An Enchantment of Ravens // So Much Potential, but an Overwhelming Romance (I’m so Salty) [ARC Review]

I am very very salty over An Enchantment of Ravens.

Did I expect to love it? Yes. Did I expect it to live up to the hype? Yes. Did I expect it to be worthy of the pretty cover and a great first ARC and a story about the intriguing world and NOT all romance? YES.

And did I get any of those things? NO.

Thus why I’m salty.

Image result for salty gif

As much as I hate to review an ARC so negatively, it’s important for me to get a review back to the publisher in exchange for receiving the (BEAUTIFUL) book for FREE, so here we go!

Note: I’m still on hiatus. You may have seen me answering comments, but I will NOT be answering any comments on this post until I feel like I’m ready too. :))

aeor 1

AN ENCHANTMENT OF RAVENS

Margaret Rogerson // September 26, 2017

An Enchantment of RavensIsobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel’s paintings are highly prized among them. But when she receives her first royal patron—Rook, the autumn prince—she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes – a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt’s ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love, violating the fair folks’ ruthless Good Law. There’s only one way to save both their lives, Isobel must drink from the Green Well, whose water will transform her into a fair one—at the cost of her Craft, for immortality is as stagnant as it is timeless.

Isobel has a choice: she can sacrifice her art for a future, or arm herself with paint and canvas against the ancient power of the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

[synopsis taken from Goodreads, which is different than my copy’s]

Thank you to Simon & Schuster for generously providing me with a beautiful review copy! This did not affect my opinion in any way.

view my review on goodreads HERE!

aeor 2

  • The world was so INTRIGUING. We have the fair folk (the fae/faerie), who are immortal but can’t do any human Craft—like painting, cooking, or writing—or THEY DIE. Most of them do not feel human emotion, which is a very interesting concept to work with! This world in general was super interesting, especially Whimsy and the World Beyond.
  • I LOVED Rook (the love interest). He was a sweet yet arrogant brat, and he’s just so LIKEABLE. I mean sometimes I found him annoying and a little unrealistic?? BUT HE’S JUST OVERALL GREAT. Plus he’s kind (seen as a weakness among the fair folk) and that just made him more lovable.
  • I also really loved Gadfly (one of Isobel’s “clients”). He’s hilarious and scheming and I love his personality! But WHO THE HECK NAMED HIM THIS I FEEL SO BAD.
  • The side characters were so enjoyable, basically. I felt super meh on Isobel; it felt like she didn’t have anything that stood out to me?? BUT, Isobel’s sisters (March and May) are ADORABLE AND HILARIOUS—they’re fricking GOAT HUMANS. Emma (their aunt) is so kind and YAS for awesome families in YA fantasy!
  • This FANTASY book was actually SHORT. And obviously because I disliked it, I very much enjoyed the fact that I did not have to suffer through much. BUT??? Usually YA fantasy books are 2034203841 pages and this one is like 300 PAGES??? THANK YOU???
  • PRETTY COVER GORGEOUS COVER AAAAAAAGH.

Image result for heart eyes gif

Aaaaaaand that’s basically all I liked. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

aeor 3

  • The. fricking. romance.
  • IT RUINED E V E R Y T H I N G. Plot?? What plot?? I only see this LOVE STORY where “omgg I can’t love him but I do but it’s forbidden this needs to stop no wait I love you so muuuuuuch” is the main plot.
  • Um. No.
  • I like romance? I do! (Tho I prefer friendships over it.) But when the romance takes over everything? I HATE IT. STOP. WHY.
  • I mean I guessssss I would’ve been okay with a romance plot—IF I’d expected that. And I,, did not?? I thought this would be a great book about fae/faerie and magic and intrigue and A COOL WORLD… and I got romance.
  • It was also scarily close to insta-love. We got the first interaction between them (where they were attracted to each other) but… that was it. No other interactions??? Just the book telling us weeks had passed and then suddenly they’d fallen in love.
  • And the love was also very unrealistic. I didn’t believe they had feelings for each other. Of course Isobel was ~~~attracted~~~ to Rook’s hot muscles and abs and purple eyes and strength and power and all that crap, but??? WHERE WAS THE LOVE.
  • Oh, and one more complaint about the romance: I COUDLN’T HANDLE IT OMGGGG. They’re so gushy over each other and so DRAMATIC and it’s all very mushy and sappy. I’M A SAP. But because I hated the romance, I hated the sap. L;KDJFAL;KSDF.

Image result for whyyyy gif

  • There was traveling in this and I. HATE. TRAVELING. IN. BOOKS. I mean… I write it in my own novels and I need to actually stop. Because like, if I were a fantasy character, I’d be sitting on the couch all day and letting magic do everything for me and bring me food??? Let the evil come to me, I am lazy QUEEN.
  • But it seemed like a cheap way to get these two together. I mean,, I GUESS that was the “plot” but was it really?? Or was it just another way to get Rook and Isobel together AND get Isobel to fall for previously mentioned muscles and eyes and power when The Love Interest™ takes his shirt off??
  • I didn’t get to learn about the world! Something *cough* the romance *cough* took over a lot and I wanted to read this BECAUSE of the intriguing world??? But no.
  • The writing style was meh. I mean, it was basic, and that made it easy to read (YAY!) but it was just so boring and monotonous??? Probably because I hate first person. There WERE some pretty lines, but other than that, it was… meh.

arrow 1

★☆

so much potential: an interesting world and concept, but unfortunately the romance overwhelmed everything.

Basically, this was a huge disappointment. I thought I’d get an intriguing world, but it was just romance (and I hated it). But!! You should try it out because 1) I have an extremely unpopular opinion, and 2) LOOK AT THAT PRETTY COVER.

(Also apparently this is a good book for ACTOAR fans. So if you like ACOTAR, try this!! I expect I won’t like ACOTAR if I read it oops.)


shall we chat

are you excited to read an enchantment of ravens? were you disappointed by your first arc? what are some books you read where the romance took over everything? and what are some of your favorite book covers?? *heart eyes @ this cover*

sign off 2.0

59 thoughts on “An Enchantment of Ravens // So Much Potential, but an Overwhelming Romance (I’m so Salty) [ARC Review]

  1. This was the first I’ve heard of this book! The cover looks sooo good. I would read it but I don’t really like romance? and from what you said there seems to be a *lot* of it?? I mean I’ll look it up and try a sample but I still don’t think I’ll like it xD And congrats on your first ARC!! Even if it did turn out to be a disappointment. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t..I…OMG, I AM IN SHOCK *happy tears* YOU POSTED!!!!!! For this special occasion, I will be doing a LIST comments (also to keep it short!! because… WHEN you do reply to these (after the hiatus or whenever you feel like it) (actually you don’t ever HAVE to reply to comments) (but if and when you do i want this to be quick to reply to) (since i know catching up with comments can be difficult) (and this is already getting very long) I WANT THIS TO BE QUICK)

    1) Firstly, THE PHOTOS. *applauds* They are amazing 1)amazing camera 2) The book is pretty 3) YOU ARE DEVELOPING VERY GOOD #SKILLS (it’s a #list! INSIDE A LIST *Cries* beautiful)
    2)le salty gif is me
    3)Even tho you rated the book 2 stars YOU STILL MANAGED TO HAVE SO MANY LIKEs
    4) I thought you were supposed to be salty
    4) AGH ROMANCE AND NOT MUCH FANTASY – this is sad. SAAADDD
    5) LOVE THE REVIEW!! You know how to get across your points so well and passionately while I just sit here being a mulberry bush.
    6) I feel you have strayed from mango. WHAT ABOUT YOUR KINGDOM MAY?

    Liked by 3 people

    • YES, I POSTED!!! WOO HOO!!! oh yasssss list comments are the best. ahhahahahah i’m answering comments now… guess what that means… 😉

      1) OMG THANK YOU SO MUCH AAAA (tbh the filters made it pretty 😂)
      3) god i tried to be positive,, i scavenged for everything i could
      4) I AM SO SALTY OH MY GOD
      5) omg thank you so much ad;sjlfkja;sldkfja;lksdfja ❤ ❤
      6) I HAVEN'T HAD AN ACTUAL MANGO IN WEEKS ILSA IT'S HORRIBLE

      (you repeated #4 btw 😂)

      Like

  3. this book is one of my most anticipated releases with the fae and art and everything!. i’m fine with romance in fantasy books *when done properly* but reading the way you described it it sets me off a little gorgeous cover though! and thanks for the review it outlined things well for me

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hey hi hello i skimmed through this review bc i didn’t wanna be spoiled too much and i generally don’t read reviews of books i haven’t read??? or at least i only skim them??? but i’m so sorry that this was such a disappointment omg i’m sad bc THE COVER HAS SO MUCH POTENTIAL. and all your pictures are gorgeous????? and the entire structure of your review as well???? damn May how are you so good at EVERYTHING ❤

    anyway i feel like i'd like this book? bc i love romance in books? and i love the ACOTAR books (so much omg)? i'm not sure if you'd like them tho i mean the first one isn't all romance and it's actually quite good plot-wise but then the second one is VERY character-driven and i'm not sure if you like that? and sometimes it can get rly boring bc nothing happens and there's like no exciting plot (especially in the third one ohmiGOSH it was so frustrating) so yeah. i'd totally recommend it if only for the MC's character development and the swoon-worthy romance but idk about the rest!! oh and you might be a bit young to read it too it's more NA than YA bc the sexy scenes are VERY graphic to say the least (and they're so weird as well ugh)

    ANYWHO WHAT WERE WE TALKING ABOUT AGAIN??? AN ENCHANTMENT OF RAVENS???? yeah well i forgot everything else i wanted to say sooooo….. i'll see you XD

    Liked by 2 people

    • jackieeeeeeeee I MISS YOU SO MUCH OMG ❤ ❤ but yes i am so salty over this Disappointment i did nothing to deserve this 😭 YES THE COVER IS SO PRETTY ADLJFAS;LDKFJA. omg thank you so much why are you so kind to me??? adflkasdjf;laksdjflkajd ❤

      i love romance in books too!! just not when it overwhelms everything else. :') ahahahaha i'm really not sure if i'd enjoy ACOTAR. it doesn't really interest me (tho i'd be interested in seeing how it's a beauty and the beast retelling). dude i LOVE character-driven books omg. 😍 oh yes i heard about the weird sexy scenes 😂

      wow relatable :')

      Liked by 1 person

      • hahaha I don’t even remember what my comment said but I MISS(ed) YOU TOO. I’m back now tho YAAASSSS ❤️

        TBH the beauty and the beast retelling is pretty good but halfway throughout the book it stops being a retelling and it’s becoming it’s own story (do you know what I mean???) and it actually gets SOOO exciting and intense at the end! But you know if it doesn’t interest you then you shouldn’t read it!

        Btw if you love character-driven books you should umm… totally read Shatter Me. This is my completely unbiased opinion *cough* but it has the greatest character development of all time in any book EVER. Just saying 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh no, I’m so, SO sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy this book so much. It sounded like such a promising story and that cover is SO GORGEOUS. The world sounded very, very good as well, I’m a bit sad that the romance just takes over everything here, especially since the world seemed to have so much potential and the romance wasn’t that great, apparently :/ I’m still a bit curious about this book but… I don’t know if I’m in a hurry to read it.
    Take your time with comments, May, we’ll all be here whenever you’ll be ready to come back ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Gah! It is very disappointing to hear this is a romance plot book… I’m not a fan of those as I want LOTS of world building… When its just a vehicle for overly dramatic expressions of feelings I’m not engaged. So sorry your first ARC was this way! But I’m sure being MAY that you will get many more ARCs and that you will LOVE them! ❤ Those nasty deceptive gorgeous covers… *cries*

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh no May I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy this book. An Enchantment of Ravens was one I was really looking forwards to myself (and while I still kind of am my expectations for this book are much lower having read your review) and it just really sucks when a book you’re so excited for epically fails to live up to your expectations like this one seems to have.
    Your likes make it sound amazing, plus intriguing worlds and awesome families are two of my musts in fantasy books (well, in any book actually), but the I read your dislikes. I’m am not a fan of insta-love, and like you as much as I love romance in books I like there to be something else other than just romance!
    Still great review, I hope the next book you pick up will be one you enjoy more, and I hope you’re enjoying your hiatus as well. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so sad I didn’t like this either!! Oh, if you read it, I hope you enjoy it! I truly had an unpopular opinion here (the top reviews on GR are pretty much all 4 or 5 stars, besides mine and someone else’s) so there’s a chance that you might like it??

      Ahahaha, I tried to include as many likes as possible because I sure got ranty in the dislikes section. 😂 YES, EXACTLY! I love romance in books (I prefer friendships, tho!) but I like to have other things as well so it isn’t the focus of the book!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m keeping my fingers crossed I will. This is a book I am quite excited for so I want it to live up to my hopes. 🙂
        I get what you mean, as much as I love romance I like there to be something else to the story so it isn’t just about two characters falling in love. There needs to be more to keep me interested.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Ooooh it sounds so fantastic though….I want to try it now, if just for the little glimpses of the world. (And usually I’m good with romance, but the insta-love thing is annoying…) So we’ll see if this is one that I actually end up reading…

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really does sound good, doesn’t it?? Oh yes, the glimpses of the world were SO cool! I really wish we could’ve gotten more. 😥 And ahahah the insta-love thing is really weird?? Like to me it seems like it, but maybe it’s not? Idk man. 😂 Hope you enjoy the book if you read it!!

      Like

  9. Awwwwwwww again I’m still disappointed you didn’t like it! But a story really should have a good balance of romance & an actual plot and it seems like there was just romance in this book which ain’t gooooood so. Pretty picture by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So sorry you didn’t like this book May! I haven’t read it myself but it sounded like something I’d enjoy – reconsidering that thought now though. I hate that so many YA fantasy books feel the need to dump in romance, especially as it’s not always well done, and often ruins what could of been a really good book.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. WELL I FREAKING LOVED ACOTAR SO I EXPECT THAT I WILL LOVE THIS???

    i actually like romance oops. i’m fine w/ romance-based plotlines, i just like it when there’s also another action-y plotline, even if it’s just a side plotline???

    ALSO YES THAT COVER IS SO BEAUTIFUL I AM SALTY ON YOUR BEHALF.

    (but i stills gottsa read this bc i was so excited for it omg)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. yep yep yep this was a fantastic review and these all seem like very good points!! (I dnf’d bc I couldn’t deal with the romance and plotlessness) I have a…..complicated relationship with the ACOTAR series, and this book had some very striking similarities to it. A lot of people really love those books, but I only really enjoyed the second one. So I personally can’t really recommend it, but maybe give it a try and see if you’re curious bc almost everyone else enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. NOOOO You make me cry May!! I preordered this and it already got shipped haha so I suppose I’ll have to read it. I supposed I can be consoled by the fact that the cover will make for pretty bookstagram pictures hahaha. I WAS SO EXCITED but you are now the second person who was disappointed. MAYBE I’LL LIKE THE ROMANCE (I’m being positive here haha).

    Liked by 1 person

  14. THAT GIF. THAT SALT SHAKER GIF OH MY GOODNESS I DIDN’T KNOW I NEEDED IT IN MY LIFE BUT I DO. IT’S PERFECT

    Anyway so sorry to hear you were disappointed in this one May, though I definitely understand why. This doesn’t sound like my cup of tea either – I absolutely hate it when romance takes over the plot of for example a fantasy book. THAT’S NOT WHAT I SIGNED UP FOR. And an insta-love romance? nope no thanks. I’m glad I read your review before spending money on this one May, because I’m pretty sure I’d share your unpopular opinion haha (I hate ACOTAR with a passion woops so I should definitely stay away from this one)

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

