9 Reasons Why I Absolutely Love Being a Blogger (aka Me Fangirling Over How Supremely Cool Blogging Is????)

There are obviously many things I love about blogging.

Obviously??? Otherwise I wouldn’t be doing it still. Unless I find pleasure in doing things I hate, which I don’t. (WHO WOULD.)

I was feeling a little bit down about blogging the other day—not really motivated to write posts, not really motivated to read any, so I decided to write this post to help me fall in love again with blogging!!!

OKAY JUST KIDDING. The real reason I wanted to do this post is that I’ve already complained about some things I hate/am annoyed by blogging, but I am most definitely NOT a negative person* so I decided to talk about the things I love about blogging too!!

(But like. If this post helps reignite your love for blogging, THAT’S GREAT. I feel much more motivated to blog after writing this post wowowowow I’m so powerful honestly.)

*Just so you know that I hate everyone and everything and I hate myself and I think death is a really cool concept and I think mangoes are the WORST THING EVER.

flowers

1. people tell you how much they love you and you just !!!

People have said to me “I love your blog!” or “I love your writing voice” or “YOU’RE ONE OF MY FAVORITE BLOGGERS AGH I LOVE YOU AND YOUR BLOG SO MUCH YOU’RE JUST AMAZING” and I just?? I can’t function??

Image result for asdfghjkl; gif

Like STOP being so sweet omg. (And by stop I mean never stop.)

But seriously, when people 1) compliment me, and/or 2) tell me how much they love me and/or my blog, I blush and get all happy and warm and fuzzy and just turn into a sappy mess because what?? me?? favorite?? why how when what??

It just makes me SO happy that what I’m posting on my blog is actually LIKED and ENJOYED, and that y’all aren’t annoyed by me??? Let’s make clones of me, yes?* I’ve literally gotten emails from people who want to just APPRECIATE ME and I’m like???? I LOVE YOU????

*What a scary thought, never let me near a clone machine.

flowers

2. everyone supports you!

What I absolutely LOVE about the blogging community is how supportive everyone is. Whether it be a blog project or a post you were hesitant about publishing or your writing or something personal, literally every blogger will comment and give you lots of love and support.

And just saying, I love comments. I mean, every blogger does, but getting a comment makes me SMILE SO MUCH and I just ??!??!?! It makes me really happy that people actually want to talk to me and say nice things.

The blogosphere (that I know of) is SO SO supportive and kind and really doesn’t follow the whole “internet is full of mean people and trolls!!!” stereotype. I’ve honestly never seen someone being really mean to another person in the blogosphere!

flowers

3. i’m so much funnier????

Blogging has definitely made me funnier than I was before I started blogging!! (Altho I still suck at being humorous in real life.) I just??? I don’t know. I knew from the start that I wanted to be the kind of funny blogger because I knew it would attract a lot of friends.

Yes , I was this clingy and desperate and needy from the start. I would hate myself except I’m honestly a GENIUS WOW.

But seriously???? My humor has definitely gotten more… humorous*, compared the Time Before I Started Blogging (which is also referred to the Dark Age).

*I never said anything about my vocabulary expanding okay????

flowers

4. i’ve made SO many new friends <333

I could honestly shout out so many amazing people that I’ve had the pleasure of meeting and becoming friends with. And it’s all because of blogging! I honestly couldn’t imagine NOT talking to these people every day because that’s just how much I love them???

And even if I’m not as close to some people as others, I still call them friends! Everyone is just so kind and friendly and I just l;ajdf;lajsdlfajsfd SO MUCH LOVE FOR YOU ALL.

Image result for i appreciate you so much gif

flowers

5. i get a voice

We’re all different people, obviously. And I feel that for some people’s differences, they get judged negatively, and that often causes them to close up or feel like if they say/do anything, they’ll be ridiculed for it.

While yes, someone could laugh at me for being so horribly obsessed with mangoes, or someone could laugh at my writing, or someone could laugh at me trying too hard to be humorous*, but I DON’T KNOW THAT. I don’t know how they react, and that somehow gives me courage to speak out or go crazy.

Also, because I’m famous and everyone loves me, they all listen to me and I finally feel like the dictator I was destined to become.

JUST KIDDING!!!! I would nEVER dictate such lovely people like you.

*Wow why did I write this I’m doubting myself so much now.

flowers

6. reading other people’s posts

Honestly?? I LOVE so many bloggers here. Their posts are amazing and I enjoy reading them* and it’s one of the things I love most about blogging.

I especially love the posts that I can relate to and the posts that make me feel closer to people. Or posts that make me laugh (because my life is just so STRESSED AHGAHGHAG). Or posts by my friends because I always love supporting people I love.

I DON’T KNOW. I just really love reading people’s posts???? I’m weird.

*Let’s just ignore the last few days where I’ve commented on barely any posts. I’m not perfect okay.

flowers

7. good stats

OKAY. So I know one of the “rules” of blogging is that you shouldn’t care about stats—but I think it’s important to add that you shouldn’t care TOO MUCH.

Like obviously, you’re going to want good stats. Why would you start a blog if you don’t want it to succeed??? That’s literally like eating a chocolate bar with no hopes that it will taste good. WHAT IS THE POINT.

Image result for confused gif

But seriously. Bloggers shouldn’t worry about caring about stats! It’s normal. As long as you don’t get so obsessed about numbers that that’s ALL you care about, you’re good. (But that’s a rant for later.)

I personally feel SUPER HAPPY whenever I see high stats. A lot of comments on a post, or a lot of views, or a lot of new followers. It makes me happy to see that something I put so much work into is SUCCEEDING.

flowers

8. it introduced me to graphic design

Let’s just get one thing straight: I LOVE AESTHETICS.

I feel like ever since I started blogging, I’ve improved so much with recognizing aesthetic things and making aesthetic things???? I was introduced to GRAPHIC DESIGN which is honestly something I LOVE to do and makes me happy.

I also feel much more confident in my skills as a person and human being in general like who knew that I could do more than sit around and be a sad rotten cabbage honestly I thought I would be that way forever.

flowers

9. i discovered so many new books!

Can you believe that before blogging I didn’t know that there was a genre called Young Adult nor where the YA section was at my bookstore… despite READING YA BOOKS????

I’m ashamed of myself.

But yeah, blogging has introduced me to Goodreads* which introduced me to so many YA books and new releases and I’ve never felt SO CLOSE TO MY BOOKWORMKIND than before.

Like this year for the holidays, instead of going through random lists on Goodreads and choosing books that sounds vaguely interesting, I can actually send everyone my Goodreads to-read list and then have them buy all of those for me!!! LOOK AT GOODREADS BEING MY LIFE-SAVER.

Image result for i got you gif
goodreads @ me

*Look, I knew it existed before I started blogging. I’m not that much of an idiot.


shall we chat

what are some things that you love about blogging? do you care about stats too?? who are some of your blogging friends? (ME) do you like graphic design? leave a comment and chat with me, i appreciate your support and i love to make friends with y’all!!!

p.s. yes i’ll probably be doing these postscripts in all of my posts for november, but i’ve been super busy with nanowrimo that i may be a little behind on posts & commenting back but i still love you all and i hope you’re all having a wonderful day!!!

sign off 2.0

104 thoughts on “9 Reasons Why I Absolutely Love Being a Blogger (aka Me Fangirling Over How Supremely Cool Blogging Is????)

  1. Ahhh! Such a wonderful and true post! 😊 I especially agree with numbers 2 and 4, because meeting new people on the blogosphere is just the beeesstt. Also, another reason why I love blogging is just being able to share my thoughts on my own little corner of the internet. Thank you for the wonderful post, May!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. MAY I LOVE YOU SO MUCH OKAY? AND LIKE I LOVE YOU EVEN MORE FOR THIS POST. I’m not even kidding when I say that I had to turn on my heater because I was getting CHILLS and on the verge of crying because this post is SO BEAUTIFUL.

    MAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!

    Like I just want to comment on everything to do with this post, and gvibuaebfiljnlbherhnvbyebgrhg revgeorvybferyveruyb but I just want to fan-human over your blog rn too.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I agree with so many of these things! The comments I get are always highly positive, and I have people I chat with all around the world! It is so much fun, and by far the most positive social media format I participate in. I have learned a lot about web design and feel that though I do this for fun, I am much more skilled at my job now that I have a better understanding of how it all works! I also am an anxiety sufferer and have found that just coming on here and getting things off my chest (whether I actually post my thoughts or not) helps a lot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, bloggers’ comments are almost always positive! And omg YES I have friends from all over the world now!! And yes — I have anxiety as well and while I don’t really publish any posts where I talk a lot about my thoughts, blogging really does help me ahah!!

      Like

  4. YESSS THIS POSTTTTT. Sometimes I feel we bloggers are too hard on ourselves and only look at things we should do better, so every once in a while it’s nice to be reminded of WHY we love blogging in the first place. AND I AGREE, I FEEL SO MUCH FUNNIER ON MY BLOG. I THINK IM JUST FUNNIER IN WRITING, WHICH IS KINDA SAD BUT MOST PROBABLY TRUE

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love your blog!
    And yeah, stats are always awesome when they’re high. 😆
    I’m no genius at graphic design, that’s for sure. Maybe I should look more into it; any suggestions/tips?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. IKRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

    (obviously no I did not make that IKR super long just to make this comment seem long. HAHHAAHHAH. NO.)

    I CARE ABOUT STATS and it sucks how much I care about them but also like EVERYONE CARES ABOUT STATS IDK.

    YAH I HAVE BLOGGING FRIENDS.

    Ahhhhhhhhh no I suck at graphic design omg

    Liked by 2 people

  7. So about your graphics… did you decide to pay for PicMonkey or did you switch?

    Personally, I never expected blogging to be so much fun when I started. I never even knew that there was a community of book bloggers o.O

    I like graphic design as well! Sure, I’m not the best but at least I now know a thing or two about Photoshop.

    Two of my blogging friends are Shar and Shanti! (I believe you guys are friends as well) I’m starting to get closer to them these days. And I’d like to get closer to my other friends as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, nope, not paying for PicMonkey! I use a mix of Canva (for my featured images because I already made a little “template” with PicMonkey before), BeFunky, and Ipiccy. 🙂

      And YESS blogging is so much more fun than I thought it would be!! And omg I wish I knew more about Photoshop!! Oh yes, Shar & Shanti are awesome. ❤

      Like

  8. YOU ARE FABULOUS AND HAVE A VERY VERY AWESOME BLOG, MAY, ALSO I QUITE LOVE YOUR BLOG POSTS and I’m so glad you started blogging ❤ ❤
    This is such a great post, beautifully said and definitely needed at times – we all should remind ourselves of why we love blogging, even if, sometimes, we're just getting a teensy tiny bit crazy about it all ahahah. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aweee loved this post❤❤ Reading what you love about blogging was so nice! I love blogging for basically all the reasons you mentioned plus it’s just made me so HAPPY. The blogging community is the only place I feel wanted and safe and loved, the real world for me sucks and I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t find this wonderful community😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am the worst when it comes to design, but I really hope my voice makes up for it. -it works like that, right?- I write my blog (newbie book blogger here) for me so I don’t sweat stats, but I do smile when a post gets 20+ views and I love when people comment and interact! Mostly, I just read books and try to concentrate long enough to put down my thoughts for other people to read with as few grammatical mistakes as possible. -hey, I’m only human- 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yesssss finally someone has acknowledged that stats are important – when you put effort into a post you want it to pay off and reach people, so I don’t see why it’s bad to care about them!! Wonderful post as always and I can definitely agree with all of these reasons to love blogging:) I seem to learn something new from it every day! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ahh absolutely loved this post May! Honestly agree with everything here! Reading about the great things about blogging has made me feel even more motivated to blog right now than I already was so thank you for that haha. Graphic design is one of my fave things about blogging, making the headers and making everything look super aesthetic yass❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  13. ‘Sup yer mangoness.
    BLOGGING IS THE BEST ASDFJKL. Because like, people love you?? AND YOU AREN’T EVEN REALLY DOING ANYTHING OTHER THAN SHOUTING IN ALL CAPS AND HEADDESKING. It’s weirdly amazing. and graphic design yesss

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I love this post May, and I love all your reasons because they’re reasons that are mine as well. Blogging is something I love so much, I mean I wouldn’t still be blogging now if I didn’t love it. There really is so much support in this community, and I’ve made some incredible friends as well (you’re one of them for sure <3)
    There is so much blogging has introduced me to and done for me; I'm writing again because of blogging, I've discovered some incredible books and built up my confidence as well. Honestly I feel like I'd be a different person if I never started blogging. 🙂
    Great post May, and I'm really glad you love blogging so much as well! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, definitely! I love love LOVE blogging (obviously) and I can’t imagine life without it tbh!! The community is so supportive and the friends I’ve made are just AMAZING! (A;LJDSFASLDF you’re one of my best friends here as well! ❤)

      Omg I didn’t know that you started writing again because of blogging! THAT’S AMAZING, BETH. And yes, I’ve read so many books that I wouldn’t have found otherwise and I’ve gotten so much more confident in myself!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Same here, there are so many amazing things blogging has brought into my life and I love it so much for those things alone, the talking to everyone in the community about books is an added bonus (ahh, thanks so much May! 😀 <3)
        Yeah, when I think about my desire to start writing again it links back to the posts I saw while blogging, and the other bloggers I've talked to. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Well, you’re dead right about you being absolutely hilarious! I love reading your posts – they make me giggle so much! And the way the font is all different sizes and bold in some places makes me feel like I’m literally reading through the crazy thoughts in your brain and I love that. I’m so glad that you love blogging because I love reading your posts! Don’t ever stop!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG AL;DFKJALS;D thank you so much!!! 💖 It means a lot to me that you think I’m funny because I feel like I’m trying too hard. 😂🙈 And a;ldjsfalds I’m so glad you enjoy all the formatting (I, again, work too hard on that 😂). THANK YOU SO MUCH THIS COMMENT MADE MY DAAAAAY. 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  16. love this post! i too love to get good stats, it just makes me happy, and giddy and then i have to take a screen shot and share with my sister because i am so excited i have to share with someone. lol although, my best day has only been like thirty-seven views or something minuscule like that. it’s still better than i was doing! i honestly didn’t realize the bookworm world was so large until getting into blogging! it’s so cool to see what everyone else is reading and such! how’s nano going for you?! i have not been writing nearly as much as i want to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahahah yess!!! Good stats make me feel so happy because I know that I’m doing SOMETHING right! And yes??? I thought there were just a few readers out there, but then I joined WordPress and Goodreads and I found so many more!!

      NaNo is going pretty well for me! I’m hitting the daily word count goal each day but I just want one day to get super ahead ahah. I wish you the best of luck on your writing!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • thanks! i didn’t set any serious daily goals or anything so i think that’s where i went wrong. this is my first time ever doing this so lesson learned! and i seriously underestimated how hard it would be to get writing done with my three kids bouncing in and out of my peripherals. lol

        Liked by 1 person

  17. Graphic design + interacting with others on the blogosphere = THE BEST COMBO. Sadly, I’ve been super busy that I haven’t been able to do the second half of the equation (note: senior year likes to kill all the blogging time in the world, AGH)!

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    P.S. Don’t want you to panic or anything but BLOGGER YEARBOOK DEADLINE IN THREE DAYS *screams*

    Liked by 1 person

    • YESSSS, I love to interact with others and do graphic design!! Some of the best parts about blogging tbh. And omg nooo senior year is somewhat far away but EEK!

      (OMG WHAT?? I filled out the form and sent it in in October? I’ll email you.)

      Like

  18. Ok, when stats are bad, I ignore them. But if they’re great – yippeee! Let me stare at this happy graph all day!
    Also, blogging got me into using Canva and knowing a smidgeon about graphic design. And of course, reading alot of lovely blogs. (What! I wouldn’t even be reading this if I hadn’t started blogging!)
    And finding your blogging voice is a fantastic moment. Except, I think mine is constantly evolving?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahaha yeah, if stats aren’t so good I get a little sad. (But not TOO sad, fortunately!)

      Yess I discovered graphic design through blogging the it’s one of my favorite things to do!! And YESSSS my voice is constantly changing (especially when I interact with different people).

      Liked by 1 person

  19. So May.
    I have to know.

    What are your opinions on people who spoil books for themselves? Do you hate people like that, or are you one of them? LOL I was thinking about this earlier and wondered your opinion. If you have enough to say, I’d love to see a post.

    I don’t even know what this comment turned into. XDD

    Liked by 1 person

  20. what are some things that you love about blogging?
    EVERYTHING YOU MENTIONED!

    do you care about stats too??
    Kind of – Yeah! But I’m not obsessed with them!

    who are some of your blogging friends? (ME)
    YESSSSS – OF COURSE YOU! And some others too!

    do you like graphic design?
    Yeahhh – it’s GREAT! I really enjoy creating my featured image!

    AWESOME POST – LOVED IT! ❤️❤️❤️❤️ Agreed with EVERY SINGLE THING! 😍😍 Thanks For Sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  21. This is such a great love letter to blogging 😊 I agree with all of your points above, but probably the most with how you get a voice as a blogger. It is difficult, sometimes, to be heard in real life when talking about things like books because not everyone around you may have the same passion. The inclusiveness of the book blogging community is truly amazing, and whenever someone comments on my post it feels so wonderful to know that my thoughts are being read and thought about by another person. And also the same with other people’s posts as well — I love learning about new perspectives on books and joining in on thoughtful discussions! I enjoyed reading your post! 😋📚

    Like

  22. I just love the community of blogging! Everyone is so nice and supportive, and I just love interacting with people! Not to mention all the new books blogging has introduced me to! So many books I love, I would never even have heard of it weren’t for blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.

