End of Year 2023 Reading Wrap-Up

Hello… it’s been a while.

I don’t want to write too long of an intro because the focus of this post is BOOKS!! But I must address the elephant in the room… Blogging has been a bit rough for me. It’s more the result of a lack of time than anything else—this past semester was the busiest I’ve been in a while, and I barely had time to even read—but it also reflects my inactivity in online spaces as a whole. 

Like I said before, I just want to take it easy and come back to blog whenever I am able to or feel like it. I will probably continue to be sporadic on my blog, and I hope that I can at least post once a month. I miss the community a lot, but I think I feel nostalgia for the past more than I feel the need to return to it. Blogging regularly is no longer feasible for me, but I also have gotten so used to not blogging and sharing things that I feel fine not doing it. (But if you’d like a “life updates” post from me, feel free to let me know!)

To wrap this all up… I had a busy year, and both my reading and blogging took a hit. But I still had a decent reading year of enjoying most of the books I read, thankfully. Let’s take a closer look!

fae divider (2)

STATISTICS & GRAPHS

Number of books read: 60

Number of rereads: 3

Books rated: 48/60

Average rating (without rereads): 3.65 (-0.09 from 2022)

subdivider

1 rating 2 type

I had another year of mostly enjoyable reads. Even though 4-star ratings still take up a large chunk, it’s evening out a little with more 3-3.5 star books (and I’m back to more 4.5-star books, rather than just one like last year!). I think I’m definitely going to start leaving more books unrated this year, though.

3 genre 4 age group

Even though fantasy still remains my largest chunk, I still want to read more! I’ve been reading less every year, and I miss it. Also, I know it looks like I’m reading a lot of nonfiction and being oh so knowledgeable, but most of it is memoirs! Which I want to change! And I’m surprised that I read more YA this year—I enjoyed most of it, so I’m not upset, but it probably will decrease again…

5 format 6 format type

It’s been so interesting to see how the number of ebooks has changed over the past few years—during lockdown, I was reading mostly library ebooks/eARCs, but now I’m back to reading mainly physical books, which is definitely in part because I can now check out physical library books instead of just ebooks. I need to get back into audiobooks, though!

7 publisher 8 year

I am very pleased by how almost a third of the books I read were from small/indie publishers! Reading outside the big 5 is something I want to continue improving at, especially since it usually means also reading outside the US.

I expect backlist will continue to reign supreme—I love going through older books that I didn’t get around to. Also, a big reason why I think I enjoy more books is because I’m not reading newer releases that have barely any reviews; I’m able to see what other people think about older books and decide whether it’s worth reading.

9 source 10 country

As always, my library sustains me! While it may look like I’m reading a lot of my owned books, many of those were school reads that I bought this year for the purpose of reading them for class…

Unfortunately, I ended up reading more books from the US than last year. I read 9 books for class (~1/6th of my reading in total), and they were all from the US—so I could argue that I could’ve read more from other countries if I hadn’t read those… But no matter what, I need to make this a priority!

11 pages 12 month 

This was a year of short books, I fear… While great for getting books read on little free time, I miss my chunkier books! And as always, December is my best month for reading because of all the short books I read to cram for my reading challenge. While I didn’t beat last year’s number, I’m impressed by how I read a fourth of the year’s books in one month.

13 status 14 aoc

While I still stuck mostly to authors I was familiar with, I’m glad that I at least read more debuts! And as always, reading lots of authors of color. A whopping 58% of my reads this year were from Asian authors, though, so I want to diversify that! (Though I have to bring up school again and say that 7 Asian-authored books were mandatory for class. On that note, I will have an unfortunate amount of white authors in 2024 due to the classes I’ll take…)

fae divider (2)

FAVORITE BOOKS

For the sake of attempting to keep this post shorter (emphasis on attempting…), you can read about my thoughts on my honorable mentions + the longer version of my thoughts on my top 4 books here!

HONORABLE MENTIONS

       

TOP FOUR

  The Spear Cuts Through Water by Simon Jimenez  Homegoing: 9781101971062: Gyasi, Yaa: Books - Amazon.com 

4. Flamefall by Rosaria Munda: This book is my favorite of the trilogy, but it can represent the Aurelian Cycle as a whole. I can’t believe in 2023 I have a YA fantasy in my top books, but Rosaria Munda has done the impossible! Reading these books reminded me of binge-reading early 2010s YA books and falling into deep obsession with them. This series is so complex, from its politics of revolution and war to its characters and their relationships. And this middle book was perfect, with its intricate balance between internal and external conflict and exploration of what a revolution should look like.

3. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi: I read this book early in the year, and I still cannot stop thinking about it. I don’t think this needs any justification, seeing as its brilliance has been recognized and praised by so many readers; everything that needs to be said about this book has already been said. But reading this reminded me why I love multigenerational stories so much—and it is truly the multigenerational saga of all multigenerational sagas. Gyasi weaves two narratives together seamlessly and heartbreakingly to slowly unfurl the devastating cycle of oppression. 

2. The Spear Cuts Through Water by Simon Jimenez: There is no book like this one. I would not recommend it to the regular reader, but I think it is a must-read for every fantasy lover. It takes the typical trope of “quest to save the world” and spins it into an epic homage to storytelling, history/ancestry, and family. It invites you as the reader to be a part of the story, just as it includes every seemingly insignificant character. The poetic writing and shifting perspectives create an unforgettable reading experience that feels akin to floating through a dream. And like the best stories, love is at the heart of everything, in both its beautiful and twisted forms.

1. The Vanished Birds by Simon Jimenez: This is what SFF is all about! Using the fantastical and outlandish to emphasize the intrinsic nature of humanity! This book accomplishes the perfect balance between the expansive and the intimate. It is somehow both heartbreaking and hopeful, showing both the darkness and beauty of what we are capable of. Love persists, and persists, and persists, and Jimenez ensures that we can see this and believe in it even thousands of years from now in outer space. Jimenez’s writing reminds me of why I love SFF—I will never stop reading it, because I have to see how Jimenez further leaves his mark on the genre with his magical ability to imbue each of his stories with an intimacy that both bares and soothes the soul.

subdivider

DISAPPOINTING BOOKS

         

  • The Very Secret Society of Irregular Witches: The writing was annoyingly juvenile, and the romance was cringey and underdeveloped at best to unfair at worst (no woman deserves a man “grumpy” to the point of being unnecessarily cruel!).
  • A Dowry of Blood: More annoying writing, this time a case of trying too hard to sound pretty/be quotable one-liners. Also weird romantic dynamic in which the woman felt like a mother to the person she was attracted to…?
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Waters of the Universe: Now I may have cried my eyeballs out while I read this, but that doesn’t negate my opinion that this was kind of an unnecessary sequel. Particularly when it throws tragic plot twists in for the shock factor.

Those three are my main disappointments that I actually disliked, but the other three books I enjoyed but didn’t love as much as expected.

subdivider

HIDDEN GEMS

          

Most of these have under 1,000 ratings but they are so good… please read!!!! Orphan Bachelors and Ma and Me both explore the meaning of family within an Asian American context of generational trauma; Everyone Wants to Know centers an Asian American family and their toxic dynamic; Some Are Always Hungry and Oculus are beautiful poetry collections (some poems centering on Asian American identity); and Happy Stories, Mostly is an Indonesian short story collection happiness, queerness, and religion.

subdivider

BOOKS THAT MADE ME CRY

    The Spear Cuts Through Water by Simon Jimenez    

subdivider

BOOKS THAT MADE ME HAPPY

     

The Chalice of the Gods reminded me why I love Percy so much, and it was an extra happy reading experience because I got to see Rick Riordan on one of his tour stops and get a signed copy!!

subdivider

SURPRISING BOOKS

        

The first three I was surprised by how much I loved them, while the last three were shocking because they went in very wild directions I never expected. Like, very wild. I would recommend all of them, though! (Except maybe not Dandadan, since I’ve only read the first volume so far.)

subdivider

MOST ANTICIPATED 2024 RELEASES

    Amazon.com: Saints of Storm and Sorrow (The Stormbringer Saga):  9781803367804: Buba, Gabriella: Books   
+ Gods and Gamemasters!

Full anticipated releases post coming to you in the near future ;)

subdivider

#1 PRIORITY BOOKS FOR 2024

Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb, #1)  The Kingdoms  Heaven Official's Blessing: Tian Guan Ci Fu (Novel) Vol. 2  The Blind Earthworm in the Labyrinth

I’m just going to keep putting the same books on my priority list until I actually get to them. This is embarrassing.

fae divider (2)

666 READING CHALLENGE

   Human Acts: A Novel: 9781101906729: Kang, Han: Books - Amazon.com   

I did a lot better than I thought, since I kind of gave up on this challengeI read 12/18 books! I didn’t read from my TBR, I just happened to pick up books that fell in these genres. I don’t think I’ll be doing this challenge again because I’m naturally reading a wide range of genres now (except for nonfic…), but it’s been a good time!

The covers above represent my favorite books that I read for this.

nonfiction – 2/6horror – 4/6literary fiction – 6/6
Minor Feelings by Cathy Park HongThe Dangers of Smoking in Bed by Mariana Enriquez (3.5 ★)Severance by Ling Ma (4 ★)
The Souls of Black Folk by WEB DuBoisCursed Bunny by Bora Chung (3 ★)The Perfect World of Miwako Sumida by Clarissa Goenawan (2.5 ★)
Natural Beauty by Ling Ling Huang (3.5 ★)Human Acts by Han Kang (4 ★)
The Night Eaters bk 1: She Eats the Night by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda (4 ★)Bone by Fae Myenne Ng (3 ★)
Y/N by Esther Yi (3 ★)
Happy Stories, Mostly by Norman Erikson Pasaribu (4 ★)

fae divider (2)

READING GOALS

  • Read 70 books
  • Read outside the US – at least 25 books
  • Read nonfiction & classics
  • Read from owned TBR
  • Write reviews again!!

How was your reading year in 2023? What were your favorite books? Any fun reading goals? Thank you so much for sticking around, and hopefully I will see you all more often!! <3

21 thoughts on “End of Year 2023 Reading Wrap-Up

  1. I loved seeing your end of year wrap up 💞 and I am impressed how many books you were able to read this year despite being super busy! A powerful end of the year too (and I do love a short book)!

    Best of luck with your reading goals. As I have been focusing on my physical tbr, I have been overly conscious with my reading but I love your goals supporting small/indie publishers, books set outside the US and BIPOC authors! I need to make more of an effort this year!

    I am really excited to read severance, so I’m glad to see it mentioned as a close favourite!
    And simon jimenez! The things I’ve heard about his books, so happy you loved them. Top of the TBR for me!
    Happy 2024 ✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thank you so much sophie 💕 i owe a decent chunk of my reading to short books (and assigned class reading) lol!!

      focusing on your physical tbr is a really great goal! i feel like it’s hard to aim to read certain books + your owned tbr if you don’t own them… which is why i still have so many unread physical books 😭 good luck on your reading goals though!

      yess both severance and simon jimenez are amazing! i hope you enjoy them whenever you get around to them 🥰 happy 2024!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think blogging can be there when you need it or able to. The best part is that you can always come back if you want. I took over a year off after my first kid and then the last 6 months after my second. There’s still a wonderful community here! Many leave and then come back. It’s just whatever you need or want from it! :) I’m glad you had a great reading year and I hope 2024 is too!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. ah thank you for sharing your blogging experience! it’s reassuring to hear and remember that the community will always be here :’) i’m glad that you’ve also been able to go and come back when you needed/wanted to! thank you so much, i hope you have a wonderful reading year in 2024 🌟💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. i love all your posts, all your words, whenever and however you choose to put them on the internet ❤️ and im proud of you. and life is just… hard to balance… always! but truly… i loved reading this! i am going to bump up severance because of you and totally adding flamefall now oh my gossssh! and thank you for letting me be a part of your reading.. with five stars and wild rides hehehe ❤️ i’m excited for 2024! happy new year, bby ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i love you so much ;-; i hope in 2024 we can both be gentle to ourselves ❤️ you would absolutely love severance and the fireborne trilogy—dare i say fourth wing but better? lolol… but i cherish all of our buddy reads so so much and i can’t wait for all the ones we do this year ❤️

      Like

    1. ahh thank you tasya!! i’m glad you also felt the same way about famous in a small town… what other emma mills books had you read before reading that one? i loved foolish hearts so much that it gave me too high of expectations lol

      Like

  4. hey may! I’d love to see a “life updates” post from you, and always glad to any post! completely relate about not having time to blog regularly anymore :’( super impressive that you read so many books in december! oculus sounds really good, I need to check it out ahh, don’t read enough poetry.

    my reading year was alright, I managed to meet my reading challenge, but only just; and after I did, about ten days before the end of the year, I just stopped reading oops. trying to read more in 2024 and maybe participate in more challenges as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahh cas, you’re so sweet, thank you 🥹❤️ blogging really is just… on the bottom of my priorities right now lol… and it’s totally okay, it’s here for us whenever we are able/want to come back! and ahh yes i would definitely recommend oculus! let me know if you ever want any poetry recs hehe

      congrats on completing your reading challenge!! regardless of “just” hitting it or not reading after. if i ever reached my goal early i think i’d also stop reading lol! doing reading challenges sounds so fun, wishing you luck with them!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. i totally understand missing blogging for the nostalgia and not to actually post, i was in that state for all of last year. it’s good to just blog when you want to and do whatever else otherwise! we’ll be happy to hear from you whenever and about whatever (although if you want to do a life updates post, i’d love to read it!)

    my 2023 was a treat if changing reading tastes and i’m excited to read books from different genres this year. i didn’t make many reading goals because i want to focus more on my career and health goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ahh it’s so reassuring to hear you say that, sumedha! i think i definitely am bound to only blog when i want, but it’s still hard to shake off that weird feeling of wrongness haha (and thank you 🥹 i will keep that in mind!!)

      yesss for reading different books and expanding your taste!! that’s been one of my the most rewarding parts of reading for the past few years for me hehe. and honestly i should stop making so many reading goals and focus more on other life things too lol! good luck with everything this year <3

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi May! Happy 2024 <3 It truly has been so long, I'd love to see a life update post from you :)
    And omg I read Vanished Birds recently as well and I completely agree with your review. It was SO GOOD. Heartbreaking and beautiful and oh gosh, that ending had me sobbing. Like the last act when you know who got separated was simply heart-breaking. I'm never gonna recover, ugh.

    Like

  7. Sorry to hear that you’ve had a busy year, but I’m always excited to see you on my feed ❤️ I still need to read The Chalice of the Gods, it’s rare that I’m behind on Rick Riordan’s books 😂 I’m also hoping to check out The Apothecary Diaries, as I’ve been getting more into Manga 😊

    Like

The Mango Queen demands your opinions.