Writerly Update #11 // I’m Still Alive But Struggling Without a Plot + A Change of Plans?? Ft. Snippets & Beautiful Books!

So, I’ve managed to stay alive so far??

Which is good, since it’s only been a week since the start of NaNoWriMo.

I haven’t done a Writerly Update in so long omg??? Like… two months. This one’s going to be a little ranty about NaNoWriMo and some thoughts I’ve been having about writing. It’s all over the place, like my brain right now.

(Like if I don’t make sense in this post, it’s because NaNo has squeezed my brain and made juice out of it and all my vocabulary has gone with it. Therefore I do not know how to English.)

Feel free to add me as a buddy! (I’ll add you back. And you can stalk my progress.)

flowers

NANOWRIMO

So for those of you who don’t know (you live under a rock), NaNoWriMo is a month-long writing challenge where you try to write 50K (a novel) in one month! It takes place in November and is called National Novel Writing Month… even tho it’s international???

My original goal for NaNo was 25K words. But then I wrote 1.7K words on the first day, which is about the amount that you’re supposed to write daily to get to 50K. So I was like, Yeah, I can go for the full 50K right???

Well now I’m kind of doubting myself but I can’t appear weak and just BACK DOWN from the challenge.

Image result for i'm strong gif

You can read about my WIP HEEEEERE if you want!! Basically, it’s about land that is evil and wants to kill off all the people it deems are “bad” to purify everything, but!!! Some people are actually INNOCENT. So Maire & Romy & Niko have to figure out what’s going on and try to stop it.

flowers

BEAUTIFUL BOOKS

overall, how is your mental state, and how is your novel going?

Day 1: +1719 ~ 1719 ~ feeling actually quite confident
Day 2: +1725 ~ 3444 ~ lost a lot of sleep but I’m okay
Day 3: +1305 ~ 4749 ~ falling behind but I’m tireddddd
Day 4: +2106 ~ 6855 ~ caught up and then some, feeling okay
Day 5: +3287 ~ 10142 ~ A WHOLE DAY AHEAD AND SO PROUD
Day 6: +91611058 ~ a rest day (I needed it badly)
Day 7: (so far) +1056 ~ 12114 ~ starting to feel very meh

(HONESTLY I’M JUST SO PROUD OF DAY 5 like 3,287 words in a day is probably my record. Pathetically.)

arrow 1

what’s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Weeeeell my novel starts off with a poem??? So I guess I’ll show the first line (it isn’t that special).

I really don’t like the start of the poem, so that’ll have to be edited. But I DO like the end, which is featured in the snippets coming up!!!

arrow 2

who’s your current favorite character in your novel?

ROMY. I love love love Romy. He’s so sassy and playful, but at the same time struggles with himself and I just jasdf;lajsdflasd.

I also love Niko?? And Maire??? Niko hurts my heart omgggggg.

arrow 1

what do you love about your novel so far?

Uggghghh. I really really HATE the way that I’m writing this novel—the plot is weak, the scenes are useless.

But I do feel like the conflict I came up with and also the plot twists are really good??? I’m just in love with the concept of this novel, but not really how I’m writing it.

I also really like all the backstories of everything—connecting this to that and giving reasons to this is just SUPER FUN and emotionally manipulates you. Which is twice as much fun.

Image result for sly smile gif
i’m really creeped out

OH. And I love the diversity in sexualities* I have!! The three central characters are ace, bi, and gay, which I feel like is super important.

Oh and I almost forgot!! I have some poems from the perspective of the land and some other not-standard-prose parts that I really really love writing and find SO MYSTERIOUS aghahgahg.

*SEXUALITIES IS A WORD YOU IDIOT DON’T DO THE RED UNDERLINE THINGY.

arrow 2

have you made any hilarious typos or other mistakes?

(I’m writing in third person)

(…no comment…)

   

(I have a case of the triple-letter spelling problem)

I made many other spelling mistakes/typos (especially during word wars), but I’m a perfectionist so I fixed them all already. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

arrow 1

what is your favorite to write: beginning, middle, or end—and why?

THE ENDDDDD. I love writing the end. I love PLOTTING the end. In fact, the most planned parts of this novel are all the plot twists that happen at the end??? My beginnings and middles SUCK. (Especially in this novel.)

arrow 2

what are your writing habits? is there a specific snack you eat? do you listen to music? what time of day do you write best? feel free to show us a picture of your writing space!

Well I’m always open to eating a snack, like dried mangoes or chocolate or chips, but most of the time I just… forget it’s there??? Plus it often makes my hands sticky or greasy and I don’t like ruining my precious keyboard.

I have a REALLY WEIRD relationship with writing music. Sometimes I’m able to listen to songs with words in them and tune it out as I write, and sometimes I just can’t focus and have to switch it to classical music. (Or SILENCE.)

I just write, man. No preferred times or whatever. Tho I’ve been hating writing at night because I close my eyes for two seconds and suddenly tEN MINUTES HAVE PASSED AND I’VE WRITTEN NOTHING.

arrow 1

how private are you about your novel while you’re writing? do you need a cheer squad or do you work alone (like, ahem, batman)?

I am super super private. I mean, sometimes I’ll share snippets (like I am today !!!), but other than that, no one gets to read my writing. ESPECIALLY in the first draft stage.

I also hate when people come near me while I’m writing because I feel like they’re reading over my shoulder!! They’re probably not tbh but I’m just paranoid.

Image result for paranoid look gif

arrow 2

what keeps you writing even when it’s hard?

COMPETITION. I am so competitive that it scares me, but I will keep writing even when it’s hard just out of PURE MOTIVATION TO BEAT SOMEONE.

I AM competitive with myself, but not as much??? Which is why word sprints with myself are useless. However, if I have a goal, I want to reach that goal. I want to beat other people. And that somehow motivates me more than anything else, sadly.

arrow 1

what are your top 3 pieces of writing advice?

  1. First drafts are meant to be messy—don’t you DARE go back and fix a scene. If you have your doc open at all the time, NEVER scroll up (unless it’s to fix typos, but only after you write).
  2. If you don’t feel like writing, pull up a document and start writing something random. Let the words pour out of you. It’s okay if they don’t make sense, just write. A poem, a story, anything.
  3. Find support from friends. Take breaks between long periods of writing. Reward yourself for reaching a goal. And NEVER force yourself to write if you don’t feel like it.

flowers

QUICK RANT

I’m obnoxious and I need to rant about my writing problems, sorry.

First, I’d just like to THANK ALL THE WRITING GODS for the fact that I’m actually getting faster at writing.

At the beginning, I was going super slow and LOSING (?!?!?) my word wars. I think this was because 1) I hadn’t written in a long long long time, and 2) my novel moves so sloooooowlyyyyyyyy.

But now, for some reason, I’ve gotten back into my groove and I’m writing faster and winning my word wars!!! I FEEL SO PROUD.

Image result for proud gif

I’m also trying something new: third person present tense. For some reason, I was writing in third person past, and then I SUDDENLY SWITCHED TO PRESENT. Which is weird because 1) I never switch tenses, and 2) even if I did, I would never switch to present.

But then I just decided to go with it because I feel like it really fits the story well?? I’ve had some problems with switching to past tense, but I WILL MAKE IT WORK.

Also, this novel is a MESS. There are so many inconsistencies, and the way I wrote reactions to certain SHOCKING things are not realistic. I suck at human emotions apparently. Plus the plot is nonexistent and the only thing I have is a conflict and some characters. Edits are going to make me gauge my eyes out, I can tell.

I’m not really sure if I want to even try to edit this any time soon??? I can’t imagine going back and reading this absolute MESS. And when I say mess, I actually mean it. It’s not me being really negative towards my writing, but actually telling the truth. I SWEAR. It’s all over the place.

I’ll have to rewrite this thing—if I even want to. I’M ALREADY DYING at the thought of doing this aghahghaghahgg.

flowers

SNIPPETS

So, um, here are a few snippets from what I’m writing?? Not a lot, of course. And keep in mind that ALL of this is completely unedited.

So it sucks, is what I’m saying.

Will I regret this??? Probably, yes.

GHOSTIE

NIGHTMARE PUNS W/ MAIRE & ROMY

I DON’T SLEEP WHICH IS WHY I’M SPEAKING WITH NO PUNCTUATION

Okay that should be enough snippets for now aghaghahgagg.


shall we chat

how is nanowrimo going for you? what’s your word count at right now? (if it’s over today’s word count goal, i hate you) if you’re not doing nano, how’s your novel coming along in general? what other things are you doing in your writing life?? i want to hear ALL the writing things!!

sign off 2.0

56 thoughts on “Writerly Update #11 // I’m Still Alive But Struggling Without a Plot + A Change of Plans?? Ft. Snippets & Beautiful Books!

  1. congratulations!!!!!!! man you’ve been sticking to your goals so well ,, i’m like 2000/3000 words behind haha

    currently i have 10420 words which!! i don’t think is bad because it’s my first time and i’m also juggling other stuff like school and competitions and i have a flight to new york today 😀 (i’m actually really proud of me i though i would half like 5000 words in the first week lol)

    also i love that poem so much! i’m assuming the girl in question is maire? my favourite line is “a heart that wants love but doesn’t desire” because asdfdfhdlfl that’s such a POETIC way of saying she’s ace your writing is ❤

    my novel started out pretty well and i was happy with it for a while and then i don't know WHAT the hell happened but it's a freakin mess now. sigh. it'll be a pain to edit.

    ((also isn't it like 2:00 am where you are??)

    Liked by 1 person

    • thank you so much!!! and ahahah it’s SUCH a struggle to keep up but i’m managing

      10k words is AWESOME!! tbh i didn’t think i’d write this much the first week — my original 25k goal shows that ahaha and OMG NEW YORK HOW EXCITING!!!

      awww thank you!! yup that girl is maire! and omg i’m so glad you caught that bc it’s exactly what i was hinting at!!

      HAHHAA. sometimes i feel like my novel is okay and then i feel like it’s absolute trash so oops

      (yeah, i schedule posts at 1 am sometimes! :P)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved reading all the snippets – your writing style seems so polished, even in the first draft stage! I’m not doing nanowrimo but I am getting back into writing a book I’ve been working on for a long time after a break I had to take due to exams and I have gotten much slower, but hopefully I’ll be able to get back into it as time goes by 😂 Good luck with the rest of your book!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have literally fallen in love with NaNo, even though it’s SO challenging and frustrating and um, did I mention challenging? I literally am doing really badly, my word count is way, way, way behind, but I’m loving it. It’s forcing me to write which is so valuable.

    I love my novel too, I love how it’s (very slowly) growing. Using my imagination to create this really complex plot line and amazing characters is such a great project.

    I’m glad your novel is going well, I love your idea of incorporating poems and prose into the novel. It’s so beautiful. The snippets are wonderful. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have been struggling with the past 3 days with one scene because I can see it in my head playing out epicly like a movie. But I can’t write like a movie…? I’m trying to keep the writing from being clunky and slow paced and still awesome (I DON’ THINK IT’S WORKING) but I’ve written quite a bit each day for it and I think I might finally finish it today. (and I discovered while writing it that yarrow can stop bleeding. You can just take wet flowers and leaves and push them on the spot and apply pressure. Ta da!) (no you don’t want to know why I am researching that kind of stuff for my book 😂)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This post gives me life! ❤ I'm so with you on Tip #3 about not forcing yourself to write if you don't feel like it. My worst words have been from those tortuous times. Even though I'm behind I feel like I've succeeded because even though there've been days I don't write much, I'm looking at my draft and thinking about my plot everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. YAY, I’m so happy to hear you’re doing great at NaNo, May! I recognized myself in some of your answers here, especially the one about being scared of people looking over your shoulder while you write?! Hate when that happens, I’m also SO PARANOID about it all hahaha. 🙂
    NaNo clearly isn’t happening for me, as I haven’t even opened my Word doc to start editing and it’s November 8th hahahaha. #fail I don’t know if I even care, at this point, my writing slump has no end.
    ANYWAY I’m not here to complain about that, I’m here to flail about YOUR WRITING.
    THE SNIPPETS I LOVE THEM SO MUCH – I’m really curious about your story, all of your plot twists and everything else. I can’t wait to read that glorious book someday 😉 I do love how you put poems in that, and I’m really curious to see it all come together someday ❤ ❤
    BEST OF LUCK for the rest of NaNo!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahaha YESS! Even if someone just walks by me without even glancing at my screen, I just feel like they’re reading every word ahaha. And aww, I hope your writing slump will end soon! But even if it doesn’t, don’t force yourself to edit your WIP; the time will come! ❤

      A;LDJFLASDJFALSDF thank you so much Marie!! You're too sweet omggggg ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. mAy, this story sounds brilliant!! Seriously!!! Ha, it’s funny how both of our stories start with poems 😀 I LOVE how you decided to make some of the poems from the perspective of the land. Like? How? Do? You? Come? Up? With? These? Ideas????? Good luck!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. CONGRATS ON STAYING ALIVE *hands out mangoes*

    I MISSED YOUR WRITERLY UPDATES. But not because I am actually a writer, I CAN RELATE AND NOT FEEL JEALOUS.

    Well, stil incredibly jealous of your charries and writing but I guess it’s better than when i had no writer’s life haha.

    I’m glad Romy’s your favourite because Niko is mine.

    I LOVE NIKO HE IS PRECIOUS AND HE WILL TEACH ME HOW TO KNIT AND WE WILL LAUGH IN THE SUN AND LIVE IN THE SUNNY DAPPY FIELDS OF HAPPINESS FOREVER AND EVERLY. STOP DENYING MY LOVE FOR NIKO OKAY. I LOVE HIM AND IT PAINS ME WHEN YOU SAY THAT I DON’T EVEN KNOW HIM

    I KNOW HIM. I KNOW THAT I LOVE HIM AND I KNOW THAT HE LOVES ME (possibly)

    And you have all your sexualities like?? Worked out if you know what i mean? Like,, I know Skatten has black hair. Haha. I mean I don’t even get to the stage of KNOWING STUFF ABOUT THEM?! And it’s frustrating. Like that you have backstories. And I kind…of do?
    ANd you have plot twists even tho…plot? I kind of have one but I am confused and shocked but it myself haha. BASICALLY, YOU KNOW SO MUCH MORE ABOUT YOUR NOVEL THAN ME.

    I STILL WIN YOU IN ALL WORD WARS 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • THANK YOU. i deserve those mangoes very much.

      and nooooo don’t be jealous!!! i mean, i’m jealous of your ability to write so fast but WHATEVER!!!!!

      OH. MY. GOD. ILSA. YOU HAVEN’T EVEN MET NIKO. i mean i’m 90% sure you’ll love niko even more once you know his backstory and the plot !!! twists !!! concerning him, but STILL. HOW CAN YOU BE IN LOVE WITH HIM WHEN YOU BARELY KNOW HIM.

      and ahaha, i just knew that i wanted to include diversity in sexuality since the beginning! dude i kind of have backstories and i kind of have a plot (aka the plot twists aren’t really plot twists but BIG REVEALS THAT YOU DIDN’T SEE COMING… which is a plot twist basically lmao)

      😦 that’s bc we haven’t had a WW since my NEWFOUND FASTNESS

      Like

  9. First things first, I LOVE YOUR STORY IDEA IT SOUNDS AMAZING. Also, your snippets are so intriguing and they don’t suck. You are doing great!! 3k+ on one day is sooo much omg I wrote 2.3k on one day and was so proud of myself

    Liked by 1 person

  10. It seems like NaNo is going well for you so far May, I really hope you manage to reach the 50K word goal by the end of the month. It’d be a great acheivement but then again I think writing anything is a great acheivement. I love the sound of your snippets as well, from what impression I got of it your writing style is amazing, especially the poems (I love reading poems but can’t write them to save my life.) 😀
    I’ve discovered when writing I have a compulsive need to edit, honestly it’s been a struggle not going back and deleting half my Word document and starting over. I’m on track for NaNo at the moment, haven’t started on today’s writing simply because I write in the evenings and I need to get blogging and commenting out the way first.
    I loved reading your update, and I hope the rest of NaNo goes well for you. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hahaha you make me laugh. I wrote 3k on the first day and now I’m just on track XDXD you’re always ahead in the beginning but I believe in you! I have about 14k right now :,)
    I hear you on the plot twists and concepts! I think my plot twists are pretty sneaky but I’m having a bit of trouble getting there haha plus I keep adding stuff…so there’s that…
    Hahaha omg I have totally switched to third person present tense before in the middle of my novel…that was actually my NaNo novel from last year! So half of it is in the third past tense and the last half is in the present. OOPS. It think it had to do with the book I was reading at the time!
    OKAY THAT LAST POEM SLAYED ME I HAVE CHILLS.
    You are amazing!! I hope you make your goal! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Duuuude I was SO on top of my writing at the beginning and now I’m just… not. Help. 😂 And YES EXACTLY. I love my plot twists but getting there… aldkskflsstjs.

      DUDE I NEVER SWITCH TENSES??? So it was really weird for me??? And now I’m doing it all the time because I’m not use to third person present ahhaha. ALDKDKSKD THANK YOU SO MUUUUCH. 💕💕

      Good luck with the rest od NaNo!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Well, I’m glad you’re still alive! Keep up the hard work! Your snippets are adorable and I can’t wait to read more!!!
    Also, who can actually snack and write at the the same time? like, I like food and chocolate but I can’t focus on eating and writing. It ends up being way more distracting.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I’M SOOOOOOOO proud of you for staying alive. OMG YOU’RE DOING AMAZING YOU CAN DO THIS. YOUR WRITING IS BRILLIANT (FROM WHAT IVE SEEN — AND IM SURE THE REST IS BRILLIANT TOO!!!) DONT EVEERRRRR DOUBT THAT OKAY?
    “From the murky depths of black” holy shit I’m dead. like DON’T EVEN. LIKE I LOVE IT.

    Just SWAT THOSE NOSY PEOPLE OUT OF YOUR FACE. PHYSICALLY putting themselves in your way and distracting you is SUPER RUDE.

    Just keep typin away May!!! ROMY SOUNDS LIKE A LAD CAN HE BE MY FRIEND NOW?????? BC I NEED SOMEONE LIKE ROMY TO BE MY FRIEND.

    Omg that last poem was so cool I want to gobble it up. . . too late.. .I already did.

    I loved reading this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’M SO PROUD OF YOU AND YOUR DAY 5 PROGRESS YAYYYYY. And it’s great that you’re writing faster! I honestly can’t believe that you LOST your word wars, I always thought you were the fastest bestest writer ever 😉 (jk I know you are) and omg I FEEL YOU so much I feel like my story is all over the place which is why I’m scared to start writing??? Because if it’s going to be a mess once it’s finish I just KNOW that I won’t have the motivation to EVER g back and edit lol.

    AND YES TO COMPETITION AHHHH IT’S LITERALLY THE /ONLY/ THING THAT GETS ME TO WRITE NOWADAYS. That being said… do you wanna word war???

    Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Typos are the actual best thing when you’re rereading your own work. One time I was writing about something, I don’t remember and I was trying to use the word sharp but instead, I spelled it as shark. I died rereading it because I was like “where the hell did this shark come from.”

    Like

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

