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Hi, May! Tomorrow (8/29/2017) is Megan’s (abarefootgal.wordpress.com) birthday! I’ve been spreading the word and I thought you might want to know in case you wanted to leave her comment or something. 😉

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  16. I only like recommendations from people I trust, I’m not a huge fan of people randomly suggesting I read books without any knowledge of what I actually enjoy reading in the first place! As for spoilers, I don’t think there’s a bookworm alive who enjoys them (unless we actively go looking for them…) but when I’m reading a book and someone decides it’s a good idea to talk about major plot points I clearly haven’t read yet… 😡 People laugh at me when I cry at books (excuse me, I’m a super sensitive person!!) And I do often get complaints about the amount I read, mainly from my sister… it sucks, doesn’t it! Thanks for a great post ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, recs from people I trust are the ones I’ll probably actually, well, trust! Ahahhaha NO ONE LIKES TO BE SPOILED. It’s like in a movie or TV show — do you want to be spoiled about what happens??? NO. And whaaaat? I just complain about how many book people read because I’ll never read as much as they do. :’)

      Liked by 1 person

  17. LOL MAY! Book recommendations are a no…? Actually I kind of agree and disagree…? (I know HOW CAN IT BE BOTH?!) There are so MANY books out there and I want to read them all but I can only read 8-10 books a month and you know MORE BOOKS GET RELEASED EACH MONTH, lol. Seriously I DO LOVE recommendations… but I HATE disappointing people who love the book and I only though “meh” so I try to go for ones that I think I will like? ❤ Lovely post… the spoilers was spot on! I've been spoiled a few times by accident and I couldn't finish the book *cries* Sometimes though I'm not sure what is a spoiler? I'm not telling them the twists but is telling them some of the details a spoiler? Troubles of a Book Reviewer…

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I agree with all of these. I HATE IT when people ask me to summarize the book I’m reading. First of all, I’m still reading it. Who the heck knows what’s going to happen next? Second, if I’m really into a book and you interrupt me, don’t expect me to come up with coherent sentences. Even if I know what the book is about, I’ll be like: “It’s–euh–about a girl who lost her sister and–euh–she’s grieving and–yeah” And then I’ll start reading again hoping you’ll LEAVE ME BE
    (Can you tell I’m an introvert??) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Let’s see…

    1) Recommendations. It depends on who is doing the recommending. Do you know me at all? Do you know what I do and do not like to read? Do you know what will or will not be triggering for me? If it’s someone who knows me, knows what I like, and suggests something based on something else they’ve seen me read, I tend to be okay with that. If you just tell me I should read “x” just because it’s good and then get pissed off when I choose not to read it because of content and subject matter, yeah, you can just bite me and go away.

    2) Spoilers. Umm get away from me, Satan. No. Just no. Do *NOT* spoil the book for me. Just don’t. Now, you wanna tell me about a book you read that I’m probably not going to read. Okay, fine. Talk away. Similarly, I try very hard not to write spoilers in my reviews. Once in a while it can’t be helped, but I always put a big spoiler alert at the top so people know it’s there and know not to read past that point.

    3) “You have too many books” (similar to the “You need more shelves”). No. Just stop. There’s no such thing as too many books. Period. Don’t even open your mouth anymore. Just hush.

    4) “You are such a bookworm”. Thanks! And ummm duh?! How long have you known me? You’re just now figuring this out?! Yeesh.

    5. Interrupting me while reading – just don’t. It’s not pretty. Just spare yourself that image of me flying off the handle. Unless there is a natural disaster happening (tornado, hurricane, etc.) or the building is on fire, just leave me alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, if the person recommending me books is someone I trust, I’ll probably, well, trust their recs! Ahahaha YES like just because you recommend me something doesn’t mean I’ll read it/like it???

      SPOILERS NOOOO AAAAAAGH. Yeah, if it’s a book I know I won’t read, I’ll probably be fine with spoilers. 😂 Same! I try to be vague in my reviews, or just mark the spoilers.

      YOU’RE SO RIGHT there is NO such thing as too many books asgjjsjfjdlalfksja. 😂

      I KNOOOW. Like yes I know I’m a bookworm and I’m proud so can you just not????

      INTERRUPTING A READER WHILE THEY’RE READING IS THE WORST. THING. EVER. OMGGGGGGG.

      Like

  20. WOW YES I CAN RELATE TO NUMBER 7 LIKE MY OWN FLESH AND BLOOOOODD :””’) Seriously at this point I just hold up the cover for the person to see and then 9 times out of 10 they’re like “is it good?” and then 9 times out of 10 I’m like “no” and then they leave HOPEFULLY. xD It’s a struggle though because WHY! ARE! THEY! INTERRUPTING! US!

    Also I can super relate to “chill” <<<< like……………
    ………………..
    ………………………………..what makes you think i'm not chill
    *explodes with anger*

    :') *cries on your shoulder* YOU'RE NOT ALONE

    Liked by 1 person

  21. i loved reading this! What annoys me most is when people ask me how i read so much.I JUST DO, OK, AND I LIKE IT! Spicy food is awesome! Great post! By the way, where do you make your graphics? Maybe you could do a post on that!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I love this post! I CAN’T DEAL WITH SPICE EITHER. I don’t understand how people can eat spicy things?! Like, teach me your ways.
    Spoilers are the worst ugh, although I’m awful at accidentally spoiling people when I’m ranting so I tend to only rant when I know someone a) has read the book or b) has told me 100% they aren’t going to read it. I don’t think it is spoiling though if there are no key details mentioned like title, character names, specific places (especially if it’s fantasy). For example if I said “this happens at Hogwarts” it’s so obvious that I’m talking about Harry Potter.
    I hate being told “you’re always reading” like it’s an insult?? I mean, I’m a bookworm, what do you expect me to do??
    WHEN PEOPLE ASK WHAT I’M READING AS A CONVERSATION STARTER I CAN’T. EVEN. I’m reading because I don’t want to talk and I want to read so no, look at the book yourself and find out or wait until the book is down. I’m also awful at summarising books because I end up telling the whole story so I just sort of awkwardly point at the blurb.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MY MOUTH IS ALWAYS ON FIRE WHEN I EAT SPICY FOODS.

      Ahahahaa YESS. I’m such a hypocrite — I accidentally spoil people sometimes, but I HATE when that happens to me!! 😂

      OMG YESSS. Like if you’re asking me about what I’m reading, I WANT TO READ. Soooo please leave me alone maybe??? 😂 And gosh I SUCK at summarizing, so bad. 😂

      Like

  23. Found your blog via Shar’s post at Virtually Read!

    LOL, this post is on point. Number 5 though. I HAVE NO CHILL EVEN THOUGH OFTEN I PRETEND TO AND IF I’M SHARING WITH YOU WHEN I HAVE NO CHILL, YOU HAD BETTER NOT SLAP ME IN THE FACE BY TELLING ME TO CHILL.

    But I digress.

    Anyways, this post is amazing, your blog is gorgeous (I am a big fan of pink!), and I will definitely be poking around, like the awkward bookworm I am. 🙂

    Alexa
    thessalexa.blogspot.com
    verbosityreviews.com

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I LOVED THIS POST AND GOSH YOU HAD ME NODDING AND SMILING 😍

    Recently I’ve gotten into a habit of browsing second hand book shops in all these cute historical towns we’ve been visiting and my brother goes every single time “can you stop buying more books you already have a million to read at home and plus you don’t have space” and I’m just like HOW DARE YOU TELL ME TO STOP BUYING BOOKS

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

