May’s Moments of the Month: August // Too Much Stress & Rain + Actual!!! Writing!!! + My First ARCs Omgggg

There’s only one word to describe August: STRESSFUL.

Stressful school, stressful writing project, stressful plot bunnies, stressful reading, STRESSFUL EVERYTHING OKAY. And then on top of that, Hurricane Harvey hit Texas, and while I’m okay*, THERE WAS SO MUCH RAIN AND GLOOM AND UGH.

Everything just made August a very dreary unenjoyable month. (Read: stressful school.)

But! While it wasn’t very enjoyable, I do feel like August was a pretty overall great month, productivity-wise! There were lots of really awesome things about it. Okay so the hurricane kind of cancels it all out??? BUT MOVING ON.

*I’m sure you were all worried for me. Right??? RIGHT???

mmm reading

I read 8 books this month! I thought I’d only get to seven but then I managed to squeeze in one more HALLELULJAH. Tho the stupid book I’m reading for school got in the way as;dfljaslkfja.

This month was really weird??? I was unmotivated to read, and while I enjoyed most of the books I read, I just felt kind of… disconnected.

I also asked permission from my mom to get them physical ARCs (because I’m a minor and I need that), and she said yes! I lowkey requested like… twenty books but whatever???

And then, just a few days ago, some ARCs arrived in the mail!!! They were The Nowhere Girls, Starfish, and An Enchantment of Ravens. I’m so so surprised that I got AEOR since it’s SUPER hyped??? But I’m actually the most excited for The Nowhere Girls. :’)

Also I thought I’d read books like Shatter Me and Caraval, but I didn’t. (Sorry, Jackie and Ju!) Then I’d thought I’d read The Book Thief and others, but then I checked out some new releases and ditched them #oops.

So that’s why I have two really ugly photos! Also, did I on purposely cover the ugly book cover faces with flowers??? Yes I did. (Looking at you, Juliette and Tolstoy.)
arrow 1

august 1  august 2

~titles link to Goodreads page bc I have no reviews~

  • Asking for It Louise O’Neill // AS;DFLJASLDFAJ this is SUCH an important book with amazing messages and PLEASE READ IT. That ending thooooo. ★★★★☆ [4.5 stars]
  • The Dark Prophecy Rick Riordan // This book took me six days and I blame it for putting me behind but Uncle Rick!! The usual sassiness!! Need the sequel!! ★★★★☆
  • Highly Illogical Behavior John Corey Whaley // AMAZING book with great rep and brought out so many emotions in me. >.< ★★★★☆ [4.5 stars]
  • The Careful Undressing of Love Corey Ann Haydu // This was so… meh??? It was good, but also bad??? Actually I forgot what even was bad about it oops. ★★★☆☆ [2.5 stars]
  • Our Dark Duet Victoria Schwab // One word: A;LDFJA;LSJFD;LJSDFA. My heart is broken and my soul is shattered, thanks Schwab. ★★★★★
  • Always and Forever, Lara Jean Jenny Han // As usual, the rep is amazing and it’s just light and fluffy! Great conclusion to the series. ★★★★☆
  • The Forbidden Wish Jessica Khoury // Pretty sappy but I love it. Looooove the setting + mythology! Plus ALADDIN IS SO SMOL. <33 ★★★★☆
  • Tash Hearts Tolstoy Kathryn Ormshee // I actually enjoyed this one!! I just felt a little bored??? Something was off and it just… jdaf;lksdjfads. ★★★☆☆ [3.5 stars]

arrow 2

arc haul?

So this isn’t really a “haul” but LOL I ACTUALLY DON’T CARE.

arcs august

  • Starfish Akemi Dawn Bowman // Pretty cover + half-Asian MC??? UM, YES PLEASE. I sorta forgot what it’s about (something about art school?) but heeeey it looks cool and I’ve heard good things about it!
  • The Nowhere Girls Amy Reed // I’M ACTUALLY THE MOST EXCITED FOR THIS ONE. It has a pretty cover (ofc) and it also talks about rape culture and um yes please??? GAH I’m so excited aj;lfkas;dlfka.
  • An Enchantment of Ravens Margaret Rogerson // I’d originally requested for the above two, but later asked for this one. AND I GOT IT??? Shook. It has a pretty cover and it’s SO hyped, so hopefully it doesn’t disappoint!

What can you take away from this besides being jealous??? That I have excellent taste in book covers.

favorite book of the month?

Wow, only one book this month was a five-star??? I’M DEFINITELY GETTING MEANER. But this, without a doubt, goes to Our Dark Duet! This actually damaged me even more (I was already damaged before by Schwab), but I still loved it.

disappointment of the month?

The Careful Undressing of Love was a disappointment. It was so promising, but it didn’t execute. Or at least, SOMETHING didn’t work it…

I NEED TO WRITE MY REVIEWS DANG IT.

Tash Hearts Tolstoy was also slightly disappointing. I literally finished it two days ago and I totally forgot why I didn’t like it so YAY!!!

most fun review to write?

Ha. Ha. Ha.

I reviewed like NOTHING.

The only review I wrote in August FOR a book I read in August was my review of Asking for It. Which I guess was cool because I got to rant about rape in it??? And god knows I’m extremely passionate about that. :’)

mmm blogging

  • I reached 800 followers! In 7 months of blogging! Yay! Also I realize I said I’d been blogging for 8 months in a post but hahhahaha nope I suck at math.
  • 13 posts
  • 5,998 views (SO FRICKING CLOSE)
  • 1,337 likes
  • 1,505 comments
  • 102 WordPress followers + 1 email follower
  • I definitely had more blogging-related posts this month, because that’s what people wanted more of apparently???
  • I also shared a lot of blogging secrets and GAHGHAG why do I keep doing this they’re supposed to be secretssssss.
  • I took down my Posted Writings page because of someone and also redid my header and some widgets!
  • I’m planning on redoing my Lovely Blogs page so that it’s just my favorite blogs instead of RANDOM BLOGS WANTING TO PROMOTE THEMSELVES. Like yay for promoting!!! But who r u.

top posts of the month?

blogging process  school goals  wordpress reader vs. site

I’m honestly REALLY SURPRISED that one of my top posts were my school goals??? What are you doing with your life if you want to read my school goals???

favorite post of the month?

never say bookworms

Guys, I just really loved this post, okay??? IT WAS SO MUCH FUN TO WRITE. It was full of salt and me raging and being uncharacteristically rude* and it was ALL VERY FUN. I’m thinking of doing a Part 2???

posts i loved?

around the internet?

  • Ehhhhh not much happened. Concerning ME, at least. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • One of my GR status updates got over 200 likes and I’m pathetically very proud of that.
  • Oh yes, VE Schwab (a favorite author of mine) signed a $1 MILLION BOOK DEAL with Tor to write a new series featuring the surviving cast of the Shades of Magic trilogy. HAVE MY DREAMS BEEN ANSWERED??? DO I HAVE A NEW REASON TO LIVE???
  • Also can I just,, lowkey BECOME Schwab. I mean like, $1 million YES PLEASE.

*GASP. I KNOW. Me??? Rude??? Never.

mmm writing

  • First of all, remember that writing contest I mentioned in posts earlier??? Well if you don’t, too bad, because I entered and won!!! This is my third year entering, and I’ve won two times, so I’m pretty proud of myself.
  • But UGH MY ENTRY WAS SUCKY. It was an old project of mine (IMS), and while I hold it very close to my heart… BLECH.
  • (Okay so I found out I won yesterday so it didn’t count as August BUT WHATEVER.)
  • (I’ll probably share it again in my September MMM. #noshame)
  • But it’s sad because I’ll be in California during the awards ceremony. That takes place at a book festival. With 10+ authors I want to sign my books. Including Marie Lu.* *CRIES*
  • Anyways, enough whining!! I planned out three plot bunnies, and then at the end of the month, I had you vote on which one you wanted me to write. I still kinda haven’t decided on any yet (I’M VERY INDECISIVE OKAY) buuut I’ve narrowed it down to two!!
  • Oh, and if you wanted to know, the winner of the poll was the Peter Pan Mental Illness Retelling, with Of Flowers and Skin in second, and Gold Glitter third!
  • I also hosted a writing project called The Scribbler’s Challenge, and it was SO MUCH FUN! Sure it was stressful and pressuring and overwhelming, but like I said: FUN!!!
  • I wrote responses to my own prompts so that was cool too. I sorta kinda really hate what I wrote tho.

*I REALIZE I’VE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS MANY TIMES BUT I’M STILL VERY VERY SALTY OKAY???

mmm life

  • Well first off, I STARTED SCHOOL.
  • *sits down and cries*
  • Why couldn’t I have stayed standing and cried.
  • I already started procrastinating on the second week… not good. BUT now I’m better about not procrastinating so yay for that! However, LOTS OF STRESS.
  • On better news, I got a new phone! It’s a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge. I didn’t like the Edge part but 1) I like it now! and 2) whatever I can get, right???
  • IT HAS SUCH A GREAT CAMERA OMG I’M CRYING.
  • I have unlimited data which is weird because my parents only have 2 gigs, but hey I’m not complaining. :))
  • Then Hurricane Harvey hit and the effects were WAY larger than we’d expected. It was originally supposed to be three days of rain, THEN A WHOLE WEEK, and then three days. So??? I’m very confused???
  • All my heart goes out to my fellow Texans who are affected by this! (And NOT just Houston. I mean, obviously Houston, but DON’T FORGET THE OTHER CITIES!!)
  • Oh, and dance company (team) rehearsals started up again! Last year I was in 7 pieces and now I’m in… 11. WOWOOWOW THAT’S A BIG CHANGE RIGHT THERE.
  • #proudofme
  • Oh yeah, and it was my mom’s birthday! We did like… nothing. I feel bad but I think as you get older you start to not like celebrating the fact that you’re, well, OLDER.
  • Sorry, mom.

mmm goals last

READING

  • read at least eight books this month

    Exactly eight, man, I’M ON TOP OF MY GAME.

  • ask permission for and start requesting for arcs!

    I DID AND I DID! As I said before, I received my ARCs just a few days ago and AFJ;ALDSJFA;LSDKFJA I’M SO EXCITED.

  • interact less on goodreads

    HAHAHHAHAHAHHAHA I AM HONESTLY SUCH A FUNNY PERSON.

arrow 1

WRITING

  • plan out all my plot bunnies

    Well it didn’t say FULLY plan out all my plot bunnies… I did plan??? Just not very good. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  • at the end of the month, choose a plot bunny to work with

    It’s not certain but I have narrowed it down to two!! *cheers*

  • don’t procrastinate writing

    Weeeeeeeeeell that didn’t work out.

arrow 2

BLOGGING

  • reach 850 followers

    NOPE! And I’m completely okay with that! I’m currently at 845 (so close, I know) but hey, numbers don’t mean that much do they??

  • fix header and goodreads graphic ✓✓✓

    I fixed the header but not the Goodreads graphic??? Heck, I even changed the Goodreads challenge thing AND fixed up some text widgets AND replaced the bio image. GeT oN mY lEvEl!?!??!

  • DON’T FLOP THE SCRIBBLER’S CHALLENGE ?

    I THINK I DID FINE BUT IDK DID I???

arrow 1

LIFE

  • drink more water

    Hahahahhaha nope. And it sucks because now we can’t bring our fricking BACKPACKS to our classes and I’m way too lazy to carry all my binders + books AND my water bottle??? So I have to drink from the fountain and I hate tap water.

  • fix my posture

    HAHAHA I’m such a failure. :’) Can someone please just randomly scream “BACK!!!” at me everyday??? Thanks.

  • PRIORTIZE SCHOOL OVER BLOGGING

    SORT OF SORT OF SORT OF I’M BETTER THAN I WAS LAST YEAR THO!!

mmm goals this

READING

  • read at least ten books this month

    So I DO have school (which sucks), but I’m planning on doing ~something~ that’ll give me more time soooooooo.

  • review my arcs???

    Two of the ARCs I got are releasing on September 26th, so I need to get reviews up for them ASAP!

  • write!! my!! reviews!!!

    AHAHAHAHHAHA I’M SO BEHIND I HAVE LIKE 8 REVIEWS TO WRITE RIP.

arrow 1

WRITING

  • finish plotting out + character developing whatever novel i’m going with!

    I need to get this done in September (OMGGG SEPTEMBER ALREADY ADSJ;FLASJDA), so that in October, I can outline, and in November, I can write!

  • write more poetry

    I love love LOVE writing poetry, and with the responses to the Scribbler prompts that I did, I felt like I took on a more lyrical style, and I want to transfer it over to poems!

  • don’t procrastinate writing

    This will probably be a third failure in a row for this goal but that ~something~ will surely help me get closer to achieving it?? Hopefully??

arrow 2

BLOGGING

  • reach 860 followers

    So you probably know that ~something~ from this goal but I’M NOT GONNA SAY ANYTHING ABOUT IT!!!

  • fix the dang goodreads graphic

    FIX IT MAY FIX IT JUST FIIIIIIIIX IIIIIIIIT.

  • ***** and **-******

    I’m very secretive, but this has to do with that ~something~ and I don’t want to give it away. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

arrow 1

LIFE

  • drink more water

    I ACTUALLY NEED TO DO THIS???

  • fix my posture

    I’m not kidding can I hire someone to email me daily and say “MAY YOUR BACK STRAIGHTEN YOUR BACK”???

  • get nine hours of sleep at least twice a week

    SO. I know that nine hours of sleep every day is NOT going to happen for me, so I want to get it at least twice a week! I just procrastinate all day and then do everything at night rip.

bullet
A surprise! 
And let’s just say… it’s a bad surprise. I’M SOWWY. But this is good for me and my well-being and you don’t want me to SUFFER, do you??? You want the very very best for me. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Also you can probably guess it.

bullet
Daaaaaaaance.
Classes start this Tuesday, and Company has already started rehearsals. I’m in more pieces this year for Company, and I’m also in a higher level for dance classes, so I have to work my butt off HAHAHHHAAHA help.

bullet
Reading and writing!
At least I hope so??? I want to read ten books this month, and I’ll honestly be SO happy if I get that. (My record is 12 in a month bless my pathetic soul.) And I also want to just WRITE more adfj;ajsdflsdja;dljdf;as.


 shall we chat

how was YOUR august? have you gone back to school yet? what was your favorite read of the month? any goals for september? were you affected by the hurricane? and can you guess my ~something~??? (no, you can’t) (you probably can)

P.S. this is like 2.5k words long rip I’M SO SORRY

sign off 2.0

131 thoughts on “May’s Moments of the Month: August // Too Much Stress & Rain + Actual!!! Writing!!! + My First ARCs Omgggg

  1. You got Starfish?! IT’S SO GOOD YOU’LL LOVE IT. It’s about art and social anxiety and family and school and I just love Kiko!
    Congrats on winning the writing competition! That is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, congrats on getting your very first physical ARCs! I wanted to request An Enchantment of Ravens as well, but then I realized I literally haven’t been reading for two months SO WHY WOULD I DO THAT? I’m thinking of going back to requesting ARCs much later this year since I still have October ARCs to read and THERE ARE SO MANY AMAZING 2018 RELEASES. I’m so impatient.

    Also, ah, I keep forgetting that most people still haven’t gone to school yet since I’m in my fourth week next week! XD Hope everything works out for you (and I feel you on trying to put school over blogging. I literally can’t do it)! And thank you so much for linking back to my post; WHY ARE YOU EVEN INSECURE; YOUR BLOG IS SO SUCCESSFUL???

    (Also, I don’t know if it’s just me, but none of the pictures are showing up, which is a travesty???)

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOOOU! Ahaha, no you should totally request it! Tho it’s coming out this month ahaha. OMG YESSSS all these amazing 2018 releases are making me DIE. But a lot of the ones I’m looking at are REALLY popular so I don’t think I’d get them. XD

      Yeah, I’ve been in school for about three or four weeks too! I started two weeks early for schools in my area, and earlier than a lot of other people. And of course! ❤ AWW THANK YOU SO MUCH IT MEANS A LOT COMING FROM ~YOU~. ❤

      (Agh, thanks for letting me know! I've fixed the problem. 😀 )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I will email you and scream at you amou about your posture! Then you can scream at me to fix mine and we can cry about our posture together. *cries* O_o You got An Enchantment Of Ravens? That is so cool! I can’t wait to read that! The others sound good too! My dad’s friend is a librarian, and she went to this convention thing and brought a few ARCs for me, but idk if they’re supposed to be distributed like that and if I’m technically allowed to have them? So I’m kinda holding off of those books until I get to ask her about it. 😬 Congrats on winning the competition!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So, I actually discovered your blog by stumbling across your July wrap up. I just love how you do monthly recaps, like, I just want to live in them. They’re just so funny and perfect.
    And I’m from Dallas, and I keep crying every time I go on FB. It’s just heartbreaking how much flooding happened and all the devastation. I’m going to school out of state, but I’m helping organize a fundraiser. My heart just breaks for my state.
    And yes, this storm is just so much bigger than just Houston. It’s all the destruction from Corpus Christi to Lousiana. Though I wrote ‘just Houston’ like it’s no big deal. It’s a big deal to the city, obviously. But a lot of other towns and communities are affected.
    Wow, what a rant.
    I just love your blog. You’re epic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • AWWW THANK YOU SO MUCH ELIZABETH!!! ❤ I'm glad you like my wrap-ups, because I LOVE writing them ahaha.

      I know, it is! I'm not in the affected cities, but we did get a lot of rain, and I can't imagine what it would've been like to get even MORE rain! And YESSS. Of course Houston is in a horrible situation — especially because they weren't told to evacuate in the first place and other coastal cities were — but don't forget the other affected!!

      Ahahah, I ranted as well so you're fine!

      THANK YOOOOOOOU. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. CONGRATS ON YOUR VERY FIRST ARCS I’M ACTUALLY CRYING TEARS OF HAPPINESS BC THIS IS SO COOL. STARFISH AND AN ENCHANTMENTS OF RAVENS??????? TWO OF MY MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASES OF SEPTEMBER????? I’m trying really hard not to be jealous right now! I actually have an e-ARC of Starfish and I should probably start reading since it comes out soon-ish and I’ve been a very slow readers these past couple of weeks!!! BUT TELL ME ALL ABOUT AEOR WHEN YOU’VE READ IT I REALLY HOPE IT’S GOOD.

    And I’m very VERY disappointed in you May. How have you not read Shatter Me yet!???!?!!?? Actually, I’m one to be talking when I haven’t even read Six of Crows lol BYEEEEE *hides in corner*

    And what is that -something- that you keep talking about omg I’m probably really dumb and the only one who can’t guess what it is.

    Omg there was ONE MORE thing that I wanted to mention but I FORGOT. I HATE WHEN THIS HAPPENS.

    Anyway congrats on winning the writing contest and I’m happy to hear that your Scribbler Challenge went so well!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I KNOW I’M CRYING TEARS OF HAPPINESS TOO AGAGAGHGHHH. And ahah girl you got an ARC OF WONDER WOMAN so I guess we’re even??? (Tho not really bc it’s freaking LEIGH BARDUGO.)

      OMG OMG JACKIE CAN WE BUDDY READ STARFISH??????????

      I was about to say “SORRYYYYYY” but then I realized that you made an even bigger crime smh.

      (Shhhhh don’t tell anyone else but you’re my very good friend so I’m telling you — I’m taking a blogging break. *runs away*)

      THANK YOOOOOOU! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha yas girl we’re even!!! BUT OMG YES WE CAN LET’S DO IT. But just a warning, it’ll probably take me WEEKS to finish it bc I’m so busy with my papers so we better start now so I’ll make it in time for the release date XD

        We’re both #criminals smh.

        OOOOHHHH REALLY. Oh no what will I do without your posts May. I’m always looking forward to them 😩 but I totally get it, you should take alllllll the time away from blogging that you need! Look at me, I said my hiatus would be over on July 31st and here I am… still stressed out to the max and still in a slump and just DJSHSSJDJHS. I don’t know what to do. ANYWHO will you be announcing it on your blog? Or are you just silently gonna sneak away 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • YASSS. I’m reading AEOR right now but I’ll probably finish it today or tomorrow, then I can start on Starfish!!

          Aww you’re so sweeeeeet! ❤ YESS exactly! And girl I miss you and your posts so much but don’t force yourself to start blogging!!! Maybe you could just write a post for fun but not post it?? And then judge how you felt about it — like did you love it or dread it??? But if you’re stressed out, you might want to wait till that passes! 😂 Yup I’ll be announcing it soon!! 😭

          Liked by 1 person

          • omg did I reply to your mail??? I honestly can’t remember hahaha. But that’s a good plan!

            Aww hehe ❤️ I sometimes get really excited about writing new posts like I’ll randomly get hit with ideas and I’m just like YESSS. And then there’s times when I have no motivation whatsoever and I even think that I’ll never go back to blogging??? Idk I’m weird XD

            Liked by 1 person

            • Yup, you replied!! I’ve finished AEOR now and already started Starfish (…like the 2nd page XD)

              AND AWW NOOOO THAT SUCKS. Maybe when you think you’re ready, you could post something and then see how you act?? I’D BE SO SAD (but understanding) IF YOU STOPPED BLOGGING THO. ❤

              Like

  6. This monthly wrap up was so fun to read!😊I FEEL YOU- right now I have so many dance rehearsals and also homework and also I’d like to maybe breathe too.

    I had like the worst reading month of my life, barely finishing two books…so hopefully I can turn that around this month. 😉

    Anyway, good luck with all of your September goals! Prayers for Hurricane Harvey. I thankfully wasn’t affected, and I’m glad you weren’t either!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, I’m glad you enjoyed the wrap-up! Yesss so much dance and homework and adj;fljdf;lakds.

      Weeeeell at least you read two books, right?? 😛 Hope you read more this month!!

      Thank you! And yessss everything in my heart goes to the victims of Hurricane Harvey! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. May it looks like you had a hella stressful but a hella productive month! Congrats on winning that writing contest! *fingers crossed you somehow magically get to go to the awards ceremony* And if you need someone to remind you to correct your posture, I’ll send you one of my parents. *Just send me an address and I’ll book their flights* Seriously it’s a never ending “straight your back, Rendz” in my house, EXCEPT IN ENGLISH AND SPANISH! Double the reminder XD

    Liked by 1 person

  8. NONE OF THE PICTURES ARE SHOWING UP. WHYYY??

    Of course, I was worried about you!! BUT IM GLAD YOUR SAFE?? I mean all the mangoes for me. And like that hurricane, gave you rain? PUNISH IT.

    Oh and I’m glad you liked ODD! This Savage Song is COMING SOON!nly one 5 stars! YES FOR GETTING MEANER!!! I mean oh thats sad. AND YAY THAT YOU WON THE CONTEST? BUT WHYYYYY DOES THIS HAPPEN? WHy miss the ceremony and the book fest IM SOBBING FOR YOU. You have every right to be salty! #saltyrights

    Oh, you can hire me! 3 mangoes an hour and I’ll be sure to, whenever I can tell you to fix your posture? But you have school and I don’t like ruining my eyeballs (one of my eyeballs is already half blind) so try and avoid screens past 9:00 (tho I break my rule so much) AND LIKE asdfghjkl I MISS TALKING TO YOU!!! Weekends, weekends mah-…ilsa.

    I AM SO GLAD PETER PAN MENTAL ILLNESS RETELLING WON! Though i have a feeling you are actually going to write Of Flowers and Skin. it’s in my ice cream senses okay? DON’T QUESTION ME.

    AND I KNOW WHAT THE SECRET IS and I AM SO NOT OKAY!!!

    AND I think I have fangirled enough (this exists? ) over you getting ARC’s but still ASDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKLKJHGFDSASDFGHJKL!!! Because ALL THE FANGIRLING MAY!

    Good luck on your goals & dance! I hope September is an amazing month for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I FIXED THE PICS NOW!!

      Ahaha, it was very rainy and gloomy! But it was definitely not as bad as the other cities. ❤

      TSS AND ODD OMGGGGG. ODD will ruin you, I tell you. And YES I'm glad I'm getting meaner ahaha. I mean WHAAT WHAT IS HAPPENING. And yes I will be salty forever I MISSED THE CHANCE TO MEET ONE OF MY FAV AUTHORS! *cries*

      Tsk tsk Ilsa you should want to help your mango queen without expecting a reward. (But I'll still give you a reward.) And AGH it sucks bc the only day I'm available in the morning is Sunday! 😥

      Ahahah nope, that's the one I'm certain I'm not writing! 😛

      AWWW I'M SORRY ❤ ❤ I'LL STILL BE ON HANGOUTS!!!

      I KNOW I KNOW I KNOOOOOOW FAS;LDKFJA;LKDJL;AKSDJFL;AKSJDFALS

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve loved reading all your blogging and writing related posts this month. They’re incredibly informative and I just can’t get enough of your humour and amazing personality seeping through it. I’m also incredibly excited to read your upcoming reviews on your ARC books I’M SO THRILLED FOR YOU and also also did you say you’ll be posting more poetry YES I CAN’T WAIT! And same, my goal every single day is to drink more water (it’s just I’m never really thirsty) and I hate drinking straight out of taps too. GOOD LUCK FOR ALL YOUR GOALS AND DANCE AWAY INTO THE NIGHT

    Liked by 1 person

    • AWWW THANK YOU STOP BEING SO SWEEEEEET KIYA. ❤ ❤ And yay, I'm glad to know SOMEONE will read my reviews! XD Noooo I won't be posting any poetry — just writing more of it. 😛 TAP WATER IS SO GROSS (but it's better than some of the dirty water out there… *cries*)

      Like

  10. Oh congrats on getting your first physical ARCs May, and on reaching 800 followers. Both are pretty incredible achievements and I bet you’re thrilled right now! 😀
    You got through some pretty amazing books last month as well, I’m very glad to see Our Dark Duet was your best read of the month, then again it’s Schwab so was there any doubt? I am so beyond thrilled about all the new releases she has coming out (I read next in Sept 2018 it’s the sequel to Vicious which I am beyond excited for!) especially the follow-up series to Shades of Magic!
    Also I’m very pleased that the Peter Pan Mental Illness story is the one that won, that’s the one I voted for so YAY! 😀 ❤
    I hope you have a brilliant September May, and good luck with your goals for this month as well. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOOOU! And yes, I’m very happy right now ahaha. :’)

      OF COURSE ODD was my favorite read!! It’s Schwab and I wouldn’t have expected any less from her. ❤ YESSS I CANNOT WAIT. (But ugggggh we have to wait so long for the sequel + Threads of Power!)

      Ahahaha, WOO HOO! And thank you!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. MAYYYYYYY
    WHAT Is YOUR SOMETHING

    IS IT A HIATUS??? IT BETTER NOT BE A HIATUS. (even though i kinda had a hiatus but shhhh)
    or you’re going to change your blog drastically in some way?????????? idk??????

    but anyways WHOOOHOWEFODKJAPDKLFJASD;LKFJ FOR THE ARCS! I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE YOU GOT AN ENCHANTMENT AND THE #JEALOUSY THOUGH

    Liked by 1 person

  12. glad to hear you’re okay! 💕 Sounds like you’ve really had a busy month, congrats on accomplishing so much!

    Also, where did you get your physical ARCs from? I usually only get digital copies bc I’m traveling so much, but I want to request more physical ones when I move back to the US next year.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. OKAY SO I THINK THAT YOU’RE going on a hiaaaaaatus. Which really is a fun word! Hiatus. HIATUS. Yep, you’re going on hiatus. That’s a good thing!! You have to take time for yourself because you are the only you that you get so take care of you. How many times can I say you?? I guess we’ll just have to count.
    Congratulations on your physical ARCs! That’s so wonderful and I’m so excited for you!!
    I declare that the Scribbler’s Challenge did not flop. AKA I wrote a bunch of things and sent them in and got feedback on them SO I’M A HAPPY CAMPER, THANKS.
    Also, I was worried about you when I heard about the extent of Hurricane Harvey. Actually, since I’m a nursing student, I was ready to drop my entire life and fly down there to do relief work, but alas, this is easier for me to say I want to do (I would love to work for Red Cross as a first responder once I’m licensed) than to actually do it. I checked on you several times throughout to make sure you were still alright and safe!! I mean, I did it very stalker-ish-ly, but I was worried!
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • AWWWWW KRISSSSSS YOU’RE SO SWEEEET. :’) ❤ Yes, I'm going on hiatus. I'm super sad but also kind of relieved because you're right — I need to take care of myself!

      THANK YOOOOOU! ❤

      Aw, I'm so glad you think Scribbler is not a flop! AH YES FEEDBACK IS ALWAYS SO GREAT. ❤

      OMGGGG KRIS YOU'RE SO FRICKING SWEET AGAGAGHAHGHG. <333 Oh, wow, you are so kind and selfless??? But yes, the affected cities need all the volunteers they can get! I would go, but I'm a minor soooo. 😥

      Liked by 1 person

      • Self-care is so important! It’s super underrated. You do a lot, May. I don’t want you to burn out, that’s all! ❤
        My thoughts as far as being a disaster relief nurse are this: someone has to do it, why shouldn't I? I've also considered Doctors Without Borders, army nurse, that kind of stuff. No, it's not something I would want to do until I retire, but I would like to do it at some point for a while. Also, I really enjoy emergency medicine, so 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  14. ahh congrats on the arcs!! i want to read An Enchantment of Ravens so badddd. the cover is so gorgeous 😍 let’s see…the whole month of august was basically a reading slump for me ughhh but my fave read of the month was All the Crooked Saints!! so beautiful and magical and ahhhhhh maggie stiefvater ❤ WAIT WHAT IS THIS SECRET YOU SPEAK OF. pleaseeee don't be a hiatus.

    omg i relate so much. i have so many reviews to write,,,,(i may or may not be panicking right now) and i move into my dorm next week / start school so i need to write a lot of blog posts in advance !!! wow! i'm! so! behind !!

    I'M SO EXCITED FOR VICTORIA'S NEW SERIES OMG YOU HAVE NO IDEA THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER YAYYYYY. this is the most excited i think i've ever been for a book in my life?! and i'm so glad that you loved Our Dark Duet!!

    and thank you for giving me a shout out ❤ you are the actual sweetest.

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOOOOOU! and dude yes the cover of AEOR is SO FRICKING BEAUTIFUL. noooo, i’m so sorry that you were slumping this month! that sucks. 😦 YAS MAGGIEEEEE. umm… what if it WAS a hiatus…?

      I KNOW RIGHT. i think my count has upped to like 9 or 10 now asjd;lfajsd. but that ~something~ will give me more time to write them so yay!!

      OH MY GOD YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. she can like drop everything else she’s writing and work on threads of power (okay, not really).

      OF COURSE MY DEAR MADELINE. ❤ ❤

      Like

  15. whew, your month sounds like a wild ride. *wipes sweat* but saaaame. school started and I really need to a) get off my computer b) get off Goodreads c) GET MY LIFE TOGETHER. so far, I have accomplished 0/3 of these goals, so yeah that’s goING GREAT. okay my vent is over I’ll stop now

    and I relate to you so much about that “STRAIGHTEN YOUR BACK” thing?? but believe me, speaking from firsthand experience, you do not want a person following you around yelling at you to straighten it, because that person was my dad and it was not fun. :’) I am practically the queen of slouching

    Liked by 1 person

  16. May, I always love reading your wrap up posts, everything looks so amazing and full (and stressful too, but we don’t need to dwell on that). And you did GREAT with the Scribbler’s Challenge, I had heaps of fun and you hosted brilliantly!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. August was an? odd??? month? There were a bunch of really good things, and bad ones xD I HAVE MIDTERMS IN A WEEK RIP ME. I read some really good books in August, actually: but my favourite was probably Be Careful What You Wish For. PLOT TWISTS GAH.
    what is your surprise??? tell us o great mango queen

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I am so, so sorry to hear your month was a bit stressful – I hope september will be way better because you deserve no stress and all happiness, May ❤ ❤
    I'm SO HAPPY you loved highly illogical behaviour -amazing rep and I loved the characters and friendships and everything, right??- and the forbidden wish – one of my favoritees, loved this aladdin retelling so much ❤
    CONGRATULATIONS on all the followers – seriously HOW are you doing this? Oh, right. you're amazing. and on the ARCs omg May, this is so exciting, wow, I can't imagine how you must feel. I hope you'll love all the books, and yes you have obviouusly amazing taste in book covers because they are ALL SO STUNNING. Can't wait to hear your thoughts about these books!
    I can't wait for Schwab's new books but also, NERVOUS???
    Thank you so much for mentioning me on here, I MISSED YOU SO MUCH ❤ ❤ 3 Hope you’ll have a fabulous september! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • A;LFKJD;LAJFSAD MARIEEEEEE STOP BEING SO SWEEEEET thank yooou ❤ ❤

      And yas, Highly Illogical Behavior was SO so good! The Forbidden Wish was absolutely magical. ❤

      AJD;LAFJDS STOOOOP. :') ❤ And AGH I'M SO EXCITED FOR THE ARCS!! I'm finally starting on them today haha. YESSS the covers are absolutely GORGEOUS. ❤

      WHY ARE YOU NERVOUS FOR SCHWAB'S BOOKS, MARIE???

      Of course, lovely! I MISSED YOU SO MUCH TOOO. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m always nervous whenever an author expands a series. I KNOW that Schwab will do something FABULOUS, but…well, part of me is still nervous that it won’t be just as good, or that something will feel, “off”, from the original series?! If that makes any sense, ahah. I’m just WEEEEEEEEIRD sometimes?

        Liked by 1 person

  19. Congrats on a great month, May! I hope school doesn’t stress you out too much and you’ll still have time to read and blog. Oooh, getting ARCs is so exciting! I’m looking forward to reading what you think about Starfish and the Nowhere Girls, which are two books I’m really excited about!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. May I’m dying ‘Like yay for promoting!!! But who r u.’ 😂😂😂 I think it’s really sweet that you promoted people you don’t even know though

    A ONE MILLION DOLLAR BOOK DEAL?! I DIDN’T EVEN KNOW THAT WAS A THING HOLY VE SCHWAB IS ACTUAL GOALS (still need to read her books hahaha *hides*)

    Ahhhh May congrats on ALL THE THINGS. The followers, winning that writing competition, the arcs, being in more pieces!!! So many exciting things. Sorry to hear Hurricane Harvey was worse than expected though! Hope you and your loved ones stay safe ❤️

    Thank you so much for mentioning my post ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • AHAHA I’M SO GLAD YOU DIED! (That… sounds wrong.) Oh god, I love and hate myself for promoting people I don’t know. XD

      I KNOW IDK HOW SCHWAB DOES IT. We all just love her. :’) Omgggg PLEASE read a Schwab book soon!! She’s new to me (kind of??) and I LOVE HER.

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOOOOU! Oh yes, Hurricane Harvey was definitely worse than we thought! No one was that worried, but then BOOM.

      OF COURSE MICHELLEEEEEE. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  21. MAAAAAY OMG. What a month. CONGRATS ON WINNING THAT CONTESTEJWOFIJWEÖOIJF THAT’S AWESOME
    And also I’m a LITTLE jealous you got AEOR because I want it but honestly I am NOT ready to request physical ARCs hahahah I shouldn’t even be allowed on Netgalley omg.
    YOU HAVE SO MANY GOALS HOW EVEN
    I’m just a potato in comparison to you.
    I think I’ll stay a pototato
    BUT OMG I CAN RELATE SO HARD ON PROCRASTINATING WRITING hahahah #twins

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Congratulations on winning the contest!! And on getting arcs; that’s super exciting! That’s amazing you got AEOR – I’m maybe a little jealous xD. I hope you like it! I just started requesting arcs too, just to kind of see how it would go. I’m not too worried since I get a lot anyway, but it would be fun to have things sent from actual publishers.
    I’m glad you had a pretty good August! And I hope your September is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. how was YOUR august?

    EXCELLENT THANK YOU YOUR HIGHNESS.

    have you gone back to school yet?

    Back to HOMEschool but still ugh

    what was your favorite read of the month?

    RAVEN BOYS which i finished yesterday so doesnt really count BUT YES IT DOES BE QUIET

    any goals for september?

    Yes. I’m finishing dragoncologist and making a batgirl costume.

    were you affected by the hurricane?

    Somewhat; our power went out and the repair men were dispatched to texas so we were on a waiting list the size of texas.

    and can you guess my ~something~??? (no, you can’t) (you probably can)

    self-hosting?

    //////////////////
    also THIS MONTH MIGHT I INTERVIEW YOU FOR ME LE BLOG? the dragon queen and mango queen must have an alliance between the kingdoms. *nodnod*

    Liked by 1 person

    • THE RAVEN BOYS OMG!!! I mean I love that series but mainly for the characters ahaha. THE CHARACTERS ARE TO DIE FOR. ❤

      YOU’RE FINISHING DRAGONCOLOGIST WOO HOO!!! 🎉

      Oh I WISH my ~something~ was self-hosting. 😭😂

      OMGGGGGGG I’m so honored that you’d want to interview me??? Email me so we can talk more! 😉

      Like

  24. Your “something” is definitely that you HAVE ADOPTED A BABY DRAGON EGG AND ARE RAISING IT AS YOUR OWN SMOL SON AND FEEDING IT EXCLUSIVELY ON CINNAMON CRUMPETS.
    DID I GET IT RIGHT??? THE DETAILS ARE SPOT ON, YES???

    Also super glad you weren’t badly affected by the hurricane. I saw a lot of photos of it on twitter and it’s just horrific.😥 My entire town (I mean, I just moved recently but before I moved) was half wiped out in a flood in April! The damage was like totally horrific and most of downtown was gone. BUT I live don a hill so it didn’t affect me like at all, but it’s so sad seeing people lose everything. 😭😭😭

    ANYWAY. Good luck for your goals! And for choosing writing projects and reading aaaall the books. And omg Schwab. SCHWAB. She is queen and I’m so so happy for her!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES THAT’S EXACTLY IT OMG CAIT HOW DID YOU KNOW???

      Oh yes, the pictures are so horrifying to look at! All my thoughts are with the victims — I hope with all my heart that they’re safe and loved right now. ❤ And oh, wow, that sounds horrible! Glad you lived on a hill tho ahaha!

      THANK YOOOU! And yas Schwab is so amazing and she totally deserves this deal! ❤

      Like

  25. OH MY WORD, YOUR POSTS ARE ALWAYS SO MUCH FUN TO READ!!!

    August wasn’t TOO stressful for me, but September is definitely shaping up to be a super stressful month… Heh…heh.

    Also, CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR ARCS!!!! That is AMAZING!!!! I cannot wait to read your reviews!!! And congrats on winning the competition!!!

    And just CONGRATULATIONS on this whole month, really, because you’ve accomplished so many of your goals! I never actually accomplish the goals I set for myself…so…

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

